Renaissance Star Assessments Reviews

54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Amber AuBain | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Star Assessments Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Star has been the only testing and progress monitoring program I have used in my career. I have used other programs that were more fun like Prodigy or IXL Math, but nothing that compares to Renaissance's Star Assessments. Everything is all in one, which makes the use of Star Assessments and other products easier to use.
Read Amber AuBain's full review
Kerri Ziegler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Great Progress Monitoring Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They are two different products so it is difficult to compare them. We use STAR assessments to progress monitor. Accelerated Reader helps track what books students have read, if they comprehended them, and allows them to earn points. The Accelerated Reader is a better fit for a school-wide program to help track reading progress across all students. STAR assessments are a useful tool when you want to track reading or math progress for students multiple times during the school year.
Read Kerri Ziegler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Address key assessment issues, while missing the mark on others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used a few products like NWEA/Map, Lexia Rapid, Curriculum Associates/ i-Ready Diagnostics. Renaissance/Star360 stacks up to all of them, but doesn't exceed them. Star360 has less basic features (like school level grouping, exporting reports as a csv file, saving previous student data) but has some very good specific features compared to the others (like quick testing time, a variety of quick, good classroom level reports for teachers). They all have pluses and minuses, so it depends on the issue/feature is most important to you.

NWEA/Map: the plus is complete previous data accessibility and export and compatibility in that most district in the county as well as our ISD use it., minus is the length of time it takes to test.
Lexia Rapid: the plus is it gives very detailed breakdown of information in a relatively short test; the minus is it is VERY limited in scope (Reading at the k-2 level).
Curriculum Associates/iReady Diagnostic: the plus is it has an integrated, ongoing online instruction piece that is tailored based on the diagnostic assessment results; the minus is that it does not give any good summary data (it gives individual scores and levels, but no class or grade average scores etc.) and it does not statistically adjust the normed scores (percentiles) for weeks of instruction or date test is taken in relation to the norm study.
Renaissance/ Star360: the plus is that is it a quick assessment leaving more time for student instruction, it has a variety of good, detailed classroom level reports, and it interpolates the results to account for the exact testing date in relation to their norming study; the minus is that it does not keep records of previous students (even for the remainder of the current school year), it does not allow reports to be exported in any manipulable form (only pdf), and its lack of well functioning school wide grouping.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

It provides some general info.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our district uses I-Ready as a screener in Math. It breaks down standards for the teachers and allows them to target instruction for teachers and intervention. We have not had that training with Renaissance. I think the company needs to be more supportive of classroom teachers and help us.
Read this authenticated review
Missy Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Renaissance Star 360...A Complete Program in One

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Renaissance and its constant looping is a better program than Study Island. I am so sad to lose the AM version next year tho.I just don't forsee a program that can mirror what benefits Renaissance Star 360 offers currently.
Read Missy Berry's full review
Lisa Capon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Versatile Tool for Student Achievement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We receive a grant to use Renaissance Star 360 in our schools. Since we receive the grant, we have not used or evaluated other programs at this time. We have been pleased with the growth that our students have shown in the areas of math and reading and are happy with the product.
Read Lisa Capon's full review
Annmarie Grieco | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Renaissance 360 is 360 degrees of amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I feel that the Renaissance Star 360 Math assessment is an amazing tool to use in the classroom. It gives you so many different types of reports that other similar assessments would not offer. There is a parent section that gives the data to a parent in friendly non-technical terminology that lets them know how their child is progressing or not progressing throughout the year.
Read Annmarie Grieco's full review
Vanessa Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Star 360 testing gets a gold star

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All three of these programs are part of the Renaissance program and work great together. Students use myON to read and then Accelerated Reader to test their reading comprehension. They also use Star to determine which texts to select to read. Star also shows them how much progress they have made. I would recommend all three programs.
Read Vanessa Brown's full review
Alecia Walkuski | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2017

STAR 360 for Secondary Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

STAR is much more comprehensive than other reading assessments available for secondary students. Unlike DIBELS, STAR assesses more than just vocabulary. Unlike other Informal Reading Inventories and assessments, STAR requires no special training to administer or interpret the results. STAR can be used to determine reading levels through a post-secondary reading level.
Read Alecia Walkuski's full review
Carly Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Shines

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I am not familiar with other products like Renaissance. While we've used other programs that test students (Moby Max, iReady, Study Island) Renaissance Star is unique in the information and trajectories it provides. As far as ease of use and data provided, it really can't be compared.
Read Carly Schwartz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2017

Reading With Renaissance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Moby Max is also individualized and is free. We chose Renaissance because we had it before, but with more budget cuts and a terrible education leader in Washington, we may have to change to something cheaper soon.
Read this authenticated review

About Renaissance Star Assessments

Renaissance Star 360® assessments are designed to provide the achievement and growth data educators need for screening, progress monitoring, and guiding instruction in the least amount of testing time. The vendor says, quick, clear data reporting simplifies educators’ processes for setting goals, monitoring progress, and identifying students in need of intervention. Users can track how students are responding to intervention and instruction using a research-based growth model to help set attainable goals. Star 360 charts the projected outcomes and graphs the students’ actual progress toward their goals in the same report.
Categories:  Assessment

Renaissance Star Assessments Features

Has featureRenaissance Star 360® is supported by 93 scientific research studies and reviews on its reliability and validity.
Has featureRenaissance Star Assessments® are highly rated for screening by the National Center on Response to Intervention (NCRTI) and for progress monitoring by the National Center on Intensive Intervention (NCII).
Has featureStudent Growth Percentile (SGP) is Renaissance Star 360’s® reliable growth measure for growth data, even as summative exams and benchmarks change. SGP gives a robust view of student growth over time by comparing a student’s previous test scores to current test scores, then measuring that growth alongside academic peers’ growth.
Has featureRenaissance Mastery Model automates the tracking and reporting of student data from a wide variety of sources, and converts that data into a unified measure of mastery, helping educators make timely and informed decisions about all students’ learning.
Has featureRenaissance Star Reading, Star Math, and Star Early Literacy are available in Spanish to help determine the best instruction to meet the needs of your Spanish-speaking English Learners.

Renaissance Star Assessments Competitors

Renaissance Star Assessments Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No