Renaissance Star Assessments Reviews

54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

Student Growth with Renaissance STAR Assessments!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance STAR Assessments are most appropriate when reviewing student progress and growth over time. These reports can be shared with students and families. The results can be used to guide instruction.
STAR Assessments are not appropriate for grading purposes. These assessments are also not appropriate to be used daily/weekly for a quick check of academic growth.
Read this authenticated review
David Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2020

Great for Differentiation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

One of the big problems with standardized testing is time allotted for testing. Our school's population has so many different needs that students experience and there is also a high percentage with IEPs and 504s. It is helpful that Star testing can test such a wide range of skills across so many students' ages.
Read David Campbell's full review
Amber AuBain | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Star Assessments Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Star Assessments are easy to administer to students. They are also time-efficient, which is always a priority in the classroom. Progress monitoring and tracking are made easy with the reports available to teachers and administration. However, reports are not easy to find or customize from the teacher dashboard in the program.
Read Amber AuBain's full review
Kerri Ziegler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Great Progress Monitoring Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

STAR assessments are a great tool to use for progress monitoring. You can also look at individual skill subsets and see where students have made improvements or areas they need to focus on. It allows for communication with the general education teacher to discuss areas where students struggle and give suggestions of what they can also review/reteach in the general education setting. It is not good to use as a measure of ability or strictly determining placement. We have found that it works best as a progress monitoring tool for reading and math programs
Read Kerri Ziegler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Address key assessment issues, while missing the mark on others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited to quickly assess students and for teachers to quickly get a basic report to detail the results of a specific class or student in their class. Good for a teacher checking their specific class and student in their specific class or grouping students within their class. It is less well suited for school and district level use where specific data is not exportable, student results are deleted and not retrievable immediately after they leave the school/district, you want school-wide groups, or you need info on a specific student out of many classes and you must go to the teacher and then a class to get the info on a student and not directly to a student.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

It provides some general info.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Star Assessments helps us find students who are not making growth and need further investigation. However, it is unreliable-- some of the questions do not relate to current curriculum standards. Students don't take the test all that seriously because it is unlike the curriculum set up they are used to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 is an excellent product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nothing else gives such a clear picture of how students are doing. It also drills down to specific gaps in student knowledge, then gives resources to address those gaps. The very granular nature of the data saves teachers time, their most precious resource. It is invaluable for new teachers who are swamped with other things.
Read this authenticated review
Lisa Capon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Versatile Tool for Student Achievement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Star 360 works well in determining reading levels with students. The breakdown and analysis helps teachers plan for instruction and group students according to their needs. Some students requiring special assistance or needing extra help would benefit from a more detailed test that gives more of an analysis of their strengths and weaknesses to pinpoint areas for remediation.
Read Lisa Capon's full review
Gengie Wiedenfeld | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Go for the A.R.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Star 360 is well suited in the lower grades. The students enjoy reading, earning points and showing progress.

My concern is in the upper grades. we need to find something to help motivate the students who does not want to read or who feels it is not cool to be a reader! Time and time again our students are turned onto reading, the Star reinforces the students reading improvement!

Read Gengie Wiedenfeld's full review
Annmarie Grieco | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Renaissance 360 is 360 degrees of amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I feel that it is extremely suited to see the progress of the students throughout the school year. I think that taking this kind of assessment at least three to four times throughout the school year makes it even more useful for reading the data of students progress throughout the school year. I think this data is useful for both the students and the teachers involved with the program.
Read Annmarie Grieco's full review
Renee Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2019

Love this program!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Star 360 is well suited for all levels of learners. It might be less appropriate in Kindergarten for for English Language Learners. I like the way it is presented on the screen and how easy it is for students to navigate through the assessments. Students never complain about the program being difficult to use.
Read Renee Graham's full review
Lauren Robbins- Thrasher | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Ren Learn for the WIN!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are looking to quickly place your students into instructional groups with a list of targeted skills built for you, then this is the product you need for your class/school district. The reports are easy to use and create. Our district shows the student reports to parents and students to inform them and hold them accountable.
Read Lauren Robbins- Thrasher's full review
Beth Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I love this product. I think it is fairly easy to use. I like the immediate feedback. I don't have any scenarios in my line of work (education) that it is less appropriate. I do think they should incorporate science and social studies tests in the program, like they do math and reading.
Read Beth Daly's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Reaching for the stars with Star 360

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Star 360 is a great tool to use as a teacher. I am able to see the level my students are currently working. I use the results to conference with each of my students individually. We look at the areas they did well in and then look at the standards where they scored lower. We use this to set smart goals for each student to work towards. The one area I feel it is not well suited for is giving an accurate representation of where students will be as we move forward in the school year. It seems that there is a predictable pattern of which times of the year students will show growth on the test and then the times when scores take a step back. I have seen that in two separate districts I have used Star in.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Star 360 is fast and reliable

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a great way to assess students in a timely fashion. You can do this often enough so that students don't feel over-assessed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Great Data!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Star is great for tracking student data. It is very useful for being able to see the progress of a student over time. You can get general or very detailed reports which are very helpful. It is also nice to be able to print out the reports so that parents can see their child's progress as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Renaissance STAR 360 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance STAR 360 is well suited for initial screening, mid-year, and end-of-year testing. It is not suited for more frequent testing.
Read this authenticated review

About Renaissance Star Assessments

Renaissance Star 360® assessments are designed to provide the achievement and growth data educators need for screening, progress monitoring, and guiding instruction in the least amount of testing time. The vendor says, quick, clear data reporting simplifies educators’ processes for setting goals, monitoring progress, and identifying students in need of intervention. Users can track how students are responding to intervention and instruction using a research-based growth model to help set attainable goals. Star 360 charts the projected outcomes and graphs the students’ actual progress toward their goals in the same report.
Categories:  Assessment

Renaissance Star Assessments Features

Has featureRenaissance Star 360® is supported by 93 scientific research studies and reviews on its reliability and validity.
Has featureRenaissance Star Assessments® are highly rated for screening by the National Center on Response to Intervention (NCRTI) and for progress monitoring by the National Center on Intensive Intervention (NCII).
Has featureStudent Growth Percentile (SGP) is Renaissance Star 360’s® reliable growth measure for growth data, even as summative exams and benchmarks change. SGP gives a robust view of student growth over time by comparing a student’s previous test scores to current test scores, then measuring that growth alongside academic peers’ growth.
Has featureRenaissance Mastery Model automates the tracking and reporting of student data from a wide variety of sources, and converts that data into a unified measure of mastery, helping educators make timely and informed decisions about all students’ learning.
Has featureRenaissance Star Reading, Star Math, and Star Early Literacy are available in Spanish to help determine the best instruction to meet the needs of your Spanish-speaking English Learners.

Renaissance Star Assessments Competitors

Renaissance Star Assessments Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No