Renaissance Star Assessments Reviews

54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

Student Growth with Renaissance STAR Assessments!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance STAR Assessments are used in our schools to monitor student growth and progress. We are able to identify areas of academic strength and growth for each student. STAR Assessments are used by our whole school and this helps create consistency across grade levels. This platform is easy for teachers and students to use.
Read this authenticated review
David Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2020

Great for Differentiation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Star testing 3 times per school year to track student growth. Since it is a progressive test we can use the data obtained to inform differentiated instruction. The students have a 95% plus participation rate, which is for kindergarten through high school. That's impressive, especially for the older students who are so much less likely to participate.
Read David Campbell's full review
Amber AuBain | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Star Assessments Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Star Assessments are used across our county in schools K-8. We use Star Assessments to measure and track the growth of our students in math and reading. Students are expected to take it at least every nine weeks, sometimes twice a nine weeks to allow for more data points to track struggling students.
Read Amber AuBain's full review
Kerri Ziegler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Great Progress Monitoring Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Star Assessments are a great tool to use for progress monitoring. In our building, we use STAR assessments in our language arts and math lab settings. If we believe a student should be placed in a lab class, we will often have them take STAR to have another piece of data to review. STAR assessments are used by our SPED and lab teachers. We are looking to add it as a resource for all of our Tier 2 students as part of our data for MTSS.
Read Kerri Ziegler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

It provides some general info.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Star Assessments is a screener to determine students' reading levels. Classroom teachers normally use the data as a snapshot or first glimpse of their students. It provides a general idea of where your student stands as far as their reading level. Teachers have the option to dive deeper into the results to target instruction after the first assessment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 is an excellent product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

All of the teachers in our district use Star 360. It is our student growth data measurement system districtwide. We use it to guide intervention and monitor student progress toward the standards in both Reading and Math. Having a reliable metric that is comparable to other schools in the state and nation gives us a good picture of how we're doing.
Read this authenticated review
Missy Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Renaissance Star 360...A Complete Program in One

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Star 360 is a complete mathematical and reading program that is used district-wide. We use the data that it provides to help steer assessment, to document student growth, and to guide instruction. With the program being aligned to the Oklahoma Academic Standards, we are able to document our coverage of the standard material. GREAT TOOL!
Read Missy Berry's full review
Lisa Capon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Versatile Tool for Student Achievement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Star 360 is used by our K-8 school to assess students' reading and math abilities. We use both the reading and the math to chart growth and identify areas of weakness within a students' knowledge base. These scores provide us with the necessary tools to identify students needing additional help and also to identify which standards need to be addressed during instruction.
Read Lisa Capon's full review
Gengie Wiedenfeld | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Go for the A.R.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Some of the ways that Star 360 is being utilized at Notre Dame Catholic School to find out where each individual student is in his or her reading, to tailor a plan for each student, and to encourage each child to read. The whole school uses Star 360. This tool addresses the problem each individual student might have in reading, how to group students in a classroom and rewards students who are reading. It addresses where the students are at the beginning middle and the end of the year.
Read Gengie Wiedenfeld's full review
Annmarie Grieco | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Renaissance 360 is 360 degrees of amazing

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This program is an amazing resource for both students and teachers to see the progress of the students throughout the school year. The data is extremely accurate and very close to the individual's achievements in their math progress. I am very curious to see how close my students projected Parcc scores are when they come out in the spring being this is my first year using this program.
Read Annmarie Grieco's full review
Renee Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2019

Love this program!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Star 360 4 times per year to track reading growth. Our entire system uses this program in grades K through six. We review the data in monthly data meetings and then it drives our instruction in our classrooms. Student data helps tremendously with small group instruction in reading and math.
Read Renee Graham's full review
Lauren Robbins- Thrasher | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Ren Learn for the WIN!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our district uses Renaissance Star 360 as our Universal Screener. Once the results are in, we utilize the data to form our RtI groups and teachers use the resources provided in Star to incorporate into their lessons for individualized learning.
Read Lauren Robbins- Thrasher's full review
Vanessa Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Star 360 testing gets a gold star

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire school uses Renaissance Star 360 for testing. We use the program to assess our students and determine their independent reading levels. We then have the students select library books based off their reading levels to help them select materials. This has really helped because it prevents students from becoming frustrated trying to read texts that are too difficult for them to understand.
Read Vanessa Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Reaching for the stars with Star 360

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Star 360 school-wide in our K-6 building. We use the Star Reading and Math assessments to give us an idea of the strengths and weaknesses for our students. This helps us to plan strategic interventions to help them be successful. We also use this information to help us place students in interventions to help them grow.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

Renaissance Star Early Literacy 360 makes teaching easy!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

STAR Early Literacy is an online assessment program developed by Renaissance Learning for students in grades PK-3. The program uses a series of questions to assess a student’s early literacy and early numeracy skills through a simple process. The program is designed to support teachers with individual student data quickly and accurately. The test is easy to administer on an iPad and takes a student 10-15 minutes to complete an assessment. reports are available immediately upon completion. All district kindergarten children take the test at least three times a year. Some teachers progress monitor students monthly using the test.
There are four parts to the assessment. The first part is a short demonstrative tutorial that teaches the student how to use the system. The second part is a short practice component designed to ensure that the students understand how to manipulate the mouse or use the keyboard correctly to answer each question. The third part consists of a short set of practice questions to prepare the student for the actual assessment. The final part is the actual assessment. It consists of twenty-nine early literacy and early numeracy questions. Students have one and a half minutes to answer each question before the program automatically moves them to the next question.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Star 360 is fast and reliable

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

All of our district students in grades 1-10 use Star 360. We have used many of the renaissance products for years, but the assessments (Star 360) is probably the one used for RTI, high-stakes test predictability, and just overall growth of our students. Whenever thought is given to cutting back on software costs, teachers rebel strongest on losing Star. It has been used for so long, and we've found its reliability so good, that many would be lost without the information we get from giving Star Assessments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Great Data!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Star is used to evaluate the reading and math levels and progress of our 7-12th-grade students.
Read this authenticated review

About Renaissance Star Assessments

Renaissance Star 360® assessments are designed to provide the achievement and growth data educators need for screening, progress monitoring, and guiding instruction in the least amount of testing time. The vendor says, quick, clear data reporting simplifies educators’ processes for setting goals, monitoring progress, and identifying students in need of intervention. Users can track how students are responding to intervention and instruction using a research-based growth model to help set attainable goals. Star 360 charts the projected outcomes and graphs the students’ actual progress toward their goals in the same report.
Categories:  Assessment

Renaissance Star Assessments Features

Has featureRenaissance Star 360® is supported by 93 scientific research studies and reviews on its reliability and validity.
Has featureRenaissance Star Assessments® are highly rated for screening by the National Center on Response to Intervention (NCRTI) and for progress monitoring by the National Center on Intensive Intervention (NCII).
Has featureStudent Growth Percentile (SGP) is Renaissance Star 360’s® reliable growth measure for growth data, even as summative exams and benchmarks change. SGP gives a robust view of student growth over time by comparing a student’s previous test scores to current test scores, then measuring that growth alongside academic peers’ growth.
Has featureRenaissance Mastery Model automates the tracking and reporting of student data from a wide variety of sources, and converts that data into a unified measure of mastery, helping educators make timely and informed decisions about all students’ learning.
Has featureRenaissance Star Reading, Star Math, and Star Early Literacy are available in Spanish to help determine the best instruction to meet the needs of your Spanish-speaking English Learners.

Renaissance Star Assessments Competitors

Renaissance Star Assessments Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No