Renaissance Star Assessments Reviews

54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2020

Student Growth with Renaissance STAR Assessments!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Renaissance STAR Assessments provide multiple reporting options for student data.
  • Renaissance STAR Assessments are easy to administer.
  • Renaissance STAR Assessments provide a consistent and predictable format for students during testing.
  • I would love to see an RTI progress monitoring option available in the platform.
  • I would enjoy students being able to select from a choice of pre-calculated goals before testing.
  • I think it would be awesome for STAR to provide student-friendly graphs of their progress over time.
Read this authenticated review
Kerri Ziegler | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Great Progress Monitoring Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Breaks down assessment proficiency by skill.
  • Tracks progress and helps students create new goals.
  • Grade equivalency scores are not accurate, great for progress monitoring but not for actual ability level.
  • No area to score writing - Would like to see it look more like state standardized tests.
Read Kerri Ziegler's full review
Lee Kessner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Star Assessments Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to see what standards the students need help with.
  • It is easy to see progress or areas where students are at risk.
  • There is room for improvement accessing the discussion portion of the site.
  • It would be great if there was a step by step manual of some sort that explained what the data means so it would be easier to sift through.
Read Lee Kessner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Address key assessment issues, while missing the mark on others

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They assess without requiring excessive amounts of time, leaving more time for actual learning and instruction.
  • There are a variety of reports available for different needs.
  • Their norm data and percentile measures are statistically adjusted for weeks of instruction/ date the test is taken in relation to the norming study.
  • The program is often slow and hangs up. It spins endlessly in a loop, frozen and requiring a refresh, when trying to create a pdf a great deal of the time.
  • The reports can be made into a pdf, but unfortunately not an Excel/csv export--Unlike most other testing programs like NWEA/Map or iReady. The full data export that you can do is, big, slow to create, and missing information found in the reports--requiring me to make Excel programs to find and create/calculate the information (like summary data) already found in the Star reports but not exportable in csv form or to bring up in a report and manually enter the data (and the reports themselves do not lend to easily copy and pasting into excel directly from the screen, so no work around).
  • You cannot easily create groups made up of students from various classes and teachers to share then share with other teachers. The system is more designed to create groups from within a single class. My district needs to make groups from across teachers, classes, etc., needs to have the groups available as source/student selections for all reports, and then needs to be able to easily be shared--even if the group is made up of students a teacher (or person the group is shared with) does not normally have in a class. The groups you can make are also not available to choose as source students for most reports. ALL reports need to be able to be comprised of students from a group, and not just from teachers and classes.
  • When a student leaves the district, the RDI system not only removes the student from teachers/classes/groups, but deletes them and their records from the entire system. We often need to look back to check scores for State reporting or to forward to an old student's new district, and Renaissance/Star360 does not have anything available; the student and all their information is gone. I have to constantly take and save full csv exports, and when I need an old score, I have to try and search to find the right export, then search through the huge, messy export to find the required information. Once a student is removed, Renaissance/Star360 seriously needs to just remove them from classes, schools, groups, etc. but still have their information/previous testing results available to lookup
  • If you need to find testing information quickly on a single student, you cannot just go to the student and see their score. You have to know the teacher, class, and grade they are in, then go to the teacher, then go to the class, before you can get to the student to get their information. As a school/District level person, I have the student's name and grade, but often have NO idea of exactly which teacher and class they are in. I then have to first waste my time looking the student up in my district's SIS (PowerSchool) to get all the needed information just to look them up. Seems like it would be an easy solution to keep all the same, but add an ability to get a basic report on a student by looking the student up directly under "Users" (a simple report like you get when you click on an individual student in the Record book). This is where you could tie in the ability to look up historical information on student who left the district during the school year and solve the previous problem/missing functionality as well!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Renaissance Star Assessments Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Predicts grade equivalency.
  • Offers guided skill practice.
  • It would be great if Early Star had two separate tests for reading and math.
  • I wish Star had its own built-in remedial program and placed students based on the skill deficiency.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 is an excellent product.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's very convenient to use.
  • It gives extremely reliable, clear data.
  • It allows us to track progress easily and clearly at different levels within the organization.
  • The home page can be confusing. The icons don't clearly indicate that they have multiple sub-menus.
  • I would like to see more ability to compile data in graphical form. A picture is worth a thousand words.
  • The help is not very good. It returns results that are only vaguely related to the query and returns too many results.
Read this authenticated review
Missy Berry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Renaissance Star 360...A Complete Program in One

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Renaissance Star 360 encompasses all the new Oklahoma Academic Standards which is helpful in documenting the requirements.
  • Renaissance Star 360 allows for immediate data and feedback on where the teacher should start with intervention techniques and strategies.
  • It illustrates a student's growth pattern for the teacher, administration, and parents. It takes away the guessing game of where a child is performing.
  • It is a great tool for individualized instruction.
  • There is a lot of data to filter through.
  • The online reports could be combined.
  • It is a great tool for individualized instruction. I would like to keep the AM tho.
Read Missy Berry's full review
Lisa Capon | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Versatile Tool for Student Achievement

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Renaissance Star 360 provides detailed reports to help in diagnosing student needs within the math and reading standards. This is great because these reports can aid in working on an educational plan for students.
  • Renaissance Star 360 allows for teachers to tailor reports to the individual needs of the instructor. These reports can detail the testing data in very specific formats.
  • Renaissance Star 360 provides teachers with plans and activities that meet the benchmarks and standards for reading and math. This is truly a time saver for teachers.
  • Renaissance Star 360 should allow teachers to modify information included in reports. Sometimes teachers and administrators need information presented in a different way from the standard reports given.
  • Renaissance Star 360 should allow for students to increase their ZPD each time they take the STAR rather than only basing it on the initial score.
  • Renaissance Star 360 should give teachers an analysis of types of questions missed so that teachers can assess testing issues with the students.
Read Lisa Capon's full review
Gengie Wiedenfeld | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

Go for the A.R.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The program places students where they need to be as far as reading level
  • Keeps up with reading progress
  • Helps teachers to know what educational needs of the child needs to be addressed
  • Praises students who have gone above and beyond
  • Easy to administer, take and obtain results
  • Easier manipulation of the web site for adults
  • Could you create a cheat sheet to help us get to the areas which are in high demand?
  • I love the chat help! But lately during the beginning of the year, I had to wait my turn. Hire more people during this peak time!
  • Need to address excessive cost!
  • Has crashed once for us and we lost the whole class's results.
Read Gengie Wiedenfeld's full review
Lauren Robbins- Thrasher | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Ren Learn for the WIN!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Renaissance Star 360 has excellent, easy to use reports.
  • Renaissance Star 360 saves teachers time by building customized reports to show how to group students and what concepts they are struggling with as a whole or individually.
  • Renaissance Star 360 provides teachers with lessons, videos, and questions that are aligned to our state standards.
  • We would like to see similar reports for the Spanish as are provided in English for Reading and Math.
Read Lauren Robbins- Thrasher's full review
Beth Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I love the immediate feedback!
  • I like the different reports that I can print off
  • I like being able to chart my student's growth and teach them how to chart as well
  • I struggle with finding the correct form I need when I need it. I am constantly having to look through different reports to find the one I want.
  • There are some AR tests that aren't on there that I think should be.
  • I have absolutely nothing else to say. I love this product!
Read Beth Daly's full review
Debra Wells | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 show positive growth and results!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Engages students.
  • Creates motivation for learning.
  • Provides data to help students with their weaknesses.
  • Math Facts in a Flash could have better graphics and be more engaging to young students.
  • On the flower page when students finish a quiz, the page could tell students how many more tests they need to make their goal.
Read Debra Wells's full review
Andrea Wendt | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Renaissance Star 360 Works

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitors students' growth in reading skill.
  • Easy reports for teachers that allow them to view students who are below/above grade level.
  • Adjust student goals based on when they began their education with our school instead of comparing them to students who have been here all year (ie: number of AR points received is below the average, the students get a negative mark for that).
Read Andrea Wendt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Reaching for the stars with Star 360

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The reports are easy to understand for both teachers and parents.
  • The assessments provide more than just a score. The data can be broken down by standard to really target interventions.
  • Star 360 is easy for students to use. The user platform is not complicated or distracting.
  • It always seems that once I know where something (i.e. report) is located, that they move things around.
  • It would be nice if teachers had more control over certain settings for their students, rather than an administrator who may not know a group of kids.
  • It would be nice if there were features for students to adjust the content on their screens (color, size, etc.) like we have on state testing to make it more consistent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Star 360 is fast and reliable

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Predicts how a student will do on the high-stakes end of the year assessments given by the state.
  • Provides educators with great resources for RTI purposes.
  • Is a quick snapshot of student performance.
  • Very reliable.
  • Reports clearer on filtering items.
  • PUT TEST DATES ON THE TEST RECORD REPORT!! Can you tell this is important and needed? Not just on the diagnostic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Great Data!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The user reports are great for tracking individual progress.
  • It is easy to organize the students according to class.
  • It would be nice if you could run a report for each student in all areas instead of only being able to evaluate one subject at a time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Renaissance STAR 360 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Renaissance STAR 360 gives an accurate reading level for students, which helps with differentiated instruction.
  • Growth reports show growth over several years; we need a report that shows growth for the current year.
  • It is very hard for some students to stay focused on the test.
Read this authenticated review

About Renaissance Star Assessments

Renaissance Star 360® assessments are designed to provide the achievement and growth data educators need for screening, progress monitoring, and guiding instruction in the least amount of testing time. The vendor says, quick, clear data reporting simplifies educators’ processes for setting goals, monitoring progress, and identifying students in need of intervention. Users can track how students are responding to intervention and instruction using a research-based growth model to help set attainable goals. Star 360 charts the projected outcomes and graphs the students’ actual progress toward their goals in the same report.
Categories:  Assessment

Renaissance Star Assessments Features

Has featureRenaissance Star 360® is supported by 93 scientific research studies and reviews on its reliability and validity.
Has featureRenaissance Star Assessments® are highly rated for screening by the National Center on Response to Intervention (NCRTI) and for progress monitoring by the National Center on Intensive Intervention (NCII).
Has featureStudent Growth Percentile (SGP) is Renaissance Star 360’s® reliable growth measure for growth data, even as summative exams and benchmarks change. SGP gives a robust view of student growth over time by comparing a student’s previous test scores to current test scores, then measuring that growth alongside academic peers’ growth.
Has featureRenaissance Mastery Model automates the tracking and reporting of student data from a wide variety of sources, and converts that data into a unified measure of mastery, helping educators make timely and informed decisions about all students’ learning.
Has featureRenaissance Star Reading, Star Math, and Star Early Literacy are available in Spanish to help determine the best instruction to meet the needs of your Spanish-speaking English Learners.

Renaissance Star Assessments Competitors

Renaissance Star Assessments Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No