TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ZH/3s/AUNARC2QJQGN.JPEGRenaissance Star 360...A Complete Program in OneRenaissance Star 360 is a complete mathematical and reading program that is used district-wide. We use the data that it provides to help steer assessment, to document student growth, and to guide instruction. With the program being aligned to the Oklahoma Academic Standards, we are able to document our coverage of the standard material.,Renaissance Star 360 encompasses all the new Oklahoma Academic Standards which is helpful in documenting the requirements. Renaissance Star 360 allows for immediate data and feedback on where the teacher should start with intervention techniques and strategies. It illustrates a student's growth pattern for the teacher, administration, and parents. It takes away the guessing game of where a child is performing.,There is a lot of data to filter through. The online reports could be combined.,10,Our test scores have increased dramatically.,Study Island,Study IslandStar 360 reviewRenaissance Star 360 is used by the students in 1st to 5th Grade to provide them with a zone of proximal development (ZPD) for reading development. We assess the students three times per year to provide data for use with the classroom, district and state assessments to improve students reading abilities.,I like the report that gives the strategies that match the Texas State assessment to show where a student needs growth to perform better. Parents receive a report to keep them in the loop with the data from the STAR assessment.,I think that the reading range report should have the highest level the student has reached, not the most current level.,9,Students use their ZPD to improve their reading. Students are on track to reading at a level that will increase state assessment scores.STAR 360-So much to offer!As a former teacher, I became quite familiar with the STAR products and I absolutely LOVED the data that it provided. STAR shares a variety of reports that give a wealth of information that can be used to drive instruction to better meet the needs of students. As a data coordinator, I will be supporting districts who use STAR 360, and I am excited to learn about all of the new updates and enhancements that create a better user experience. The product is designed to allow the teacher to collect information about student learning and plan and implement interventions accordingly, and it saves them a TON of time!!,Listen to customers and make changes accordingly Aligning product with NYS standards Providing useful information to teachers,Nothing!,10,It gives "more bang for the buck" when it comes to student growthReaching for the stars with Star 360We use Star 360 school-wide in our K-6 building. We use the Star Reading and Math assessments to give us an idea of the strengths and weaknesses for our students. This helps us to plan strategic interventions to help them be successful. We also use this information to help us place students in interventions to help them grow.,The reports are easy to understand for both teachers and parents. The assessments provide more than just a score. The data can be broken down by standard to really target interventions. Star 360 is easy for students to use. The user platform is not complicated or distracting.,It always seems that once I know where something (i.e. report) is located, that they move things around. It would be nice if teachers had more control over certain settings for their students, rather than an administrator who may not know a group of kids. It would be nice if there were features for students to adjust the content on their screens (color, size, etc.) like we have on state testing to make it more consistent.,10,It has helped our school to plan how to help our students by providing data and resources. Our students are excited to see how they do when they finish the assessment. This gives them motivation while taking the test to do their best. We are able to give the planning reports that lists out the standards to our tutoring teachers to help them plan meaningful after school activities.,PowerSchool Student Information System, Google Classroom, CrisisGoRen Learn for the WIN!Our district uses Renaissance Star 360 as our Universal Screener. Once the results are in, we utilize the data to form our RtI groups and teachers use the resources provided in Star to incorporate into their lessons for individualized learning.,Renaissance Star 360 has excellent, easy to use reports. Renaissance Star 360 saves teachers time by building customized reports to show how to group students and what concepts they are struggling with as a whole or individually. Renaissance Star 360 provides teachers with lessons, videos, and questions that are aligned to our state standards.,We would like to see similar reports for the Spanish as are provided in English for Reading and Math.,9,Use this product with fidelity and you will see results.
Unspecified
Renaissance Star 360
14 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Renaissance Star 360 Reviews

Renaissance Star 360
14 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 14 vetted Renaissance Star 360 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Missy Berry profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "Renaissance Star 360...A Complete Program in One"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Renaissance Star 360 is a complete mathematical and reading program that is used district-wide. We use the data that it provides to help steer assessment, to document student growth, and to guide instruction. With the program being aligned to the Oklahoma Academic Standards, we are able to document our coverage of the standard material.
  • Renaissance Star 360 encompasses all the new Oklahoma Academic Standards which is helpful in documenting the requirements.
  • Renaissance Star 360 allows for immediate data and feedback on where the teacher should start with intervention techniques and strategies.
  • It illustrates a student's growth pattern for the teacher, administration, and parents. It takes away the guessing game of where a child is performing.
  • There is a lot of data to filter through.
  • The online reports could be combined.
Renaissance Star 360 is really well suited in all classroom realms. It can benefit the below-average, average, and advanced learners.
Read Missy Berry's full review
Beth Tijerina profile photo
November 08, 2018

Renaissance Star 360: "Star 360 review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Renaissance Star 360 is used by the students in 1st to 5th Grade to provide them with a zone of proximal development (ZPD) for reading development. We assess the students three times per year to provide data for use with the classroom, district and state assessments to improve students reading abilities.
  • I like the report that gives the strategies that match the Texas State assessment to show where a student needs growth to perform better.
  • Parents receive a report to keep them in the loop with the data from the STAR assessment.
  • I think that the reading range report should have the highest level the student has reached, not the most current level.
I think that Star 360 assessments are useful for teachers and librarians to use as a tool to guide students to improve their reading abilities.
Read Beth Tijerina's full review
Leah Simonds profile photo
August 04, 2018

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "STAR 360-So much to offer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a former teacher, I became quite familiar with the STAR products and I absolutely LOVED the data that it provided. STAR shares a variety of reports that give a wealth of information that can be used to drive instruction to better meet the needs of students. As a data coordinator, I will be supporting districts who use STAR 360, and I am excited to learn about all of the new updates and enhancements that create a better user experience. The product is designed to allow the teacher to collect information about student learning and plan and implement interventions accordingly, and it saves them a TON of time!!
  • Listen to customers and make changes accordingly
  • Aligning product with NYS standards
  • Providing useful information to teachers
  • Nothing!
This is an amazing product designed with students in mind.
Read Leah Simonds's full review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "Reaching for the stars with Star 360"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Star 360 school-wide in our K-6 building. We use the Star Reading and Math assessments to give us an idea of the strengths and weaknesses for our students. This helps us to plan strategic interventions to help them be successful. We also use this information to help us place students in interventions to help them grow.
  • The reports are easy to understand for both teachers and parents.
  • The assessments provide more than just a score. The data can be broken down by standard to really target interventions.
  • Star 360 is easy for students to use. The user platform is not complicated or distracting.
  • It always seems that once I know where something (i.e. report) is located, that they move things around.
  • It would be nice if teachers had more control over certain settings for their students, rather than an administrator who may not know a group of kids.
  • It would be nice if there were features for students to adjust the content on their screens (color, size, etc.) like we have on state testing to make it more consistent.
Star 360 is a great tool to use as a teacher. I am able to see the level my students are currently working. I use the results to conference with each of my students individually. We look at the areas they did well in and then look at the standards where they scored lower. We use this to set smart goals for each student to work towards. The one area I feel it is not well suited for is giving an accurate representation of where students will be as we move forward in the school year. It seems that there is a predictable pattern of which times of the year students will show growth on the test and then the times when scores take a step back. I have seen that in two separate districts I have used Star in.
Read this authenticated review
Lauren Robbins- Thrasher profile photo
November 08, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "Ren Learn for the WIN!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our district uses Renaissance Star 360 as our Universal Screener. Once the results are in, we utilize the data to form our RtI groups and teachers use the resources provided in Star to incorporate into their lessons for individualized learning.
  • Renaissance Star 360 has excellent, easy to use reports.
  • Renaissance Star 360 saves teachers time by building customized reports to show how to group students and what concepts they are struggling with as a whole or individually.
  • Renaissance Star 360 provides teachers with lessons, videos, and questions that are aligned to our state standards.
  • We would like to see similar reports for the Spanish as are provided in English for Reading and Math.
If you are looking to quickly place your students into instructional groups with a list of targeted skills built for you, then this is the product you need for your class/school district. The reports are easy to use and create. Our district shows the student reports to parents and students to inform them and hold them accountable.
Read Lauren Robbins- Thrasher's full review
Mario Sanchez profile photo
August 30, 2017

"My New Renaissance Star 360 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this program school wide. The Star test that the student takes helps us to have a better understanding of where the student is on his reading comprehension, their level and other useful information for us to better help them. The information is easy to find and readily available. This program has many tools that we can take advantage of so that we can improve the performance of each and every student.
  • Reading Level
  • Readily available
  • Easy to use tools
  • Available on multiple platforms
  • Test needs to be more precise
  • Timer needs to be increased
  • Questions need to be relatable
More suitable in Elementary schools.
Read Mario Sanchez's full review
Trinette Frazier profile photo
October 26, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "Royal treatment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We administer the Star Reading and Star Math test several times a year. Using that data, we monitor growth and proficiency for our scholars. Renaissance Star 360 allows our scholars to read their favorite book, take a quiz, earn points and receive an invitation to an AR party. Reading scores are steadily increasing. My students are competitive and love seeing their word count increase.
  • Progress monitoring
  • Growth
  • Increasing reading levels
  • I would like more control over customizing my reports
Using Renaissance Star 360 to assign texts based on data in order to improve performance.
Read Trinette Frazier's full review
No photo available
August 21, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "Reading With Renaissance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every classroom uses Renaissance Star 360. All teachers have been trained in its use, but one of the problems is that classrooms use it differently. Some use it to enhance individual students' reading levels, while others use it for comprehension grades on class novels. Also, it is difficult for teachers to get new training mid-year when Renaissance makes changes in the middle of the school year.
  • Wide variety of book titles
  • Many graphs for teachers to choose how to view data
  • User-friendly for both students and staff
  • Mid-year changes are difficult to keep up with, especially when the changes were made in May when many schools were trying to receive data graphs that were no longer there
  • Be more competitively priced - they are more expensive than other reading comprehension on-line programs
All reading levels are provided, so it doesn't matter what grade you teach or what reading level the students are at; all students are able to participate
Read this authenticated review
Alecia Walkuski profile photo
April 13, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "STAR 360 for Secondary Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My school district currently uses Renaissance Star 360 as part of the admission process and for all current students. Students take the assessment at least three times a year in order to determine needs for interventions and to measure reading growth. The assessment takes approximately 20 minutes to administer, does not require any special training to administer, and produces a tremendous amount of data to inform instruction and share with students and parents.
  • The Star assessment is not time consuming to administer. It is appropriate for a base-line measure of secondary students.
  • The assessment is on the computer. Secondary students answer 34 multiple choice questions. It is a 'smart' assessment that adjusts what questions will be asked based on whether or not the previous question was answered correctly. Students rarely see questions repeated.
  • The data produced by STAR is presented in an easy-to-understand format that is clear when presented to parents and students.
  • The Star assessment focuses on two main reading skills: vocabulary and comprehension; however, all of the questions are done through multiple choice. While unlikely, students can 'guess' the correct answers, and this does impact the data.
  • Some students will deliberately throw the test because it is used to develop goals within the Accelerated Reader program; while the students' choices aren't indicative of a flaw in the program, it is a detracting factor when the test is administered 3+times each year and connected to the reading practice portion of the program.
  • Each question in the program is individually timed. This function does allow for a basic measure of fluency, however it can be tricky for students to maintain focus throughout the entire assessment, especially when answering questions about longer passages.
Star 360 is a fantastic general reading assessment for determining baseline eligibility for reading interventions. It is easy to administer and interpret the results. It does not require a great deal of time, and can be administered in as a whole-class or for individual students. For students requiring more in-depth interventions, a second, more holistic reading assessment should be recommended. The STAR 360 program does not allow for miscue analysis or item analysis (so the test administer does not know which questions a student missed or why).
Read Alecia Walkuski's full review
Gengie Wiedenfeld profile photo
April 13, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "Go for the A.R."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some of the ways that Star 360 is being utilized at Notre Dame Catholic School to find out where each individual student is in his or her reading, to tailor a plan for each student, and to encourage each child to read. The whole school uses Star 360. This tool addresses the problem each individual student might have in reading, how to group students in a classroom and rewards students who are reading.
  • The program places students where they need to be as far as reading level
  • Keeps up with reading progress
  • Helps teachers to know what educational needs of the child needs to be addressed
  • Easier manipulation of the web site for adults
  • Could you create a cheat sheet to help us get to the areas which are in high demand?
  • I love the chat help! But lately during the beginning of the year, I had to wait my turn. Hire more people during this peak time!

Renaissance Star 360 is well suited in the lower grades. The students enjoy reading, earning points and showing progress.

My concern is in the upper grades. we need to find something to help motivate the students who does not want to read or who feels it is not cool to be a reader!

Read Gengie Wiedenfeld's full review
Carly Schwartz profile photo
April 11, 2017

User Review: "Renaissance Star 360 Shines"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For 2016-2017 [school year], Caldwell County Schools purchased Renaissance Star for educators to monitor their students' growth in reading and math. Star Reading's Scale Score is recognized by North Carolina as a providing a "good cause exemption" for students who may be targeted for summer school. In addition, the school where I work has always provided Star Math in addition to Star Reading. The program has been so successful at our location that our county now pays for both the reading and the math program for all schools in the county.
  • There are many things that make Renaissance Star a valuable resource. One is that I can see if a student has rushed through a test thereby invalidating his or her score.
  • To help students grow, Renaissance Star provides student grouping suggestions. I can also create my own groups based on personalities and what I know my students need.
  • Another great aspect of the program is its ability to project whether or not a student is on target to pass the end of grade test. This is great information not only for me but also for my parents. The graph projects a trend line for success and shows where the student falls in relation. And for my Latino students, the reports can be printed in Spanish!
  • One thing I would like is a live view of my students testing, and include some way to flag me if 3 questions were answered too quickly.
  • Also I'd like to not have to refresh the form to see results as students finish their test.
  • I'd like a trend line, even if it is not trustworthy, to begin with the second test. I'd like to share improvements or problems with my students who could be motivated to move their trend line toward the star.
  • After receiving testing data, I would like a breakdown of data by strand. i.e., the percentage of geometry questions asked and answered correctly. While grouping students by strand is useful, I'd like more information to dig deeper.
When looking at student growth Renaissance Star is an excellent and reliable resource. What it can't do is determine why growth is not trending the way every teacher would hope (such as absenteeism, home stress, or other extenuating circumstances).
Read Carly Schwartz's full review
Jennifer Bunn profile photo
March 31, 2017

Renaissance Star 360 Review: "Helping Readers Succeed!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All students K-8 take STAR reading assessments at our school. The teachers use this data to offer interventions when necessary, connect students with reading materials at their level, help them make reading goals, and track student's progress and reading comprehension.
  • Assessments
  • Goal-setting
  • Diagnostics
  • It is not an effective assessment for K or PreK students.
It is an effective tool for assessing reading comprehension for students in grades 1-8.
Read Jennifer Bunn's full review

Renaissance Star 360 Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (1)
9
Course catalog or library (1)
10
Player/Portal (2)
9.5
Learning content (3)
9.4
Mobile friendly (3)
8.7
Progress tracking & certifications (4)
9.4
Assignments (2)
8.8
Compliance management (2)
9.6
Learning administration (2)
8.5
Learning reporting & analytics (3)
9.0
Social learning (1)
10

About Renaissance Star 360

Renaissance Star 360® assessments are designed to provide the achievement and growth data educators need for screening, progress monitoring, and guiding instruction in the least amount of testing time. The vendor says, quick, clear data reporting simplifies educators’ processes for setting goals, monitoring progress, and identifying students in need of intervention. Users can track how students are responding to intervention and instruction using a research-based growth model to help set attainable goals. Star 360 charts the projected outcomes and graphs the students’ actual progress toward their goals in the same report.
Categories:  Learning Management

Renaissance Star 360 Features

Has featureRenaissance Star 360® is supported by 93 scientific research studies and reviews on its reliability and validity.
Has featureRenaissance Star Assessments® are highly rated for screening by the National Center on Response to Intervention (NCRTI) and for progress monitoring by the National Center on Intensive Intervention (NCII).
Has featureStudent Growth Percentile (SGP) is Renaissance Star 360’s® reliable growth measure for growth data, even as summative exams and benchmarks change. SGP gives a robust view of student growth over time by comparing a student’s previous test scores to current test scores, then measuring that growth alongside academic peers’ growth.
Has featureRenaissance Mastery Model automates the tracking and reporting of student data from a wide variety of sources, and converts that data into a unified measure of mastery, helping educators make timely and informed decisions about all students’ learning.
Has featureRenaissance Star Reading, Star Math, and Star Early Literacy are available in Spanish to help determine the best instruction to meet the needs of your Spanish-speaking English Learners.

Renaissance Star 360 Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No