TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/6b/VM/FLCNTDK23SSC.PNGGet the same as the traditional, but much better!Windward Java Reporting Engine is a wonderful tool for reporting for Java applications. Currently I use it for the rapid elaboration of reports with special requirements, which allows to have a formidably fast engine to elaborate all type of reports without the wastage of time that involves the elaboration of reports in other engines more generalized in Java.,Fast and direct report engine, using friendly templates through an add-in for Microsoft Word. Adequate support and documentation to ensure a quick integration Your template designers dont need to learn Java at all. They can work through Microsoft Office,The learning curve can be a nuisance, considering that currently Jaspers is the antonomic engine for Java There is a price (not so expensive) so yeah thats always a cons. Many customers currently use Jaspers, so migration can become a point to consider,8,TIBCO Jaspersoft and SAP Crystal Reports,TIBCO Jaspersoft, Pentaho, RESTful Reporting Engine,8,8Java Reporting Engine Review from Java DeveloperWe use Java Reporting Engine to capture and process data we receive from USD. The we return the data using a HTML format which is easy to view for analyst to judge the input data. This data is then integrated into our process to create our final product.,Flexibility. The ability to modify the reporting engine to what you are exactly looking for and what you expect back. Speed. Extremely quick page generation. Overall it leave a very small footprint and does not burden too much on our system.,I found the API documentation to be rather lacking and descriptive. Initial setup can be a little more complication due to the above confusing documentation.,8,,TIBCO Jaspersoft,9,7For native Office output, AutoTag really deliversWe use AutoTag designer to build reports for our customers to use internally and with their own customers. It is one of several report design tools currently in use, and we selected AutoTag specifically for its native Microsoft Office output for which there simply is no comparison against our other tools, which technically create Office-type output (RTF, DOCX, etc.) but not in formats that are easy for our customers to adapt and modify after the reports are generated. AutoTag output behaves exactly like Office documents because they are Office documents. Certainly this isn't the answer for every reporting scenario, but when native Office output is required, AutoTag delivers exactly that.,Native Office output -- not nested tables and/or horrible RTF like other tools generate. Ease of use -- once the data sources are set up, creating tables is as simple as drag and drop (okay, maybe not exactly that simple, but you can certainly create a table of data using drag and drop, then format it and manipulate it as needed). Responsive developers and support -- when I've had questions, they've been addressed VERY quickly and professionally.,Limited in terms of customizability -- this is a double-edged sword. Other report tools we use support anything from limited to incredibly complex JavaScript, for example, and we often use a combination of JavaScript and complex queries to pass and manipulate data. AutoTag can do some of this, but it wouldn't be our go-to solution for complex reporting. Limited drag and drop -- while you can easily create tables with drag and drop, you can't drag and drop individual fields, which really isn't intuitive,8,Jaspersoft,10,2,JaspersoftWindWard in my sailsOne of the most important parts of our printing deliverables are audit reports. These reports go to both internal and external clients and are used in everything from order verification to marketing materials. Before AutoTag creating the reports involved a lot of manual data collection and editing. This was a time intensive, error prone, and frustrating process. WindWard's AutoTag report creation made it easy to recreate the reports into templates. Whenever we got stuck there was a Wiki based user guide and top notch tech support. The reports now take a fraction of the time to create and are finally consistent in layout and content. With the success of the report generation in our department we have been tasked to review and identify more reports that could benefit. THANK YOU WINDWARD.,AutoTag can easily be connected to virtually any data source. The wizard walks you through all the needed steps. This is very helpful in getting reports from multiple sources or departments. WindWard has put together a Wiki based user guide and has the best tech support I have ever worked with. For the rare occasions that we get stuck trying to convert a report the help is plentiful. AutoTag is built within the Office suite and is therefore able to leverage all the familiar features. This is very useful when you need to make reports useful and appealing.,It is hard to pick out the tags if they are mixed in with a block of text. Using report variables in select statements causes the selection list of available fields to not show anything. The color themes do not match the office selection and it feels very disconnected.,9,10,9AutoTag Template Designer ReviewAutoTag Template Designer is used across multiple departments in my organization. Our development team uses it to build and fix templates, and our product support team uses it for basic troubleshooting when clients are experiencing issues, or are looking for basic enhancements.,Using Microsoft Office capabilities to format templates. Integrating SQL queries into a template. Tagging specific datapoints to display from a SQL query. Conditional formatting.,Sometimes using foreach tags can be confusing.,5,
Windows
Windward Reporting and Document Generation Solution
38 Ratings
Score 6.5 out of 101
TRScore

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Reviews

Reporting and Document Generation Solution
38 Ratings
Score 6.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 38 vetted Reporting and Document Generation Solution reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
April 13, 2017

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Review: "Get the same as the traditional, but much better!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windward Java Reporting Engine is a wonderful tool for reporting for Java applications. Currently I use it for the rapid elaboration of reports with special requirements, which allows to have a formidably fast engine to elaborate all type of reports without the wastage of time that involves the elaboration of reports in other engines more generalized in Java.
  • Fast and direct report engine, using friendly templates through an add-in for Microsoft Word.
  • Adequate support and documentation to ensure a quick integration
  • Your template designers dont need to learn Java at all. They can work through Microsoft Office
  • The learning curve can be a nuisance, considering that currently Jaspers is the antonomic engine for Java
  • There is a price (not so expensive) so yeah thats always a cons.
  • Many customers currently use Jaspers, so migration can become a point to consider
If the project is currently new and has no business interfaces to deal with other systems areas, developing at WindWard can greatly ease development costs. On the other hand, where a culture of using other reporting tools already exists, change would probably not be the viable option for me and my people.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
No photo available
March 30, 2017

Reporting and Document Generation Solution: "Java Reporting Engine Review from Java Developer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Java Reporting Engine to capture and process data we receive from USD. The we return the data using a HTML format which is easy to view for analyst to judge the input data. This data is then integrated into our process to create our final product.
  • Flexibility. The ability to modify the reporting engine to what you are exactly looking for and what you expect back.
  • Speed. Extremely quick page generation.
  • Overall it leave a very small footprint and does not burden too much on our system.
  • I found the API documentation to be rather lacking and descriptive.
  • Initial setup can be a little more complication due to the above confusing documentation.
For us it is well suited to retrieve data from our sql database [to] create a report of the data type, information, and attributes, format this report and then send it over to an Analyst who can go over the exact change that has taken place when a new batch of USD has come in.
Read this authenticated review
Brent Rossow profile photo
January 07, 2016

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Review: "For native Office output, AutoTag really delivers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoTag designer to build reports for our customers to use internally and with their own customers. It is one of several report design tools currently in use, and we selected AutoTag specifically for its native Microsoft Office output for which there simply is no comparison against our other tools, which technically create Office-type output (RTF, DOCX, etc.) but not in formats that are easy for our customers to adapt and modify after the reports are generated. AutoTag output behaves exactly like Office documents because they are Office documents. Certainly this isn't the answer for every reporting scenario, but when native Office output is required, AutoTag delivers exactly that.
  • Native Office output -- not nested tables and/or horrible RTF like other tools generate.
  • Ease of use -- once the data sources are set up, creating tables is as simple as drag and drop (okay, maybe not exactly that simple, but you can certainly create a table of data using drag and drop, then format it and manipulate it as needed).
  • Responsive developers and support -- when I've had questions, they've been addressed VERY quickly and professionally.
  • Limited in terms of customizability -- this is a double-edged sword. Other report tools we use support anything from limited to incredibly complex JavaScript, for example, and we often use a combination of JavaScript and complex queries to pass and manipulate data. AutoTag can do some of this, but it wouldn't be our go-to solution for complex reporting.
  • Limited drag and drop -- while you can easily create tables with drag and drop, you can't drag and drop individual fields, which really isn't intuitive
AutoTag is a brilliant solution for less complex reports where native Microsoft Office output is required. This is where AutoTag really shines. It's also appropriate in situations where our customers want to develop and maintain their own reports but don't necessarily want to commit an experienced data person or report developer to do the work. For complex report requirements that need JavaScript or considerable data manipulation inside the report templates, we will continue to look at other tools in our kit.
Read Brent Rossow's full review
Anthony Vengrofski profile photo
September 17, 2015

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Review: "WindWard in my sails"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the most important parts of our printing deliverables are audit reports. These reports go to both internal and external clients and are used in everything from order verification to marketing materials. Before AutoTag creating the reports involved a lot of manual data collection and editing. This was a time intensive, error prone, and frustrating process. WindWard's AutoTag report creation made it easy to recreate the reports into templates. Whenever we got stuck there was a Wiki based user guide and top notch tech support. The reports now take a fraction of the time to create and are finally consistent in layout and content. With the success of the report generation in our department we have been tasked to review and identify more reports that could benefit. THANK YOU WINDWARD.
  • AutoTag can easily be connected to virtually any data source. The wizard walks you through all the needed steps. This is very helpful in getting reports from multiple sources or departments.
  • WindWard has put together a Wiki based user guide and has the best tech support I have ever worked with. For the rare occasions that we get stuck trying to convert a report the help is plentiful.
  • AutoTag is built within the Office suite and is therefore able to leverage all the familiar features. This is very useful when you need to make reports useful and appealing.
  • It is hard to pick out the tags if they are mixed in with a block of text.
  • Using report variables in select statements causes the selection list of available fields to not show anything.
  • The color themes do not match the office selection and it feels very disconnected.
AutoTag has a feature called POD. With PODs you are able to save sections of reports to reuse elsewhere. If your reports have several pieces that are common between several reports, or reused many times in the same report, making a POD is perfect. Once made the POD can be dragged and dropped into any report for instant use. PODs are not limited to just tags, we have several just for document styles and database connections. This makes adding a new datasource very simple.
Read Anthony Vengrofski's full review
Adam Murray profile photo
September 23, 2015

Reporting and Document Generation Solution: "AutoTag Template Designer Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTag Template Designer is used across multiple departments in my organization. Our development team uses it to build and fix templates, and our product support team uses it for basic troubleshooting when clients are experiencing issues, or are looking for basic enhancements.
  • Using Microsoft Office capabilities to format templates.
  • Integrating SQL queries into a template.
  • Tagging specific datapoints to display from a SQL query.
  • Conditional formatting.
  • Sometimes using foreach tags can be confusing.
AutoTag Template Designer is well suited to create a template that uses basic concepts (clear locations to insert tags). It is a little more complicated to use if needed for more complex situations that include more logic than just inserting x data point to this tag.
Read Adam Murray's full review
Gregory Bosko profile photo
September 23, 2015

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Review: "This is the one!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The AutoTag Template Designer is used between multiple departments, including the development, quality assurance, and support team. This allows anyone involved in the template process to be able to see exactly what is being added into any report at any time, without having to consult with another department and take away from their work.
  • Lets you easily pull in data points
  • Allows you to validate a query before saving it to make sure that it works correctly
  • Easy export to most common formats so you can test out your template with real-world data
  • When dealing with large queries, the system tends to slow down.
  • Nested for each queries have issues validating
As long as the user has at least a small background in using any kind of SQL commands, this should be near effortless for them. Windward's support page on their website has an immense amount of knowledge available for free, and has saved me from pulling my hair out several times.
Read Gregory Bosko's full review
Christopher Thorndike profile photo
September 18, 2015

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Review: "New to AutoTag - it helps to have a strong Excel and SQL background"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTag Template Designer is currently being used within a couple different departments. It is designed in Dev Ops and used by people in accounting and also in the field by our brokers.
  • Allows for customization of existing templates
  • Connections to several types of data sources
  • Very intuitive in conjunction with the tutorials
  • Allow users to modify the Excel file while in the AutoTag editor. I find myself taking screen shots and referring to them.
I definitely recommend AutoTag Template Designer to anyone looking to improve their reporting services.
Read Christopher Thorndike's full review
Jenelle Cooper profile photo
September 18, 2015

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Review: "User of Autotag Template Designer"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotag Template Designer is being used across the entire company and by several departments that specialize in reporting. It's being used as a tool to create templates that run in conjunction with the software out company has created. It allows our company to [access] extra data being stored in our software and generate it into specific documents that our clients need.
  • The set up of the product is fairly easy as long as you have the right version and license key. It's also fairly easy to transfer licenses between users.
  • Once you have the main queries down, the tagging of the template is fairly easy and you can reuse templates instead of starting from scratch each time.
  • If you are having issues with a template or a tag type- the help documentation provided is helpful to provide examples. The webinars are also a good stepping stone to get knowledge quickly.
  • Sometimes the formatting within the Microsoft Word documents can be tricky. That's where most of the time comes from is making sure the tags don't mess up the formatting of the actual template itself.
  • Error messages can be vague. For example if something is wrong with the query or a tag, it can be difficult to find the issue within the query or identify the offending tag easily. This means the whole template won't work because of one minor issue.
If the end users are going to be proficient in SQL, then they are already light years ahead. Most of the time learning the product comes from figuring out the queries. After that, tags are fairly easy! It's great for clients that don't know SQL too that will just need the initial template built and will update the wording or static text.
Read Jenelle Cooper's full review

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Scorecard Summary

About Reporting and Document Generation Solution

Java Reporting Engine is comprised of a set of code libraries for integrating reporting and document generation into both internal and commercial software applications. The vendor’s value proposition is that the solution is easy to embed, and users can connect it to virtually any data source. The vendor further states in order to get started, all a development team has to do is incorporate the solution into their company system or product.

Users can:

  • Generate pages per second, not seconds per page
  • Use any and all of their data sources, even simultaneously on the same template
  • Work with an extremely small footprint
  • Output to a wide range of formats including DOCX, RTF, PDF, HTML, XLSX, or even directly to a printer

Categories:  Document Generation

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Features

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Screenshots

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Reporting and Document Generation Solution Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Android, Windows Phone