Return Path Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Kevin Hickey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

My Return Path Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Return Path for certification, deliverability, and ISP remediation of our email marketing. Unfortunately, it was first implemented when we had delivery issues during critical Q4 holidays. However, now deliverability is being proactively managed on a daily basis.
  • Sender certification
  • Inbox monitoring
  • ISP remediation
  • ESP integration
  • Customer reporting
ReturnPath does a great job with account setup, sender certification, inbox deliverability monitoring, and ISP remediation when needed. One improvement would be with the customization of their platform to the granularity of our business. The biggest difference is always how their customer success teams proactively manage and support our business.
It really is measured by a typical waterfall approach. If we reduce email bounce rates and improve the volume of customers being reached via their email inbox and not getting filtered to a junk or spam folder, it increases our engagement, traffic, and demand. This positive impact also provides an improvement halo across all of our emails.
Read Kevin Hickey's full review
Amit Khandelwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2020

Return Path: the Pro & Cons.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is specifically used by the Email Marketing department. Return Path is used as a supporting email delivery tool for sender reputation, inbox placement, and getting the details of each domain in case there is an inbox placement issue. Its dashboard gives us a quick view of performance and issues, based on which we calibrate the email content, email sending list, suppression, etc for better email delivery health.
  • Inbox placement data using seed list: It tells you about your inbox placements, spam, missing, and complaints. Very useful data that tells you that you are on the road!
  • Sender score for all I.Ps: Tells you quickly about your I.P score, helps you work fast as you know everything is fine, saves a lot of time.
  • Online support: Support from specialist, have an expert to guide in tough times to suggest options or to support your action strategy.
  • Email verification service does not work well with small company domains, i.e. if the domain is not Gmail, Yahoo, AOL, etc. and the email belongs to some xyz.com, it does not verify properly.
  • For a few issues, the support team does not have a clear idea of how to deal with the issue, their knowledge is same as that of our knowledge.
  • For inbox delivery data the percent system is based on seed list and not our actual list.
Scenarios where Return Path is well suited:
1. Large email database.
2. Regular and large size email delivery/blast.
3. Email list with probable hygiene issues with collection, update preferences, segmentation, etc.
4. Email is important to business.

Scenarios where Return Path is less appropriate :
1. Small, well-maintained email database.
2. Small-sized email blast—non-promotional, limited.
3. Small budget organization, no major email dependencies for business promotion.



Read Amit Khandelwal's full review
Patrick Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2020

Return Path Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Return Path to increase email deliverability, as well as monitor our spam scores. We also use Return Path to preview our email templates across different platforms so that we can optimize our email across inboxes. Return Path is not used across our organization, just our Digital department uses it.
  • Does increase deliverability
  • Seems to have good previews of emails in various inboxes
  • Has a good inbox monitor
  • Price point is high
If deliverability is a major concern and you don't have an inbox preview then it's a no brainer, as long as you can afford it.

If you have no problem with being marked as spam or bounces and you already have inbox previews, you likely wouldn't need it.
The Return Path platform is easily accessed within Email Studio. I wish it was a bit more integrated. But together, they do help us understand the full picture of how our email campaigns are performing.
Read Patrick Lewis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 13, 2020

Return Path is great tool for email marketers, though don't rely on it alone

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Return Path within the Marketing department mainly for monitoring and managing email deliverability, general IP reputation trending, and inbox rendering. As part of our SFMC implementation, we leverage both the Inbox Monitor and Inbox Preview functionality mostly. We had some email delivery issues during the early stages of our SFMC implementation. Using the Return Path data and Sender Score trending we were able to turn that around and see more consistent inbox placement. Inbox Monitoring also helps us catch issues as they arise and address them quickly before deliverability issues affect all our users. As we develop new email templates and update our branding, the Inbox Preview tool has been an essential part of reviewing and checking emails before they go out to our guests.
  • Provides good visibility to inbox placement trends
  • Good preview rendering for major email clients
  • Good UI, easy to access major functions and tools
  • Salesforce Marketing Cloud integration makes inbox monitoring and rendering previews easy
  • Some domain summary data inconsistent with seedlist detail
  • UI feels a little dated
  • Reporting options are limited
  • As part of the SFMC integration, Return Path support issues and question go through Salesforce, not Return Path
  • Inbox Preview rendering could be more robust and extensive
  • Would like to see Dark Mode previewing rendering
Return Path definitely helps provide directional guidance on where/how emails are being delivered, and it certainly provides some feedback and insights when there are delivery issues. I would not say that it is 100% accurate, though, on Inbox/Spam/Missing placement details for all ISPs. It certainly helps identify issues, though I would not use it as proof that we were fully put into the inbox (or spam folder).

The inbox preview and rendering features are good, and I love the integration with Marketing Cloud. There are other rendering preview options available in the market, and this offering is solid. Just not the strongest. The direct integration with Marketing Cloud certainly makes it easy to use.

Budgets permitting, using Return Path as part of a larger portfolio of tools for inbox placement monitoring, blacklist checking, email rendering, etc. would be advised. But it certainly works well as a starting point.
Return Path is our primary application for checking deliverability (Sender Score, Inbox Monitor), though I do use MxToolBox for blacklist checks and the postmaster tools for Gmail and Microsoft. These, with the email reports we get through Marketing Cloud, we're able to catch and resolve issues that would prevent us from reaching our guests through email.
I find it fairly easy to use, though the interface is a bit clunky and I may be missing some revolutionary use because it's lost in the clutter.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

Return Path is good, but not perfect. As an experienced email marketer I know how to work around its weaknesses.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Return Path on a daily basis across a large range of email marketing tasks. The best and most important usage of Return Path is domain monitoring. It does not matter how well your emails render or how amazing your marketing copy is if the content never reaches the inbox of your customers.
  • Inbox Monitoring
  • Device Previews
  • Spam Recognition
  • User Analytics
  • Device Previews use old Litmus API and therefore slow, would be nice to have a quicker interface
  • No content builder integration, system relies on emails to be sent to platform often increasing development times
  • Old user interface, interface has been the same and clunky for many years
I would always recommend Return Path but with a caveat that there are many other tools out there. Return Path is a great amalgamation of a few tools but doesn't excel in any one area. If you only have a budget for one email marketing tool Return Path is it! If you want the full suite, you'll have to tack on 250ok, Litmus for better previews and content builder, etc.
We use Return Path directly with SFMC. Without Return Path we wouldn't know as much about how many of our emails are landing and why. We also use Return Path for email renderings as well as some spam checks. Although we do have device usage reporting, I find it hard to navigate and the interface is very dated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2020

Return Path: a good friend of deliverability

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Return Path is used by the deliverability team to provide reports and support about deliverability issues such as spam IP score trends, complaints metrics, and spam traps.
  • Accurate data on reports
  • Professional, and easy UX and design
  • Fast data exports
  • Lack of monitoring tools such as seedlists
  • Easy IP management (adding-removing)
  • Spam traps report per sending domain
Clients really enjoy the way the dashboard shows information. It's easy to understand and allows better decisions to be made based on the info provided.

Technical support is sometimes slow fixing issues and needs to be pushed in order to get the ticket request checked, especially when the request also needs to be escalated to developers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

First time we've used a tool like it, has been a game-changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Return Path in a few different departments. Our "broadcast" team uses it to track the technical performance of individual messages, inbox placement across different marketing efforts, and to monitor our "sender score" to ensure across various domains. Our Marketing team uses it to track the effectiveness of various messages by subject line and sender. Our web team uses it to track trends across all of our messages with regard to time, domain, and messaging.
  • Clean interface with a user-friendly summary line.
  • Easy to identify performance across email domains.
  • Great insight into performance by geography.
  • A good tutorial on how to leverage it would be helpful. Navigating is easy, but there's a lot of information and it takes a while to understand what everything means.
  • The reporting feature is intimidating, creating anew one isn't as user-friendly as the rest of the interface.
  • I understand what seeds are, but for new users, a very basic tutorial on what they are and why they are used would be helpful. Right now you have to have a baseline understanding of them before using it.
If you have anything to do with email, it's a vital tool. Whether there is a technical question about a send or a creative one about how a message performed, Return Path can give insights in a quick and user-friendly manner without much effort. However, if you are unfamiliar with the nuances involved with email, like the importance of weighting by an email provider or domain, it can be intimidating or misinterpreted.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2019

Return Path is great for those professionals who truly need to know all aspects of their email marketing campaigns.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Return Path within our Undergrad Admissions department with some integration going into some graduate and adult populations. This is being used to try and have better inbox placement for our email marketing efforts. We were having very low open rates and high spam rates so this is addressing that issue.
  • Shows spam rates
  • Identifies problematic subject lines for email marketing
  • View examples of how different email clients will show your email
  • It doesn't necessarily help emails to be pushed through spam filters
  • Some of the features for viewing email are naively available in Marketing Cloud
  • Hard to differentiate some of the features
Return Path would be very well suited to a director level position that is solely tasked with looking at email marketing. It is somewhat less appropriate if you do not have the time to really analyze the results that it provides. This is more of a monitoring tool than a tool that proactively fixes problems on its own.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Tool - yes, certification - no

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Return Path as an addition to our email deliverability tools and reporting across the entire organization. It is a very capable platform to test and to analyze inbox placement using seed lists. It is easy to track sender / IP reputation with this tool as well as improve those for better deliverability across all ISPs. The reports are quite detailed and the platform itself is very intuitive.
  • Inbox placement monitoring.
  • Domain / IP reputation monitoring.
  • Email deliverability troubleshooting.
  • Export of automated reports to external users, not only admins.
  • The tool is quite expensive.
  • The UI could use a refresh.
  • Certification is overrated and isn't required as long as you follow ISP guidelines.
Return Path is very helpful if the ESP you're using doesn't have deliverability reporting or provides insufficient data. RP is handy in inbox placement testing and reputation monitoring but the tool itself can't resolve deliverability problems as many would think. There is no magic pill. Email deliverability strongly relies on end user engagement (opened email, clicked, moved from spam, added sender to white list) and certification has no influence over user behavior or quality (or lack thereof) of your email content.
Read this authenticated review
Joni Kalstrup | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2014

Return Path gets to the root cause of deliverability issues and helps you course correct

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Return Path is being used by the resale part of the Ticketmaster organization to help maintain strong deliverability of our emails, and to ensure we're employing white hat practices. We contracted Return Path to perform an audit of our email services as they were fragmented--across many different platforms with different business owners, with practices and processes put into place that were no longer relevant or beneficial to the company. Return Path helped us identify root cause issues for low performing deliverability, and once the issues were made evident, business and IT stakeholders were able to make adjustments that ensured our emails were following best practices. Today, I use it as a monitoring tool to ensure deliverability is high (typically above their customer average and in the mid to high 90s); and also to the shift in how consumers are consuming email: today our first screen is mobile (primarily smart phones) which means we are reevaluating the template and also how to measure successful campaigns.
  • Individualized attention. They really dug in to understand our products and services.
  • Easy-to-understand training and actionable items that you can sustain over a long period of time.
  • They're embedded in our instance of Exact Target, so I'm able to review the entire email program and don't have to open up a separate tool to gather this information.
  • Some of the functionality that Return Path offers was not yet available in the version they provide through Exact Target
* Ask what you're looking to achieve with your email program; what benefits/added value will Return Path provide that your current ESP cannot
* Ensure you're scoping the entire project, so that Return Path's efforts will provide valuable feedback
* I found them to be very transparent about their methodology and expertise, so lay what you need on the line and they'll be very open and honest as to if they can help you or not.
Read Joni Kalstrup's full review
Dan Sixbury, PMP, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2014

Return Path Email Delivery Program Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Return Path was used to help ensure that we were white listed with the various ISPs and to ensure that we had a high rate of deliverability with minimal bounce rates. We also used Return Path to proactively manage email delivery.
  • White listing as no other company was able to deliver the same level of white listing and partnership that Return Path was able to offer
  • A single portal that provides access to all of the monitoring and reporting in one place.
  • Technical account managers that can provide point of contact to trouble shoot issues with specific ISPs email delivery issues.
  • There are a number of ISPs that do not partner with Return Path, I think Apple me.com, Gmail, and several others which leaves room for improvement.
  • Although Return Path offers great features, they come at a price, and as our ecommerce site decreased in email requirements, our contracted costs with Return Path continued to stay the same or increase in price.
Some of the important things to know are: Will you manage and control the domain that you are sending email from? How many emails do you plan to send on a monthly basis / annual basis? Will the emails be transactional or marketing in nature? What is the value to the business for emails getting delivered and open by the customer versus if they are sent to a junk email, or not being looked at by your customers?
Read Dan Sixbury, PMP, MBA's full review
Daniel Fox | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2014

Return Path Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Return Path to monitor the inbox rates of our email campaigns across several Email Service Providers. Each of these ESPs requires finesse in delivery, thus why we engaged Return Path to be our premier inbox monitoring tool. Additionally, we use Return Path for our creative design, so that we understand how mobile and desktop devices render our email creatives.
  • The inbox rates, alongside spam box and "missing" are up-to-date as we drop our campaigns live.
  • The consumer non-seeded campaigns gives us insight as to how inbox placement varies throughout the day.
  • The tool helps us troubleshoot problematic links within a creative if our affiliate market URls fail out.
  • RP gives us additional insight when inactive users are present in our campaigns.
  • We could use additional tools to export out delivery issues by specific type within a campaign.
  • API support would be appreciated for open app development.
  • Support for the prefix in a from line (prefix@DOMAIN.com) visible in the dashboard would be helpful.
It is most appropriate whenever Return Path is used to monitor placement in ESPs such as Yahoo and Hotmail. With the lack of visibility to their postmaster operations, understanding how changing engagement segments and how it weights towards placement is difficult to determine on our own. With RP, we have a better understanding and can marry the analytics for engagement with internal reports to determine the true viability of data feeds as it relates to reputation and engagement.
Read Daniel Fox's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2016

Return Path

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Return Path is used by our marketing organization. Return Path is leveraged to monitor deliverability using tools such as Inbox Tools such as Reputation Monitor, Inbox Preview, Inbox Monitor, etc. Reputation Monitor, I leverage to measure reputation of the organization IP addresses. It helps isolate where the deliverability issue is. Reputation Monitor also provides the IP Sender Score which is like a credit score for your IP. I also use Return Path to confirm inbox placement and how the emails render across different browsers/devices.
  • Reputation Monitor - provides Sender Score
  • Inbox Tools integration within your ESP (ease of use)
  • Certification
  • Certification pricing - if too high some could do without
Return Path is a must to monitor deliverability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

ReturnPath - You have reached your destination.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of the email marketing team at Life Time Fitness, we use Return Path on a daily basis. We use it to check the deliverability of our emails and make sure our emails are hitting the members' inbox. We currently have Return Path notifications set up that notify our entire team if inbox placement is <90%. That way, when this issue occurs, we can figure out why its happening and work to correct it.
  • Optimization - Return Path helps us to optimize our emails and continue to make them better.
  • Timely - We receive triggered notifications that help us fix an issue before it even occurs.
  • Data Driven - Return Path is perfect for analysts such as myself, and presents data in an easy to read way.
  • Training - It would be nice to have more training and more knowledge about what all Return Path has to offer.
Return Path is perfect for monitoring inbox placement and reputation. We pride ourselves on getting our members the right message at the right time, Return Path ensures that this can be followed through.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

Return Path Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Return Path allowed and provided me useful tools and tips on how to improve deliverability on campaigns. There were some great details that allowed me to provide great feedback and customer service to my client, but other times it was vague. Most of the tools I've used have been helpful and provide good insight/details. I've been typically told the same reason for blocks or spams at ESPs like Gmail and how they won't really give details on why.
  • General spam tools
  • Details on different ESPs
  • Spam checks
  • More detail/insights on spam
Return Path is a great tool that's given me useful information on my content and areas to improve for deliverability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2014

Words of Wisdom -Return Path

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Return Path for deliverability monitoring of our email clients. We add the Return Path deliverability seeds to ad hoc email campaigns. We use the Inbox Monitor, Reputation Monitor and Certification tab within the tool. We use Return Path as a first line of defense in diagnosing inbox issues at the various ISPs and use Return Path to send any blacklist alerts.
  • They have an easy interface to use and understand.
  • They provide great data to help find inbox issues, I would say the data I see in Return Path at the major ISPs is over 90% accurate to the bigger picture.
  • They are very responsive to questions that you ask.
  • They are way too sales oriented, it gets to be overkill to consistently be hounded about trying to sell our clients additional products from Return Path because we are their "partner". There have been times when our clients ask us to tell Return Path to stop contacting them directly, as they should not be doing that as our "partner" to begin with.
  • There have not been any significant changes/upgrades to the interface in the 2 years I have used it. I have heard for 2 years that they are suppose to expand their subscriber panel data and they haven't. I usually have to create a support ticket when the seeds go offline or something is broken, before they are aware of the issue.
  • Their seed lists updates constantly and it really isn't that well known when they do. It is extremely hard for us to update the seed list easily for clients because we have so many different versions of campaigns that we deploy, we have to assign values to data fields for the seeds and when the list changes all the time we cannot keep it updated and we miss the full benefit of the seeds.
  • In my 2 years using Return Path we have had 5 account reps. Definitely frustrating to get a new account rep every few months.
  • Their sales team is condescending. I was spoken to very rudely when our Senior Director couldn't join a call at the last minute. They did not seem to care about anyone who doesn't influence the bottom line and get combative.
Return Path is great for inbox monitoring and for monitoring reputation on the IP addresses. To me it doesn't make sense to use Return Path as your anti-phishing solution. It is over the top expensive when your IT team can implement a DMARC policy for free and handle phishing/spoofing attempts. They do have some good competitor data that they offer but they charge a ton for it and you really only need that kind of data maybe once a quarter.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (1)
7
Dynamic content (1)
9
Ability to test dynamic content (2)
8.5
Landing pages (1)
7
A/B testing (3)
8.5
Mobile optimization (3)
6.0
Email deliverability reporting (17)
9.2
List management (1)
5
Triggered drip sequences (1)
5
Dashboards (12)
8.9
Standard reports (10)
3.1
Custom reports (7)
4.6

About Return Path

Return Path from Validity ensures email deliverability. The vendor boasts tens of thousands of customers daily trust Return Path data and insights to help them optimize their email marketing. Partnered with email service providers, Return Path helps marketers take their email programs to the next level by driving more response and increasing revenue.

Return Path Screenshots

Return Path Competitors

Return Path Support Options

 Paid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Return Path Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No