Revit Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Stefan Boeykens | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Widely used multi-disciplinary BIM software - not necessarily the best for everything

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • ARCHICAD and VectorWorks
We select Revit when required for projects. If ARCHICAD or other BIM software is needed, we use those. I personally prefer ARCHICAD for architectural design, but it depends on clients and projects which tools are being used.

Revit is a decent product, although innovation has slowed down a lot, which price seems to increase. Integration is good as many external products and services support Revit (more so than other software).

IFC export has (luckily) improved a lot, so it can be used successfully in open BIM workflows. It lacks some of the refinement when compared to ARCHICAD on the deepness of IFC support, but there are a few nice techniques which work well in Revit.
Read Stefan Boeykens's full review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Revit Gets the Job Done!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit like AutoCAD can produce both a 3d model & 2 dimensional drawings such as plans, elevations & sections which are required for any design project to be communicated on paper for construction. But unlike AutoCAD, Revit's focus is to build a 3d model that contain smart information for construction. So for Revit the 2 dimensional drawings becomes a byproduct. In addition to the required drawings needed on paper to communicate the design, Revit offers so much more information in the model for all engineering disciplines.
Read Paul Li's full review
Brij Purohit | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Amazing 3-D tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit is easy to operate and involves various families for different disciplines. It also involves one single model where different users can open, work, and synchronize at the same time, making collaboration easy. Also, users can view other disciplines in the same model making the placement of families easier compared to AutoCAD.
Read Brij Purohit's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Revit is the most powerful tool in the AEC industry and continues to be the gold standard in design software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit is one of the most powerful tools in the Architecture, Engineering and Construction Field. It is outmatched by none. There is definitely a learning curve, and it cannot be picked up by an average employee and learned without formal training. Revit can do more on the design/design management side of construction than any other product/platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Industry Standard, with flaws

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are really no competitors to Revit for large complex building projects. It is essentially an industry standard, and we would not be able to complete our work or collaborate with our consultants effectively if we did not use Revit. AutoCAD is still used in the office for side studies and production of some plan graphics and details because it is less constrained than Revit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Essential 3D model builder in the structural engineering application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit has more architectural design functions, which work for rendering the structures into a polished style. SketchUp is unlikely to be used for a large structure modeling, more towards the interior design or small model demonstration. SOLIDWORKS is a more generalized software that offers functions not only for structural design but also mechanical, electrical engineering, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Revit - The best BIM out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit, like AutoCAD, is the most straight forward, intuitive of the BIM software available in today's market. It is widely excepted at a norm and is the most universally used in the engineering trades that we work with. As our clients start to demand that their projects are completed in BIM software, Revit is a solution that easily interfaces with AutoCAD making our design team flexibility that much greater.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

A Necessary Tool With Downsides

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit and SketchUp can be complementary products, although many promotional materials for Revit imply that it can replace SketchUp from your workflow. The promise is that you could complete all of your design studies in Revit, and not need to rebuild the geometry in Revit. The reality is that Revit is not flexible enough to quickly iterate through ideas, and the presentation tools are not robust enough to replace a separate 3D modeling software like SketchUp or Rhino. Luckily, there is some interoperability between the two. Specifically, SketchUp files can be imported into Revit as a family, which allows for some complex pieces to be modeled outside of Revit, and Revit files can be exported to 3D CAD and imported into SketchUp. Information is lost during this process, but the geometry can be easily adjusted for design studies.
Read this authenticated review
Tony Dang | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 04, 2019

Revit for building design rather than construction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit is purely an architectural design and drafting tool. It is best used at this current time of its development for visualization purposes. It does have features for documentation purposes for building construction however extracting building data and information is not yet fully utilized or streamlined. What Revit does well, and why it was selected is for the construction and building tools and elements, is that it has enabled the creation of a building to be done in a minimal amount of time by qualified staff.
Read Tony Dang's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 04, 2019

Using Revit as the basis of our designs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AutoCAD was great back in the day but had such a wide range of uses. Revit is based in construction and runs better for that function because of it. If I was to have to switch back to AutoCAD I cannot imagine how much more time I would have to spend in order to produce the same results that I can with Revit. Trimble SysQue has been a great add on for our Revit program. It is not an alternative, it is really in addition to. Each morning when I fire up Revit I am firing up SysQue right along with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

If I had my choice I would only work in Revit for Architectural Design

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

AutoCAD, MicroStation. These are both good programs but they are limited to two dimensions for the most part and I choose to use Revit for its ease in working in 3D, annotation, and organization. If you are looking to have a consistent good-looking set of drawings in 2D or 3D, I would recommend Revit.
Read this authenticated review
Forrest Huff | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

You will love Revit... whether you like it or not!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As I stated previously, it's hard to come up with a competitor for Revit. Revit was developed by Charles River Software back in 1997 and was bought by Autodesk in 2002. It's only real competition is with Bentley Systems or Tekla. Bently is just not used by the industry and would create coordination issues if everyone was not on the same platform and Tekla is good at concrete and struggles with any other content. The competition is just not there.
Read Forrest Huff's full review
Teresa Fechtel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Use Revit For Accuracy of Details

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit is used primarily for creation of contract documents and documents that need to be used to build in the field. Sketch Up is great for a quick concept sketch, but lacks the details that Revit has which are needed to construct. AutoCAD is a great tool for details as well, but does not have as many building capabilities as Revit.
Read Teresa Fechtel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit is the Industry Leader for BIM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We think Revit is hands down the leader in BIM software. It is the one program that most all shops are utilizing these days so it should be the first option you explore. There are other software packages out there but this is really the one that the vast majority of the industry uses and should be really taken seriously.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Arana | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Revit - Such a great tool for 3D Models!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Revit has become an essential part of any design project by facilitating smarter, faster, stronger designs that make economic sense while reducing environmental impact. BIM provides support every step of the way from design and visualization, to simulation and construction. The software helps teams collaborate, innovate, and connect with clients in more productive ways. We currently work with Revit, AutoCAD and SketchUp and Revit allows us to set a collaborative network among our construction partners reducing the time frame to make deep changes over design structures. Revit is just the tip of the blade.
Read Victor Arana's full review
Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Revit for Architects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

revit is an architecture designed software, previously (and some still do) architects and offices relied on the use of AutoCAD to create projects but that is a software for engineering \, and there is where revit has no other competitor. It has all the tools to make the architect's life easier - you don't need to manage Lines, you manage 3d real construction object with parameters i.e instead of drawing a line you draw a wall and you input the height as a value and there you are working with exact construction elements.
Read Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil's full review
Matthew Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2017

Revit in Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The difference between Revit and AutoCAD is that AutoCAD is a drafting tool while Revit is a design tool. All AutoCAD did was digitize a drafting process and it had no embedded intelligence in the product while Revit being a design tool is more than just lines and circles it is walls and doors that has information associated with those components so you can determine what it is made from or what finish is on it. And because of this intelligence you now have a "single source of truth". While in AutoCAD unless you put a note next to the "door" you did not know what those lines were suppose to be nor do you know anything about that door. So ultimately Revit was the platform we went to because the demand for that digital intelligence from the clients and the request to do design quicker could be met with Revit.
Read Matthew Warren's full review
Benjamin Wyszynski | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

Revit is the all in one program for your architecture needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I don't think there are any other alternatives to Revit as it does what multiple programs do in one. This allows us to have one license to do all of our drawings, coordination, and planning. It really is a program that you only need to use when designing in the architecture world.
Read Benjamin Wyszynski's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (31)
8.4
Plan markups & sharing (28)
8.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (19)
8.1
Photo documentation (11)
7.6
Jobsite reports (8)
8.1
Document sharing (31)
7.7
RFI tools (15)
7.9
Collaboration & approvals (28)
8.0
As-built drawings (32)
8.4
Mobile app (11)
7.9
Submittal design and management (10)
9.2
Takeoff tools (21)
7.7
Job costing (15)
7.7
Cost databases (10)
7.9
Cost calculator (10)
7.6
Bid creation (6)
8.1

About Revit

Autodesk’s Revit is a Building Information Modelling (BIM) product. It enables architectural design, MEP and structural design, detailing, and engineering design. Revit provides an open-source graphical programming interface designed for BIM workflows, performance modelling and 3D visualizations for designs. The program supports mid-process analysis to enable iterative analysis which can inform and refine models and designs. Revit also supports worksharing for cross-team collaboration. It is priced at $2,310/year.
Categories:  Construction

Revit Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No