Revit Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Stefan Boeykens | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Widely used multi-disciplinary BIM software - not necessarily the best for everything

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When all project partners are using Revit, it makes it more straightforward to collaborate using the same software. However, you also need to ensure that everybody is using the same version and organise model setup to aid collaboration.

It is well suited to multi-disciplinary building projects, especially if Structure and MEP are also fully elaborated as BIM models.

It is, however, complex and expensive software and for particular scenarios, not always the best software: for architectural design, ARCHICAD has some advantages, for structural design, Tekla and Allplan offer more refined toolsets. Moreover, modeling in Revit requires a lot of Family editing and development, which increases development cost and hugely increases file sizes. Ensure you have lots of RAM and CPU speed (high-frequency CPU is more important than having lots of cores which run slower).
Read Stefan Boeykens's full review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Revit Gets the Job Done!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is well suited for firms with office locations across the globe. Revit can be used by staff in various offices to work on the same project file to complete the project in the cloud without a need for a server.
Read Paul Li's full review
Brij Purohit | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Amazing 3-D tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is well suited for applications that require multiple disciplines under one single model. Different sheets can be created for various disciplines, and all the families can be viewed by anyone having access to the model. It is less suited for applications that have fewer components and simple design and single discipline.
Read Brij Purohit's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Revit is the most powerful tool in the AEC industry and continues to be the gold standard in design software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is a must-have in the Architecture, Engineering and Construction industry these days on any type of commercial project. Revit has taken the throne from AutoCAD as the leading design software and is universally used by designers, engineers, builders, and subcontractors. Revit is a potent tool when it is in the right hands.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Industry Standard, with flaws

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is the industry standard for the production of architectural drawings for large complex projects, and its widespread adoption make is a necessity for architects and designers whose work involves the production of drawing sets. The software is not well-suited for early-stage design work, as it lacks the tools for conceptual modeling and iteration of various design options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Essential 3D model builder in the structural engineering application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would always recommend Revit for structural 3D modeling, particularly for rendering and connecting to the structural design. Since we have a student version of this software on campus, it is free of charge for students to use it. I think Revit is very helpful in the initial stage of structural design, which does not need a detailed and sophisticated reinforced layout, because it does not have a function to check design requirements like other structural design software do.
Read this authenticated review
William Cameron | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Revit for design and construction

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is the perfect design and construction software. The intuitive nature of the software makes it a great design tool. In the construction world, we use it with Trimble SysQue and it is powerful. Our designers have all of the information at their fingertips. Modeling shafts is much easier than it was compared to AutoCAD. It is the same with sleeves and cores.
Read William Cameron's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Revit - The best BIM out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is well suited for straight forward buildings of decent scope and not much time or complication in their initial design phases. It is not meant to be a design tool so much as a design documentation tool that allows your building to live in 3d and be developed and revised as such.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

A Necessary Tool With Downsides

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is the best tool I have used to document a project, especially synchronizing design changes between drawings, organizing sheets, coordinating with consultants, and complex phasing. It is less suited to design studies (prefer a more flexible 3d modeling tool like SketchUp) and graphic presentations (still need to export to Indesign for most presentations).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Building an Information Modeling Kit

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • For example, before this software, we could only imagine the building design on paper. Now, with the help of this beautiful software we are able to visualize building design before it's built.
  • I remember when me and my team were working on our first project before this software. Our faulty design cost us extra money. After that, we adopted the use of Revit, and we can now analyze our design before we even start our construction.
  • It allow complex building structures to be accurately designed and documented in a short amount of time which helps us save so much money.
Read this authenticated review
Tony Dang | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 04, 2019

Revit for building design rather than construction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The creation of a building for client approval is where Revit is best suited. Revit is less suited to providing detailed workshop drawings for features within the design that are a part of the construction build. Revit has a standard library and is able to be expanded with online tools from direct manufacturers, enabling a real-time version of what is to be constructed.
Read Tony Dang's full review
Miroslav Bobryshev | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Revit Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The program is suitable for the rapid development of the design of a building, office, or premises. It's even suitable for creating concepts. Changes and edits are made easily and the program tries to preserve previously made attributes. This is an extremely powerful tool for professional work in BIM.
Read Miroslav Bobryshev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 04, 2019

Using Revit as the basis of our designs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is great software for anything construction related. We use some add-ons that help enhance what we are capable of doing with the software but Revit is where it all starts for our design and coordination work. I use it every day. I also teach apprentices how to use the software at an apprenticeship school. Right now, it is definitely the software to use over any other.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Revit: A Whole New World of Collaboration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is well suited for firms trying to increase production speed in developing well-coordinated building designs. It is best utilized where there are several systems designs going on in a project, and it gets even better with larger size projects. It may not be the best choice for smaller footprint projects or remodels, since project set up may take more time than actual production work.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

If I had my choice I would only work in Revit for Architectural Design

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have projects that are one-offs, it's still faster to draw a building in Revit than it is other CAD software. Where you really save money and time is when you are dealing with projects that work off of a criteria template, or for instance a high rise or apartment complex or manufactured homes where you are creating the same type of building over and over again.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2019

Construction use of Revit

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit really is the industry standard for design software, at least for the United States. There are other platforms out there but you run into compatibility issues when trying to work across other software types. It's great for anything like home design, light commercial, large hospitality, or healthcare type buildings.
Read this authenticated review
Taylor Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is well suited for creating collaborative projects that are fully integrated into the design and construction document process. We work a lot with engineering firms who also use Revit and the program allows us to fully integrate and coordinate our models together to make sure that everything is correct. I can see where my electrical engineer has placed lighting into the model and same with my mechanical engineer and their HVAC equipment.
Read Taylor Carter's full review
Forrest Huff | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

You will love Revit... whether you like it or not!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is primarily a 3D modeling/documentation authoring platform. That's what it should be used for. It does have the capability to do multiple model coordination review but it's not stellar. Navisworks Manage is a much better platform when collaborating with outside parties.
Read Forrest Huff's full review
Teresa Fechtel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Use Revit For Accuracy of Details

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is great for detail coordination, and sharing among trades for BIM coordination. It works well for building models. In cases where a quick 3D sketch or concept needs to be drawn, there are other programs that are easier to use. If accuracy is needed though, Revit would likely be my first choice.
Read Teresa Fechtel's full review
Fran Maita | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit builds ideas and designs dreams.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I merit changing equipment to advance and improve our services with the use of this tool within the organization. The technical support that develops is more advanced than our devices and for some reason the memory is consumed in the use of this tool. Therefore we add extra memory to correct those design details and virtual capacity.
Read Fran Maita's full review
Jake Karl | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

Revit is a must have for new construction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is excellent for new construction projects where you can enter in all the data as the project goes along.

Revit can be hard for older people in the industry as there can be a high barrier of entry to get the hang of how Revit likes to do things.
It can also be tough for modifying existing buildings as there can be a lot of existing conditions to model correctly.
Read Jake Karl's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit is the Industry Leader for BIM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Revit is specifically well suited for the construction documents phase of a project but can be used across all phases from design to implementation. This is also great for presenting to clients with well formed 3D models of an overall project. We would highly recommend this to any firm looking for BIM software.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Arana | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Revit - Such a great tool for 3D Models!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For construction detailed projects where the estimates matter the most, Revit can help you out to set every single complex detail, giving you the chance to obtain better results and the most realistic 3D model, with measures, textures, and precise square feet. Will also allow you to test and preview materials using its vast library.
Read Victor Arana's full review
Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Revit for Architects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

revit is well suited for every scenario, when you need speed and accuracy, because the most of the work relies on the 3d model which needs to be done once and can be done in collaboration if you like. You can collaborate on the cloud, and after you have the model completed, making the plans and elevations is just as easy as dragging and dropping to an also easy to create drawing sheet, so you can make a project of any scale at a glance.
Read Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (31)
8.4
Plan markups & sharing (28)
7.9
Issue tracking & punchlists (19)
8.1
Photo documentation (11)
7.6
Jobsite reports (8)
8.1
Document sharing (31)
7.7
RFI tools (15)
7.9
Collaboration & approvals (28)
8.0
As-built drawings (32)
8.4
Mobile app (11)
7.9
Submittal design and management (10)
9.1
Takeoff tools (21)
7.7
Job costing (15)
7.7
Cost databases (10)
7.9
Cost calculator (10)
7.6
Bid creation (6)
8.1

About Revit

Autodesk’s Revit is a Building Information Modelling (BIM) product. It enables architectural design, MEP and structural design, detailing, and engineering design. Revit provides an open-source graphical programming interface designed for BIM workflows, performance modelling and 3D visualizations for designs. The program supports mid-process analysis to enable iterative analysis which can inform and refine models and designs. Revit also supports worksharing for cross-team collaboration. It is priced at $2,310/year.
Categories:  Construction

Revit Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No