Revit Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Stefan Boeykens | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Widely used multi-disciplinary BIM software - not necessarily the best for everything

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Revit both as part of my teaching at the university (alongside other software) and as part of our consulting offerings (also alongside other software). We follow the tools as used by our clients and Revit is widely used in our projects. It is used in the majority of BIM-related projects, which can be project management, but also custom development and as part of standardisation and educational activities.
  • Our development division creates custom Add-ins for Revit.
  • Our management division often uses Revit when it is applied in projects we manage or support. Commonly for information extraction and occasionally for modelling
  • Our innovation division ensures that our industry working groups contributions are widely applicable, so Revit is one of the reference systems we try to support whenever possible. This often implies testing the support within Revit for IFC model exchange and noting the limitations as well.
Read Stefan Boeykens's full review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Revit Gets the Job Done!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is used throughout our entire company. We have our headquarters in Los Angeles with a branches in Amsterdam & Manila. Using Revit to complete our design projects gives us an advantage over other Architectural firms that currently cannot offer this service.
Read Paul Li's full review
Brij Purohit | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Amazing 3-D tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The entire organization is using Revit under various departments for production and CAD support. Various disciplines such as Mechanical, Plumbing, Electrical, Fire Protection, Fire Alarm, and Technology use it for creating drawings for construction solving the problem of multiple discipline coordination and 3-D viewer for various disciplines organization-wide.
Read Brij Purohit's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Revit is the most powerful tool in the AEC industry and continues to be the gold standard in design software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is currently used by our Virtual Design & Construction, Operations, and Estimating Departments at a mid-size to large general contracting company. Our Virtual Design & Construction (VDC) uses Revit for BIM coordination, 3D/4D Logistics Planning, Pointcloud scanning and Analysis, rendering, and more. Our Estimating department uses it for takeoffs, value engineering, and budgeting. Operations bridge the gap between departments and use it for odds and ends throughout the construction administration process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Industry Standard, with flaws

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is used by nearly all architects and architectural staff in my organization. The primary function is the production and coordination of architectural drawing sets. Secondary to this is its use as a coordination tool, where we link consultants models into ours for clash detection, and in order to work out other spatial puzzles in a design. Third, we use Revit for design studies, though it is not well suited for architectural design work early in the process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Essential 3D model builder in the structural engineering application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit has been widely used in our engineering departments, all of the engineering student labs have got the academic license for student and faculty usage. As a student in Civil Engineering, we commonly pair it with AutoCAD and other 3D design software for preliminary structural design and showing the bird eye view of structures. For some issues related to structural analysis, we also use the exported files from Revit for initial structural modeling.
Read this authenticated review
William Cameron | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Revit for design and construction

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is used by our design department to create construction documents and it is also used by our construction department for coordination and spool drawings. We have been using it for about 10 years. It has really streamlined our coordination. It is a huge advantage to have the entire architectural and structural model reside (Linked) in your design model.
Read William Cameron's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Revit - The best BIM out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is used on an as-needed, per client request, basis in our studio. Other studios within our company use it more regularly, and every studio uses or has used it to my knowledge. Revit is our BIM software of choice, as it is the most robust and the most similar to AutoCAD.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

A Necessary Tool With Downsides

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We now use Revit for almost every project from schematic design through construction administration. The firm previously used MicroStation for 2D CAD and some 3D BIM. Revit simplifies project document organization and keeps multiple drawings up-to-date simultaneously. Our consultants also use Revit, which allows for easy updates and complex visibility controls. We do not yet use BIM360, which I understand would make coordination even simpler.
We typically have a separate SketchUp model for design studies and renderings because 3D modeling in Revit is still cumbersome and inflexible. In some cases, the parametric features of Revit make simple changes into complicated headaches. Proper education for all users is critical because there are many pitfalls in Revit that are then synced back to the shared model.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Building an Information Modeling Kit

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • We use it to analyze how buildings will perform before construction begins, develop better quality designs, and improve project delivery.
  • It helps us understand the complex design and construction process. With the help of Revit we are able to understand the complexity of our construction design.
  • This software is only used by our engineering design group.
    With the help of Revit we are able to do our planning process faster, and we can design and understand different future aspects which will appear during the construction period.
Read this authenticated review
Tony Dang | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 04, 2019

Revit for building design rather than construction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is being used by our organization to produce architectural drawings and plans for construction purposes. It also provides clients with a detailed visual representation of their final product. It is currently only being used by the drafting department. However, visual representations are able to be exported into other formats for viewing by engineering personnel. The business problem that Revit addresses is the need for 3D representation of a construction plan to head off any potential problems during construction.
Read Tony Dang's full review
Miroslav Bobryshev | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Revit Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The program was used by a small number of studio artists familiar with BIM designing for the initial development and visualization of amusement parks.
Read Miroslav Bobryshev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 04, 2019

Using Revit as the basis of our designs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a mechanical contractor located in the midwest that uses Revit in our BIM department for coordination of new and/or existing structures. Revit allows us to model our piping systems and to coordinate with other trades in order to mitigate problems in the office and avoid finding them out in the field.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Revit: A Whole New World of Collaboration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is used at my company to do full BIM modeling of MEPFR systems in buildings for production of construction drawings and for coordination of building design with Architects and Structural Engineers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

If I had my choice I would only work in Revit for Architectural Design

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Revit for the design of our architectural projects. It is being used on a project-by-project basis based on what the owner is wanting. Revit's 3D Application allows us to solve problems in design that normally wouldn't be caught until construction. It forces you do design based on how things are actually built instead of just making it look good on construction documents.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2019

Construction use of Revit

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my current role as a general contractor office, I utilize Revit to view and access the design intent models from architects, and engineers. Our department has about half a dozen people and we also create supplemental models to provide additional useful information for 3D coordination. Previously, I worked for a design consultant where I prepared construction documents for commercial and private businesses, as well as private residences. In my previous job, the drafting/modeling department was just me with two to three other engineers.
Read this authenticated review
Taylor Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is being used across my entire firm. We are using it for integrated BIM work with our consultants, mainly engineers, who are also using the program. Revit also allows us to collaboratively work on projects which benefits us greatly on larger projects where multiple people are required to finish the project. This allows our firm to complete projects faster than if we were using other programs and allows designers to work together in real time at their own work stations.
Read Taylor Carter's full review
Forrest Huff | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

You will love Revit... whether you like it or not!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At Korsmo Construction, we use Revit to create fabrication level structural models to validate design and create drawings and models which are used for estimating, constructability review, drawings and layout data for all self -performed scopes of work. The act of modeling closely simulates the act of building; if you cannot model it due to a lack of information, you cannot build it. This often finds errors and omissions from the design team and solves issues before they present themselves in the field. Our VDC department is the currently the only department that models in Revit, however, there are a few in the organization that can utilize it by simply opening up design teams models and analyze for design intent and reference.
Read Forrest Huff's full review
Teresa Fechtel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2018

Use Revit For Accuracy of Details

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently Revit is being used by our BIM (Building Information Modeling) department, but there are some instances where Revit is used in field operations as well. We use Revit to draw various building systems, and then use those models to coordinate across trades. Revit is also used by our company for concrete self perform work to create drawings for the carpenters to use in the field when forming various concrete components.
Read Teresa Fechtel's full review
Fran Maita | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit builds ideas and designs dreams.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Check is a software that is used as part of the knowledge of the area in that work. This design tool allows us with professional services. We create a work team to distribute the tasks because of the magnitude of the work we do here. It also allows us to obtain good results in terms of 3D drawings.
Read Fran Maita's full review
Jake Karl | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

Revit is a must have for new construction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company uses Revit across all three trades we do here. We use Revit or other software depending on the project. For larger or new construction projects I find that Revit is extremely helpful with coordination between trades. It can help reveal areas where space is too tight for our designs that we might not have noticed otherwise.
Read Jake Karl's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

Revit is the Industry Leader for BIM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Revit is being used by the entire team to coordinate on all projects dealing with architects and planners who are using BIM for their CAD. This is being used by most all of the team with the exception of some of the higher level executives. All professions are starting to use Revit as a BIM solution.
Read this authenticated review
Victor Arana | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Revit - Such a great tool for 3D Models!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Revit to build the 3D models and perform the estimates of all the construction projects. Also, we use it to send the isometric models to the project management team so they can build the takeoff with the drawings of AutoCAD and the 3D models of Revit. We use it every day to mark up the changes on every construction model for condos, townhouses and custom lots.
Read Victor Arana's full review
Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Revit for Architects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Autodesk Revit is being used by the organization in the construction and project department. It addresses the problems related to quantities and takeoff. We are mainly a construction company, so we recreate the projects plans in great detail to get accurate quantities list that we link to an estimate to get the final budget for the construction projects. For any changes we change the model, which is easy to do, and it will automatically refresh all the final pricing related to the quantities.
Read Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (31)
8.4
Plan markups & sharing (28)
8.0
Issue tracking & punchlists (19)
8.1
Photo documentation (11)
7.6
Jobsite reports (8)
8.1
Document sharing (31)
7.7
RFI tools (15)
7.9
Collaboration & approvals (28)
8.0
As-built drawings (32)
8.4
Mobile app (11)
7.9
Submittal design and management (10)
9.2
Takeoff tools (21)
7.7
Job costing (15)
7.7
Cost databases (10)
7.9
Cost calculator (10)
7.6
Bid creation (6)
8.1

About Revit

Autodesk’s Revit is a Building Information Modelling (BIM) product. It enables architectural design, MEP and structural design, detailing, and engineering design. Revit provides an open-source graphical programming interface designed for BIM workflows, performance modelling and 3D visualizations for designs. The program supports mid-process analysis to enable iterative analysis which can inform and refine models and designs. Revit also supports worksharing for cross-team collaboration. It is priced at $2,310/year.
Categories:  Construction

Revit Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No