Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Rubrik

Rubrik

Overview

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Backup with ease and innovation

9 out of 10
March 25, 2024
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We …
Continue reading

Rubrik just works...

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev …
Continue reading

Rubrik Review

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly …
Continue reading

Amazing simplicity

10 out of 10
March 20, 2024
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is …
Continue reading

Rubrik

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help …
Continue reading

Initial Thoughts!

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the …
Continue reading

Works great would purchase again.

10 out of 10
March 14, 2024
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Intuitive User Interface: Users have consistently praised Rubrik's intuitive user interface, with many reviewers stating that it is easy …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (136)
    9.3
    93%
  • Snapshots (135)
    9.3
    93%
  • Management dashboard (136)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform support (133)
    8.6
    86%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

189 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Carbonite Server?

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both…

What is Microsoft System Center?

Microsoft System Center Suite is a family of IT management software for network monitoring, updating and patching, endpoint protection with anti-malware, data protection and backup, ITIL- structured IT service management, remote administration and more. It is available in two editions: standard…

Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

9.1
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is a cybersecurity company offering Zero Trust Data Security to help organizations achieve business resilience against cyberattacks, malicious insiders, and operational disruptions. Rubrik Security Cloud, built with a Zero Trust design and powered by machine learning, aims to deliver complete cyber resilience in a single platform across enterprise, cloud, and SaaS. Rubrik’s platform automates data policy management and enforcement, safeguards sensitive data, delivers data threat analytics and response, and orchestrates rapid cyber and operational recovery.

Key Features:
  • Comprehensive Cyber Resilience: Rubrik Security Cloud offers a holistic approach to fortify data against a diverse range of threats, ensuring protection for enterprises, cloud environments, and SaaS applications.
  • Automated Data Policy Management: The platform streamlines the management and enforcement of data policies, so that organizations can more efficiently control their data assets.
  • Data Threat Analytics and Response: Leveraging internal analytics capabilities, Rubrik Security Cloud detects and responds to data threats swiftly, in order to prevent potential breaches.
  • Operational Recovery Orchestration: In the event of a cyber incident or operational disruption, the platform orchestrates recovery processes, minimizing downtime and data loss.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Screenshot of Rubrik DashboardScreenshot of Data Threat AnalyticsScreenshot of Data Security PostureScreenshot of SLA Domain

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Security Cloud Overview

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Reviewers rate Encryption highest, with a score of 9.6.

The most common users of Rubrik are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(217)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users commonly recommend the following about Rubrik:

Consider Rubrik as an option for backup solutions and try a proof of concept (POC) to experience its benefits. Users suggest that Rubrik is a complete and secure data management solution that is highly recommended.

Use Rubrik for customers who require frequent snapshots and a lower recovery point objective (RPO) granularity for restore. Reviewers believe that Rubrik is well-suited for these customers.

Integrate Rubrik as a backup product with existing automation systems due to its full-featured API. This allows for seamless integration and automation of backup processes. Additionally, when considering the cost of Rubrik, users suggest looking at the overall return on investment (ROI).

Overall, users recommend not being afraid to try Rubrik, emphasizing its ease of use and time-saving capabilities. They view it as a great investment that will save headaches in the long run. It is also recommended to use Rubrik as part of a two-system backup strategy for data protection. Before making a decision, it is advised to conduct a true comparison of costs and understand the long-term costs of all solutions.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 136)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Burhan Shakil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is perfect for taking backups of Virtualized environments. While it supports taking file share backups the process is not as intuitive as VM level backups. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized. Legacy Systems: If your organization heavily relies on legacy systems that are not virtualized or cloud-ready, Rubrik's strengths in modern IT environments may not be fully realized.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Rubrik is clearly made for protecting enterprises at ease. I never used a backup product before, that is so intuitive and demands such less administration. It just works! It is really feature rich and innovative. The only downside could be pricing, so it may not be suitable for small companies. Pricing is mostly dependent on the amount of data to protect.
March 21, 2024

Rubrik just works...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We installed Rubrik and were able to start using it immediately without having to make any customizations or special tuning. We installed agents and backed up databases without any noticeable impact. Patches and upgrades have been applied without any issues.
Compared to the previous product we used, which we worked with for nearly two years tuning, upgrading, and more tuning just to try to get it working, and every patch broke it, sometimes taking days to resolve.
Rubrik has been a great partner and is adding new features and functionality, and their support team has been very knowledgeable and responsive.
March 21, 2024

Rubrik Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
365 backups can be recovered into a selected person's OneDrive which saves time when recovering something for the ServiceDesk.
March 20, 2024

Amazing simplicity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik works very well in virtualized environments. They are starting to hit the physical world too. I have tested their connector on physical hosts and this is very promising. I'm actually looking forward to deploying such connectors on a larger laptop park. It would be nice to have the ability to backup endusers machine on-prem and get rid of Druva.
March 18, 2024

Rubrik

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are working with Rubrik now to get installed. They have been very accommodating to get everything situated and getting all the time needed. We have had many calls to get schedules in place, and the whole team has been very helpful to the best of their ability. They are wonderful to work with.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is great at backing up and restoring Virtual Machines in a VMware environment. The process works easily and pretty much without failure. The live mount process works well to get a VM back up and running quickly and then migrating it back to the production environment. The replication process to replicate the backups offsite to our secondary Rubrik appliance also works great. The backup of Microsoft 365 data seems to work great, but the restore process has some room for improvement.
March 18, 2024

Initial Thoughts!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Rubrik has provided an all-encompassing backup solution for our organization. It has help us catch potential threats with the automatic file anomaly detection. Their level of support as been fast and very helpful. We haven't had Rubrik very long but we have been very happy with the seamless integration and support!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We really like the use in the VMware environment. We can trust that all VM’s will be backed up with at least the minimum policy. We also can adjust that policy to give the critical business functions higher importance and priority. Since they are fairly new, not all features are fully baked. Oracle has a way to go before it would be best on market.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The product ease of use and has comprehensive data protection from a range of sources and top notch support teams. Integration with things like Oracle and SQL databases is great, and has the ability to restore, clone or export to any point in time of the SLA. Also, being able to archive backup data to the cloud, with specific retention periods is a nice feature.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik have been really approachable, happy to discuss any issues we might have and support has always got to the bottom of any problems we've had. The product itself is very user friendly, simple to use and also looks great! Every feature we've had to utilise so far has just, worked, and worked as expected as well (always a bonus!) The materials available for study of the products and getting involved with Rubrik (think, swag, customer engagement) has also been a plus point.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is still a relatively new product when compared to other solutions which tackle total data protection. The feature set is quite broad but still needs some refinements. Most of the User Interface is quite straightforward and easy, but some areas are a bit lacking in a description of what the option is used for, or the option is missing. While making the user experience easy, many tunables aren’t present and require a Support Tunnel to be open for a Support person to make a change in the customer’s environment. Seems the first question Support always asks is if you can open a tunnel for them to remote in. Then you’re not able to monitor exactly what they’re doing.
Chris Armitage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik does a fantastic job of keeping most, if not everything, simple. The UI is always easy to use and find a way around. The ease of backing up your data means you can focus on other tasks at hand, and with the various tools now available (Threat Hunting, Sensitive Data, Orchestrated Recovery) it means you can do more with those backups to improve your business and make sure the data is safe and recoverable.
Mark Bowen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is well suited for enterprise-size organizations, I don't think it would be suited to small businesses. This is a personal opinion as I work in an enterprise-scale organization and it works well for us. If you have to buy Briks I am not sure the same could be said for smaller-scale operations.
Jewemars Christian Riano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is a well-curated technology that caters to the needs of some industries and companies who are looking for an easy to use, understandable and manageable platform. It is well suited for almost any industry. Support is fast and the customer relationship is great. The level of support and troubleshooting are the best.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
All issues aside, I'd still recommend Rubrik all day long. The product simply works and does the core function really well. Management is able to get in the interface, look around and have a good general idea that everything is going ahead as planned. On the admin side [it's] really easy to work with and for the most part, everything makes perfect sense.
David Riberdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
VMware environments would be a great fit for Rubrik. They have now also branched out into Acropolis, Hyper-V, and managing AWS backups as well. This product could be used in a lot of types of environments, from small to Enterprise, as they have a footprint to fit all of those and everything in between.
September 02, 2023

Just a great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik has great support for most backup scenarios on premise and cloud, and if you are a small team with big infrastructure then I think this fits perfectly, there aren't many areas where you can really be complex which may not be for everyone if you have some really specific needs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is most useful for organization with a lot of data to backup and restore. For us, we need Rubrik because all of our data are confidential and government compliance so we need Top level data resiliency tool that would not only store our data but also protect our data from bad actors which is increasingly hacking multiple organization in this day in age.
Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is great for large enterprises but might not fit the best for smaller sized companies with low backup demands. We have had to restore virtual machines quickly , and Rubrik's quick mount on solid state was tremendous at getting the client back running. The only negative is the mac address changed even though we had checked retain mac. We had to go back into vmware and set it.
Return to navigation