Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Rubrik

Rubrik

Overview

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Backup with ease and innovation

9 out of 10
March 25, 2024
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We …
Continue reading

Rubrik just works...

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev …
Continue reading

Rubrik Review

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly …
Continue reading

Amazing simplicity

10 out of 10
March 20, 2024
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is …
Continue reading

Rubrik

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help …
Continue reading

Initial Thoughts!

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the …
Continue reading

Works great would purchase again.

10 out of 10
March 14, 2024
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Intuitive User Interface: Users have consistently praised Rubrik's intuitive user interface, with many reviewers stating that it is easy …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (136)
    9.4
    94%
  • Snapshots (135)
    9.3
    93%
  • Management dashboard (136)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform support (133)
    8.7
    87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

208 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft System Center?

Microsoft System Center Suite is a family of IT management software for network monitoring, updating and patching, endpoint protection with anti-malware, data protection and backup, ITIL- structured IT service management, remote administration and more. It is available in two editions: standard…

What is Veeam on IBM Cloud?

Veeam on IBM Cloud promises to provide continuous availability to enterprise clients through its combined and automated backup and recovery solution. Veeam is deployed in the user's IBM Cloud environment for: · Agentless image-based backups · Recovery of entire VMs, individual files,…

Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

9.1
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is a cybersecurity company offering Zero Trust Data Security to help organizations achieve business resilience against cyberattacks, malicious insiders, and operational disruptions. Rubrik Security Cloud, built with a Zero Trust design and powered by machine learning, aims to deliver complete cyber resilience in a single platform across enterprise, cloud, and SaaS. Rubrik’s platform automates data policy management and enforcement, safeguards sensitive data, delivers data threat analytics and response, and orchestrates rapid cyber and operational recovery.

Key Features:
  • Comprehensive Cyber Resilience: Rubrik Security Cloud offers a holistic approach to fortify data against a diverse range of threats, ensuring protection for enterprises, cloud environments, and SaaS applications.
  • Automated Data Policy Management: The platform streamlines the management and enforcement of data policies, so that organizations can more efficiently control their data assets.
  • Data Threat Analytics and Response: Leveraging internal analytics capabilities, Rubrik Security Cloud detects and responds to data threats swiftly, in order to prevent potential breaches.
  • Operational Recovery Orchestration: In the event of a cyber incident or operational disruption, the platform orchestrates recovery processes, minimizing downtime and data loss.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Screenshot of Rubrik DashboardScreenshot of Data Threat AnalyticsScreenshot of Data Security PostureScreenshot of SLA Domain

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Security Cloud Overview

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Reviewers rate Encryption highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of Rubrik are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(221)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users commonly recommend the following about Rubrik:

Consider Rubrik as an option for backup solutions and try a proof of concept (POC) to experience its benefits. Users suggest that Rubrik is a complete and secure data management solution that is highly recommended.

Use Rubrik for customers who require frequent snapshots and a lower recovery point objective (RPO) granularity for restore. Reviewers believe that Rubrik is well-suited for these customers.

Integrate Rubrik as a backup product with existing automation systems due to its full-featured API. This allows for seamless integration and automation of backup processes. Additionally, when considering the cost of Rubrik, users suggest looking at the overall return on investment (ROI).

Overall, users recommend not being afraid to try Rubrik, emphasizing its ease of use and time-saving capabilities. They view it as a great investment that will save headaches in the long run. It is also recommended to use Rubrik as part of a two-system backup strategy for data protection. Before making a decision, it is advised to conduct a true comparison of costs and understand the long-term costs of all solutions.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-2 of 2)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 20, 2024

Amazing simplicity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is great because in an international context like our, we do not see any maintenance window when operating around the clock. So Rubrik will decide when this is best to do start backup jobs based on its own analysis and the SLA that we impose on the system.

Another great advantage of using Rubrik is the massive savings in terms of storage. The file system is so advanced that savings are huge.
  • Storage savings using dedupe, compression and erasure coding
  • Define SLA to have backup jobs started, no time need to be defined
  • Scale out capabilities
  • 10 GE is mandatory, I think in some environment 1 Gbps could be used
  • Entry ticket is high, but once you growth, it is reduced
  • Lack of end user laptop support (officially)
Rubrik works very well in virtualized environments. They are starting to hit the physical world too. I have tested their connector on physical hosts and this is very promising. I'm actually looking forward to deploying such connectors on a larger laptop park. It would be nice to have the ability to backup endusers machine on-prem and get rid of Druva.
Data Center Backup (13)
90.76923076923077%
9.1
Instant recovery
90%
9.0
Recovery verification
90%
9.0
Business application protection
90%
9.0
Multiple backup destinations
90%
9.0
Incremental backup identification
90%
9.0
Backup to the cloud
90%
9.0
Deduplication and file compression
100%
10.0
Snapshots
90%
9.0
Flexible deployment
90%
9.0
Management dashboard
90%
9.0
Platform support
90%
9.0
Retention options
90%
9.0
Encryption
90%
9.0
  • positive impact is : everybody wants to have his workload on Rubrik
  • negative impact : the cluster became full very quickly, victim of his success
  • Veeam Backup & Replication
At the time we became customer (in 2017), Rubrik was the only one supporting Nutanix AHV and the only one proposing SLA-style protection of objects. What we still love about Rubrik against veeam is the fact that Rubrik is coming as a full turnkey solution with storage included directly in the product. veeam is still a virtual appliance and you have to provide it with some sort of storage.
10
In our company, we have various profiles, but the team managing the Rubrik clusters are mostly infrastructure manager and data security administrator. Our company is widely spread over 3 continents but the team who is managing the infrastructure is very small and not in each and every locations. Rubrik is helping with its simplicity to have everything smooth.
1
Not much skills. Rubrik is so simple, you just need some practical hands-on and you are good to go. Of course, to be very specialized, you can follow training but in most cases this is not required. If you know what a VM is and what a snapshot is, you can already be very efficient ! I would say that half a day training/on-job coaching is most of the time enough.
  • Backup window does not exists anymore - SLA driven
  • Backup of the Nutanix clusters in just a few click
  • Data archiving and long term retention
  • Tape backups are gone once for all
  • The fact that they were the first vendor supporting Nutanix AHV
  • Storage saving is impressive
  • Speed of recovery is unprecedented
  • To replicate data between datacenters ensuring we have off-site data retention
  • The cloud aspect : easily backup AWS or GCP workloads . We are starting to deploy these protection.
  • We are looking at using Rubrik for Disaster recovery. Cross datacenter backups
Rubrik as proven is power on our day-to-day data protection and it has been engraved as part of our IT strategy. This is the perfect match with our infrastructure : vmware, Nutanix AHV, Linux and Windows workloads. We love it so much, we are very sad for not having started earlier.
Yes
When we decided to look at the backup chain, we realized that we were using more than 7 different tools. Rubrik changed our life once for all. We are now using one single easy to use, performant platform.
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
Nutanix AHV support and the backup window management. We are operating in follow the sun mode and we did not want to schedule any backup jobs. Rubrik solved that using SLAs.
I think we did a good job in the product selection, using fair scoring methodology, Rubrik won immediately when we discovered the SLA philosophy which completely fits our requirements.
This is straightforward. Honestly, I do not need to comment much on that.
  • Implemented in-house
No
Change management was minimal
Rubrik can easily be implemented in any environments. You just need to open the relevant firewall ports so Rubrik can query the relevant platforms (hypervisors, physical servers, ...). This is not disrupting the production at all and you are quickly up and running. My record on a new deployment was 15 minutes from the power on to the first ingested snapshot.
  • once, I was not able to reach the IPv6 of the brik.
  • Online Training
The interaction with the teacher is great and usually provides tons of opportunity for questions. The students questions are great to generate discussions and touching base the certification topic.
Rubrik support is very good. This is part of those modern companies who take extra caution on support. Rubrik support is not only limited to their product, they can touch any other aspect of the data chain : Cisco, vmware, Nutanix, .... they are all terrain experienced IT people able to understand your problem from A to Z.
I don't know Rubrik had premium support. Not sure this is what we have, I have the feeling that what I'm getting now is already premium quality.
Yes
Depending of the type of bug yes, this is well treated. If not deployed with the next release, it happens to have a in-between release engineering fix. It happened once.
I had an issue with the AWS EC2 workload indexing. The support engineer was not able to assist me directly but he called somebody from the engineering team at the Rubrik HQ who joined us in the Zoom call and solved my issue directly without waiting for another shift. This is what I call exceptional support and I was not used to it.
The Rubrik UI is fresh and easy to understand. They are constantly improving the visibility of what's going on in the system and following the customer's wish. I'm often in a meeting with Rubrik designers listening to my view on what should be visible and on what manner and this is very gratifying to see recommendation reflected in the final product. When you start using Rubrik for the first time, everything is so intuitive, this is a well polished product and the future is bright !
  • The monitoring menu showing what's going on in the system
  • the various dashboard
  • the API stack is incredible
  • the software upgrade used to be complex (it has changed since 5.3)
  • I regret that the backup verification does not have a UI at this time. API only
No
None that I'm thinking about at the moment. It's clear in overall and not subject to any concerns. I had the opportunity to inspect the contracts and they are very standard and not bringing confusion in any kind.
George Pickersgill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is used as the primary data protection solution.
  • Rubrik simplifies protection of assets and data across the estate, making it easy to protect VMs, SAN, database and OS/file level information.
  • The search function from the very front page makes it very easy to identify data for restore. That ease of use becomes the standard across the entirety of the restoration process - quick and pain free.
  • RBAC access is industry standard in data protection application and it's not different here - again very easy to set up with depth and granularity for those that require it.
  • Automation of restores should be available from the GUI - at present one must configure scripts to interface with the APIs
Especially suited to medium size companies with large end users on virtual desktop environments - the ease of restoration makes accidental deletions almost impact free.
Data Center Backup (9)
100%
10.0
Universal recovery
100%
10.0
Instant recovery
100%
10.0
Multiple backup destinations
100%
10.0
Incremental backup identification
100%
10.0
Deduplication and file compression
100%
10.0
Snapshots
100%
10.0
Management dashboard
100%
10.0
Platform support
100%
10.0
Retention options
100%
10.0
  • This is the least amount of time I have spent managing backups. The efficiency and reliability mean I spend my time looking at other things.
With the exception of Backup Exec's GRT I rate all features of Rubrik above the competitors i have used. To restore single mail items one must mount the volume/DB into a Kroll server (License provided on request from Rubrik)
6
IT Architects and Infrastructure Engineers
4
A general knowledge of backup and recovery and a decent knowledge of the products in the estate being supported and protected
  • Data protection
  • Fast RTO
  • East of maintenance
  • We've used it recently to spin up copies of both VMs and databases to run alongside the original and prove the safety/concept of a particular change.
  • I used the replication and live mount to bring a VM to a different datacenter with about 10 minutes downtime for that service.
  • Category/Folder level backup for AHV
  • Live mount for AHV
We've recently brought more capacity and will likely do the same again.
Yes
Veeam, Backup Exec.

Both end of life and from different mergers - we needed to consolidate.
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
Ease of use, reputation of the support teams
We wouldn't
  • Third-party professional services
Rubrik came and helped us plug it in.

Further 'Brik' installs will just need network config and will then integrate themselves into the cluster.
No
Change management was minimal
  • We had no significant issues.
No
  • in-person training
Very easy to take in and pass on.
I've given 5 here as i have not done the Rubrik university stuff - just read their KB which is decent.
Very easy to pick up. Decent online KB to compliment the learning.
There's only one feature I have found that requires some growth and that's the AHV integration - its just not as mature as the VMWare integration. We need more features.

Other than that it does the job very well. My VMs in AHV are just as protected as the ones I have in VMWare
None
No - we have not done any customization to the interface
No - we have not done any custom code
None
The Rubrik support team are one of the main reasons I rate this product the way that I do. They're professional, responsive and quite proactive.

All of the people I have dealt with have had great product knowledge of the product and the wider infrastructure that Rubrik interacts with.
No
Yes
Yes - an issue with SMB backups that has since been resolved in 5.3
A guy called Josh Steinhouse wrote a PS function and report specifically to help me with my Exchange backup monitoring.

Very good.
Its a very intuitive UI. You can likely figure most things out by just clickign around with no formal training.
  • VMWare VM Restores
  • Exchange database restores
Very easy to add new 'briks' (or nodes as everyone else calls them :P)

as long as the network is plugged in and configured, the briks will discuss among themselves and welcome the new comer into the cluster.
We've never had any issues in over 2 years
Very good - no impact on the network or perfomance of VMs
  • VMWare
  • AHV
No, Rubrik already had the code in place to facilitate the integration.
  • No
  • API (e.g. SOAP or REST)
None - we don;t use it enough to properly comment
The account team were and have been very helpful.
Dan and Andy always keep in touch to make sure things are going well.
NA
None
Yes
Rubrik support handled it all for us
  • Improved SMB backup performance
  • NA
No
No
Return to navigation