Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Rubrik

Rubrik

Overview

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Backup with ease and innovation

9 out of 10
March 25, 2024
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We …
Continue reading

Rubrik just works...

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev …
Continue reading

Rubrik Review

10 out of 10
March 21, 2024
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly …
Continue reading

Amazing simplicity

10 out of 10
March 20, 2024
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is …
Continue reading

Rubrik

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help …
Continue reading

Initial Thoughts!

10 out of 10
March 18, 2024
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the …
Continue reading

Works great would purchase again.

10 out of 10
March 14, 2024
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Intuitive User Interface: Users have consistently praised Rubrik's intuitive user interface, with many reviewers stating that it is easy …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Retention options (136)
    9.3
    93%
  • Snapshots (135)
    9.3
    93%
  • Management dashboard (136)
    9.0
    90%
  • Platform support (133)
    8.6
    86%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

191 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Carbonite Server?

Carbonite Server (also replacing the former EVault products acquired from Seagate in 2016) is a full backup and discovery solution. Designed to recover anything from a single file to an entire system with the click of a button, Carbonite Server users can protect virtually any type of file on both…

What is Microsoft System Center?

Microsoft System Center Suite is a family of IT management software for network monitoring, updating and patching, endpoint protection with anti-malware, data protection and backup, ITIL- structured IT service management, remote administration and more. It is available in two editions: standard…

Return to navigation

Features

Data Center Backup

Data center backup tools send data to a secure storage location after encryption and de-duplication

9.1
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik is a cybersecurity company offering Zero Trust Data Security to help organizations achieve business resilience against cyberattacks, malicious insiders, and operational disruptions. Rubrik Security Cloud, built with a Zero Trust design and powered by machine learning, aims to deliver complete cyber resilience in a single platform across enterprise, cloud, and SaaS. Rubrik’s platform automates data policy management and enforcement, safeguards sensitive data, delivers data threat analytics and response, and orchestrates rapid cyber and operational recovery.

Key Features:
  • Comprehensive Cyber Resilience: Rubrik Security Cloud offers a holistic approach to fortify data against a diverse range of threats, ensuring protection for enterprises, cloud environments, and SaaS applications.
  • Automated Data Policy Management: The platform streamlines the management and enforcement of data policies, so that organizations can more efficiently control their data assets.
  • Data Threat Analytics and Response: Leveraging internal analytics capabilities, Rubrik Security Cloud detects and responds to data threats swiftly, in order to prevent potential breaches.
  • Operational Recovery Orchestration: In the event of a cyber incident or operational disruption, the platform orchestrates recovery processes, minimizing downtime and data loss.

Rubrik Features

Data Center Backup Features

  • Supported: Universal recovery
  • Supported: Instant recovery
  • Supported: Recovery verification
  • Supported: Business application protection
  • Supported: Multiple backup destinations
  • Supported: Incremental backup identification
  • Supported: Backup to the cloud
  • Supported: Deduplication and file compression
  • Supported: Snapshots
  • Supported: Flexible deployment
  • Supported: Management dashboard
  • Supported: Platform support
  • Supported: Retention options
  • Supported: Encryption

Rubrik Screenshots

Screenshot of Rubrik DashboardScreenshot of Data Threat AnalyticsScreenshot of Data Security PostureScreenshot of SLA Domain

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Security Cloud Overview

Rubrik Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesNA, LATAM, EMEA, APJ
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Rubrik is cloud data management and enterprise backup software provided by Palo Alto-based Rubrik, Inc. It is a software platform that provides backup, instant recovery, archival, search, analytics, compliance, and copy data management in one secure fabric across data centers and clouds.

Reviewers rate Encryption highest, with a score of 9.6.

The most common users of Rubrik are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Rubrik Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)40%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(217)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Users commonly recommend the following about Rubrik:

Consider Rubrik as an option for backup solutions and try a proof of concept (POC) to experience its benefits. Users suggest that Rubrik is a complete and secure data management solution that is highly recommended.

Use Rubrik for customers who require frequent snapshots and a lower recovery point objective (RPO) granularity for restore. Reviewers believe that Rubrik is well-suited for these customers.

Integrate Rubrik as a backup product with existing automation systems due to its full-featured API. This allows for seamless integration and automation of backup processes. Additionally, when considering the cost of Rubrik, users suggest looking at the overall return on investment (ROI).

Overall, users recommend not being afraid to try Rubrik, emphasizing its ease of use and time-saving capabilities. They view it as a great investment that will save headaches in the long run. It is also recommended to use Rubrik as part of a two-system backup strategy for data protection. Before making a decision, it is advised to conduct a true comparison of costs and understand the long-term costs of all solutions.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 135)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik as our backup solution. The ease of the use and knowing that Rubrik is a solid company gives us great peace of mind about the safety and reliability of our data. It is easily configurable and the immutability of the data gives us a solid handle of our data.
Burhan Shakil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is the primary backup product we use. It is currently used to backup our virtual infrastructure running on VMWare. Our backup is stored on Rubrik Briks and also archived to S3 Storage. Overall the product is rock solid with great features. Other than our primary backup solution this is also major part of our DR Recovery plan. In case of disaster we can restore our VMs to AWS using Rubrik Cluster on AWS.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Rubrik products for about 5 years now to backup our critical assets. We are highly virtualized and mostly backup VMs. We first implemented Rubrik CDM completely on-premise and switched to Rubrik Security Cloud (RSC) in 2023.

Backup data is still on-premise, but due to the metadata being analyzed by RSC, this enables us to fully scan our backups for viruses, worms and ransomware without affecting the performance of the production systems.

RSC also learns what is a normal behaviour of a server (in terms of how many files change, are added, deleted, etc.) and informs the user on malicious behaviour. Additionally the user is able to define his own rules (e.g. YARA rules, hashes, regex) to hunt for specific threats.Sensitive, unencrypted data can also be automatically discovered (like customer or payment data). Also customizable by the user.

Besides VMs, Rubrik can backup nearly every critical asset, like physical servers, databases, network shares, cloud ressources and lots more.

Though Rubrik offers a lot of features implemetation and administration is an easy task. UIs are intuitive and there are many assistants guiding the user through the tasks.

Due to the intuitive UI, I was able to teach other colleagues how to use RSC in no time and keeping it up-to-date is also very convenient.
March 21, 2024

Rubrik just works...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all of our on-prem MSSQL, Oracle, and DB2 databases from Cyber and Ransomware attacks as well as test/dev refreshes. The instant recovery feature really saves us a lot of time and resources when a user simply needs to recover data from a single table since we are able to give them a point in time copy of the database within minutes versus trying to find a server with the right software versions and storage to do a full restore which might take hours.
March 21, 2024

Rubrik Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik for server and 365 backup across the whole organization. It helped us save time as it doesn't need to be constantly micromanaged. It is also giving us the confidence that our data is completely protected and secure. Furthermore we know we can have immediate access to the data by leveraging technologies such as instant restore.
March 20, 2024

Amazing simplicity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is helping us to drastically improve our backup strategy. The best feature of Rubrik is making the backup window invisible. This is great because in an international context like our, we do not see any maintenance window when operating around the clock. So Rubrik will decide when this is best to do start backup jobs based on its own analysis and the SLA that we impose on the system.

Another great advantage of using Rubrik is the massive savings in terms of storage. The file system is so advanced that savings are huge.
March 18, 2024

Rubrik

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are going to use it for cyber security and ransomware recovery. This will help us make faster recovery for our business and help protect us against attacks. This will allow us to be able to protect all involved. It is very important, and protection for all our offices are the top priority.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to backup our on-prem environment which consists of a purely virtualized VMware environment onto a Rubrik appliance. These backups are replicated to a DR location with another physical appliance. We also use Rubrik Cloud backups to backup our Azure DevOps environment and our Microsoft 365 data including user accounts and SharePoint online.
March 18, 2024

Initial Thoughts!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to back up our entire systems. We backup our physical servers and VMs which is about 30TB of data. We also use the ransomware detection software in Rubrik to look for any abnormalities constantly. We appreciate the ZeroTrust policy so we know that no changes can be made by a single user or accidentally. Having Rubrik give us an all around piece of mind.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This is being used across all of our organization. This addresses the need that we had for a scalable backup product that sits in our data center. We also wanted it to be able to tier to cloud. We appreciate the API’s and will be using that further in the future.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We primarily use Rubrik to back up SQL environments in Azure and VMware in our data center. The Native Azure backup was not giving us the capabilities we needed for our MS SQL and we were not happy with our legacy on-prem backup solution. After we implemented Rubrik we were able to configure Rback controls and allow the users to manage their backups and restores without the involvement of the corporate IT department
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is used to protect all of our critical data on-prem and in the cloud. The platform gives us confidence in our data protection and recoverability. We are a long term customer an have found the platform to be reliable and intuitive. The product ticks all of our boxes for data protection and Rubrik are continually improving the product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Helping us ensure backups are complete, reliable and on-time, we're also secure in the knowledge that our workloads are backed up in multiple locations, both on and off prem.

We use Rubrik to ensure continuity of backups, the vulnerability scanning, threat detection and ability to scan for suspicious files and activity helps us in being confident our data is secure against external threats and the potential of being held to ransom.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Data Protection software for disaster recovery and recently switched over to using Rubrik. The scale out architecture is very appealing along with the “single pane” view of the multiple clusters. The support for other applications such as SQL and Oracle has allowed us to replace multiple products with a single product.
Chris Armitage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik for our Backup requirements as well as part of our DR plan. It is also used for security monitoring, threat hunting, and making sure we stay compliant with GDPR by knowing where our sensitive data is stored and kept. We've also used Rubrik to recover from an actual cyber attack during the challenging times of the COVID-19 pandemic. With its immutable storage and ease of use, be it via the CDM (on-site Briks) or the use of the RSC (Formerly Polaris), we were able to recover all our data with relevant ease.
Mark Bowen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to protect all our virtualization systems, Azure VMs, Azure SQL, and M365 data. We are using Radar and Sonar for data security and ransomware protection through threat hunting and anomaly detection. We hope to soon start working with app flows to assist with our disaster recovery plans too.
Jewemars Christian Riano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik is being used organization-wide. It helps us with backup deliverables for our critical and major systems. It is also used for disaster recovery for our virtual machine servers. Knowing that we are secure, and have a backup, makes us sleep better at night. The company is going through a digital transformation. We are transitioning from the typical tape method to doing backups with Rubrik and archiving it to the cloud thru AWS.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have two Rubrik clusters installed at 2 locations with multiple edge devices in other states. We use it to back up the majority of our servers as well as SQL systems. The [ease] of use makes recovery very easy and one less thing to really worry about. It's pretty quick and painless. The DBA's also use it to copy prod data as a refresh method which they can then do themselves. There have been some challenges but [it's] still night and day better than what we were using.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Rubrik to backup and replicate between several states using 2 physical clusters and 3 virtual devices. It is our go to solution for recovery and business continuity. It is our secondary solution for disaster recovery. We currently use organizations to allow all our DBAs to backup up SQL to Rubrik. We have one Windows Oracle team using managed volumes for backup.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Rubrik will adress ransomware by it immutability, detection, data sensibility. All feature that will help us to have a better data security. Also Dr orchestration will help us to reduce significiant time consuming action and our Dr will be faster with all there automation process possible with Rubrik.
David Riberdy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This product is used across our entire enterprise. We were able to consolidate down to this one product and remove a handful of others to deal with just the one vendor. Being able to standardize on Rubrik allowed us to successfully manage a large, geographically diverse company from one location and with less personnel overall.
Kevin Mortimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We’re using Rubrik to eradicate tapes from our environment backing up NAS, VMware, HyperV, and Nutanix. It’s a central IT service for all infrastructure provided to our business. It brings a rapid restore capability compared to tape which took days to get back and that’s just the tape let alone the restore process.
September 02, 2023

Just a great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We primarily purchased this for Backup and Disaster recovery, however we now use this for backing up cloud items and ransomware and sensitive data discovery. We are able to focus resource on other tasks due to the simplicity of administering the product.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Rubrik to backup all of our VMs daily from our vSphere environment. We also have weekly reports from Rubrik that 's coming to our email. Apart from the Brick or the appliance we also use Data Protection, Ransomware Monitoring and Orchestrated Recovery as well in our organization from Rubrik. All the features are so useful to use. We also have O365 protection from Rubrik.
Tim Lillis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Almost 3 years ago we decided the clunky Avamar was too much to manage and to slow to restore. We did a search and comparison and came down to VEEAM and Rubrik. We decided to go with Rubrik even though the cost was higher. Rubrik has a large portfolio, is scalable, and offers cloud archival which we recently added to our installation.
Return to navigation