Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Reviews

19 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Mike McKeown | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2020

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate is the perfect software that does so much for a General Contractor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate is used by our organization to process account receivables, account payables, invoicing to clients and change orders. These items are used by the project management and accounting departments. Having these products working together with both the project management and accounting departments eliminates additional data entry and thus costly errors.
  • Ability to create sub change orders directly from owner change orders.
  • Excellent reports produced that are very helpful.
  • Transfer of data from project management to accounting save time.
  • The program is not as user friendly as it could be.
  • The program is slow at times as it processed data.
  • It is not able to be used productively remotely.
I feel that Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate is a good product for small to medium sized General Contractor and Builders to use. You are able to do most of the project management and accounting side of construction using Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate.

I do not believe Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate is a good product for large construction companies or subcontractors. Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate can be used by these companies but I believe there are better products for these types of companies.
Read Mike McKeown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Sage 300 CRE is that monolithic ERP that you sometimes hate to see show up on your screen but sometimes cannot live without.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage 300 CRE is our ERP application that we use for all Accounting and Project Management functions. It also has HR modules however we do not use that part of the application. Our whole organization uses it though sometimes for different pieces of their daily jobs. Accounting uses it extensively for GL, billing and other accounting related functions while our operations department uses mainly the Project Management functions with some limited accounting use. Since it is our almost complete ERP application it's considered our main bread-and-butter app though the good and bad sides of it.
  • Sage 300 CRE, formerly Timberline, has been on the market for dozens of years and is a very mature application. You cannot go wrong with using it for day-to-day construction company business.
  • Their support department, though sometimes a little weak on the front line, is built to handle the needs of very large companies thus even though it may sometimes take some extra calls you can always be assured of getting a needed answer.
  • Since this is an almost all-in-one ERP the applications/modules are linked such that doing work in one will lead to information and data being entered throughout all the modules related to that data.
  • Since this is a construction/real estate specific package, contractors need little customization to be able to use the application fully within the limits of construction terms and typical construction needs such as RFIs, Dailies, and Transmittals.
  • As mentioned in the pros, Sage has been around for a long time and the user interface really shows it. It has a Windows 3.1 look to it and it can be irritating to users who want a more refreshed look.
  • Using an old fashioned Pervasive database, Sage is not fast. The speed of the application really relies on the infrastructure of the servers, workstations and network involved but even in best-case scenarios some screens and reports are slow to load without the help of third party items such as their SQL Replicator piece.
  • The out-of-the-box Sage 300 CRE experience is NOT at all mobile friendly. The only way to use it in a mobile sense is through Terminal Services type connection but that does not scale well to mobile devices thus it is basically not usable on anything except a decent laptop. They have come out with add-ons to make it more mobile friendly but that adds to the complexity of the install.
  • The old interface has a lot of trouble with unique monitor arrangements whether extra monitors or non-standard resolutions.
Sage is not at all well suited for small companies who want an agile, nimble setup for quick moving situations and mobile use. These type of companies should look elsewhere such as a SaaS offering from another vendor. In addition Sage is very expensive both in its initial outlay and ongoing support.
Medium and larger sized companies benefit from a Sage install much more than the smaller constructor. Having the modules all work in unison is important when a company is of a certain size as is having the long tenured support structure. In addition Sage requires the terminals services setup to use it remotely and the larger companies are more likely to have the infrastructure and support for that type of setup.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2020

Sage 300 is the real deal.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage 300 is used in our construction division. The software is used to collaborate project details with construction mangers, architects, field operations, and clients.
  • Change orders
  • Office and Field communication tool
  • Keeping the client involved in day-to-day schedules and progress
  • Learning curve is steep
  • Field personnel sometimes lack the technical skills required to use the product
  • Customizing toward individual companies can be difficult.
My experience leads me to believe that Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate is best utilized and most appropriate for medium to large size companies that have an internal IT department. I would be hesitant to recommend the software to small companies and those whose employees lack good computer skills.
Read this authenticated review
Lindsay Helmick | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Sage is a strong tool, but can be bulky.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage 300 in our finance departments. We do not use it on the project management side because our production teams are not as technologically savvy and the system needs a certain level of skill. We use it for project accounting, billing, and budgeting. We also use it for payroll and accounts payable. The system tends to be bulky, but powerful and has a lot of ways to customize.
  • There are a lot of ways to drill down into information. The ability to run inquiries that can be easily exported into Excel is incredibly useful.
  • The help desk is very helpful. There are multiple ways to get a hold of someone and it is extremely useful.
  • The knowledgebase articles are very helpful and provide a lot of great detail.
  • There are so many patchwork pieces that oftentimes modules do not talk to each other correctly.
  • A common fix with issues is to go into the backdoor to fix issues. It seems like a big lack in security and IT controls. I wish there were better fixes for when the system miscalculates or times out.
  • The fact that it is not cloud based has made it more expensive and difficult to update regularly. We have to keep a server specifically for this system, while everything else we use is cloud-based so everyone in the field can easily access them.
It is very powerful but has not continued to keep us with the times when it comes to technology. The fact that it is server-based for the full system does not bode well with our company processes. We have many field crew members and other production managers that need access to our information but cannot do that while they are in the field.
Read Lindsay Helmick's full review
Robert Giddens | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Sage 300 Construction: Perfect for the Mid Market

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage 300 Construction is used in our real estate division of the company. It is used for AP, AR and GL functions.
  • Sage does a comprehensive job of tracking all accounting features and functions.
  • It is easy to deploy and is used by all members of staff to track the accounting of our real estate business.
  • The systems are easy to use and training is minimal.
  • It is a mature product so most of the cons have been resolved.
For a mid-sized real estate company, it is an excellent match.
Read Robert Giddens's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Sage 300: a good construction suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage 300 is currently being utilized for accounting, billings, budgeting, payroll and meeting minutes.
  • Ease of use
  • Flexibility to add jobs and users
  • Ability to write custom reports for end users and clients
  • Creation/improvement of a mobile app
  • Price for support is quite high
  • Support is not available 24/7
In the construction environment, Sage is one of the leaders as it has many features that are needed to run a small to medium-sized business. Creating a portal for customers to be able to access documents would be a real plus.
Read this authenticated review
Glen Gehrkens, PHR, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

Feels dated, but is functional with quirks.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage for our Project Management, Costing, and Finance (AP, AR, GL) modules. We recently moved away from using their payroll module.
  • Accounts Payable invoicing.
  • Accounts Receivable tracking.
  • General ledger.
  • Payroll.
  • All aspects of reporting, including the ability to export in various formats.
  • User interface.
Works well for project costing and tracking. The general ledger feature is solid. It is not a very intuitive user interface. It almost feels like a version of AOL from the late '90s. They have a long way to go compared to their competitors in this area.
Read Glen Gehrkens, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Chris Michel | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Sage 300: Frustrated User

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three operators using it every day to prepare construction estimates. We put in material and labor take-offs as well as subcontractor and supplier bids. Then we send the budget to the accounting software where we can run our purchase orders, track our labor hours, do our billings, and pay our suppliers.
  • Once you get it set up with all the vendors and cost codes, it works okay to manage all the transactions.
  • It is made for construction, tailored for the way we use it.
  • Flexible, you can modify every input and make it the way you want it.
  • They have never dramatically changed the software in the last 20 years. The format could be improved.
  • Very expensive. Pay every year for upgrades that don't really change anything. Need to pay for each user.
  • Really hard to set up correctly. New users need to spend a month of labor getting all the cost codes in there and all the vendors in the system.
  • The system crashes a lot, you'll be working along and then you get a critical error and need to restart it.
Only works for construction but I believe there are a lot better systems out there.
Read Chris Michel's full review
J. Mickey Merguerian | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2019

Powerful but the UI makes it a mediocre product.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire organization between Heavy Job and Sage 300, it is implemented by the field, the cost department, and the executives. We do change management, cost coding, cost reports, field reports, and revenue recognition. Essentially every facet of our business is carried out through Sage 300. Although it can be clunky at times, as an organizational tool it exceeds our expectations, but it has a lot of room for improvement, especially pertaining to the user interface.
  • Sage 300 does a wonderful job in change management. Trying to manage a $90M job is difficult enough, but having over 60 change requests makes it essentially impossible if it wasn't for this module.
  • Summary Reports. This module is the only way to get a true litmus test of the job. We use this during every monthly meeting and would probably be lost as to the status for the job without it.
  • Transmittals are a masterpiece on Sage. I don't say this too lightly, but by all means it is an absolute masterpiece. When we have all different PMs doing all different transmittal, it's wonderful to see them all in one place following one template. No more trying to collaborate people's emails into a folder hoping they all are formatted the same way. This is a completely underappreciated facet of Sage 300.
  • The user interface is not good, flat out. The style in which you access the information looks like a primitive version of Microsoft. In addition, there is a lack of congruence between certain screens. With some modules, you press the 'X' in the top right exit, with some you have to press a 'cancel' button, and then another cancel located elsewhere.
  • To be honest a majority of the issues I experience can be correlated to the user interface. It is by far the worst aspect of Sage 300. With all due respect, Sage has a wonderful product that needs a new coat of paint. I'm hoping with the future updates they will take examples from other organizations in order to bring the UI into the 21st century, because their format is simply archaic.
If you work in construction, need to track documents, cost, revenue, submittals, timecards, finances, change management, equipment, labor, and run multiple analytics on these entries, then this product should be on your computers. If I'm being completely honest, this is not the best product in the realm of 'Construction Management'. There are a lot of different companies that do a much better job organizing the information, running custom reports, and especially as far as user interface/customization.
Read J. Mickey Merguerian's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2017

Would you implement Sage 300?

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage 300 as our ERP system. It is mainly used by the accounting department as a GL and reporting system. We have added Timberscan to Timberline as a conduit to approve invoices and load the backup into the Timberline Sage 300 system. The system is our single source of truth.
  • All the backup is saved in the system.
  • Job costing module is helpful for the business.
  • Bank reconciliations done on the system.
  • The AP Module is great to track invoices.
  • Reporting can be improved.
  • A running total on the GL can be beneficial.
  • Integration with Microsoft products for reporting will be beneficial.
The Sage 300 product is well designed for construction and real estate companies where the job costing module is very beneficial for the business. Other industries can also use Sage 300, however, there might be more appropriate systems that can be better suited for some industries. The reporting modules need improvement.
Read this authenticated review

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Scorecard Summary

About Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate is an end-to-end construction and property management product.

Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No