Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Salesforce CMS

Salesforce CMS

Overview

What is Salesforce CMS?

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Personalization (formerly Salesforce CMS) is a hybrid CMS allowing users to author content once and deliver it anywhere, in or out of Salesforce. Users create content, define content access, and define channels so they can share content…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Organize it all!

8 out of 10
May 24, 2021
Incentivized
They offer a lot of good solutions for our business uses. It is really handy in keeping all of our content organized and in one place. A …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Community / comment management (19)
    8.8
    88%
  • API (22)
    8.5
    85%
  • Role-based user permissions (23)
    8.5
    85%
  • Code quality / cleanliness (18)
    8.4
    84%
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Salesforce CMS?

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Personalization (formerly Salesforce CMS) is a hybrid CMS allowing users to author content once and deliver it anywhere, in or out of Salesforce. Users create content, define content access, and define channels so they can share content and limit access to appropriate…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

22 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is SharePoint?

Microsoft's SharePoint is an Intranet solution that enables users to share and manage content, knowledge, and applications to empower teamwork, quickly find information, and collaborate across the organization.

What is Square Online?

Square Online (formerly Weebly) is a basic content management system with blogging and eCommerce features. It can be utilized for building standard websites or specialized webpages for online stores.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Verbis Translation & Localization for Salesforce CMS DEMO

YouTube

Introduction to Salesforce CMS

YouTube

Introduction to Salesforce CMS

YouTube

Salesforce CMS Demo | Salesforce

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

8.5
Avg 8.1

Platform & Infrastructure

Features related to platform-wide settings and structure, such as permissions, languages, integrations, customizations, etc.

8.5
Avg 7.7

Web Content Creation

Features that support the creation of website content.

8.4
Avg 7.7

Web Content Management

Features for managing website content

8.4
Avg 7.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Salesforce CMS?

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Personalization (formerly Salesforce CMS) is a hybrid CMS allowing users to author content once and deliver it anywhere, in or out of Salesforce. Users create content, define content access, and define channels so they can share content and limit access to appropriate contributors. For an experience built with Salesforce, users can choose from two of the company's “what-you-see-is-what-you-get” (WYSIWYG) tools: Experience Builder and Commerce Page Designer. If the user wants to deliver content onto a third-party site, experience, or mobile app, the system's headless APIs can deliver the content. Salesforce' "unlimited" content management for experiences at scale is available at $10,000 per org / per month.

Salesforce CMS Video

Salesforce CMS Demo | Salesforce

Salesforce CMS Competitors

Salesforce CMS Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Salesforce Marketing Cloud Personalization (formerly Salesforce CMS) is a hybrid CMS allowing users to author content once and deliver it anywhere, in or out of Salesforce. Users create content, define content access, and define channels so they can share content and limit access to appropriate contributors. For an experience built with Salesforce, users can choose from two of the company's “what-you-see-is-what-you-get” (WYSIWYG) tools: Experience Builder and Commerce Page Designer. If the user wants to deliver content onto a third-party site, experience, or mobile app, the system's headless APIs can deliver the content. Salesforce' "unlimited" content management for experiences at scale is available at $10,000 per org / per month.

Adobe Experience Manager, WordPress, and Drupal are common alternatives for Salesforce CMS.

Reviewers rate Community / comment management highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of Salesforce CMS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1472)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-23 of 23)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
May 16, 2022

Salesforce CMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It helps solidify our content and keeps things clean and organized. I love its ability to allow our end-users to collaborate in the creation, editing, and production of digital content such as web pages, and blog posts. This brings the team synergy and allows us to get a lot more tasks done as a team overall.
  • Multiple integrations
  • Ease of use
  • Content delivery
  • Language support
  • Functionality can be improved
  • More license availabilty
Great to use across companies with different parts of the organization to collaborate and create content. Being that we can deliver content to our employees and our customer base leaves everyone with a better experience overall. We recognize that both sides of the business need to be satisfied, thus having a tool like this makes everyone's lives easier and tasks more attainable
Swarup Sangale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are currently managing a program to train and certify individuals in my organization. We have created an user interface from where users can enroll to the program. The details submitted by the users then added to the Salesforce and we can manage it through CMS. Sometimes users face issue while submitting the registration due to OTP issues. Through CMS we can get the OTP for these individuals and provide it to them. Also, whenever users are unable to complete any steps through UI, we can complete it through backend from CMS.
  • User management
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to navigate
  • Application Development
  • Some of the features like algorithms
If we want to create a form for registration to a particular program and we want to manage it from backend, then Salesforce CMS is a perfect tool. The user management through CMS is quite easy. The tool is easy to navigate and no hands on knowledge required to work in it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
SFDC is used across the organization, by sales, marketing, and support roles. We manage accounts, opportunities, news, and contacts in the product. We run weekly and monthly reports to show sales, opportunities, and how news and other analysis affect different KPIs. We use personal and departmental dashboards to track our performance against set KPIs.
  • It's easy to see open opportunities for an account and its entire hierarchy.
  • It's easy to see existing users for an account and its entire hierarchy.
  • Dashboards make it easy to track KPIs.
  • Tasks and posts make it easy to communicate with other users.
  • I like the highlighting of duplicates and how relatively easy it is to merge accounts.
  • You have to scroll down a long way to see important details in an account.
  • It can be difficult to choose the correct report type when creating a new report.
  • Account and opportunity fields are not set up for ease of use in my opinion.
SFDC is good for creating reports to reflect sales, customer complaints, KPIs, etc. It can be difficult to choose which report type to use when creating a new report, but once that is done, it's fairly easy to choose the information you wish to display, to filter and sort it, and to move it around. It's good for creating news stories, opportunities, and other items that apply to specific accounts.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Salesforce CMS to create and update digital content for internal or external publication. It is a technology platform that allows us to create, edit, produce, and organize digital content our company uses it in the marketing department. It addresses the company's need to create fast content and a platform that is flexible.
  • Powerful CMS platform
  • It can add/remove features to suit your needs
  • It is accessible round-the-clock from anywhere worldwide
  • The lengthy learning curve of the platform
  • Configuration & setup is time-consuming and complex
  • Cluttered interface makes navigation and simple tasks unnecessarily complex
  • Pricing
Salesforce CMS is well suited for companies that have online remote teams that needs to effectively manage relationships with their customers. It is great for a company that wants to manage its sales. Salesforce CMS is less appropriate for individual or small businesses that have less than 100 staff.
May 24, 2021

Organize it all!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
They offer a lot of good solutions for our business uses. It is really handy in keeping all of our content organized and in one place. A lot of departments across the organization use this system. It is very handy to have everything that is very easy to use. It makes it easy for each department to plan campaigns and see what else they could plan out and collaborate on. I think it helps quite a lot.
  • Organization of files, materials, etc.
  • Collaboration with viewing what other departments have planned.
  • Marketing
  • Marketing
  • Collaboration
  • Organization
It has really helped us maintain our marketing materials in one safe and organized place. It is pretty intuitive, so that helps an awful lot. We really like how it works. It is really appropriate for most use cases. There is not a lot that it wouldn't be good for. If you're looking for something to optimize your marketing materials, plans, and executions of campaigns, this is a great tool.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is used globally by Demand Generation, Sales and CS teams of the whole company to plan, manage and analyze activities related to prospects and customers. From lead generation to customer acquisition, the platform provides any relevant data related to churn/upsell/new business opportunities and activity history of every account.
  • Track Account Historical Data
  • Manage Customer Contacts
  • Monitor Business Opportunity at every stage
  • The interface of the tool could be more user friendly
  • Faster conversion process of leads into contacts
  • Add analytics (views and downloads) to file sharing via link
Salesforce is very useful to manage leads and opportunities globally. As Sales Account, I use the tool to organize the pipeline and analyze sales forecasting. Once the customer is acquired, the tool serves as main point of information for client related activities. Additionally, the tool is integrated with the Finance operations and it provides information related to invoicing status.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is used across a few different departments at my organization. ExCo, Client Succes, Implementation, Sales, and a few others all have access to the database. It is exhaustive, deep, and has many features. Sales uses Salesforce for pretty much everything - all activities must be tracked and logged, tasks and opportunities are created and then followed up on, Won / Lost deals are in there too. It's very handy for managing all aspects of the sales cycle from cradle to grave. There are filters you can play with to sort by your owned accounts, you can see who is reaching out to them, and it syncs up with our activity from other tools like Outreach and ZoomInfo. It really is an entire database that works nicely across the board. Any communications with prospects or clients are synchronized and used for reference. Additionally, it forecasts projected revenue, and keeps track of what team member is doing what.
  • Organization
  • Tracking
  • Delegating
  • Forecasting / Projecting
  • Referencing
  • Learning
  • Clunky
  • Slow computer
  • Could use a modern UI refresh
  • Better IOS app
Salesforce CMS is well suited for anything sales. If you need information on an account, want to touch your old accounts, need to get a better idea of ownership by vertical, or want to estimate revenue from your pipeline, it is very A-OK. We use Salesforce to open, close, and study prospects to later convert them into closed deals. There is a section for notes to detail about each and every account. You can add contacts in, complete with their title, email, cell phones, and other additional info, and since our program is sync'ed up with Outreach.io you can make an immediate call from the Salesforce page. It's a must if you are growing your company and want to stay organized within multiple departments.
April 30, 2021

Salesforce CMS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for Sales Department, Marketing Department, Billing Department, Finance & Accounting as well as Lab to track and manage our sales. It begins with potential sales, then orders. It offers us data on sales performance by Sales Rep, Territories, and other potential sales opportunities. We also forecast future revenue and cash collections based on historical trend.
  • It stores a lot of data.
  • It is easy to set up detailed dashboard.
  • It allows customized reports.
  • It takes time to download multiple years data.
  • Can't put quota in SFDC. Have to manage actual vs. quota offline via Excel.
  • The email subscribe function does not have raw data, only provides the end reports.
It allows each sales rep to track their sales in a timely fashion. But they only can see their actual sales, not the comparison to their quota since the quota are not uploaded to SFDC. Our current rankings and commissions are based on performance to their quota, not actual sales volumes.
Clay Coleman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is utilized by Phi Delta Theta as our member portal for all employees, members, volunteers, and prospective members. Salesforce provides our organization real time data on all our member organizations, volunteers, and donors. The main business problem it solves is that all access points to information and engagement happen through our salesforce backed MyPhiDelt portal.
  • Extensive Report Queries that are intuitive to run
  • User friendly member portal interface
  • Utilization of Dashboards to help track membership and volunteer engagement metrics
  • Platform is so robust it can be overwhelming when starting a report from scratch
  • Key words in the Search column have to be fairly specific
  • Lot's of training is Salesforce Trailhead that it can be a bit daunting to decide what to learn about that is applicable to our organization
Salesforce [CMS] is well suited for non-profit 501C 3 organizations that have a small staff, but large membership and volunteers. Specifically for Phi Delta Theta, we are an organization of 37 employees that serve over 14,000 current members and 185,000 living members. Less appropriate for individual member organizations with less than 100 members.
Andrew Dahlstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I utilized Salesforce CMS in my consulting position. Our entire organization depended on it to track and manage our sales leads to win or loss and then for after-market support.
  • It allows the user to query customer data
  • It allows the user to define metrics and track KPIs
  • It allows the user to set up dashboards with charts and graphs to monitor trends
  • The user interface could be more friendly/intuitive
  • More options for creating visuals such as graphs
Salesforce CMS is well suited for sales and consultant type data. It's not as well suited for security or private data. The security/privacy settings were somewhat complicated to set up.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce integrates well with out proprietary program used by the business and is used to capture interactions, communications, emails, entries etc.. It is an all encompassing program that is user-friendly and has a diverse/myriad access and capability to store a lot of information about our clients and vendors. The all encompassing program provides our company with all the valuable data and tracking and information needed to run our business and needs.
  • Case notations/tracking and reporting.
  • Dashboard. Ability to create and manage reports.
  • Store countless documents like Knowledge Articles for the business.
  • Streamlined vendor and client data matrix
  • Secured and User-friendly with loads of capabilities that can be tailored for the business
  • All encompassing, It seems Salesforce is able to be tailored to specific needs.
  • Offline access.
Most definitely recommend Salesforce.
March 17, 2021

Salesforce CMS Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is used by our whole company to manage and track institutional prospective entities throughout our whole sales and selling process, starting with pre-sales. The tool gives us data on usage and adoption, helps us track sales numbers and conversion, is used to track engagements for both sales and marketing departments, and a number of other great features.
  • Visually appealing dashboards
  • Organizational Tools
  • Easy to read metrics
  • Mobile App is lacking functionality
  • certain export features could be improved
  • Updating fields can take longer than needed
The tool is greatly suited for reviewing and managing our sales pipeline. We are able to create customized reports that are easy to share and review across all teammembers. This ability has enabled better communication between sales, client service, operations and marketing teams.

The tool has not been as beneficial with outbound marketing campaigns and customized drip campaigns. This may be a limited function with enterprise software license but not having this ability has created a big gap.
March 11, 2021

Second to None

Thomas Collins, MSF | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Salesforce CMS is being used [to] store customer, prospect, and lead information. The software helps to address the problem that most companies begin with, which is a lack of organization.
  • Detailed, customizable dashboards.
  • Advanced reporting and dashboard functionality.
  • Easy workflow with specific fields easy for export.
  • Defining the rules of Salesforce CMS is difficult.
  • It can be difficult to choose the correct report type when creating a new report.
  • Real time refreshes on dashboard.
When you need to build a list it's easy to do. And the same goes for building reports. So if you need all of your information in one place Salesforce CMS does the trick.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Salesforce for our Sales/Marketing and Customer Success departments. We use it for tracking prospect & opportunity movement, activity tracking, and case management.
  • Customizability - even out of the box, I am able to accomplish that majority of the workflows needed by the organization.
  • Reporting - dashboards are easy to put together, display data in a digestible and cohesive way, and there are few limits on ways that we can capture and report on specific data points.
  • Trailhead - I have run into several issues with Trailhead articles directing me to an Error 404 page, and with inconsistent product naming conventions (Community Cloud vs Experience Cloud etc) which make for a confusing journey when implementing.
  • Salesforce Inbox - the integration for Gmail/Salesforce for logging emails is rather archaic and step-heavy. It would be ideal to implement some AI that can detect the account & opportunity outright, as well as fast-track the ability to create new contacts.
Well suited for tracking sales lifecycle.
Not as well suited for tracking messaging efficacy - white you are able to capture activity logged on accounts/contacts/opportunities, it is challenging to get data around sentiment so as to determine which messages resonate best with our prospects.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Using Salesforce as a CRM to manage leads and opportunities. For my team, we use it to manage our current pipeline, the leads coming through interested in our product and ensure we aren't letting leads fall through the cracks. Since there are several sales teams in our organization, we use Salesforce as a way to manage who's doing what across the organization.
  • Manages conflicts between sales teams.
  • Keeps track of call/contact history.
  • One place for all sorts of information.
  • Salesforce takes forever to load a page.
  • Lot of awkwardness when updating records. It won't let updates be made if something changed on the back-end while you were working on a record.
  • Easier way to review and develop reports.
Salesforce is the big dog in the CRM industry. It's used almost everywhere so it's easy to pick up and use wherever you might go. So training on the system is really easy. Oftentimes, it's just a matter of learning how an organization uses it to their means.

I think for a smaller company, there are probably more affordable, more maneuverable options. However, larger companies can benefit from the number of customizations and integrations Salesforce allows for.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is used by Marketing and Branding teams extensively.
Global Marketing team uses this for content creation as our organization has presence in India, China, Japan, Indonesia, United Kingdom, Unites States of America and Canada.
Most of the marketing campaigns in Southeast Asian countries are done in their native language and this is where Salesforce CMS comes into the picture [as] it allows content creation in different languages.
  • One content database for a large team size.
  • Content creation can be done in several languages.
  • Content can be viewed and used in multiple countries at once.
  • Collections are allowed to make static lists which should be dynamic in nature.
  • Defining the rules of Salesforce CMS is difficult.
  • There should be an [easy] tick box option.
Salesforce is well suited in the below scenarios:
1. Salesforce CMS provides a common platform to manage content.
2. Assign roles to contributors and decide specific projects as per the upcoming marketing campaigns.
3. Distribute your content across different teams such as B2C, B2B.
4. Content creation is very easy with just a few clicks.
5. One of the best features is Language Translation which can meet global team demands.
Melissa Kevra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's being used across the org from Development, to Program, to Talent Acquisition.
  • Can easily be customized to fit business need.
  • Advanced reporting and dashboard functionality.
  • User-friendly, easy to use.
  • You really need an experienced Salesforce Admin to help you utilize the system, especially at first.
  • It can be overwhelming for a first-time user, but that can be addressed with training.
  • Development, tracking donors and contact with donors.
  • Hiring, tracking applications and the make-up of the applicant pool.
  • Program, tracking our phone calls, meetings, emails and connections.
January 06, 2021

Salesforce CMS Review

Tim Eddington | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is used by our whole company to to manage and track customer[s] through the whole process, starting with pre-sales. It gives us data on usage and adoption, helps us track sales numbers and churn, is used to track KPI's for both sales and CS departments, and a number of other things.
  • Detailed, customizable dashboards.
  • Customizable to fit any org's needs.
  • Great reporting tools.
  • Make it easier to build reports and dashboards.
  • Speed - seems like SFDC can run a bit slow at times.
  • The mobile app could use some work.
Salesforce is well suited for any company that wants to effectively manage relationships with their customers while getting useful data at the same time. We used other CMS's in the past, and they just couldn't give us what we needed. We are a relatively small company, but it seems to me that having these tools in place is even more vital for a growing company.
December 23, 2020

Marketing uses, reports

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Salesforce CMS is mostly used by our Sales departments. Other departments in our organization use Salesforce CMS for reporting purposes. The business problems that it addresses lead organization and allows for transparency between departments on lead information.
  • Lead organization
  • Reporting
  • Customizable dashboards
  • Speed
  • More transparency between other CRMs (Hubspot) and Salesforce.
  • Real time refreshes on dashboard.
In marketing, we use a lot of customizable dashboards to see lead reports in real-time throughout the day/month. It simplifies things and makes it easy to focus on what areas and leads need improvements. Our marketing team uses Hubspot for a lot of things and usually, the integration between Hubspot and Salesforce is pretty seamless.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using SF CMS as a whole organization. The only problem I am aware of is charging credit cards for customers' orders. We are currently having to use a different platform. That platform pushes orders to SF then SF pushes orders to our shipping database.
  • Organization.
  • Easy workflow with specific fields easy for export.
  • Only some fields can be exported.
  • Easier transition from customer files to same customer files.
SF CMS is well suited for inventory control with customers orders and data within their customer file. Unfortunately if something goes wrong it is impossible to troubleshoot yourself, you need to receive help from someone at SF.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Salesforce as a customer management tool. Recording incidents, service requests, onboarding, offboarding, and document management.
  • Organization
  • Multiple client support
  • Metric management
  • Layout looks old
  • Repetitive fields
  • Search function in documentation
Salesforce CMS is awesome if you need to support anything from one to a hundred different clients. I have used it for several years supporting several different types of industry. The real nice thing is that it can be molded to fit almost anything. The only issue is maintaining a good solid team of admins.
September 01, 2020

Administrator Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The entire organization uses Salesforce; however, this specific content editor is used in our IT department. It is being used to create in-training videos and media that we can then share with the organization. It solves a business problems by creating visual content that improves training and development.
  • Video Content Logic
  • Inter-capability with SalesForce CRM
  • One Account Login for the staff.
  • More marketing to companies
  • Training for using the CMS
  • Cost compared to competitors
Providing training content to the staff with video presentation is what CMS does the best. It is least appropriate for payroll and other software platforms that are already providing training to the staff.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Salesforce CMS across our whole organization, and it has been a lifesaver for managing our online content. Having one central place to store content that is fast, secure, and easy to use and can be managed from everywhere is what makes this solution a great success, especially this past year during the epidemic.
  • Easy to use, just like Salesforce's other products. Many users can sit down and figure it out in no time, and with a little training become power users.
  • Fast and secure - Salesforce is a leader in the cloud world so you get consistently fast results and security that is top notch in the industry.
  • Accessible from anywhere - if you use cloud CMS already this is a no-brainer, but for those that do in-house CMS still, this is a major difference. Mobile access from anywhere on the planet without a VPN is something you just can't do without the cloud.
  • The interface for keeping things organized could use some improvement, with more options for tagging and sorting. It's not bad but there are better interfaces out there.
  • Reporting and dashboards on content would be a nice addition, and is something that will probably be coming.
  • It can be tough to get a public URL for image content - the kind you would embed into a page. The interface wants to drive you to the interactive page which is great in most cases but when you just want a direct URL it can be tough to find. The official documentation from Salesforce tells you to right click save as on the preview page, where instead they should have it built in to the interface and displayed somewhere.
If you already use Salesforce, then this is a no-brainer. There is no need to go to another platform for your CMS needs. If you don't have Salesforce at all, this is still a good choice but may not always make the most sense. There are cheaper options out there and also ones that might integrate with your platform better, but as always you will usually get what you pay for.
Return to navigation