Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
373 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Shanna Baty | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Salesforce Lightning Platform (Formerly Salesforce App Cloud) is Modern Case Management Software for Your Law Firm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organizing records by type
  • Keeping notes organized
  • Following up on tasks and assigning/completing new tasks
  • Creating documents
  • Referring out clients to other law offices for areas that we don't practice
  • Managing case costs and expenses
  • Scheduling for hearings
  • More document friendly (we had to integrate box)
  • Stronger integration with five9 for documentation purposes
  • Adding call counters and automatic call logs
  • Dashboards updating in real-time
Read Shanna Baty's full review
Alexa Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Best CRM for your buck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It keeps track of all open opportunities.
  • It keeps track of all closed won opportunities.
  • We can track reasons why opportunities were lost.
  • Keeps track of who owns different accounts within Salesforce Lightning.
  • It can be a bit buggy at times, like randomly not letting you save or making you refresh the page or do the same action, and then it will save.
  • Bugs really are the main issue here. Otherwise it's great with reporting!
Read Alexa Terry's full review
Rhiannon Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Challenging implementation. Glitchy software.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reporting and Dashboards are thorough and can show a wealth of important data to inform and scale processes. It's helpful in a high volume sales cycle to be able to quickly identify weak points in performance and productivity so that adjustments can be made.
  • Highly customizable. We are able to customize just about everything which allows us to track very specific things and in theory create better efficiency.
  • Parent/Child account hierarchy exists which is helpful.
  • Contact records can be associated with multiple accounts and opportunities. This, in theory, should minimize duplicates and mismanagement of contacts.
  • Console helps a lot with data nesting. Having a fairly comprehensive look at an account without searching through various tabs and sections speeds up an otherwise cumbersome platform.
  • There are very few aspects of this platform that are intuitive and user-friendly. Very rarely can information be found where you'd expect it and several pages with a thousand clicks are required to get just about anything done. It is very, very time-consuming! For a high volume, very short sales cycle this platform absolutely makes no sense. It is designed for something much more complex and concrete. Salesforce Lightning is completely impractical when contact information, opportunity details, notes, account owners, and so much more changes on a daily basis.
  • I mentioned it's great that contact records can be associated with multiple accounts but that also leads to all accounts for which the contact is associated being flagged as 'Duplicate'. Perhaps this is something that can be adjusted and customized at our company but so far it seems to be incredibly frustrating. The duplicate flagging seems to be all or nothing. Identical accounts are somehow not flagged while accounts that don't have a single detail in common are. A child account is flagged as the duplicate of a parent account. It's an untrustworthy process that leads to more work and poor data management. Hopefully, this can be addressed.
  • Activity logging is also very untrustworthy. Again, this may be something that is not set up properly at our company but makes for double the workload. When calls and emails do not log properly it leads to redundant and unnecessary communication between colleagues and customers alike or worse, wasted time spent on digging up the correspondence from another source such as Gmail or the Talkdesk website. Chatter and notes disappearing or not saving is equally problematic.
  • Very glitchy. Often times records will have to be entered twice because they did not save the first time. Pages need to be refreshed often. Tools sometimes just don't work. We receive error messages to 'contact your administrator' so often it's scary.
  • This ties into activities not logging but syncing with other platforms are often unreliable. Sometimes the Salesforce extension for Gmail works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes Talkdesk syncs with Salesforce connector, sometimes it doesn't.
Read Rhiannon Thompson's full review
Kristin Sours | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Salesforce has everything we need to manage our clients

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reports and dashboards - I can build my own reports very easily to see upcoming renewals, first-year clients and so on. Then, I can create my own custom dashboard to track my favorite reports.
  • Opportunities and quotes - when I first started here we didn't use Opportunities for tracking renewals and upgrades. Now, it's easy to see what I'm working on and when ready I just add the products to a quote and it sends it to our billing for really fast invoice creation. It used to take me hours to do this and now it's seconds.
  • I love using activities - it keeps me organized and up to date on all my accounts that I manage. Plus, I can create future tasks so I don't forget to reach out.
  • I can send mass emails to any group of clients and I can create nice email templates with "placeholders" which allow me to use the first name of the main point of contact across hundreds of organizations. Again, this saves me lots of time.
  • With Lightning, the calendar is seriously lacking functionality. With Classic, I could schedule events across multiple people in my organization (something I have to do quite often). We cannot do this with Lightning and it's a big shortcoming. It caused such an issue for us that we stopped using events in SF and moved completely to Google Calendar for all work events.
  • Calendar and email sync with Google - again, this worked fine with Classic and then when we switched to Lightning it didn't.
  • Technical and client support - it's been frustrating dealing with support here. I've either had things messed up or just not resolved and a lot of times it takes a very long time to look into a small issue. It has made me reluctant to reach out again.
Read Kristin Sours's full review
Fraser Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Salesforce Lightning - A shockingly good CRM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A huge amount of data in one place that is easy to access and track.
  • Integrates with many other applications to enhance user experience and life. For example Gmail - all emails are tracked and stored within the appropriate contact.
  • Flexible reporting makes spotting trends, in our markets/segments, etc., a breeze.
  • It can be a little slow, but given a large amount of data this can be expected.
  • Some of the integrations that update themselves life can cause salesforce pages to crash. For example, if you send an email and then want to edit the same account, you will be asked to refresh the page as "changes were made".
  • Searching can be tricky as it doesn't allow for spelling mistakes. You have to know exactly what you are looking for which can make searching for tricky names difficult.
Read Fraser Murphy's full review
Jordan Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Good platform, but it isn't for me

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's a useful tool since we already use Salesforce for our regular client data so it just makes sense that it would integrate with our email.
  • It doesn't always sync/work that well. When I try to input a new contact, it sometimes doesn't work.
  • I never actually know if I'm logged in/out, there's no way of knowing if your data is actually being saved.
Read Jordan Chen's full review
Hayden Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

SFAC is Wonderful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The creation of integrations, dashboards, and more have been used to create more accountability and transparency within our organization.
  • It also helps our executive and management teams stay on the same page in regards to progress in quota attainment and more.
  • Having the flexibility to create and customize our instance internally and externally is a huge win here.
  • Training and access to non-admins seems very limited and hard to find.
  • Resources are hard to locate at times.
  • Escalation paths when problems arise are unclear to lower-level users and others receiving the finished products.
Read Hayden Anderson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Salesforce Lightning & Sales Console Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customization views based on your role at the organization (i.e. sales console).
  • Seamless reporting within the platform.
  • The functionality of being able to link out to other platforms we use straight from a record.
  • The Lightning view tends to take far longer to load than classic.
  • Getting up to speed on Salesforce language can be difficult. There are resources out there to assist.
  • Managing events in Lightning seems to be more difficult than classic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Salesforce App Cloud as seen from Sales

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Opens communication/Transparency
  • Provides framework for development
  • Connects dots between mobile and web based application
  • Some features are quite difficult to use. Need additional resources to manage.
  • Very pricey, as are all things Salesforce. Hard for startups/emerging companies to justify.
  • Playing off the first con, support can be hard to come by from Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

SalesForce as a PaaS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly out of the box.
  • Easy to manage users and user access.
  • Trailblazer is a great resource for both new users and experienced users wanting to try/add new functionality.
  • Every console requires a new license.
  • SF licenses are expensive.
  • Trying to convert Skuid to Lightning is dangerously complex.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

A great app solution for Salesforce

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works like an app environment
  • Allows us to use third-party apps alongside our custom apps
  • Allows us to share our apps with other organizations that we work with
  • There are limits to how the apps can be developed that require some creative thinking/workarounds
  • You are still constrained with standard Salesforce features
  • It can be slow to correct if you have issues with a release, as you have to wait and go through the SFDC lifecycle
Read this authenticated review
Pradeep Bele | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Salesforce Lightning a top CRM product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Its component based framework.
  • It support for rapid application development.
  • It is a very light weight application.
  • Most of the features are supported in classic view but not in lightning view, so Salesforce should look into this.
  • It is very user friendly so I don't think is much to improve, as Salesforce is continuously adding features and more functionality.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
Treacy Seeley | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2018

Your own personal developer team to help you do your job!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility to expand Salesforce in any way that you want, specifically for your business purposes
  • Lots of free and low cost items to try out.
  • simple integration with all aspects of salesforce, no need to research if this App will play well with the rest of your org
  • There is so much, sometimes it's hard to find what you're looking for
  • Also, it's hard to know what else could help that is out there
  • Sometimes it's hard to get ahold of the developers for particular apps
Read Treacy Seeley's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2018

App Cloud Pros and Cons

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • No coding experience required
  • Intuitive
  • Salesforce "look and feel"
  • Easy to deploy
  • For the creation of simple apps the number of fields that can be created is limited
  • No possibility to create text-free fields with unlimite characters
  • Layout necessarily has to be according the Salesforce standards
Read this authenticated review

Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (23)
7.2
Scalability (21)
8.7
Platform management overhead (20)
7.3
Workflow engine capability (21)
8.2
Platform access control (22)
7.7
Services-enabled integration (23)
8.0
Development environment creation (20)
8.1
Development environment replication (19)
8.2
Issue monitoring and notification (21)
7.9
Issue recovery (21)
7.3
Upgrades and platform fixes (23)
8.0

About Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud)

Salesforce Platform is designed for building and deploying scalable cloud applications with managed hardware provisioning and app stacks. It provides out-of-the-box tools and services to automate business processes, integrate with external apps, and provide responsive layouts and more.

With the Salesforce Platform and Heroku users can deploy, run, and manage apps written in open languages like Ruby, Java, PHP and more. Deploy code via git and Salesforce Platform automatically builds and runs the application so developers can focus on delivering engaging apps for their own users. In addition, Heroku Enterprise provides collaboration functionality, additional control features, and enterprise grade support.

With Lightning on the Salesforce Platform, developers can also quickly deliver innovative apps with an interactive UX by using reusable building blocks including maps, calendars, buttons, and number entry forms. And, with the Salesforce Lightning Design System, every developer has a how-to guide and code for building beautiful apps.

The Salesforce AppExchange is a proven ecosystem of apps, with millions of installs and thousands of customer reviews to help Salesforce users find the best match for their business. Whether developers are looking for applications to accelerate internal implementations or looking to grow their business by selling apps or components to other customers, the AppExchange can assist with that.


Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Integrations

Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Competitors

Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No