TrustRadius
The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence Platform provides users with ad hoc queries, reporting, data visualizations, and analysis tools. Its integrated, unified infrastructure aims to offer scalability from one-to-many tools and interfaces on-premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Ph/hd/M11IV3795I5R.PNGWhy SAP? Why?SAP BI was used for our office to gauge manufacturing and product analytics. It was supposed to solve the problem we had with our business portion of our software. However after deployment, we quickly found out it was not so easy. It was used in manufacturing and parts management.,It has a great way of displaying information. It's affordable. It can scale well provided you have good support.,The interface looks like it's something out of 1999. Customer support is horrible and honestly it's a lottery any time you call. The system crashes constantly.,1,Salesforce Commerce Cloud,1,1,Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA), Skype for Business (formerly Lync), MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel)SAP BO - Top rated BI system in a multinational organizationI have used BusinessObjects for over 2.5 years now. It is great tool for scripting and developing reports. It has easy drag and drop options to select what variable you want in your final report. If you have large number of facilities and have data stored in multiple universes, it allows you to create a combined query and get final report from multiple universes. You can send your scripts to other individuals within your team. For any recurring reports, you can schedule them and they run whenever you've set them to run. It has some amazing quick filters that can be used while writing your script that allows you get tailored results.,This software is easy to initially learn, and very powerful in producing reusable reports. It is much faster than my company's internal manual queries. The ability to build off of a saved query and share queries to other users is a great positive. My favorite part is that you can run queries in the background and it does not interfere with your current work or slow your computer down.,There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries/objects and decide which data to pull, so there is training required. Some of the "result objects" also do not pull data but that is likely due to our internal data, not Business objects itself. The tool's license are expensive but you get what you pay for. SAP's business tool licenses in general have never been cheap but that ensures you get proper product support whenever needed.,8,Oracle Java SE,9,9,MS SharePoint, Expensify, Medidata CTMSSAP Business Objects Intelligence: I wish I was allowed another wayI use it to gather data from our SAP Warehouse to report out our financial information and high and low performing/selling products. It allows us to gather that data and put it into Excel where we can then use other tools to create visualizations of the data in our monthly, quarterly and yearly reports.,Allows significant customization and filtering of the data when creating reports. Is an easy, relatively user-friendly way of accessing the data. No SQL or other programming languages needed for queries.,The interface is old and unintuitive. The tooltips are helpful but for someone new to it there is little help in where to begin and what to do This may be our systems but it is slow when querying our data. For some reason when exporting the data, if I choose reports it never exports ALL the data so I am not sure what function that option is supposed to provide.,5,Microsoft Power BI,7,1SAP BO and I: A love storySAP is currently used by a single department but for data that is pulled business-wide. We integrate the date of various departments and create reports in order to find out any casuality issues across the business as well as to determine if changes in one area are having the desired effect across the business. It addresses an issue we had with data being difficult to link together across large areas of the business to see if the data held by one department could be used to make savings in another.,Ingest data from multiple areas of the business and use them to generate easy to understand reports. Report scheduling is simple and efficient allowing the team to run reports at a variety of different times to suit the stakeholder's needs. The metalayer takes away some of the complexities of other programs, allowing the end user to interact with the program in a clean and efficient way.,We have had some difficulty linking up with data in some of our web portals. This has caused a large amount of development time, and support has been less than its usual helpful self in this regard. Older versions had functions which have now been removed, or replaced with less effecient functions. For example the HTML output option. Some configuration issues have arisen when we have attempted to configure API'S. Some require a JDBC connection, which was slightly more difficult than expected.,8,MySQL,10,9,Watson Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience)SAP Quality Engineer ReviewSAP BusinessObjects is currently being used by several departments within my company. In the case of my department (Quality), it is used to produce purchase order reports based on the material or supplier being investigated.,PO Reports by Supplier and Material Stock Overview reports Processing of POs,Needs to work on the user interface. It is not particularly user friendly No support on Mac computers,10,,10,2,IBM Cognos, Smartsheet, JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SAS, Microsoft Power BI, Microsoft AccessA wonderful tool that has evolutionized to the new needs in business.Recently, I did for production a report sales in WebIntelligence, which started with 30 users and the main heads in company, and now are in process for 100 users. Additionally I am in a project for Finance users, the objective is to create a set of reports in Web Intelligence and a dashboard in Design Studio.,We can expand results for a lot of users in a short time. The tool WebIntelligence is easy for the user and the training also is in a short time. It is possible to inherit the security that is implemented in SAP BW. Funcional users can be independent for generating your own analytics.,I am using WebI 4.1, and I think it has deficiency in a variety of charts, for example vs Power BI. I generate my principal reports from BW querys, would be wonderful if for example in IDT if I could edit the BW query in like a: change names, create folders, new ratios... Some times when I need change the data source in special from a BW query, is difficult.,10,,9,10,SAP Lumira, SAP Crystal, SAP BusinessObjects Design StudioSAP Business Objects is a complex but valuable tool.SAP Business Objects platform is currently in use by two departments across our enterprise with a total of about 200 people. These departments take requests from businesses across the enterprise and work with them to generate reports based off of criteria that the business decides. The whole organization benefits from Business Objects.,It is a very flexible platform with many different add-ons that provide lots of different functionality. If configured and installed correctly it can be a very robust and dependable platform for the business. It has the ability to handle almost all types of data sources you can throw at it.,The installation can be very complex and time-consuming, it requires a lot of planning and foresight as to what role the software will play in the organization. The software has a relatively large learning curve that takes dedicated users months to get comfortable with, the UI is a bit intimidating for new users. SAP could organize their help better, it can be difficult to find dependable solutions to issues via their website and support channels.,8,Microsoft BI and SAP Lumira,8,7,Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft BI, SAP LumiraSAP Business Objects to Empower the Enterprise Data ConsumptionWe use SAP BOBJ to extract data from our ERP (SAP ECC6 EHP6) thru some Pre-defined Rapid Mart schemas. Once data is loaded, we created Universes and do the required ETL (Extract Transform and Load) to model the data to be consumed to all organization from Finance and Costs to Maintenance, Production, Sales a, d Purchasing. Users have either BI reports ready or they use Microsoft Power BI to consume the data.,Easy connection to ERP (SAP) thru pre-defined Rapid Marts or tables. Easy connection to other Databases (our plant data or our custom apps). Strong and reliable ETL functions. Stability.,The BI reporting is not so simple for a non-experienced user. Mobility and publishing can be improved. Sharing of BI reporting by users.,8,,8,7,Microsoft Power BI, SAP Extended Enterprise Content Management by OpenText, OutSystemsGreat capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obseleteSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used to host reports created in Lumira and Analysis for Office, to enable the creation, storage, and sharing of data and reports. Our most comfortable state is having someone centrally refreshing reports, saving them to a share point and then sending the link to their organization, so the BI Platform has a big opportunity for productivity savings and a better UX! It's being used globally across all areas of Business Planning and some accounting.,The fact that you are able to work offline on creating reports and then, within the local client, be able to upload it to the BI Platform and continue editing from the local client, while connected to the BI Platform Separation of end user (BI Launchpad) and management/administration (Central Management Console) access points Interoperability with other SAP products (e.g. Lumira, FIORI, AA),The "FIORI-fied" BI Launchpad still has limited functionality which causes us not to leverage it. It is important to have a consistent UI look and feel for our users but we cannot sacrifice functionality. Therefore we don't have users access the BI Launchpad, we just link them from FIORI, directly to the reports. We've found it very hard to find answers to very simple questions (e.g. what is the best approach for security model, bearing in mind the size of our organization). Both directly with SAP and via third-party contractors, we have struggled to find answers quickly, and sometimes at all... As with all SAP products, they constantly change their recommendation. One minute, the BI Platform is the way forward and we should invest everything into this, and then the next it is SAP Analytics Cloud, and BI Platform will become obsolete.,6,TIBCO Spotfire,8,6,MS SharePoint, SAP Lumira, SAP Predictive AnalyticsSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a good or Bad tool for future???SAP BusinessObjects BI platform allows my organisation to use real time business data quickly. This tool is important for us as we using it to extract the data and understand our historical trends on sales, production and operation data. This tool is getting used by different functions at organisation like finance, operations planning, commercial team. It is helping to prepare report from real time data for making business decisions.,Great reporting platform for business users Better data governance framework Multi developer friendly tool Does not require a user to know SQL query language Leverage its automation to set up routine data delivery extracts to the server,Designing the reports is bit difficult for the standard users. Tool's licences are expensive Training is required for any SAP standard user to use this tool efficiently,7,Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management,6,7,Microsoft BI, Dundas BI, Tableau OnlineBusiness Objects for Self-Service and AdHoc reportingSAP BI Platform is used for front end reporting at our organization. It is used across entire organization. BusinessObjects' set of tools are connecting with several data sources like SAP BW, AWS, Oracle, SAP HANA etc.,Easy, user friendly set of tools specially WebI. Different set of applications to support different reporting needs such as WebI, Crystal etc. SAP BI platform can connect to several different data sources.,Try to combine Crystal reports for Enterprise and Crystal Reports 2013. Analysis for Office can be more standardized. It faces issues with different versions of Excel and operating systems. Some user friendly dash boarding tool can be introduced.,8,None,8,7A solution that will grow with the companyThe SAP BO BI has been used for several years within the company in the areas of production planning and reporting, budgeting, market data analysis. The main source data comprise in-house data (ordering system, production plan, production performance) and external data (market data, dealer/distributor data]) and social media data. The main tasks of the solution are in a regular reporting as well as ad-hoc analytics. Examples of business problems are production reporting, trend analysis, competition analysis. The platform is used in a multinational environment of a large production firm.,Very good scalability and a real must if you have an SAP as the main ERP system in the production across several factories. Very good vertical integration with other SAP tools and even other main ERP solutions. A good choice for a publicly traded company, where a robust auditable system is a prerequisite for getting transparency into internal.,Mobility - in the version currently in use it is complicated to build responsive mobile reports We have integrated the reports on SAP HANA data, and SAP BO did not deliver the required results - the solution had to be replaced by SAP BO Design Studio, purchased additionally. Pricing - this is not a technical feature, but for companies with only a handful of analysts, this could be an insuperable problem.,8,,8,5,Microsoft Power BI, Izenda, LookerSAP BusinessObjects BI - the budget killerSAP BusinessObjects BI (BOBJ) is used across the organization. Access to reporting is the main problem it addresses however it's limited by the number of licenses available to our end users. It also addresses our need for pixel-perfect reporting and distributed reporting.,Merged dimension queries. Flexibility with Universe Query vs. Free-Hand SQL.,Licensing cost is very prohibitive for smaller/medium-sized businesses. Upgrades to BOBJ are non-existent without additional cost. BOBJ is severely lagging on available technologies at the current price point.,7,ThoughtSpot and Tableau Desktop,9,7,ThoughtSpotIs SAP BusinessObjects Good for your company?Business Objects is currently being used across the whole organisation. It helps users to get instant information for what they are looking for. It helps them to get financial data on the go, maintain all the vendor and dealer information, automate the data, and schedule the reports to the vendors/dealers directly. It's easy to use it for ad-hock queries, easy for understanding the company DB, etc. It's one of the best tools for the company to evaluate data and getting the right information.,It can get the right set of information in the format you want out of the whole organisation wide data. It can allow you to automate the data to be shared with internal and external vendors. It allows dashboards, analytics and graphical representation of data for better understanding.,The Lumira tool needs to be stabilised. Scheduling of dashboards and analysis need to be simplified.,9,,9,9,Tableau Public, QlikViewPowerful BI Tool Once the Organization Commits to Consolidate Data PlatformSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used by our supply chain group as well as our sales team primarily, but other management teams also access some modules of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in order to support Supply Chain and Sales groups. It is a long way and still on-going process, but we had to first consolidate all business workflows into SAP first which took several years globally. Then next was to implement the SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in North America first to ensure the bugs are worked out before deploying it across the globe over Citrix for all teams to use globally but our data and application remain centralized in North America.,SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is powerful and the reports are excellent, as long as your organization is dedicated to consolidate all processes into SAP. SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, when installed centralized and published via remote access tool like Citrix, can be accessed anywhere while data is secure at central location. For a BI tool SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is much more user-friendly than offerings from Oracle. Dashboard access for leadership is excellent and updates are continually improving the product.,Implementation of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform requires large capital investment. User training tools provided by SAP for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is lacking interactive content. Improved user training material with version updates would be very helpful for implementation and continuous education. Managing version upgrades and hotfixes for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform with more control to users to have time to plan for upgrades.,7,Oracle API Manager,8,7,Citrix AppDNA, Citrix CloudBridge, Citrix User Profile Management, AMS SoftwareSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform review by a non-tech, non-IT userIt's used across the whole organization, by analysts and other employees, to monitor volume, spend, etc. End users retrieve their business data and make decisions on planning, identify opportunities for growth, etc. Users don't have to involve the IT team, they can independently consult their portals. They can export reports to excel and provide analysis.,Generates reports, allows reports to be exported to excel. End users can drill down on some of the information to view a more detail analysis. Requires no IT involvement, or minimal IT involvement. Users can perform BI analysis from multiple data sources and export the analysis in different formats.,The licensing process is confusing. Users have to request access to certain reports and due to the licensing restrictions we are very limited Support is very expensive when compared to other systems. Customizations are costly and we tend to use the out-of-the-box version, which isn't always the best solution.,7,SIMS and Procure,5,6,Deem, IBM Cognos, Ariba Procurement, Ariba Contract Management, Adobe Acrobat DCSAP BusinessObjects review from an early adopterSAP BusinessObjects is the transaction level detail query platform within the organization - we have trained and continuously train users on BusinessObjects for self-service mode so that they can generate and customize their own queries without depending on a central IT team. It is very prolifically used within the organization as we are a highly analytics driven organization.,Easy to write queries Easy to transfer to Excel and analyze data Customizable queries can be written,One area is the ability to do graphs within BusinessObjects without transferring to Excel,9,,9,9,IBM Cognos, Apache HiveSAP Business Objects: Review by a Grumpy Old CustomerSAP Business Objects has been a primary BI/Reporting solution for the City of Chicago for the past 14 years. It is being used by all city departments to report off practically all city databases. Available to all city employees via Web Intelligence module, it provides simple AdHoc capabilities, as well as advanced options for power users and developers.,Simplicity. It is very easy for a non technical user to create and format a report in Web Intelligence. This is especially true with the new 4.1 release. Report distribution. Several options available, such as FTP, File Location, BO Inbox and Email. Each is very intuitive and simple to use without any confusing, very technical options (ex. Oracle's OBIEE). Scheduling. This is a very important feature that is being used a lot here at the city (over 700 scheduled reports run every night). Very robust scheduling engine that can be easily configured and adjusted by the administrator if needed.,Service Pack/Fix Pack reliability. Each SP/FP fixes certain bugs, but unfortunately sometimes messes up other features (problematic upgrade from TOMCAT 5 to 7) which can be very frustrating. That is why we carefully test every one of them in our DEV environment before promoting it to Production/ JAVA vulnerability. It appears SAP is slow with latest JAVA client (needed for Web Intelligence report creation/edit) support. This creates issues when users update their JAVA release to the latest version, which is not yet supported by SAP resulting in error messages. Internal reporting on Business Objects environment. You can report against user activity (from the audit tables), but there is no build in tool/capability to report on BO content, users, security environment which is very helpful for the administrators. Third party expensive tools are needed (APOS).,9,,5,1300,2,10,8Know why customers go for Business ObjectsSAP Business Objects is used by data stewards in following departments: Marketing, Finance, Business Development, Corporate etc. It is used across the whole organization. It provides data for functional and operational decision systems.,Various tools to implement end to end BI, for example: ETL, Reporting, Dashboarding Good connectivity with CRM, ECC and other SAP systems etc Data Security, Visually intuitive, Ease of use Webi, Rich Client, SAP Dashboard, Crystal Reports reporting tool to cover needs of a variety of users,SAP should provide free software and licenses for students SAP Extractors are designed by third party, so no support for those Reporting with no semantec layer,10,,Tableau Desktop,10,10,2000,12,Replace SSRS/SSIS with Business Objects so that there is single BI tool and lower cost of BI implementation. Replace manual Excel reporting with BI reporting.,Connectivity with SAP CRM, ECC DS free with BOE licenses Need of ETL and Reporting in business functions,SSIS doesn't have connectivity with SAP CRM/ECC so DS helps to ETL data out of SAP CRM/ECC Custom SQL allowed in reports helps SSRS developers to develop reports easily and include trigger and inputs in query,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor Analyst Reports,More specific questions than open ended questions. I am not sure if you will be able to understand my evaluation of this product. 80% of the questions should be in a check box, or drop down. There should be options to select the specific SAP Business Objects module from the enterprise suite.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Silos in the product documentation from vendor SAP support not guiding in the implementation because of their product support policy,10,No,6,Yes,Years ago SAP support provided exceptional support for Business Objects on Unix OS. Bug fixes were faster and engineers were knowledgeable. SAP helped to retrieve lost DB password, which is not supported anymore, SAP helped to recover server from backup. SAP helped to create Query builder queries to fetch the encoded data but those days are gone. SAP support no longer go out of their way to help customers.,Report development ETL job development,Administration Content Security management,Yes,10Business Objects a good option for complex data analysisI have professional experience in business intelligence. The SAP BO solution can be used in any department of an organization. This system solves any problem regarding data integration or data consolidation. It allows users to analyze information, see trends, and define KPIs with very powerful reporting and visualization tools.,It´s a very complete suite, that covers all needs in a BI project - extraction, data consolidation, data warehouse design, report and analysis tools. The dashboard designer is very powerful and it´s an easy way to visually key operational tracking data like KPIs and scorecards. The data services is a very complete tool for data extraction and information consolidation. Allows for multiple connections and workflows.,The middleware is very complex, sometimes you don´t know how to configure data connections. The business objects tools are the result of various acquisitions, sometimes the integration between them is not complete. A high level of specialization is necessary to configure BO.,8,,8,Business Objects can be used in any department in any function (supply chain, financials, human resources) at a company that needs to analyze operational data in order to make decisions and provide strategic guidance to the business as a whole.,8,7,7Great BI platform for organizations with established well-defined data practices, although not for the self-serve visualization eraIn my prior organization, SAP Business Objects was the organization's company-wide Business Intelligence platform delivering reporting, ad-hoc reporting, and visualizations to the business. It brought with it a unified approach to delivery, and rapid development while also putting self-serve reporting in the hands of the business users taking full advantage of the universe architecture in 4.1.,First and foremost the business presentation layer is top-notch (previously called universes, now called business layers). This architecture provides an object oriented development layer for use across the platform including WebIntelligence, Lumira, Dashboard Designer, and Crystal Reports (Enterprise). Crystal Reports is still a standard among reporting tools, and the next evolution into enterprise is on the right track. Crystal Reports has always been the defacto standard in enterprise reporting and the enterprise version brings with it better integration with Business Objects. The launch pad provides a great delivery mechanism to business users. Security is very granular and easy to maintain, and providing users with their own document space allows each user to maintain their own work spaces. Web Intelligence is a great ad-hoc tool. Users coming from Excel will have enough familiarities to be able to transition easily. It really unlocks a world of opportunities for the normal business user to do analysis and reporting in a controlled manner. Integration with Microsoft Office is great with the newer collaboration of Power Query. The organization was able to move away from cube driven analysis and into self serve dimensional analysis utilizing universes with Excel.,To stay relevant, SAP is going to need to introduce a self-serve dashboard tool to compete with the likes of tableau and other emerging companies. Dashboard Design is SAP's weakest area, in particular Dashboard Designer (formerly XCelsius). This product is very dated and feels like legacy. The development tool integration into the platform as a whole is lacking. Each tool seems to have a different way for connecting and interacting with data and feels a bit broken and non-cohesive. Predictive Analytics could benefit from some attention. Explorer is a decent discovery tool but would benefit from the next generation of whatever it will become and bring better predictive analysis.,8,MIcrostrategy, OBIEE and IBM Cognos,Visual Studio.NET, Tableau Desktop, Pentaho,9,7,7,8Useful Web Based ToolReporting account levels information and statistics, individual level information and statistics, and querying marketing databases for advertising purposes.,Well formatted tables of data, similar to an Excel pivot table but for larger data sets. Scheduling tasks to run at a later time or date. Easy formula editing, if someone knows how to use the functions in Excel they'll be able to work with Business Objects formulas.,You can't easily run large data sets. Normally you have schedule these projects. You cannot email the result automatically to a regular email user. You can only send them an email to the systems built in Inbox. End users can't create their own computed value/fields, generally you need IT to do that in the back end.,9,SAS Enterprise Guide,10,The availability of having a web based tool is vastly superior. The actual query and objects layout is very user friendly. Even a person with limited query experience will be able to use the general functions or run a shared project easily. The ability to share a project with another user is very convenient.,1,1,1My experience with SAP BOAs an IT consult and working for a consulting firm, we typically consult other organizations on SAP and inmost cases we help them to implement and deploy SAP. Sometimes clients do not have a lot of experience with SAP products especially with SAP Business Objects. So our job is to provide support and guide them to better understand the language of SAP.,SAP Business Objects reduces total cost of ownership (TCO0 which gives advantage to a better performance and scalability. BI platform. Data exploration.,It can cost a lot of money to implement SAP business objects. It can be a little hard to understand the software and the way SAP business objects works. You will need to have plenty of servers to make SAP Business Objects work.,9,,SAP HANA, MySQL, Adobe Photoshop,9,9Business Object: Scalable and Easy to use !We are a wide organization and we have several ERP systems on top of other local systems. We use Business Objects for operational and management reporting and mixing all of the systems we have. Key users are making reports available to the whole organization,Combine several sources of data Very quick report design Formatting of data.,Combine different universes by letting end user define the primary key,8,,Oracle eBusiness Suite, NetBeans, Apache Tomcat,8,9,8Best Reporting tool in the BI MarketCurrently SAP Business Objects is being used across organization by different teams like Engineering, Offering, Sales, Marketing and Product Teams. I have developed multiple canned and ad-hoc reports as per business needs. Basically this serves the purpose of reporting provisioning, billing and usage information of the different offerings Citrix has.,Easy to build and debug reports both with OLTP and OLAP data. Multiple features like merging, fetching data from multiple sources and data security are integrated in BO. Easy to share the reports with users by scheduling and publication like features and also it comes with a nice portal, Infoview.,SAP BO should have application connectors for applications like Marketo Switching database schemas for the same table should be there.,10,Tableau and Birst,SAP Crystal Reports, Tableau Desktop,9,10,9
Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform
609 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform
609 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 609 vetted SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Michael Diaz-Suarez profile photo
April 02, 2019

Why SAP? Why?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BI was used for our office to gauge manufacturing and product analytics. It was supposed to solve the problem we had with our business portion of our software. However after deployment, we quickly found out it was not so easy. It was used in manufacturing and parts management.
  • It has a great way of displaying information.
  • It's affordable.
  • It can scale well provided you have good support.
  • The interface looks like it's something out of 1999.
  • Customer support is horrible and honestly it's a lottery any time you call.
  • The system crashes constantly.
BI was used to manage our parts and machines. It can be used to manage your factory or systems to properly allocate items to select places. However the system does not respond well, and it can scale well provided you have an actual team knowledgeable in this field. Once you get it set up it works well, but of course, if you try and add new implementations, it can become hazardous to your business.
Read Michael Diaz-Suarez's full review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

SAP BO - Top rated BI system in a multinational organization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used BusinessObjects for over 2.5 years now. It is great tool for scripting and developing reports. It has easy drag and drop options to select what variable you want in your final report. If you have large number of facilities and have data stored in multiple universes, it allows you to create a combined query and get final report from multiple universes. You can send your scripts to other individuals within your team. For any recurring reports, you can schedule them and they run whenever you've set them to run. It has some amazing quick filters that can be used while writing your script that allows you get tailored results.
  • This software is easy to initially learn, and very powerful in producing reusable reports.
  • It is much faster than my company's internal manual queries. The ability to build off of a saved query and share queries to other users is a great positive.
  • My favorite part is that you can run queries in the background and it does not interfere with your current work or slow your computer down.
  • There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries/objects and decide which data to pull, so there is training required.
  • Some of the "result objects" also do not pull data but that is likely due to our internal data, not Business objects itself.
  • The tool's license are expensive but you get what you pay for. SAP's business tool licenses in general have never been cheap but that ensures you get proper product support whenever needed.
One of the things I like about BusinessObjects is that, as a BI manager, I can help varying levels of users. For example, if I have a user that has no interest/technical skill, I can build up a universe, create an InfoSpace, and design some view sets. If the user is more advanced, maybe I just need to build the universe and let them play with the view sets. Users can insert themselves in the BI process where they feel comfortable.

I dislike that there has traditionally not been a good method of restoring a single item when a user accidentally over-engineers it or deletes it altogether. And until recently, there hasn't been any kind of versioning. If there is much customization of the environment, it takes a little more effort to upgrade an existing environment or stage a new one.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Dorscher profile photo
January 31, 2019

SAP Business Objects Intelligence: I wish I was allowed another way

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to gather data from our SAP Warehouse to report out our financial information and high and low performing/selling products. It allows us to gather that data and put it into Excel where we can then use other tools to create visualizations of the data in our monthly, quarterly and yearly reports.
  • Allows significant customization and filtering of the data when creating reports.
  • Is an easy, relatively user-friendly way of accessing the data.
  • No SQL or other programming languages needed for queries.
  • The interface is old and unintuitive. The tooltips are helpful but for someone new to it there is little help in where to begin and what to do
  • This may be our systems but it is slow when querying our data.
  • For some reason when exporting the data, if I choose reports it never exports ALL the data so I am not sure what function that option is supposed to provide.
It is a graphical way of getting to the data housed in an SAP Warehouse. It allows users without specific database knowledge to access the data they require and manipulate it in other tools they may be more familiar with. It serves a function and it does that reasonably well. However, it is not the most intuitive platform for new users if that is your audience.
Read Tim Dorscher's full review
Ben Williams profile photo
January 15, 2019

SAP BO and I: A love story

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP is currently used by a single department but for data that is pulled business-wide. We integrate the date of various departments and create reports in order to find out any casuality issues across the business as well as to determine if changes in one area are having the desired effect across the business. It addresses an issue we had with data being difficult to link together across large areas of the business to see if the data held by one department could be used to make savings in another.
  • Ingest data from multiple areas of the business and use them to generate easy to understand reports.
  • Report scheduling is simple and efficient allowing the team to run reports at a variety of different times to suit the stakeholder's needs.
  • The metalayer takes away some of the complexities of other programs, allowing the end user to interact with the program in a clean and efficient way.
  • We have had some difficulty linking up with data in some of our web portals. This has caused a large amount of development time, and support has been less than its usual helpful self in this regard.
  • Older versions had functions which have now been removed, or replaced with less effecient functions. For example the HTML output option.
  • Some configuration issues have arisen when we have attempted to configure API'S. Some require a JDBC connection, which was slightly more difficult than expected.
The software is fantastic at pulling data from a wide variety of sources, such as the cloud, servers and even desktops. We have used this to generate reports based on a wide data sample. Whilst we haven't attempted it with the software, it is probably less appropriate to use it for single data sources that have a consistent data set. It's not that I think it couldn't handle it, it's more that it may be overkill for such a straight forward task.
Read Ben Williams's full review
Bryan Arroyo Fernandez profile photo
November 19, 2018

SAP Quality Engineer Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects is currently being used by several departments within my company. In the case of my department (Quality), it is used to produce purchase order reports based on the material or supplier being investigated.
  • PO Reports by Supplier and Material
  • Stock Overview reports
  • Processing of POs
  • Needs to work on the user interface. It is not particularly user friendly
  • No support on Mac computers
SAP BuisnessObjects BI is great when used as a database. Not so great if the user wants to use it as a dashboard. Based on the access level I've been to SAP I can't create graphs in SAP directly. To do so I must export the data to excel and use this application for all my reporting needs. Its also important to note that the exporting function Spreadsheet for PO's tends to download symbols that are translated as pictures in the middle of the data table
Read Bryan Arroyo Fernandez's full review
Rodolfo Pinera profile photo
December 12, 2018

A wonderful tool that has evolutionized to the new needs in business.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Recently, I did for production a report sales in WebIntelligence, which started with 30 users and the main heads in company, and now are in process for 100 users. Additionally I am in a project for Finance users, the objective is to create a set of reports in Web Intelligence and a dashboard in Design Studio.
  • We can expand results for a lot of users in a short time.
  • The tool WebIntelligence is easy for the user and the training also is in a short time.
  • It is possible to inherit the security that is implemented in SAP BW.
  • Funcional users can be independent for generating your own analytics.
  • I am using WebI 4.1, and I think it has deficiency in a variety of charts, for example vs Power BI.
  • I generate my principal reports from BW querys, would be wonderful if for example in IDT if I could edit the BW query in like a: change names, create folders, new ratios...
  • Some times when I need change the data source in special from a BW query, is difficult.
I think that some times the restrictions are only in costs. But for me, WebIntelligence can be adapted in many situations, a lot or a few users, a lot of data or a little data...
Read Rodolfo Pinera's full review
No photo available
February 13, 2019

SAP Business Objects is a complex but valuable tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects platform is currently in use by two departments across our enterprise with a total of about 200 people. These departments take requests from businesses across the enterprise and work with them to generate reports based off of criteria that the business decides. The whole organization benefits from Business Objects.
  • It is a very flexible platform with many different add-ons that provide lots of different functionality.
  • If configured and installed correctly it can be a very robust and dependable platform for the business.
  • It has the ability to handle almost all types of data sources you can throw at it.
  • The installation can be very complex and time-consuming, it requires a lot of planning and foresight as to what role the software will play in the organization.
  • The software has a relatively large learning curve that takes dedicated users months to get comfortable with, the UI is a bit intimidating for new users.
  • SAP could organize their help better, it can be difficult to find dependable solutions to issues via their website and support channels.
SAP Business Objects is well suited for mid to large enterprise environments. It can handle multiple data types from almost any different source. It can be overly complex and expensive for a small organization or an organization new to BI. Microsoft's Business Intelligence may be a more realistic option for some customers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 29, 2019

SAP Business Objects to Empower the Enterprise Data Consumption

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP BOBJ to extract data from our ERP (SAP ECC6 EHP6) thru some Pre-defined Rapid Mart schemas. Once data is loaded, we created Universes and do the required ETL (Extract Transform and Load) to model the data to be consumed to all organization from Finance and Costs to Maintenance, Production, Sales a, d Purchasing. Users have either BI reports ready or they use Microsoft Power BI to consume the data.
  • Easy connection to ERP (SAP) thru pre-defined Rapid Marts or tables.
  • Easy connection to other Databases (our plant data or our custom apps).
  • Strong and reliable ETL functions.
  • Stability.
  • The BI reporting is not so simple for a non-experienced user.
  • Mobility and publishing can be improved.
  • Sharing of BI reporting by users.
Our Database Team can easily create Universes and simplified data models to be published to our corporate data warehouse. Experienced users can consume this data and build some valuable reporting and dashboards. Anyway, end users prefer a more dynamic tool to handle the reporting and dashboards like MS PBI for example.
Read this authenticated review
Josh Anderson profile photo
March 26, 2018

Great capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obselete

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used to host reports created in Lumira and Analysis for Office, to enable the creation, storage, and sharing of data and reports. Our most comfortable state is having someone centrally refreshing reports, saving them to a share point and then sending the link to their organization, so the BI Platform has a big opportunity for productivity savings and a better UX! It's being used globally across all areas of Business Planning and some accounting.
  • The fact that you are able to work offline on creating reports and then, within the local client, be able to upload it to the BI Platform and continue editing from the local client, while connected to the BI Platform
  • Separation of end user (BI Launchpad) and management/administration (Central Management Console) access points
  • Interoperability with other SAP products (e.g. Lumira, FIORI, AA)
  • The "FIORI-fied" BI Launchpad still has limited functionality which causes us not to leverage it. It is important to have a consistent UI look and feel for our users but we cannot sacrifice functionality. Therefore we don't have users access the BI Launchpad, we just link them from FIORI, directly to the reports.
  • We've found it very hard to find answers to very simple questions (e.g. what is the best approach for security model, bearing in mind the size of our organization). Both directly with SAP and via third-party contractors, we have struggled to find answers quickly, and sometimes at all...
  • As with all SAP products, they constantly change their recommendation. One minute, the BI Platform is the way forward and we should invest everything into this, and then the next it is SAP Analytics Cloud, and BI Platform will become obsolete.
It's well suited if you have a smaller team who are looking to develop more collaboratively and enable easy sharing, scheduling etc. of reports and documentation. It can also be expanded to a wider organization but there are complexities (such as security - where we decided to just leverage the database security and open everything up at BI file/folder level). For a larger organization, it certainly isn't quick to implement and with SAP changing their strategy so much, you will soon be out of date. Analytics cloud is certainly something you should look at first.
Read Josh Anderson's full review
No photo available
May 08, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a good or Bad tool for future???

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI platform allows my organisation to use real time business data quickly. This tool is important for us as we using it to extract the data and understand our historical trends on sales, production and operation data. This tool is getting used by different functions at organisation like finance, operations planning, commercial team. It is helping to prepare report from real time data for making business decisions.
  • Great reporting platform for business users
  • Better data governance framework
  • Multi developer friendly tool
  • Does not require a user to know SQL query language
  • Leverage its automation to set up routine data delivery extracts to the server
  • Designing the reports is bit difficult for the standard users.
  • Tool's licences are expensive
  • Training is required for any SAP standard user to use this tool efficiently
BusinessObjects provides a platform for any business which has SAP GUI to use it for reporting and extracting the data directly to report to executives in short time. It is also easy to customize, design the report from raw data for a skilled SAP user. This tool is becoming useful for reporting financials, inventory and billing reports to understand sales. A user needs to know basics of writing a SQL so that they can make queries and automate the reports.
It is less appropriate if we need to customize certain complex calculations for the management .
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2018

Business Objects for Self-Service and AdHoc reporting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BI Platform is used for front end reporting at our organization. It is used across entire organization. BusinessObjects' set of tools are connecting with several data sources like SAP BW, AWS, Oracle, SAP HANA etc.
  • Easy, user friendly set of tools specially WebI.
  • Different set of applications to support different reporting needs such as WebI, Crystal etc.
  • SAP BI platform can connect to several different data sources.
  • Try to combine Crystal reports for Enterprise and Crystal Reports 2013.
  • Analysis for Office can be more standardized. It faces issues with different versions of Excel and operating systems.
  • Some user friendly dash boarding tool can be introduced.
SAP Business Objects BI Platform is well suited for self service and adhoc reporting.
SAP Business Objects BI Platform may not be appropriate for creating quick dashboards and sharing.
Read this authenticated review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
January 16, 2018

A solution that will grow with the company

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SAP BO BI has been used for several years within the company in the areas of production planning and reporting, budgeting, market data analysis. The main source data comprise in-house data (ordering system, production plan, production performance) and external data (market data, dealer/distributor data]) and social media data. The main tasks of the solution are in a regular reporting as well as ad-hoc analytics. Examples of business problems are production reporting, trend analysis, competition analysis. The platform is used in a multinational environment of a large production firm.
  • Very good scalability and a real must if you have an SAP as the main ERP system in the production across several factories.
  • Very good vertical integration with other SAP tools and even other main ERP solutions.
  • A good choice for a publicly traded company, where a robust auditable system is a prerequisite for getting transparency into internal.
  • Mobility - in the version currently in use it is complicated to build responsive mobile reports
  • We have integrated the reports on SAP HANA data, and SAP BO did not deliver the required results - the solution had to be replaced by SAP BO Design Studio, purchased additionally.
  • Pricing - this is not a technical feature, but for companies with only a handful of analysts, this could be an insuperable problem.
Use it anywhere where scalability and performance are required, especially if newer SAP version has been implemented.
The mode users will use it, the better - otherwise, the pricing policy could spoil the ROI. Very good integration possibilities, with other standard enterprise applications. Support of various data resources, incl. XML, OLAP etc. including the ability to connect to JAVA, MS Sharepoint, MS Office and .NET applications.

The programmer community around SAP BO is HUGE. It is quite certain, that the problem you have has already been solved by someone else. It requires a little digging in discussions, but the help is mostly available. You definitely cannot start small with SAP BO. It feels too costly,
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Jason Westenskow profile photo
August 25, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects BI - the budget killer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI (BOBJ) is used across the organization. Access to reporting is the main problem it addresses however it's limited by the number of licenses available to our end users. It also addresses our need for pixel-perfect reporting and distributed reporting.
  • Merged dimension queries.
  • Flexibility with Universe Query vs. Free-Hand SQL.
  • Licensing cost is very prohibitive for smaller/medium-sized businesses.
  • Upgrades to BOBJ are non-existent without additional cost.
  • BOBJ is severely lagging on available technologies at the current price point.
If you have a large budget and large staff to manage the deployment you can fare very well with BOBJ. Distributed reporting is excellent, however, to get benefits from big data you must also purchase HANA - more cost with more technical resources.
Read Jason Westenskow's full review
Sumeet Saraf profile photo
August 31, 2017

Is SAP BusinessObjects Good for your company?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Business Objects is currently being used across the whole organisation. It helps users to get instant information for what they are looking for. It helps them to get financial data on the go, maintain all the vendor and dealer information, automate the data, and schedule the reports to the vendors/dealers directly. It's easy to use it for ad-hock queries, easy for understanding the company DB, etc. It's one of the best tools for the company to evaluate data and getting the right information.
  • It can get the right set of information in the format you want out of the whole organisation wide data.
  • It can allow you to automate the data to be shared with internal and external vendors.
  • It allows dashboards, analytics and graphical representation of data for better understanding.
  • The Lumira tool needs to be stabilised.
  • Scheduling of dashboards and analysis need to be simplified.
The tool is best for big and mid size organisations. This one tool can give you a complete picture of the whole organisation's data. It is not good for small scale industries as its license would be a bit expensive.
Read Sumeet Saraf's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

Powerful BI Tool Once the Organization Commits to Consolidate Data Platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used by our supply chain group as well as our sales team primarily, but other management teams also access some modules of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in order to support Supply Chain and Sales groups. It is a long way and still on-going process, but we had to first consolidate all business workflows into SAP first which took several years globally. Then next was to implement the SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in North America first to ensure the bugs are worked out before deploying it across the globe over Citrix for all teams to use globally but our data and application remain centralized in North America.
  • SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is powerful and the reports are excellent, as long as your organization is dedicated to consolidate all processes into SAP.
  • SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, when installed centralized and published via remote access tool like Citrix, can be accessed anywhere while data is secure at central location.
  • For a BI tool SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is much more user-friendly than offerings from Oracle.
  • Dashboard access for leadership is excellent and updates are continually improving the product.
  • Implementation of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform requires large capital investment.
  • User training tools provided by SAP for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is lacking interactive content. Improved user training material with version updates would be very helpful for implementation and continuous education.
  • Managing version upgrades and hotfixes for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform with more control to users to have time to plan for upgrades.
If your company is mainly an SAP shop and all your data is consolidated, SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a necessary tool and will elevate your business strategy with great analysis and dashboard for leadership to track, monitor and decide. However, for large organizations like us, it took us several years to consolidate different tools and applications into SAP first which is a huge undertaking at the cost of several tens of millions of dollars and over 4yrs before we can begin to realize the benefits of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform review by a non-tech, non-IT user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization, by analysts and other employees, to monitor volume, spend, etc. End users retrieve their business data and make decisions on planning, identify opportunities for growth, etc. Users don't have to involve the IT team, they can independently consult their portals. They can export reports to excel and provide analysis.
  • Generates reports, allows reports to be exported to excel.
  • End users can drill down on some of the information to view a more detail analysis.
  • Requires no IT involvement, or minimal IT involvement.
  • Users can perform BI analysis from multiple data sources and export the analysis in different formats.
  • The licensing process is confusing.
  • Users have to request access to certain reports and due to the licensing restrictions we are very limited
  • Support is very expensive when compared to other systems.
  • Customizations are costly and we tend to use the out-of-the-box version, which isn't always the best solution.

Well suited: for HR or sales. User can view volumes of sales with updated information, drill down on results, export results to Excel, for analysis.


Less appropriate: for general users. Although it is a powerful reporting tool, it is not user-friendly. Users require a lot of training and getting used to, to be able to use the system.

Read this authenticated review
Shiv Shivakumar profile photo
July 19, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects review from an early adopter

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects is the transaction level detail query platform within the organization - we have trained and continuously train users on BusinessObjects for self-service mode so that they can generate and customize their own queries without depending on a central IT team. It is very prolifically used within the organization as we are a highly analytics driven organization.
  • Easy to write queries
  • Easy to transfer to Excel and analyze data
  • Customizable queries can be written
  • One area is the ability to do graphs within BusinessObjects without transferring to Excel
When there is a data warehouse that stores data, BusinessObjects can be linked to the data warehouse and a detailed line item level transactional query can be done by users once trained without relying on central IT.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Dariusz Zyskowski profile photo
May 24, 2016

SAP Business Objects: Review by a Grumpy Old Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects has been a primary BI/Reporting solution for the City of Chicago for the past 14 years. It is being used by all city departments to report off practically all city databases. Available to all city employees via Web Intelligence module, it provides simple AdHoc capabilities, as well as advanced options for power users and developers.
  • Simplicity. It is very easy for a non technical user to create and format a report in Web Intelligence. This is especially true with the new 4.1 release.
  • Report distribution. Several options available, such as FTP, File Location, BO Inbox and Email. Each is very intuitive and simple to use without any confusing, very technical options (ex. Oracle's OBIEE).
  • Scheduling. This is a very important feature that is being used a lot here at the city (over 700 scheduled reports run every night). Very robust scheduling engine that can be easily configured and adjusted by the administrator if needed.
  • Service Pack/Fix Pack reliability. Each SP/FP fixes certain bugs, but unfortunately sometimes messes up other features (problematic upgrade from TOMCAT 5 to 7) which can be very frustrating. That is why we carefully test every one of them in our DEV environment before promoting it to Production/
  • JAVA vulnerability. It appears SAP is slow with latest JAVA client (needed for Web Intelligence report creation/edit) support. This creates issues when users update their JAVA release to the latest version, which is not yet supported by SAP resulting in error messages.
  • Internal reporting on Business Objects environment. You can report against user activity (from the audit tables), but there is no build in tool/capability to report on BO content, users, security environment which is very helpful for the administrators. Third party expensive tools are needed (APOS).
Key question: who is the intended audience? Do you want your regular, non technical users to have report creation capabilities? If so, then BO is a way to go. Developers/Power Users can use other BO tools (Design Studio) to create elaborate, more advanced reports, graphs and dashboards.
Read Dariusz Zyskowski's full review
Priyanka Musale profile photo
February 22, 2016

Know why customers go for Business Objects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects is used by data stewards in following departments: Marketing, Finance, Business Development, Corporate etc. It is used across the whole organization. It provides data for functional and operational decision systems.
  • Various tools to implement end to end BI, for example: ETL, Reporting, Dashboarding
  • Good connectivity with CRM, ECC and other SAP systems etc
  • Data Security, Visually intuitive, Ease of use
  • Webi, Rich Client, SAP Dashboard, Crystal Reports reporting tool to cover needs of a variety of users
  • SAP should provide free software and licenses for students
  • SAP Extractors are designed by third party, so no support for those
  • Reporting with no semantec layer
SAP Business Objects is suitable for enterprise level implementation because of the variety modules available to cover all aspects of business intelligence and most of the reporting is based on semantic layer. It is less suitable for small sized organizations because of implementation/support cost.
Read Priyanka Musale's full review
Albano García Pelaz profile photo
May 24, 2016

Business Objects a good option for complex data analysis

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have professional experience in business intelligence. The SAP BO solution can be used in any department of an organization. This system solves any problem regarding data integration or data consolidation. It allows users to analyze information, see trends, and define KPIs with very powerful reporting and visualization tools.
  • It´s a very complete suite, that covers all needs in a BI project - extraction, data consolidation, data warehouse design, report and analysis tools.
  • The dashboard designer is very powerful and it´s an easy way to visually key operational tracking data like KPIs and scorecards.
  • The data services is a very complete tool for data extraction and information consolidation. Allows for multiple connections and workflows.
  • The middleware is very complex, sometimes you don´t know how to configure data connections.
  • The business objects tools are the result of various acquisitions, sometimes the integration between them is not complete.
  • A high level of specialization is necessary to configure BO.
SAP Business Objects is a solid player in the business intelligence market but it´s not a cheaper solution, I think it is a good option for big companies with a complex data structure. Its' greatest strengths are the visualizations tools and must be an important factor in the decision process.
Read Albano García Pelaz's full review
Jody Gitchel profile photo
May 24, 2016

Great BI platform for organizations with established well-defined data practices, although not for the self-serve visualization era

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my prior organization, SAP Business Objects was the organization's company-wide Business Intelligence platform delivering reporting, ad-hoc reporting, and visualizations to the business. It brought with it a unified approach to delivery, and rapid development while also putting self-serve reporting in the hands of the business users taking full advantage of the universe architecture in 4.1.
  • First and foremost the business presentation layer is top-notch (previously called universes, now called business layers). This architecture provides an object oriented development layer for use across the platform including WebIntelligence, Lumira, Dashboard Designer, and Crystal Reports (Enterprise).
  • Crystal Reports is still a standard among reporting tools, and the next evolution into enterprise is on the right track. Crystal Reports has always been the defacto standard in enterprise reporting and the enterprise version brings with it better integration with Business Objects.
  • The launch pad provides a great delivery mechanism to business users. Security is very granular and easy to maintain, and providing users with their own document space allows each user to maintain their own work spaces.
  • Web Intelligence is a great ad-hoc tool. Users coming from Excel will have enough familiarities to be able to transition easily. It really unlocks a world of opportunities for the normal business user to do analysis and reporting in a controlled manner.
  • Integration with Microsoft Office is great with the newer collaboration of Power Query. The organization was able to move away from cube driven analysis and into self serve dimensional analysis utilizing universes with Excel.
  • To stay relevant, SAP is going to need to introduce a self-serve dashboard tool to compete with the likes of Tableau and other emerging companies.
  • Dashboard Design is SAP's weakest area, in particular Dashboard Designer (formerly XCelsius). This product is very dated and feels like legacy.
  • The development tool integration into the platform as a whole is lacking. Each tool seems to have a different way for connecting and interacting with data and feels a bit broken and non-cohesive.
  • Predictive Analytics could benefit from some attention. Explorer is a decent discovery tool but would benefit from the next generation of whatever it will become and bring better predictive analysis.
For the report centric organization with an established data warehouse that would like to enter the self-service realm, SAP Business Objects is a great platform. For organizations with disparate, unorganized data that wish to gain immediate utilization benefits and self-service analytics from a variety of unestablished sources, your data strategy should either be to spend time devloping a data warehouse and solidifying your data practices, or looking at a tool more suited for this such as Tableau.
Read Jody Gitchel's full review
Michael Ruddy, MBA, CPCU profile photo
March 16, 2016

Useful Web Based Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Reporting account levels information and statistics, individual level information and statistics, and querying marketing databases for advertising purposes.
  • Well formatted tables of data, similar to an Excel pivot table but for larger data sets.
  • Scheduling tasks to run at a later time or date.
  • Easy formula editing, if someone knows how to use the functions in Excel they'll be able to work with Business Objects formulas.
  • You can't easily run large data sets. Normally you have schedule these projects.
  • You cannot email the result automatically to a regular email user. You can only send them an email to the systems built in Inbox.
  • End users can't create their own computed value/fields, generally you need IT to do that in the back end.
The web version is great because you can use it on any computer. In the past I've used programs that were software based and the problem you run into is if you're using another computer you won't be able to access your projects.
Read Michael Ruddy, MBA, CPCU's full review
Sarah Cubas profile photo
March 12, 2016

My experience with SAP BO

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an IT consult and working for a consulting firm, we typically consult other organizations on SAP and inmost cases we help them to implement and deploy SAP. Sometimes clients do not have a lot of experience with SAP products especially with SAP Business Objects. So our job is to provide support and guide them to better understand the language of SAP.
  • SAP Business Objects reduces total cost of ownership (TCO0 which gives advantage to a better performance and scalability.
  • BI platform.
  • Data exploration.
  • It can cost a lot of money to implement SAP business objects.
  • It can be a little hard to understand the software and the way SAP business objects works.
  • You will need to have plenty of servers to make SAP Business Objects work.
Yes, SAP business Objects can have a better advantage than using Excel. You can create very sophisticated reports and it even works offline to analyze reports. It is less time consuming and more efficient. Web intelligence and ad hoc reporting are available. and the good thing about SAP Business Objects is that it has many functionalities to create very powerful reports.
Read Sarah Cubas's full review
Jérôme Herlevin profile photo
May 25, 2016

Business Object: Scalable and Easy to use !

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a wide organization and we have several ERP systems on top of other local systems. We use Business Objects for operational and management reporting and mixing all of the systems we have.
Key users are making reports available to the whole organization
  • Combine several sources of data
  • Very quick report design
  • Formatting of data.
  • Combine different universes by letting end user define the primary key
For us, it is very appropriate, but more than the tool, the way of implementing is the key to success
Read Jérôme Herlevin's full review
mahesh ray profile photo
May 25, 2016

Best Reporting tool in the BI Market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently SAP Business Objects is being used across organization by different teams like Engineering, Offering, Sales, Marketing and Product Teams.

I have developed multiple canned and ad-hoc reports as per business needs. Basically this serves the purpose of reporting provisioning, billing and usage information of the different offerings Citrix has.
  • Easy to build and debug reports both with OLTP and OLAP data.
  • Multiple features like merging, fetching data from multiple sources and data security are integrated in BO.
  • Easy to share the reports with users by scheduling and publication like features and also it comes with a nice portal, Infoview.
  • SAP BO should have application connectors for applications like Marketo
  • Switching database schemas for the same table should be there.
I have used multiple reporting tools in the market and I like Business Objects the most for financial and marketing reports. BO works like a charm.
Read mahesh ray's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.1
Customizable dashboards (29)
6.8
Report Formatting Templates (28)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (28)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (28)
7.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (20)
6.4
Report sharing and collaboration (26)
7.7
Publish to Web (25)
7.8
Publish to PDF (28)
8.4
Report Versioning (25)
8.2
Report Delivery Scheduling (28)
8.0
Delivery to Remote Servers (12)
8.4
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (24)
7.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (24)
7.4
Predictive Analytics (24)
6.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (27)
7.7
Role-Based Security Model (27)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (27)
8.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (15)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (20)
6.1
Dedicated iOS Application (17)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (15)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (18)
5.9
REST API (9)
6.6
Javascript API (8)
6.2
iFrames (8)
6.2
Java API (10)
6.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (9)
6.5
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (10)
6.1

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No