TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ph/hd/M11IV3795I5R.PNGSAP Quality Engineer ReviewSAP BusinessObjects is currently being used by several departments within my company. In the case of my department (Quality), it is used to produce purchase order reports based on the material or supplier being investigated.,PO Reports by Supplier and Material Stock Overview reports Processing of POs,Needs to work on the user interface. It is not particularly user friendly No support on Mac computers,10,,10,2,IBM Cognos, Smartsheet, JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SAS, Microsoft Power BI, Microsoft AccessGreat capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obseleteSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used to host reports created in Lumira and Analysis for Office, to enable the creation, storage, and sharing of data and reports. Our most comfortable state is having someone centrally refreshing reports, saving them to a share point and then sending the link to their organization, so the BI Platform has a big opportunity for productivity savings and a better UX! It's being used globally across all areas of Business Planning and some accounting.,The fact that you are able to work offline on creating reports and then, within the local client, be able to upload it to the BI Platform and continue editing from the local client, while connected to the BI Platform Separation of end user (BI Launchpad) and management/administration (Central Management Console) access points Interoperability with other SAP products (e.g. Lumira, FIORI, AA),The "FIORI-fied" BI Launchpad still has limited functionality which causes us not to leverage it. It is important to have a consistent UI look and feel for our users but we cannot sacrifice functionality. Therefore we don't have users access the BI Launchpad, we just link them from FIORI, directly to the reports. We've found it very hard to find answers to very simple questions (e.g. what is the best approach for security model, bearing in mind the size of our organization). Both directly with SAP and via third-party contractors, we have struggled to find answers quickly, and sometimes at all... As with all SAP products, they constantly change their recommendation. One minute, the BI Platform is the way forward and we should invest everything into this, and then the next it is SAP Analytics Cloud, and BI Platform will become obsolete.,6,TIBCO Spotfire,8,6,MS SharePoint, SAP Lumira, SAP Predictive AnalyticsA solution that will grow with the companyThe SAP BO BI has been used for several years within the company in the areas of production planning and reporting, budgeting, market data analysis. The main source data comprise in-house data (ordering system, production plan, production performance) and external data (market data, dealer/distributor data]) and social media data. The main tasks of the solution are in a regular reporting as well as ad-hoc analytics. Examples of business problems are production reporting, trend analysis, competition analysis. The platform is used in a multinational environment of a large production firm.,Very good scalability and a real must if you have an SAP as the main ERP system in the production across several factories. Very good vertical integration with other SAP tools and even other main ERP solutions. A good choice for a publicly traded company, where a robust auditable system is a prerequisite for getting transparency into internal.,Mobility - in the version currently in use it is complicated to build responsive mobile reports We have integrated the reports on SAP HANA data, and SAP BO did not deliver the required results - the solution had to be replaced by SAP BO Design Studio, purchased additionally. Pricing - this is not a technical feature, but for companies with only a handful of analysts, this could be an insuperable problem.,8,,8,5,Microsoft Power BI, Izenda, LookerPowerful BI Tool Once the Organization Commits to Consolidate Data PlatformSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used by our supply chain group as well as our sales team primarily, but other management teams also access some modules of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in order to support Supply Chain and Sales groups. It is a long way and still on-going process, but we had to first consolidate all business workflows into SAP first which took several years globally. Then next was to implement the SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in North America first to ensure the bugs are worked out before deploying it across the globe over Citrix for all teams to use globally but our data and application remain centralized in North America.,SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is powerful and the reports are excellent, as long as your organization is dedicated to consolidate all processes into SAP. SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, when installed centralized and published via remote access tool like Citrix, can be accessed anywhere while data is secure at central location. For a BI tool SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is much more user-friendly than offerings from Oracle. Dashboard access for leadership is excellent and updates are continually improving the product.,Implementation of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform requires large capital investment. User training tools provided by SAP for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is lacking interactive content. Improved user training material with version updates would be very helpful for implementation and continuous education. Managing version upgrades and hotfixes for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform with more control to users to have time to plan for upgrades.,7,Oracle API Manager,8,7,Citrix AppDNA, Citrix CloudBridge, Citrix User Profile Management, AMS SoftwareSAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a good or Bad tool for future???SAP BusinessObjects BI platform allows my organisation to use real time business data quickly. This tool is important for us as we using it to extract the data and understand our historical trends on sales, production and operation data. This tool is getting used by different functions at organisation like finance, operations planning, commercial team. It is helping to prepare report from real time data for making business decisions.,Great reporting platform for business users Better data governance framework Multi developer friendly tool Does not require a user to know SQL query language Leverage its automation to set up routine data delivery extracts to the server,Designing the reports is bit difficult for the standard users. Tool's licences are expensive Training is required for any SAP standard user to use this tool efficiently,7,Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management,6,7,Microsoft BI, Dundas BI, Tableau Online
Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform
555 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform
555 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 555 vetted SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 42)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Bryan Arroyo Fernandez profile photo
November 19, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform: "SAP Quality Engineer Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects is currently being used by several departments within my company. In the case of my department (Quality), it is used to produce purchase order reports based on the material or supplier being investigated.
  • PO Reports by Supplier and Material
  • Stock Overview reports
  • Processing of POs
  • Needs to work on the user interface. It is not particularly user friendly
  • No support on Mac computers
SAP BuisnessObjects BI is great when used as a database. Not so great if the user wants to use it as a dashboard. Based on the access level I've been to SAP I can't create graphs in SAP directly. To do so I must export the data to excel and use this application for all my reporting needs. Its also important to note that the exporting function Spreadsheet for PO's tends to download symbols that are translated as pictures in the middle of the data table
Read Bryan Arroyo Fernandez's full review
Josh Anderson profile photo
March 26, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Great capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obselete"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used to host reports created in Lumira and Analysis for Office, to enable the creation, storage, and sharing of data and reports. Our most comfortable state is having someone centrally refreshing reports, saving them to a share point and then sending the link to their organization, so the BI Platform has a big opportunity for productivity savings and a better UX! It's being used globally across all areas of Business Planning and some accounting.
  • The fact that you are able to work offline on creating reports and then, within the local client, be able to upload it to the BI Platform and continue editing from the local client, while connected to the BI Platform
  • Separation of end user (BI Launchpad) and management/administration (Central Management Console) access points
  • Interoperability with other SAP products (e.g. Lumira, FIORI, AA)
  • The "FIORI-fied" BI Launchpad still has limited functionality which causes us not to leverage it. It is important to have a consistent UI look and feel for our users but we cannot sacrifice functionality. Therefore we don't have users access the BI Launchpad, we just link them from FIORI, directly to the reports.
  • We've found it very hard to find answers to very simple questions (e.g. what is the best approach for security model, bearing in mind the size of our organization). Both directly with SAP and via third-party contractors, we have struggled to find answers quickly, and sometimes at all...
  • As with all SAP products, they constantly change their recommendation. One minute, the BI Platform is the way forward and we should invest everything into this, and then the next it is SAP Analytics Cloud, and BI Platform will become obsolete.
It's well suited if you have a smaller team who are looking to develop more collaboratively and enable easy sharing, scheduling etc. of reports and documentation. It can also be expanded to a wider organization but there are complexities (such as security - where we decided to just leverage the database security and open everything up at BI file/folder level). For a larger organization, it certainly isn't quick to implement and with SAP changing their strategy so much, you will soon be out of date. Analytics cloud is certainly something you should look at first.
Read Josh Anderson's full review
Viktor Mulac profile photo
January 16, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "A solution that will grow with the company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SAP BO BI has been used for several years within the company in the areas of production planning and reporting, budgeting, market data analysis. The main source data comprise in-house data (ordering system, production plan, production performance) and external data (market data, dealer/distributor data]) and social media data. The main tasks of the solution are in a regular reporting as well as ad-hoc analytics. Examples of business problems are production reporting, trend analysis, competition analysis. The platform is used in a multinational environment of a large production firm.
  • Very good scalability and a real must if you have an SAP as the main ERP system in the production across several factories.
  • Very good vertical integration with other SAP tools and even other main ERP solutions.
  • A good choice for a publicly traded company, where a robust auditable system is a prerequisite for getting transparency into internal.
  • Mobility - in the version currently in use it is complicated to build responsive mobile reports
  • We have integrated the reports on SAP HANA data, and SAP BO did not deliver the required results - the solution had to be replaced by SAP BO Design Studio, purchased additionally.
  • Pricing - this is not a technical feature, but for companies with only a handful of analysts, this could be an insuperable problem.
Use it anywhere where scalability and performance are required, especially if newer SAP version has been implemented.
The mode users will use it, the better - otherwise, the pricing policy could spoil the ROI. Very good integration possibilities, with other standard enterprise applications. Support of various data resources, incl. XML, OLAP etc. including the ability to connect to JAVA, MS Sharepoint, MS Office and .NET applications.

The programmer community around SAP BO is HUGE. It is quite certain, that the problem you have has already been solved by someone else. It requires a little digging in discussions, but the help is mostly available. You definitely cannot start small with SAP BO. It feels too costly,
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Powerful BI Tool Once the Organization Commits to Consolidate Data Platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used by our supply chain group as well as our sales team primarily, but other management teams also access some modules of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in order to support Supply Chain and Sales groups. It is a long way and still on-going process, but we had to first consolidate all business workflows into SAP first which took several years globally. Then next was to implement the SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform in North America first to ensure the bugs are worked out before deploying it across the globe over Citrix for all teams to use globally but our data and application remain centralized in North America.
  • SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is powerful and the reports are excellent, as long as your organization is dedicated to consolidate all processes into SAP.
  • SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, when installed centralized and published via remote access tool like Citrix, can be accessed anywhere while data is secure at central location.
  • For a BI tool SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is much more user-friendly than offerings from Oracle.
  • Dashboard access for leadership is excellent and updates are continually improving the product.
  • Implementation of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform requires large capital investment.
  • User training tools provided by SAP for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is lacking interactive content. Improved user training material with version updates would be very helpful for implementation and continuous education.
  • Managing version upgrades and hotfixes for SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform with more control to users to have time to plan for upgrades.
If your company is mainly an SAP shop and all your data is consolidated, SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a necessary tool and will elevate your business strategy with great analysis and dashboard for leadership to track, monitor and decide. However, for large organizations like us, it took us several years to consolidate different tools and applications into SAP first which is a huge undertaking at the cost of several tens of millions of dollars and over 4yrs before we can begin to realize the benefits of SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 08, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is a good or Bad tool for future???"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI platform allows my organisation to use real time business data quickly. This tool is important for us as we using it to extract the data and understand our historical trends on sales, production and operation data. This tool is getting used by different functions at organisation like finance, operations planning, commercial team. It is helping to prepare report from real time data for making business decisions.
  • Great reporting platform for business users
  • Better data governance framework
  • Multi developer friendly tool
  • Does not require a user to know SQL query language
  • Leverage its automation to set up routine data delivery extracts to the server
  • Designing the reports is bit difficult for the standard users.
  • Tool's licences are expensive
  • Training is required for any SAP standard user to use this tool efficiently
BusinessObjects provides a platform for any business which has SAP GUI to use it for reporting and extracting the data directly to report to executives in short time. It is also easy to customize, design the report from raw data for a skilled SAP user. This tool is becoming useful for reporting financials, inventory and billing reports to understand sales. A user needs to know basics of writing a SQL so that they can make queries and automate the reports.
It is less appropriate if we need to customize certain complex calculations for the management .
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Business Objects for Self-Service and AdHoc reporting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BI Platform is used for front end reporting at our organization. It is used across entire organization. BusinessObjects' set of tools are connecting with several data sources like SAP BW, AWS, Oracle, SAP HANA etc.
  • Easy, user friendly set of tools specially WebI.
  • Different set of applications to support different reporting needs such as WebI, Crystal etc.
  • SAP BI platform can connect to several different data sources.
  • Try to combine Crystal reports for Enterprise and Crystal Reports 2013.
  • Analysis for Office can be more standardized. It faces issues with different versions of Excel and operating systems.
  • Some user friendly dash boarding tool can be introduced.
SAP Business Objects BI Platform is well suited for self service and adhoc reporting.
SAP Business Objects BI Platform may not be appropriate for creating quick dashboards and sharing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform: "SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform review by a non-tech, non-IT user"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization, by analysts and other employees, to monitor volume, spend, etc. End users retrieve their business data and make decisions on planning, identify opportunities for growth, etc. Users don't have to involve the IT team, they can independently consult their portals. They can export reports to excel and provide analysis.
  • Generates reports, allows reports to be exported to excel.
  • End users can drill down on some of the information to view a more detail analysis.
  • Requires no IT involvement, or minimal IT involvement.
  • Users can perform BI analysis from multiple data sources and export the analysis in different formats.
  • The licensing process is confusing.
  • Users have to request access to certain reports and due to the licensing restrictions we are very limited
  • Support is very expensive when compared to other systems.
  • Customizations are costly and we tend to use the out-of-the-box version, which isn't always the best solution.

Well suited: for HR or sales. User can view volumes of sales with updated information, drill down on results, export results to Excel, for analysis.


Less appropriate: for general users. Although it is a powerful reporting tool, it is not user-friendly. Users require a lot of training and getting used to, to be able to use the system.

Read this authenticated review
Jason Westenskow profile photo
August 25, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "SAP BusinessObjects BI - the budget killer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects BI (BOBJ) is used across the organization. Access to reporting is the main problem it addresses however it's limited by the number of licenses available to our end users. It also addresses our need for pixel-perfect reporting and distributed reporting.
  • Merged dimension queries.
  • Flexibility with Universe Query vs. Free-Hand SQL.
  • Licensing cost is very prohibitive for smaller/medium-sized businesses.
  • Upgrades to BOBJ are non-existent without additional cost.
  • BOBJ is severely lagging on available technologies at the current price point.
If you have a large budget and large staff to manage the deployment you can fare very well with BOBJ. Distributed reporting is excellent, however, to get benefits from big data you must also purchase HANA - more cost with more technical resources.
Read Jason Westenskow's full review
Shiv Shivakumar profile photo
July 19, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform: "SAP BusinessObjects review from an early adopter"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects is the transaction level detail query platform within the organization - we have trained and continuously train users on BusinessObjects for self-service mode so that they can generate and customize their own queries without depending on a central IT team. It is very prolifically used within the organization as we are a highly analytics driven organization.
  • Easy to write queries
  • Easy to transfer to Excel and analyze data
  • Customizable queries can be written
  • One area is the ability to do graphs within BusinessObjects without transferring to Excel
When there is a data warehouse that stores data, BusinessObjects can be linked to the data warehouse and a detailed line item level transactional query can be done by users once trained without relying on central IT.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Sumeet Saraf profile photo
August 31, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Is SAP BusinessObjects Good for your company?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Business Objects is currently being used across the whole organisation. It helps users to get instant information for what they are looking for. It helps them to get financial data on the go, maintain all the vendor and dealer information, automate the data, and schedule the reports to the vendors/dealers directly. It's easy to use it for ad-hock queries, easy for understanding the company DB, etc. It's one of the best tools for the company to evaluate data and getting the right information.
  • It can get the right set of information in the format you want out of the whole organisation wide data.
  • It can allow you to automate the data to be shared with internal and external vendors.
  • It allows dashboards, analytics and graphical representation of data for better understanding.
  • The Lumira tool needs to be stabilised.
  • Scheduling of dashboards and analysis need to be simplified.
The tool is best for big and mid size organisations. This one tool can give you a complete picture of the whole organisation's data. It is not good for small scale industries as its license would be a bit expensive.
Read Sumeet Saraf's full review
Dariusz Zyskowski profile photo
May 24, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform: "SAP Business Objects: Review by a Grumpy Old Customer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects has been a primary BI/Reporting solution for the City of Chicago for the past 14 years. It is being used by all city departments to report off practically all city databases. Available to all city employees via Web Intelligence module, it provides simple AdHoc capabilities, as well as advanced options for power users and developers.
  • Simplicity. It is very easy for a non technical user to create and format a report in Web Intelligence. This is especially true with the new 4.1 release.
  • Report distribution. Several options available, such as FTP, File Location, BO Inbox and Email. Each is very intuitive and simple to use without any confusing, very technical options (ex. Oracle's OBIEE).
  • Scheduling. This is a very important feature that is being used a lot here at the city (over 700 scheduled reports run every night). Very robust scheduling engine that can be easily configured and adjusted by the administrator if needed.
  • Service Pack/Fix Pack reliability. Each SP/FP fixes certain bugs, but unfortunately sometimes messes up other features (problematic upgrade from TOMCAT 5 to 7) which can be very frustrating. That is why we carefully test every one of them in our DEV environment before promoting it to Production/
  • JAVA vulnerability. It appears SAP is slow with latest JAVA client (needed for Web Intelligence report creation/edit) support. This creates issues when users update their JAVA release to the latest version, which is not yet supported by SAP resulting in error messages.
  • Internal reporting on Business Objects environment. You can report against user activity (from the audit tables), but there is no build in tool/capability to report on BO content, users, security environment which is very helpful for the administrators. Third party expensive tools are needed (APOS).
Key question: who is the intended audience? Do you want your regular, non technical users to have report creation capabilities? If so, then BO is a way to go. Developers/Power Users can use other BO tools (Design Studio) to create elaborate, more advanced reports, graphs and dashboards.
Read Dariusz Zyskowski's full review
Priyanka Musale profile photo
February 22, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Know why customers go for Business Objects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects is used by data stewards in following departments: Marketing, Finance, Business Development, Corporate etc. It is used across the whole organization. It provides data for functional and operational decision systems.
  • Various tools to implement end to end BI, for example: ETL, Reporting, Dashboarding
  • Good connectivity with CRM, ECC and other SAP systems etc
  • Data Security, Visually intuitive, Ease of use
  • Webi, Rich Client, SAP Dashboard, Crystal Reports reporting tool to cover needs of a variety of users
  • SAP should provide free software and licenses for students
  • SAP Extractors are designed by third party, so no support for those
  • Reporting with no semantec layer
SAP Business Objects is suitable for enterprise level implementation because of the variety modules available to cover all aspects of business intelligence and most of the reporting is based on semantic layer. It is less suitable for small sized organizations because of implementation/support cost.
Read Priyanka Musale's full review
Albano García Pelaz profile photo
May 24, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Business Objects a good option for complex data analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have professional experience in business intelligence. The SAP BO solution can be used in any department of an organization. This system solves any problem regarding data integration or data consolidation. It allows users to analyze information, see trends, and define KPIs with very powerful reporting and visualization tools.
  • It´s a very complete suite, that covers all needs in a BI project - extraction, data consolidation, data warehouse design, report and analysis tools.
  • The dashboard designer is very powerful and it´s an easy way to visually key operational tracking data like KPIs and scorecards.
  • The data services is a very complete tool for data extraction and information consolidation. Allows for multiple connections and workflows.
  • The middleware is very complex, sometimes you don´t know how to configure data connections.
  • The business objects tools are the result of various acquisitions, sometimes the integration between them is not complete.
  • A high level of specialization is necessary to configure BO.
SAP Business Objects is a solid player in the business intelligence market but it´s not a cheaper solution, I think it is a good option for big companies with a complex data structure. Its' greatest strengths are the visualizations tools and must be an important factor in the decision process.
Read Albano García Pelaz's full review
Jody Gitchel profile photo
May 24, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Great BI platform for organizations with established well-defined data practices, although not for the self-serve visualization era"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my prior organization, SAP Business Objects was the organization's company-wide Business Intelligence platform delivering reporting, ad-hoc reporting, and visualizations to the business. It brought with it a unified approach to delivery, and rapid development while also putting self-serve reporting in the hands of the business users taking full advantage of the universe architecture in 4.1.
  • First and foremost the business presentation layer is top-notch (previously called universes, now called business layers). This architecture provides an object oriented development layer for use across the platform including WebIntelligence, Lumira, Dashboard Designer, and Crystal Reports (Enterprise).
  • Crystal Reports is still a standard among reporting tools, and the next evolution into enterprise is on the right track. Crystal Reports has always been the defacto standard in enterprise reporting and the enterprise version brings with it better integration with Business Objects.
  • The launch pad provides a great delivery mechanism to business users. Security is very granular and easy to maintain, and providing users with their own document space allows each user to maintain their own work spaces.
  • Web Intelligence is a great ad-hoc tool. Users coming from Excel will have enough familiarities to be able to transition easily. It really unlocks a world of opportunities for the normal business user to do analysis and reporting in a controlled manner.
  • Integration with Microsoft Office is great with the newer collaboration of Power Query. The organization was able to move away from cube driven analysis and into self serve dimensional analysis utilizing universes with Excel.
  • To stay relevant, SAP is going to need to introduce a self-serve dashboard tool to compete with the likes of Tableau and other emerging companies.
  • Dashboard Design is SAP's weakest area, in particular Dashboard Designer (formerly XCelsius). This product is very dated and feels like legacy.
  • The development tool integration into the platform as a whole is lacking. Each tool seems to have a different way for connecting and interacting with data and feels a bit broken and non-cohesive.
  • Predictive Analytics could benefit from some attention. Explorer is a decent discovery tool but would benefit from the next generation of whatever it will become and bring better predictive analysis.
For the report centric organization with an established data warehouse that would like to enter the self-service realm, SAP Business Objects is a great platform. For organizations with disparate, unorganized data that wish to gain immediate utilization benefits and self-service analytics from a variety of unestablished sources, your data strategy should either be to spend time devloping a data warehouse and solidifying your data practices, or looking at a tool more suited for this such as Tableau.
Read Jody Gitchel's full review
Michael Ruddy, MBA, CPCU profile photo
March 16, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Useful Web Based Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Reporting account levels information and statistics, individual level information and statistics, and querying marketing databases for advertising purposes.
  • Well formatted tables of data, similar to an Excel pivot table but for larger data sets.
  • Scheduling tasks to run at a later time or date.
  • Easy formula editing, if someone knows how to use the functions in Excel they'll be able to work with Business Objects formulas.
  • You can't easily run large data sets. Normally you have schedule these projects.
  • You cannot email the result automatically to a regular email user. You can only send them an email to the systems built in Inbox.
  • End users can't create their own computed value/fields, generally you need IT to do that in the back end.
The web version is great because you can use it on any computer. In the past I've used programs that were software based and the problem you run into is if you're using another computer you won't be able to access your projects.
Read Michael Ruddy, MBA, CPCU's full review
Sarah Cubas profile photo
March 12, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "My experience with SAP BO"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an IT consult and working for a consulting firm, we typically consult other organizations on SAP and inmost cases we help them to implement and deploy SAP. Sometimes clients do not have a lot of experience with SAP products especially with SAP Business Objects. So our job is to provide support and guide them to better understand the language of SAP.
  • SAP Business Objects reduces total cost of ownership (TCO0 which gives advantage to a better performance and scalability.
  • BI platform.
  • Data exploration.
  • It can cost a lot of money to implement SAP business objects.
  • It can be a little hard to understand the software and the way SAP business objects works.
  • You will need to have plenty of servers to make SAP Business Objects work.
Yes, SAP business Objects can have a better advantage than using Excel. You can create very sophisticated reports and it even works offline to analyze reports. It is less time consuming and more efficient. Web intelligence and ad hoc reporting are available. and the good thing about SAP Business Objects is that it has many functionalities to create very powerful reports.
Read Sarah Cubas's full review
Jérôme Herlevin profile photo
May 25, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Business Object: Scalable and Easy to use !"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a wide organization and we have several ERP systems on top of other local systems. We use Business Objects for operational and management reporting and mixing all of the systems we have.
Key users are making reports available to the whole organization
  • Combine several sources of data
  • Very quick report design
  • Formatting of data.
  • Combine different universes by letting end user define the primary key
For us, it is very appropriate, but more than the tool, the way of implementing is the key to success
Read Jérôme Herlevin's full review
mahesh ray profile photo
May 25, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "Best Reporting tool in the BI Market"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently SAP Business Objects is being used across organization by different teams like Engineering, Offering, Sales, Marketing and Product Teams.

I have developed multiple canned and ad-hoc reports as per business needs. Basically this serves the purpose of reporting provisioning, billing and usage information of the different offerings Citrix has.
  • Easy to build and debug reports both with OLTP and OLAP data.
  • Multiple features like merging, fetching data from multiple sources and data security are integrated in BO.
  • Easy to share the reports with users by scheduling and publication like features and also it comes with a nice portal, Infoview.
  • SAP BO should have application connectors for applications like Marketo
  • Switching database schemas for the same table should be there.
I have used multiple reporting tools in the market and I like Business Objects the most for financial and marketing reports. BO works like a charm.
Read mahesh ray's full review
Bill Congrove profile photo
February 11, 2016

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "sap"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our company for customer SLA reporting and as a method of invoicing. We also use it for internal analytics.
  • Ease of use. Allows non technical end users to be self-sufficient in regards to ad-hoc reporting .
  • Visual aid creation. Allows a more varied approach to presentations.
  • Exporting formats. A variety of formats allows for a wider assortment of uses.
  • Difficult to implement
  • Difficult to create rights for various users
  • Need more format types for exporting.
Great for analytics, poor as a method of invoicing.
Read Bill Congrove's full review
Jessie A. Toro profile photo
November 19, 2015

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "SAP Business Objects Great for Application Intergrations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Objects was being used by those who made purchasing decisions.
  • Easy to access reports
  • User friendly and easy to learn
  • Integrates with Microsoft Word
  • Excel reports overlapping with Crystal Reports, which may cause issues with future Excel report updates
SAP Business Objects is perfect for the needs of large organizations and can connect to many data sources.
Read Jessie A. Toro's full review
Carla Simoneau profile photo
December 30, 2014

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "SAP Business Objects is a strong choice for an Enterprise reporting solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Business Objects as our Enterprise reporting tool at our organization. SAP Business Objects is used here for analytics, operational reports, supporting external customers through web services, letters, and custom applications. Thousands of batch reports are created nightly to support business operations.
  • The flexibility that BOBJ offers is what sets them apart. We have some pretty complex needs around batching multiple reports and maintaining one schedule. We were able to set this up with a package or publication if we needed it bursted and then have that schedule trigger another batch of reports.
  • We wanted to offer our external clients the ability to access information by calling a web service from their external applications. Using Query as a Web Service we were easily able to offer this to them. The Query as a Web Service client tool is easy to use even for a non-technical user. We have our clients create a report with what they want to see and then we turn it into a web service and let them consume it.
  • We had a need to produce mass amounts of emails to our customers that would give them a summarized view of their accounts. Using the bursting option we were able to produce a single report that is sent monthly to each customer with only their data on the report. We created a custom application that our business could use to maintain a table of email addresses that the report should be sent to each month. This eliminated the need to have IT involved.
  • We are not on the latest version (4.1) yet and would love to get there, but SAP has made this difficult. We have to add hardware and we are currently using the .NET Infoview. This is no longer supported in 4.1 and they only have Java BI Launch Pad. We have a considerable amount of work to convert over.
  • SAP Support Portal is very difficult to use. It makes you login every page you go to and trying to get help is very difficult. I find most answers through trial and error or the BOB.
  • I would really like to see the ability to schedule a report to an email, but rather than attach the report it includes a link to the report in the email. I know Cognos has this functionality and I would like to see it here.
  • I also would like to see the ability to schedule to a text format. Currently it only lets you save to this format when you have the report open.
I would recommend SAP Business Objects if they are looking for a flexible enterprise solution where they need the ability to create pixel perfect reports and many scheduling options. If they are looking more for analytics and dashboard type data analysis there are other products for less money that can do this.
Read Carla Simoneau's full review
Nathan Patrick Taylor profile photo
March 10, 2015

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "SAP BusinessObjects 4.0 for use in Ambulatory Healthcare"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The product is a great central platform for BI needs.
  • User can be setup to have access to specific data elements.
  • Reports and documents can be published and pushed out to each user.
  • The software can be distributed via a central server rather than maintain software on each user's computer.
  • The software typically requires training to use and is not very intuitive.
  • The security setup is difficult to learn and understand.
  • There have been some compatibility issues when connecting to the latest non-SAP data sources.
  • Updating and upgrading the software is not easy.
Read Nathan Patrick Taylor's full review
Kevin McManus profile photo
February 25, 2015

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "The New SAP BusinessObjects RESTful SDK: What It Means to You"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BusinessObjects to deliver reports on a schedule basis to management as well as provide adhoc and drill through reporting to staff to help make accurate decisions. The ability to join data between different data sources without users having to touch the data is an important features. We collect data from several legacy systems including databases that were linked throuh MS SQL Server and SOAP Web services through a single Universe to provide a single view of the business to users.
  • Designed for Crystal, Web Intelligence and the BI Platform, the RESTful SDK (RSDK) is the next-generation application programming interface (API) for manipulating and interacting with reporting content residing on your BusinessObjects server.
  • For starters, it means no more jar files. Or, if you are a .Net developer, merge modules and or .dll files. The RSDK is based on a lightweight, refreshing platform that literally requires no installation. All it requires is knowledge of a handful of URLs and configuring your BOE server for web services (which is already configured by default).
  • With the newest versions Windows AD Single Sign on is configurable with your custom application with much less time and effort.
  • In classic Java/.Net SDK programming, as a programmer you would interact with an object model. But with the Retful SDK consisting a vast array of API calls, there are many waus to call the application that may or may not get your application the expected result. There needs to be more examplesof actual javascript based calls.
  • Prior to BOE 4.0 SP6 there as little parity with the JAVA/.NET SDK so an upgrade to BOE 4.1 is necessary to get the majority of functionality available.
  • We have built our own SAML, OAuth, Active Directory, SiteMinder and Ping Identity Connects through to BusinessObjects. I would expect these will be come part of the API in the future.
We now Embed BusinessObjects Edge into Rapid Stack system for SalesForce Analytics. Its the best BI platform out there.
Read Kevin McManus's full review
Robert Scrimshaw profile photo
October 08, 2014

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "You don't need IT staff to write your reports!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Business Objects is the tool used to report agaist our ERP, Lawson. It is used across the organization, and has been in play here for just over 10 years. We did not think that Lawson had a reporting package that met our needs, so Business Objects was chosen both for canned Financial/Operational reporting and for our adhoc reporting needs. We have trained multiple financial users to write reports using the Webi tool and these reports are in turn, scheduled and automatically staged and/or emailed to our users.
  • SAP Business Objects handles massive amounts of data and does so very efficiently.
  • The generation and organization of our data using Universes helps us to generate reports that are very easy to build. It's a drag and drop system that allows us to build reports with confidence that the data is correctly displayed.
  • Business Objects helps our finance analysts to be more productive in supporting our medical customers with both financial and operational reports.
  • Business Objects would be even more useful if it was integrated with a planning tool.
SAP Business Objects is well suited to organizations who have financial analysts who would like to write their own financial reports, without constantly having to employ specialized report writers with IT degrees. Through the use of Universes, "regular" folk can write operational and financial reports using English terms, and not SQL code. This revolutionized the reporting that we do, when we implemented it years ago. I don't use the graphing and scorecarding features of the product, but I see the results of those that do in our organization. It's quite impressive!
Read Robert Scrimshaw's full review
Len Bartlett, MBA profile photo
September 26, 2014

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Review: "SAP Business Objects XI 3.1: Super-Sized Business Intelligence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Jackson Group uses SAP Business Objects to analyze trends in healthcare survey data. We have both internal and external users who are able to take advantage of it's portal for online data access, dashboards and reports. SAP BO, along with Crystal Reports, enables us to combine data from many different sources into one standardized reporting platform.
  • Easily allows end-users to build their own customized data queries and reports.
  • Reports can be exported to excel or pdf with one click in order to be shared with other stakeholders.
  • Once built, reports can also be scheduled to run at specific intervals (daily, weekly, etc) and automatically e-mailed to stakeholders, saving time.
  • I know that most of my wish list items have been addressed in BO 4.1, items such as mobile functionality, easier connections to Xcelsius dashboards, and a better analytic workbench. We have not reached a point where we can update, but hope to do so within the next six months. Because of this, I do not think it is fair to list weakness on a product that is two versions behind.
SAP Business Objects is a top-shelf Business Intelligence Platform. There are a lot more competitors in the BI field today than there were in 2008 when we first started evaluating SAP BO. If you are a medium to large enterprise with the need to analyze data from multiple and diverse sources, this is the way to go. If you are a small to medium-sized company, I would look strongly at your needs requirements, getting as detailed as possible, and evaluate this product against some of the smaller and more nimble competitors out there. Specifically looking at their product development road maps if you are in an industry or competitive environment that needs to have immediate access to the latest and greatest technological advancements. SAP, as a whole, is large and still in an acquisition mode and therefore not as quick to adapt to emerging technologies as Tableau or Microstrategy are. (SAP eventually gets there and does it well, however it will not be the first one in that space.)
Read Len Bartlett, MBA's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (22)
6.8
Customizable dashboards (22)
6.2
Report Formatting Templates (22)
7.1
Drill-down analysis (22)
7.4
Formatting capabilities (22)
5.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
5.6
Report sharing and collaboration (20)
7.4
Publish to Web (19)
6.7
Publish to PDF (22)
8.0
Report Versioning (19)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (22)
7.9
Delivery to Remote Servers (7)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (20)
6.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (19)
6.8
Predictive Analytics (19)
6.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (20)
7.1
Role-Based Security Model (20)
7.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (20)
7.3
Single Sign-On (SSO) (9)
7.8
Responsive Design for Web Access (15)
5.9
Dedicated iOS Application (12)
8.0
Dedicated Android Application (11)
7.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (13)
5.3
REST API (5)
6.2
Javascript API (4)
6.0
iFrames (4)
6.0
Java API (6)
5.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (4)
6.4
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (5)
5.8

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No