SAP Crystal Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
483 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 140)

Mary Wanjiku | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Effective for financial reporting, which is accurate.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Create reports which are customizable to the needs of our organization. User-friendly and very likely the best for our clients. Intuitive and user-friendly interface. Reliable with financial reporting, which is very accurate and timely. Great with inventory control and stock control
Read Mary Wanjiku's full review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Crystal Delivers Thousands of Reports Per Week

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Crystal Reports to generate over 200 standard reports for various data topics from our record-keeping system. These reports can be for the business or for our customers. We generate thousands of reports each week that are then delivered to our clients. Crystal is used within our organization. The enterprise has a variety of reporting tools in use. We have been using Crystal Reports for over 18 years on our team.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Yoni Dvorkis | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

SAP Crystal Reports review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SAP Crystal to automate and generate a set of reports that are usually exported as PDF files directly to the user's email inboxes. Occasionally users also login to the Business Objects Server to access their reports in that format. We run Business Objects scheduler to schedule the reports to refresh usually once a week.
Read Yoni Dvorkis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SAP Crystal overall satisfaction

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal is being used by my organization to generate all kinds of reports across the entire organization. The company has been using the tool for more than 10 years and is still using it. The feature to automate and generate reports and sent the result to our client via email is outstanding at the time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Decent reporting tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used SAP Crystal for report visualization. The graphs in the tool are outstanding with strong information telling ability combining with tables and images. Apart from the graphs, it is designed to be very interactive so you can drag and drop directly to control and tailer the shape of the graph to your needs.
Read this authenticated review
Miguel De La Garza Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

SAP Crystal Reports good option for the value

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal reports is naturally embedded into SAP B1, we use it across the organization and have over 100 different reports created at the time, all these fill our departments with crucial information about their KPIs, we use Crystal for lot of different reports from a range of very visual reports with charts and colored graphics thru text/numeric grids filled with information, all are viewable from our SAP client.
Read Miguel De La Garza Rodriguez's full review
Jesus Chacon | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Presentable reports with many integration and visualization options.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used as a tool to visualize reports that are generated in our developed applications. It facilitates us to be able to display rich information with images, tables, colors, and graphs. It has an excellent form designer by using drag & drop controls to give the shape we want to each of the reports. The viewer also allows us to print the information or export it to other common formats such as PDF. It integrates very well with Visual Studio IDE.
Read Jesus Chacon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

SAP Crystal Reports - Still great but slowing down

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal Reports is used throughout our company. It allows us to present consistent and branded reports to all of our internal and external clients. It also allows us to have standardized cost reporting. Prior to implementing SAP Crystal Reports, we had different sites presenting clients with their own custom cost reports. Many of these were done in Excel and there was no consistency across our organization. SAP Crystal Reports has replaced those and now we provide one consistent and branded report.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Powerful document and report automation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SAP Crystal to generate documents in our ERP system for things such as sales, purchasing, invoice, manufacturing documents, and automated shipping labels. The whole organization uses crystal reports in a way because it links into our ERP system. We no longer need an external company to do our documents, reporting as we now have the ability to do it in house. Crystal Reports allows us to produce highly customizable documents and reports for any business case.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

SAP Crystal Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Crystal is used enterprise-wide for pixel-perfect reporting. We have both on-demand reporting use cases, and scheduled reporting via email or logging in to report inboxes. It is used against multiple source systems for all areas of the business, including clinical, financial, and operational. We generate PDF, Excel, and CSV based outputs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2019

One of my top rated reporting systems.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal Reports software is used within the organization for creating reports from several hundred external resources. I would not say it is an easy task to do this through the software. However, the contribution level of the system's ease of use to our research process is really huge and we really don't have any alternative. We are not even searching for one.

All of the reported materials are tweaked, edited, gathered, modified in the system itself. The formatting and the conditional output of the reports are really good and we could find no equal software to this from the perspective of the reporting. All in all, this is a well structured and easy-to-use system with extensive functionalities which can help in crucially reducing work-time by managing some necessary reporting tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Crystal -- Good software if it is still 2005

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Many custom reports are developed by our IT department to serve our various departments. At this time, it is largely used for legacy reporting and for personalized, highly formatted emails. Many of our older reports are written using Crystal Reports. We are gradually phasing out those reports and moving to SSRS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

SAP Crystal is a life saver

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal is mainly used by only 2-3 people within my company. It helps me tremendously tweak Viewpoint reports just enough to get them to include all the info we need when we need it. I have used Crystal at least once a day for almost 5 years now. If not every day, then at least once or twice a week. As far as our business problems that it helps address, it has helped us save a ton of money on not having to request custom reports through Viewpoint. We are able to take a canned report out of Viewpoint, add a new data line, or remove or even combine data to show it the way we need it. It has saved me a ton of time, and I would recommend it to anyone. I am excited to learn more about Crystal and how it can continue to help me grow and excel.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Crystal

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SAP Crystal reports inside our BI reporting in SAP Business Objects. We have multiple reporting options inside the Analytics, and the usage we give to SAP Crystal reports it is to cover those "fixed" reports which need to have a corporative style to be sent in or out the organization.
Read this authenticated review
Frank Hunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Efficient reporting tool with endless possibilities

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Crystal reports help us to pull automatic reports out of various databases directly (without importing into Excel first and running pivot tables) and display relations in the data. As long as there is a common data field (a campaign ID, for example), the reports are done in seconds across all the connected data sources. This exact process used to take at least an hour when done manually.
Read Frank Hunt's full review
Rohit Narang | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Crystal enables presentable canned reports and offers scheduling

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Crystal reports in our credit risk reporting function within the IFRS9 accounting standard to pick up specific delinquency reports at a customer level which needs to feed into disclosures on a quarterly basis. The idea is to receive canned reports by monitoring the amortization profile of customers and which goes as a feed to risk managers in creating early warning list by using specific credit utilization behavior.
Read Rohit Narang's full review
Jane Kabochi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

Process your business information and data easily by using SAP Crystal

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal reports is an integrated business intelligence platform that allows users to write reports, display KPIs and other metrics from data preserved in your database. SAP Crystal is used by various departments in our organization such as research and development, operations and human resource departments. The software has streamlined our decision making process and it has helped us make meaning out of our preserved data.
Read Jane Kabochi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

Review Of Crystal Reports

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Crystal Reports to track and report on many types of data, but primarily to track expenses related to open cases of our law firm. Accounting uses it to report on case expenses like copy costs, long distance charges, travel expenses etc ...) These reports then accompany the final cost leger for each client.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

Crystal Reports for your business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Crystal Reports is used for creating reports and graphs working synchronously as a team. I and my team analyse and fetch data from various clients for which we have setup and installed networks for as a part of projects. After that we send all the data to technical team and data analyst to log it into crystal reports. We then analyse and create reports in Crystal reports. It is really helpful if we want to manage a lot of data. It makes easy for us to give presentation on projects.
Read this authenticated review
Dell Stinnett-Christy | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2018

Long-time User of SAP Crystal Reports

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Crystal in a number of ways:
1. I answer a lot of questions about Crystal in online forums - the SAP Community forums as well as a few others.
2. I train our clients in how to use Crystal, not only the standard SAP classes, but also one I've created that walks through the most-asked questions from the forums and what their solutions are.
3. I personally use Crystal for a number of different tasks, including analyzing data when I do security reviews of clients' SAP BI Platform and SAP Crystal Reports Server systems.
Read Dell Stinnett-Christy's full review
Damien Dolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Old Reliable, as in 'Works great but showing its age'

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use SAP Crystal reports to create reports. Our ERP did not come with built in reports so we had to create all our reports, for the company from scratch. This is used company wide from production to finance. It addresses the main concern of getting information from our ERP into a manageable, readable format that users can use to disseminate information
Read Damien Dolan's full review
Rodolfo Pinera | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Power hidden

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I'm a Business Consultant. I give training of "Crystal Reports." I think this is a very robust application. It has a particular form of work that you need to understand in order to obtain good results. I would like them to improve the different types of graphs. Easy access to help, with samples of functionality. For a programmer of reports in "Crystal Reports," you need good training and to know something of database terms.
Read Rodolfo Pinera's full review
Tom Fragale | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

Getting great results from your data with Crystal Reports

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I like Crystal Reports because it has the ability to pull data from many sources into 1 report. For example, I pull data in from Excel, text files, Access databases, and SQL databases, and Crystal can use all of those and many other data sources, and pull them all into 1 report. It follows the relational database model, so the tables can be linked together on common fields, even when they are from different data sources. It allows you to make totals, running totals, charts, grand totals, and your own calculations. It has many built-in functions. I like the ease of use, and how you can get results pretty quickly, and yet it can handle large amounts of data.
Read Tom Fragale's full review
Pasquale Lunghetti | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2019

A tool that cannot be renounced

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Crystal is one of the best tools for doing business intelligence. Thanks to it we can build clear, efficient reports in a short time with a considerable saving of time and energy. What does this mean? A huge cost savings of course and more time to devote to our customers!
Read Pasquale Lunghetti's full review
Erue Dfut | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2018

Really professional and compatible reports everywhere.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is the traditional reporting tool that is used in many financial organizations. I have used SAP Crystal Reports 12 in my organization. We can design highly formatted reports using this tool. It can connect to multiple data sources such as ODBC, OLE DB etc. We can create reports with different formats such as pdf, csv, txt, xls, etc. We can also create html, xml reports. The price of this tool is also cheap. We can create detailed graphics, instrument panels.

Read Erue Dfut's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (105)
8.4
Customizable dashboards (93)
7.8
Report Formatting Templates (111)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (111)
7.3
Formatting capabilities (128)
8.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (60)
7.6
Report sharing and collaboration (113)
7.8
Publish to Web (85)
7.9
Publish to PDF (126)
8.9
Report Versioning (89)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (91)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (46)
8.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (51)
7.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (71)
7.3
Predictive Analytics (42)
7.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (78)
7.8
Role-Based Security Model (76)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (76)
7.8
Single Sign-On (SSO) (35)
8.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (58)
7.7
Dedicated iOS Application (41)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (37)
7.2
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (53)
7.6
REST API (8)
7.4
Javascript API (31)
6.9
iFrames (8)
7.1
Java API (31)
6.7
Themeable User Interface (UI) (33)
6.9
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (27)
6.7

About SAP Crystal

SAP Crystal Reports and SAP Crystal Server are designed to help users create pixel-perfect, richly formatted, and dynamic reports from virtually any data source – delivered in dozens of export formats, in up to 24 languages. According to the vendor SAP Crystal Reports is a robust production reporting tool, that turns almost any data source into interactive, actionable information that can be accessed offline or online, from applications, portals and mobile devices. SAP Crystal Server enables self-service access to reports, dashboards, and data exploration within a secure infrastructure.

SAP Crystal Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Does not have featureCloudera Hadoop
Does not have featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

SAP Crystal Screenshots

SAP Crystal Integrations

SAP Crystal Reports for Visual Studio, SAP Crystal Reports for Eclipse

SAP Crystal Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SAP Crystal Reports 2016 - Full version$495per user
SAP Crystal Server 2016 1 NUL$869per named user
SAP Crystal Server 2016 5 CAL$8,744per 5 concurrent users
SAP Crystal Reports Viewer 2016$0per user
SAP Crystal Reports 2016 - Upgrade$295per user

* SAP Crystal Reports 2016 Viewer allows you to view static data within a SAP Crystal Reports file. * SAP Crystal Reports 2016 - Full version allows you to create powerful, richly formatted, and dynamic reports from virtually any data source, delivered in dozens of formats, in up to 28 languages. If you already have an older version of Crystal Reports, buy a license for SAP Crystal Reports 2016 - Upgrade at a discounted, upgrade price. * SAP Crystal Server 2016, 1 NUL includes 1 license of: SAP Crystal Reports 2016 - SAP Crystal Server 2016 - SAP Crystal Dashboard Design 2016. * As an add-on to SAP Crystal Server 2016 1 NUL, SAP Crystal Server 2016 5 CAL allows you to support a wider, intermittent audience of end users, up to five logged on at the same time.

SAP Crystal Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

SAP Crystal Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Korean, Traditional Chinese, Portuguese, Swedish, Polish, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish, Thai, Czech, Hungarian, Slovakian, Turkish, Romanian, Slovenian