SAP Data Services Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

SAP Data Services

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP data services as the ETL tool to move data across systems. It is a very powerful tool that allows us to harmonize the data because it gives us many options for transformation.
  • Data transformation capabilities
  • Native connectivity
  • Not usable for end users. It is very technical.
It is well suited in the case where you have some SAP systems in your IT ecosystem. It carries many out of the box tools for SAP systems.
I know there were several problems and SAP gave us good support and in good time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

My SAP Data Services Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Data Services in the IT department as one of our ETL tools. It lets us integrate data from many data sources in an easy way using their graphical interface. It runs especially well-integrating data from our SAP corporative ERP to our data warehouse.
  • Very easy to implement new ETL processes
  • Connectivity with SAP products
  • Spatial data support
  • Connectivity using SAP Cloud Platform
In my opinion, SAP Data services is well suited to integrate data to any data warehouse from almost any data source. It lets you do it in an easy way using their graphical interface.
As with any SAP product, we can confirm that we received excellent support from SAP.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

My SAP Data Services Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Data Services allow us to integrate data from many data sources to our corporate data warehouse. It is used by the technicians of our IT department.
  • Integrate data from many data sources
  • ETL
  • Ensure data quality and data integrity in our data warehouse
  • SOAP Web service as target
  • Spatial data support
  • Extended DevOps capabilities
In my opinion SAP Data Services is the best ETL data integration tool, especially if you have SAP products in your company. It has a graphical interface that let you implement ETL processes in an easy way.
As other SAP products, there is excellent support by SAP on this tool. You can access the SAP Help portal in order to give support either from the huge community or directly from SAP.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2019

SAP Data Services Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Data Services is used to transform and insert information from other systems into SAP. It is the software used to integrate SAP with MDG.
  • Customization.
  • Processing capabilities.
  • Programming capabilities.
  • Native connectivity.
  • Not easy to use, need to reach experts even for simple transformations.
SAP Data Services is a strong ETL tool with a lot of flexibility available to transform and tune the data. In case you connect SAP systems, it offers easy configuration in order to make systems communicate well.
We did not have any problem which needed to be addressed to support.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Clemons | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

SAP Data Services is the best ETL tool when paired with an SAP HANA data lake

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
SAP Data Services is the primary ETL tool for many of my clients. We use it to move, manage, and control data to meet reporting and analytics needs. Paired with SAP HANA, we quickly aggregate data into a central data lake for centralized batched reporting.
  • Repetition of the same extract or transform for different needs. We can use variables to use the same ETL job for different types of aggregations.
  • Reliability of the jobs through the use of audit features. We can add audit gates to check for table counts and automatically send out notifications and alerts.
  • Heavy processing is required to run the standard transformations. We get around this by creating custom SQL transforms, but lose insight when we take this approach.
  • Delta loading is possible but sometimes difficult. It sometimes requires customization that creates maintenance issues.
It's definitely one of the leading ETL tools, and it's the best ETL tool to use with SAP integration. If you use SAP HANA, then you should think about Data Services as your primary ETL tool.
It's an established product with a large community and easy to reach experts.
Read Kevin Clemons's full review
Martin Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

SAP Data Services - A robust solutions for the ETL and Data Quality needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I have used the SAP Data Services platform for more than 10 years since its inception when the tool was owned by Business Objects. This tool has demonstrated its full potential in ETL implementations, data quality projects, SAP ERP migrations and proof of concept with great results and complete compliance from the users.
  • The ETL construction process its very easy. Its ease of use and the fact that the design of the processes is completely graphic makes its learning process very fast.
  • Support on ETL Migration.
  • Data Quality Projects.
  • Metadata Administration.
  • Its connectivity capabilities with different database platforms, applications and cloud systems are excellent and has been growing with the evolution of the different versions.
  • New connectivity options for cloud solutions must be added.
  • Avoid dependency from flash in Information Steward scorecard.
  • More connectivity options for hadoop distributions.
This tool has demonstrated its full potential in both ETL implementations, data quality projects, SAP ERP migrations and proof of concept.
We offer this support and also we got great support from SAP.
Read Martin Lopez's full review
Kiran Bhat | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

Faster deployment times with higher data accuracy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data Services is used mainly within IT to migrate data from our legacy system into SAP ERP. DS is used for selection, enrichment, validation and transfer of data.
  • Integration with SAP ERP/ECC works really well.
  • A lot of flexibility in data creation, with different types of communication capabilities like BAPIs, IDocs, and Batch input.
  • Reliable and consistent results and easily enforceable data templates.
  • Initial setup of rules requires more technical expertise than master data management teams are typically used to.
DS is extremely well suited for legacy data migration, enrichment, and validation. The large data volumes can easily be handled by the system and this reduces the deployment time, especially for SAP ERP. The error reports accurately provide problematic data and it is very easy to create organization-specific data validation rules.
Read Kiran Bhat's full review
Himanshi Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

Review from a new user

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data Services is used to extract, transform and load data from/to various sources such as Text files, Excel sheets, CSV files and SAP HANA tables. It is used by the IT department. It is used to address various types of business problems such as loading vendor details, cost information, customer data, material descriptions, etc.
  • Extracting data from various types of data sources
  • Transforming data using joins, functions, look ups, etc.
  • Loading data into different kinds of targets
  • Debugging is not very easy. When one wants to see the flow of data from one Query to another, the process is not very smooth and efficient.
  • A lot of functions do not behave the way they should. I have faced problems with the count() function.
  • I have faced problems while loading Excel files. The same set of options will work in one case but not in the other.
It is well suited when you want to extract data from a source supported by data services, to perform various transforms on that data (such as joins, look ups, applying functions, performing delta merge, etc.,) and also to further load the transformed data into the target. Data Services allows you to schedule the jobs as per your business requirement. Therefore, you can manage the loading of data into the target as per your needs.

I have faced issues in performing one time updates for historical data using Data Services. Map operation does not behave the way it should and therefore I would not recommend it for those scenarios.
Read Himanshi Arora's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

SAP Data Services review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Data Services is used as an integration tool within the group BI solution. It is mainly used to load sources that do not support realtime replication.
  • Loading files from landing area into the database.
  • Integrating various sources with SAP HANA.
  • Multi-developer environments.
  • Loading of XML sources.
  • Type two dimensions could be handled more elegantly.
  • Importing HANA calcultation views into the datastore is not intuitive.
  • Scheduler is very basic.
Data services is quite easy to learn for someone with previous ETL tool experience. You are able to publish web service jobs in data services which work quite well, however note that this consumes a large amount of memory. Template tables are a very nice feature which automatically creates target tables based on the input data. This makes rapid development of new source loads very efficient.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Data source connectivity (9)
7.9
Data profiling (9)
7.4
Master data management (MDM) integration (6)
8.7
Data element standardization (9)
7.2
Match and merge (9)
7.2
Address verification (7)
8.2

About SAP Data Services

You cannot afford to run your business on questionable data. SAP® Data Services software allows you to access, transform, and connect data to fuel your critical business processes. SAP aims to enable data integration and data quality, providing the right level of insight across your business so you can make better decisions and operate more effectively.
Categories:  Data Quality

SAP Data Services Features

Has featureGain access to your data anytime, anywhere
Has featureIntegrate tightly with SAP applications
Has featureInterconnect with SAP Data Hub

SAP Data Services Competitors

SAP Data Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No