SAP ERP

SAP ERP

Score 8.6 out of 10
SAP ERP

Overview

What is SAP ERP?

SAP ERP is an enterprise suite comprising Financials (A/P, A/R, accounting, reporting, risk management, etc.), Human Capital Management (HR and Payroll), and Operations (procurement, manufacturing, sales & service). This is an enterprise level product designed for large organizations.
Read more

Recent Reviews

ERP COMPANY

8 out of 10
November 30, 2022
Currently they use the accounting and finance module, carrying out a better organization and efficiency in the company, since it is …
Continue reading

SAP - A Perfect ERP Software

10 out of 10
July 05, 2022
A true ERP software available in the market which captures 60% of market share and known as a ERP leader. The best part about the product …
Continue reading

SAP for Life

8 out of 10
February 01, 2022
We use SAP ERP to maintain complete data, inbound delivery, outbound delivery, Goods Receipt, Purchase orders, and Invoice receipt of our …
Continue reading

Review of SAP ERP

6 out of 10
December 19, 2021
[I use SAP ERP to supervise the following areas of administration];
  1. Employee Timecard for payroll purpose
  2. Employee Attendance Quota …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 19 features
  • Role-based user permissions (41)
    9.7
    97%
  • Accounts payable (41)
    9.3
    93%
  • Standard reports (41)
    8.8
    88%
  • Custom reports (41)
    8.8
    88%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SAP ERP, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is SAP ERP?

SAP ERP is an enterprise suite comprising Financials (A/P, A/R, accounting, reporting, risk management, etc.), Human Capital Management (HR and Payroll), and Operations (procurement, manufacturing, sales & service). This is an enterprise level product designed for large organizations.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

28 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is SAP Business One?

SAP Business One is an integrated enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution for small and medium-sized businesses, The product encompasses functionality around sales, customer relationships, inventory, operations, financials and human resources.

What is Genius Solutions?

Genius Solutions delivers a complete enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution, including software, implementation services, and field expertise for small to mid-sized custom manufacturers across the US and Canada. Genius ERP is built for SME manufacturers handling make-to-order, engineer-to…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

What is SAP? SAP ERP Software and Uses
02:29
Return to navigation

Features

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.2Avg 7.4

Customization

This addresses a company’s ability to configure the software to fit its specific use case and workflow.

7.8Avg 7.3

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

9.7Avg 8.2

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

8.6Avg 7.3

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting

Financial management solution, including capabilities for general ledger and configurable accounting

8.6Avg 7.6

Inventory Management

The ability to track and manage the flow of goods or materials into and out of an inventory.

9Avg 7.9

Order Management

The ability to process orders, and track them from quote to cash.

8.8Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is SAP ERP?

SAP ERP is an enterprise suite formerly known as R/3 ERP. It is comprised of Financial, HCM, and Operations components. The financial component includes accounting, reporting, risk management, and profitability analysis for a global scale. The Human Capital Management features include core HR, as well as time management, payroll, and regulation. Operations capabilities include procurement, manufacturing, and sales and service enablement. SAP ERP also supports integration and automation of core processes across these components. The product is designed for large organizations.

SAP ERP Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features

  • Supported: Accounts payable
  • Supported: Accounts receivable

Inventory Management Features

  • Supported: Inventory tracking
  • Supported: Automatic reordering
  • Supported: Location management

Order Management Features

  • Supported: Pricing
  • Supported: Order entry
  • Supported: Credit card processing
  • Supported: Cost of goods sold

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Dashboards
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Customization Features

  • Supported: API for custom integration
  • Supported: Plug-ins

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: Single sign-on capability
  • Supported: Multi-factor authentication
  • Supported: User-level audit trail

SAP ERP Video

What is SAP? SAP ERP Software and Uses

SAP ERP Integrations

SAP ERP Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

SAP ERP is an enterprise suite comprising Financials (A/P, A/R, accounting, reporting, risk management, etc.), Human Capital Management (HR and Payroll), and Operations (procurement, manufacturing, sales & service). This is an enterprise level product designed for large organizations.

NetSuite ERP, PeopleSoft Financials, and Sage 500 ERP are common alternatives for SAP ERP.

Reviewers rate Single sign-on capability and Role-based user permissions highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of SAP ERP are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 49)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SAP ERP across our ORG to support its supply chain and financials business process.
  • Standard Content which can be used globally and so easy for handshake
  • Runs smoothly on any cloud platform
  • on demand scaling available for changes in business load.
  • Customization with APIs is a little pain
  • NA
  • NA
It meets all the requirements. It provides a wide range of customization feasibility and with cloud integration, and SAP ERP can be upscaled as per biz requirements in no time.
SAP ERP provides 24 x 7 support for its production envirtonment. Raise an OSS ticket and you will get someone on board to fix your issues.
December 15, 2022

SAP ERP at a glance

Vignesh Prabhu Balasubramanian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ECC and S/4 HANA are the two ERP products used in various customer projects to manage their business. These ERP products consist of multiple modules such as Finance, Sales & Distribution, Human Resources, Procurement, Warehouse Management, Service and Quality Maintenance.
  • Finance
  • Procurement
  • Human Resource
  • Sales and Distribution
  • Quality Maintenance
  • Warehouse
  • SAP ECC and S/4 HANA are well developed products with little room for improvement
Compared to other ERP products, SAP ERP products are available both in on-premise and the cloud, so the customer has an option to choose the type of product needed and depending on the license.
SAP provides standard guides, bug fixes via SAP notes and also has SAP OSS to support via IT tickets.
  • Online Training
  • In-Person Training
Yes
Minimal downtime during ECC to S/4 HANA upgrade.
November 30, 2022

ERP COMPANY

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently they use the accounting and finance module, carrying out a better organization and efficiency in the company, since it is compatible with any operating system. The problems are not really that strong, but the implementation is slow since it has to cover all the modules that the company needs, in addition to the fact that training is required to use this software.
  • It is compatible with any operating system.
  • It leaves the field open to customize the software required by the company.
  • automates processes
  • prevents duplication of records generated by employees.
  • the cost of the service
  • that the updates do not generate cost to the service
  • make its interface more pleasant for the consumer, and thus not require as much training
What is not nice is the high cost, the implementation that is a bit slow, since it installs many corresponding modules, that the updates also generate another cost, besides training the employee to be able to use this software
The support is totally effective, they are 24 hours a day, very attentive to the problems we have and they help us in detail on how to solve it.
Mohamed Adil Shaikh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We basically use different modules in SAP ERP in my Organization, like SAP PM/MM/BI. My department basically use SAP PM Module.We support the Site team based in different locations for SAP PM requirements. This Module comes under CMMS Computerized maintenance management system. This module automates all the maintenance related activity. It also helps us to reduce the maintenance cost by analyzing the data. It incorporates all the details related to maintenance, the tool helps to optimize the maintenance and reduced the cost involves in the maintenance activity.
  • Automate Maintenance
  • Optimize Maintenance
  • Reduce Cost per maintenance
  • User Interface
  • Dashboards
  • Analyzing Data
For a product-based organization having a huge turnover can use SAP ERP much more effectively, because the cost involves is very high for implementing SAP. Whereas on the other hand a fresh startup or a low budget organization should not use SAP ERP System in my opinion, they can go for less cost software's like Maximo.
Never contacted Customer Support
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
A true ERP software available in the market which captures 60% of market share and known as a ERP leader. The best part about the product that it can be used cloud based and it can be integrated with several modules which are equally relevant as a department. I have been a part of SAP from past 12+ years and I am extremely happy of using and referring this product to others as well. This isn't only beneficial for companies but can also make careers for humans as well. Now a days cloud based functionality and integration with API tools are the best part in it. Easy to customize according to the requirement of a client. It has several features and capabilities 1. Cost efficient, 2. Advance data management, 3. Saves time, 4. Increase productivity, 5. Real time data saving to server's, 6. Avoid duplication and ensures transparency. Best product available in the market.
  • Real time data saving to server's
  • Cloud based functionality
  • Avoid Duplicity of data
  • Purely customizable according to business need
  • Best integration possibilities with other applications
  • Maximum visibility and raise the value of companies if they have SAP
  • Best tool to save cost and time both.
  • Advance Data Management
  • Easy to use
  • Cloud can be accessed from anywhere
  • FIORI can be accessed from Mobile devices too
  • Enhanced Data security
  • FIORI Application to be little faster or user friendly
  • Need experts for Integration
  • Little costly, can be cheaper
Refer to several companies like IL, Pharma, Airlines, Gas and all has implemented the same and it is working very well.
Best software available in the market and running as a market leader form past so many years and can be easily customized and easily accessible from anywhere as well. Cloud facility and other options like integration features are the best option in the ERP. Can work easily with the client requirment.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Overall, the experience with SAP has been very good. We used to use different tools for different functions, e.g. Lawson/Oracle for accounting, CRM for customer management, Siebel for invoicing, DFM for suppliers, and SAP for payroll HR. Not to mention a number of other systems for managing assets, materials, HR, and production. But after implementing SAP ERP, all this work is done only in SAP and its associated modules. So I would recommend a large company to implement SAP and benefit from it.
  • Open Item Managed accounts allow alignment of both leading and non-leading ledgers with minimal duplication and rework. And also, attain concurrent accounting.
  • Global Trade Services offers an integrated platform to manage TCC matters on in and outbound assets, inventories, and other materials.
  • Integrated SAP BI offers a highly interactive ad dynamic analytical environment to generate standard reports or build custom ones for use or distribution. This brings quick insight into the financial information.
  • None for now as SAP ERP is still being explored. I will revert to this if any areas of improvement are found.
The availability of the leading and non-leading ledgers meets our financial reporting requirements and helps us fulfill both the stock exchange requirements at the parent company level and country-specific requirements at the operating entity level. In addition, the Open Item Managed Account feature ensures that reporting teams optimize their efforts on subsystem-driven accounts to achieve accounting concurrency.
The technical support received by the ITT design teams and OS implementation team has been very useful in ensuring that the SAP ERP is well-tailored to our company's specific needs and operations. This coupled with the training materials, business process maps, and concept demos (sand-box demos) makes adoption easy on end-users.
February 01, 2022

SAP for Life

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SAP ERP to maintain complete data, inbound delivery, outbound delivery, Goods Receipt, Purchase orders, and Invoice receipt of our Enterprise. We help our clients by suggesting solutions for the problems arising in our Enterprise. We also make enhancements and small changes to our data or create reports for our business clients.
  • To maintain our business through application.
  • To fetch reports.
  • To automate fetching or processing information through automated jobs.
  • Transaction codes can made easily available.
  • Processing speed for large data when fetching in a loop can be improved.
  • Additional fields that are common in multiple tables can be included to fetch data accurately and easily.
It is very useful in logistics in a business where we can maintain the materials data and maintain finance-related data. We can also classify the materials based on batches by using SAP ERP. We can also do planning for material by materials requirement planning and forecasting the planning based on past records of consumption.
There is great support from the SAP ERP with good customer ratings and service towards their customer. SAP ERP has regular updates which make it compatible with other software applications that can be integrated with Services Applications and products in the data processing. The consistent support from SAP ERP in terms of any difficulty or issue detected is commendable.
Mishka Panwar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
The modules defined by SAP are very much evident and focused on the solutions that are needed for my work, the documentation is well versed, and the support provided by SAP is seamless SAP ERP provides the perfect and desired solution to my work and it is user-friendly and comfortable to use. You just have to remember the t codes, and you can access any data you want grates well for planning, the ease and comfort are best, UI wise.
  • Quality management.
  • Human capital management.
  • The documentation and support provided by the tool are pretty amazing and can be referred to anytime.
  • I did not find any problems [I'm] using it with ease.
  • They provide great support.
SAP ERP allows me with legacy systems to transfer over old processes and make them more efficient seamlessly. Overall sap has helped me [increase] productivity, the data is consistent. Robust inventory management. Sales and stocking, dynamic updates all these [problems rectify] by this. The technical support team helps me out quickly with any problem I face.
The support system I find great as whenever I run into problems they rectify them quickly as possible they never reacted late the support is just up to the mark for me. They provide many solutions to the problems I faced the [technical] team support is always amazing they [listen] to mean work accordingly.
December 19, 2021

Review of SAP ERP

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
[I use SAP ERP to supervise the following areas of administration];
  1. Employee Timecard for payroll purpose
  2. Employee Attendance Quota allotment
  3. Employee personal information
  4. Employee schedules
  5. Reports generation on data
  • payroll
  • user interface
  • search function
  • use of "enter" key as input
SAP makes things centralized into one location. However, [I believe] the shortfall is the poor windows interface for ease of use. [According to what I've heard] many new users are having a difficult time using SAP ERP as it's a bit dated [with a lot] of coding required.
It's hard to train a guru for SAP ERP [in my opinion]. [As far as I'm concerned] it's like Microsoft Word versus Lotus1-2-3.
Ranjana Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am a support consultant for warehouse management, inventory management, [and] material management. If [a] user faces issues with any transaction related to my module, they reach out to us via a portal and we help them resolve the issues on priority. We also help them with master data entry, any missing configuration settings, [and/or] any new requirements. We [get on] call with [the] user to understand the issue in SAP. Basically, SAP ERP needs to be set up completely in order for [a] user to use it. We provide additional support globally for the project in case of any issues they face. We also help them with process understanding if there are new users. Overall we support users for SAP ERP so that business runs in a smooth manner.
  • All kind of transactional activities taking place regarding business is done by SAP and if configured it can be automatized.
  • SAP does well with all the inventory-related transactions from Request for Quotation to Goods Issue and shipment.
  • SAP does well with all the Finance Transactions.
  • SAP ERP is a whole package [that] makes sure the industry runs smoothly. Everything is taken care [of] by SAP. [For] example, picking putaway Shipping, Goods receipt, invoice, P2P, S&D, FICO, HR, etc.
  • SAP ERP already has [various] upgrades along the year and big releases once a year.
  • SAP ERP has continuous improvements going on throughout the year. Various customizations are possible in SAP as per customer requirements.
  • SAP ERP initial setup and support can be worked on [more].
SAP ERP, particularly SAP, is well suited for global companies [that have] many operations as mentioned before. The biggest and global companies go for SAP. For small-scale companies, SAP will not be suitable although now SAP is using [the] cloud so small companies can get to work in SAP standard cloud version after checking ROI.
As I am a support consultant, I am aware of the support provided by SAP. The SAP support portal is very easy to use. You can create [a] ticket based on your priority. It has a chatbot. Further, it has many SAP notes which describe many standard problems users can face along with its solution. SAP support portal also includes many knowledge solutions and process steps for all types of standard errors.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It's the bread and butter, just like any other organization. All the financials, HR, Payroll, Time, Plants everything resides here. These modules are used across the organization. What makes it better, is the in-built integration. It just works, if I may have to put it. Of course, with some configuration and customization.
  • Financials
  • Human Capital Management
  • Sales & Purchasing
  • Support Model
  • Licensing Costs
  • Maintenance
In the on-premise world of things, it ruled the world. The ease with which it can be customized and the language support it provides is simply amazing. Their landscape and transport management is brilliant. It saves millions of dollars for huge enterprises. I only wish that their support model can be enhanced further.
Well, I've had several scenarios where it was evident that they simply buy time. At the same time, their Product Support and Implementation teams are most likely not in sync. What's said by a member of implementation may not hold good when you refer the same thing with a member of the support team.
Ali Kazempour | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is one of the best options for automation managing, planning organizational resources in big industries and large companies, which is used in various parts of the organization, including sales, distribution, transportation, finance, quality management, and accounting department. As an IT consulting company, we always offer SAP products and services as one of the best options along with other enterprise software. It has a very good performance in integrating and integrating different departments and human resource management in an integrated way, and in addition to creating order in the collection, all departments are connected and human and software automation is underway, which reduces additional costs.
  • Organizational resource management and integration of different departments with each other as a software automation
  • We have Access to all insights and analytics data from anywhere
  • It doesn't matter how big your organization is, it supports everything from small companies to giant high-tech organizations, and they all have access to data at very high speeds.
  • If you use the web and cloud version, the initial costs will be greatly reduced and even a small start-up small company can enjoy the benefits of SAP ERP.
  • It's a bit difficult to be a user friendly of software with this complexity, but developers have to think of a new design.
  • The appearance theme has not changed for years and I think if users can choose the theme, it will give a better feeling to users who are interested in the modern interface and modern appearances.
  • This software is complete in all respects and therefore has many settings, explanations, and sections that make it a little complicated for the novice user.
In a manufacturing, industrial complex, or any company that wants everything to go according to the standards and principles, I recommend SAP ERP even new companies and new startups, can use the cloud version, which is very economical based on each user and monthly cost. And in many cases and costs, everything is saved and a comprehensive automation system can be experienced in the cloud.
SAP service and support is excellent. They respond quickly on all days of the week and most hours. There are also many educational documents on the site, YouTube, which has made things easier. SAP has been one of the best in the industry for many years and has a professional and friendly support team.
November 20, 2020

SAP ERP - Pros and Cons

Harminder Chahal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP is used widely across by my organization. They use different modules like HCM, EHS, FI, QM for running their operations in the MIT facilities. I help the team run the MIT employees payroll, maintain their dormitories with QM and EHS implementation. I have also worked on designing FIORI applications for the Graduate Student Portal.
  • Integration between different SAP Modules is very efficient.
  • Data consistency between the organization is already taken care of y SAP ERP.
  • You can run ad hoc reports with real time data from SAP.
  • Efficiently manage Data Warehousing and build Dashboards with real time data.
  • Integration between SAP and non-SAP environments.
  • Faster development and deployment plans.
  • Have customized screens with fewer fields as per the business requirement.
SAP ERP is best suited for large companies that do Sales and Materials Management. They can also be used to run the organization's payroll and other HR functions. In addition, SAP ERP has a variety of other modules that can be used depending on the company's profile such as Plant Maintenance, Quality Management, PLM, EHS and Warehouse Management modules as well.
SAP provides support to all the different modules in SAP by releasing regular updates to the existing issues as well as provide with documentation for new technologies. SAP gives extensive support on SAP ERP by releasing regular news updates and latest development technologies that are upcoming in the market based on other competitors.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our entire organization is in the process of implementing SAP globally. We currently have a number of US locations using SAP for business operations such as purchasing, production control, quality management, financials, etc... Basically, all departments use SAP for something The level of integration makes it easy for users to know the status of operations and helps to control and prioritize work to the greatest efficiency. Many of the problems we had prior to SAP were due to the use of various, single, unconnected systems. I would say that SAP has helped to solve that issue.
  • Integration of business processes
  • Financial control and management
  • Extreme level of detail
  • Offers a full suite of applications to manage just about any business
  • In our particular version, reporting...
  • programming/development
  • flexibility
SAP is an extremely integrated system. Not all companies are ready for this. Many are so used to having systems that require a lot of batch processing, giving kind of an extra cushion to allow for errors or mistakes. SAP is a live system, meaning that when you commit or transact something, it triggers the integration among all modules that touch whatever the transaction is for. An example is allowing SAP to generate purchasing documents based on the scheduled demand for production. Say someone puts in a work order and by mistake, fat fingers an extra zero on the desired quantity. This may cause SAP to purchase WAY more raw materials than you need. This is a great feature, but it can also come back to hurt you if not controlled properly.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP is used as an HR management software by my department. My team uses this software to administer and manage aspects of human resource management to optimize the procedures and information. Through this management software, we can establish a relationship between employees and their roles within the department. Though the use is not at a global scale in the business unit, we plan to scale it up to a larger level.
  • Filters to manage various aspects of the employees and parameters of the department or a company.
  • Helps plan bonuses, appraisals based on the budget available in an effective way.
  • The need for manual intervention for normalization after the software has done its performance analysis.
  • Flexibility to define company policies and make them more granular and apt to departments.
SAP ERP is well suited due to its Digital Global Boardroom feature, which allows normalization of feedback with minimal manual intervention after input from the supervisor has been filled as input. Digital Signature is also an outstanding improvement from the previous version of this software. Add to it the SAP ERP Operations, and you have an eye on how resource pipeline is looking for future projects.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We're using SAP ERP for the whole operations process (from the purchasing - fabrication of the garments till registering or executing the sales in the different channels), financial processes and accounting, controlling (cost center controlling and Profitability Análisis Controlling), including the Warehouse Management of our internal warehouse. Also, it is the SOR for the stock of the whole company, including the digital channels like online business (B2C), marketplaces, or omnichannel capabilities at the store.
  • POS information integration and accounting details.
  • Noticeable but not to forget about it: perfect reconciliation between a financial view of the company and the operational view (purchasing/stock/sales).
  • Performance in terms of retail processes, specifically the assortment functionality when not used by business (technically the process should be there and consume a lot of resources).
  • Material Master data Creation, and in particular managing variants for fashion.
Integration information from your retail stores into the system in a broad base and getting the update of all the operations and financial figures very quickly is one of the key points of the SAP ERP for Retail (IS-R) that we are using. We integrate our 400 stores sales and stock movements every 2 hours allowing us to keep progress on what is going on and reducing integration time by night and also reducing the amount of information lost when a technical problem occurs at the store.
December 13, 2019

SAP ERP Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP is used in our company to support main business processes including finance (treasury, AP & AR), warehouse operations, purchasing, goods movements, and sales management both for wholesale customers and for retail customers. SAP ERP simplifies the management of the core business processes providing complete traceability to the company. Also, SAP ERP integrates with stores IT systems allowing the back office to know our replenishment needs as well as the money collected on each store.
  • Complete traceability of business processes.
  • It covers all business requirements and allows minor modifications to adapt it to our needs.
  • License costs are high.
  • Old product that will be replaced by SAP 4/HANA in the short term.
Any corporation with more than 1000 employees and with complex business processes is suitable to use SAP ERP. It provides a solid and well-known product that will help the company to grow and reach its goals.
I wouldn't recommend it for those companies with business processes that don't fit with the SAP standard as it will require a huge effort of personalization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP at our organization is set up as a multi-tenant environment for the 12 largest Coca-Cola Bottlers in North America. We use all modules, but my area of responsibility is SAP Finance. This SAP Finance module brings all processes area into one application, which includes AP, AR, GL, Fixed assets, Capital management, etc..
  • SAP ERP in our system integrates Fiance to upstream processes including Procurement and DSD/SD (Sales and distribution).
  • SAP ERP financial analysis is made easy with integration to upstream processes.
  • SAP ERP integrates to external SAP Certified applications such as success factors and Concur Expense.
  • The user interface needs some work as the business believes it is not user-friendly.
  • SAP ERP purchases external applications, and integration usually takes some time for the integration points to be worked out. Ease of integration can be worked on before offering this integration to Customers. Example: Concur Expense was purchased by SAP, and native integration was offered, but it took a couple of years to work out all the integration issues.
SAP ERP is well suited for a medium to large size Company as there is a lot of functionality that may not be used by a smaller company.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP is being used by our entire organization. We do have separate SAP boxes for other countries and we use several "bolt on" systems to assist with areas that SAP doesn't provide the level of service that we need.
  • Generating reports
  • Handling multiple data streams
  • General ledger transactions
  • SAP doesn't have a good tax platform.
  • Is not really user friendly.
  • Requires multiple clicks to get at the data I usually need.
SAP is a nice tool to house all the financial sub groups into one system.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP is our core platform for all our business areas, currently set on-premise but integrated with the new SAP on-cloud solutions such as Concur and Fieldglass. Also, our FI appliances are integrated with non-SAP operational systems through SAP PI. In summary, we have a hybrid and integrated ecosystem that allows the unification of most financial operations in one place.
  • Centralized and reliable accounting.
  • Customizable to the operation and core business of our company.
  • Wide and extensive network of consultants specialized in each module.
  • User experience not friendly, difficult to teach to new SAP users.
  • Any change or improvement must be made by a professional in general with high fees, not for everyone.
  • Management cost, requires an on-site team to manage it.
Appropriate for large scale companies with the willingness to implement it in a reasonable time, guided by a SAP partner. High commitment if a company decides to get SAP-ified.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
SAP ERP is our primary ERP platform. It's used across the whole organization. As an ERP platform, it helps us integrate business and technology processes across the whole spectrum from Order to Cash, Procure to Pay, Account to Report, Hire to Retire, Supply Chain Management and Manufacturing & Execution. It has helped to bring in transparency, consolidate financials and have a better future forecast.
  • Industry standard business processes with minimal customization.
  • Seamless integration across all functional modules with readily available reporting capabilities.
  • Availability of supporting solutions in the SAP universe like Business Intelligence, EWM, Employee Central, Concur etc.
  • The core SAP ERP lacks the inviting user experience some of the modern solutions provide.
  • The development, ongoing maintenance and consulting solutions tend to be more expensive.
  • Slow to adapt technology changes.
If business and financial consolidation is a problem for any organization, SAP would work very well to bring in consistency in processes and transparency in financials. The solution works well if the customization is kept to a minimal level and industry standard business processes are followed in an organization.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use SAP for nearly all of our business and financial needs including HR, production, inventory, assets, and financials. We have recently added the transportation management module as well. It allows us to manage our organization more centrally and have much higher visibility compared to our previous ERP system. We currently are on SAP ECC but are exploring the possibility of migrating to S/4 HANA in the future.
  • SAP ERP is a large software package and is designed to be able to accommodate a variety of business models and processes.
  • SAP has a huge store of information available for analysis and planning. It can be used by just about anyone in the organization to identify inefficiencies and do detailed variance analysis.
  • SAP ERP is not very user-friendly and requires a great deal of specialized knowledge to take advantage of its full functionality.
  • SAP requires a great deal of human and financial capital to keep it running properly and is very difficult to modify if business processes change. Often, it is better to modify your policies and procedures to fit SAP rather than the other way around.
  • Adding functionality is laborious and expensive, and customization often results in greater difficulty when/if upgrades are offered.
SAP is great for multi-national companies who want to integrate their reporting and processes across organizations. It handles inter-company transactions well and offers tools for tracking data, materials, and money across multiple entities and operational locations. SAP is not a good idea for smaller companies that have fairly simple or straightforward processes. I would also not advise companies with lower financial resources to move toward SAP due to the huge demand for resources that SAP commands, not only during implementation but also to maintain it.
September 26, 2019

Our SAP ERP Journey

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SAP ERP globally in our organization for finance functions. We also use SAP ERP to enable OTC business processes for a key business unit. Before SAP ERP, we had regional JD Edwards instances where finance functions were being managed. It leads to broken processes and inconsistencies in financial closes. With centralized SAP ERP, we are able to support our finance department users to close books on time.
  • Centralized data and transactional data across the whole business.
  • Highly integrated business process support.
  • Standardized processes across the entire organization.
  • Support for IS Media related processes.
  • RAR module.
  • Support for DevOPS and agile development methodology.
SAP ERP is well suited to support finance and OTC functions. It is less appropriate for publishing industry-related and subscription-based business models, as there is no support for renewals out of the box in S/4 yet.
Jill Liegghio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our entire organization uses SAP. We create projects, create purchase orders, issue payments to our vendors and apply payments from our customers. Our project team measures project completion, creates financial reports and issues invoices to our customers. We issue payments to our team members and track their time and time off. We track career progression and learning and development for our Team Members as well as tracking open positions in our departments.
  • Because it's a standard ERP product, it interfaces very well with third party providers like Concur.
  • It has a quick response time when processing and recalling data.
  • It is fairly easy to create customized transactions and reports.
  • It is in no way user-friendly. It is not intuitive nor is it easy to understand.
  • No one, not even our in house experts, know everything about the product.
  • There isn't a module-based system to help users - like click here for all AP related transactions. Nothing is grouped - except by the user.
SAP works well to send out and to receive files to third parties like banks and Concur. We have multiple data streams from and to our system are scheduled and happen behind the scenes. It's robust and houses a great deal of data - including images - so we can limit the amount of paper we manage. It doesn't have a standard setup, which makes is great for people who like to customize their information but it is much more difficult for new employees or people without experience in this software.
Brandon Macapelit, CISA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We used SAP ERP all throughout the organization. It serves as our total enterprise resource management solution. Most of our non-SAP business tools from manufacturing, finance, warehousing, logistics, administrative, etc. are integrated to SAP ERP. In our perspective as auditors, it was very useful since our engagements can be supported by readily extractable data within SAP and we can do analytics on the data extracted. Also, support data for each findings can be easily looked up in SAP.
  • Integration of functions within the organization (example: warehouse releasing and inventory management with finance costing and logistics)
  • Security features are on point. Clear segregation of duties can be achieved by assigning access rights based on least privilege principle
  • Can be easily learned.
  • Roles assigned to users can be customized.
  • SAP sometimes gets slow whenever most of the people in the company simultaneously use it
  • Hopefully they would extend background job processing to all tables in SAP since it sometimes goes time out whenever extracting large historical data (ex. 5 years expense data)
SAP ERP is well suited for large organizations that can fully utilize its potential. plus SAP ERP is an expensive solution, a company needs to allocate a dedicated resource to properly implement it from infrastructures, people, training and support. SAP ERP is least ideal for small enterprises, unless such enterprise belong to a holding company which runs SAP system.
Return to navigation