SAP ERP Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
296 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

John Mota | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

SAP ERP - Is it for you?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization is in the process of implementing SAP globally. We currently have a number of US locations using SAP for business operations such as purchasing, production control, quality management, financials, etc... Basically, all departments use SAP for something The level of integration makes it easy for users to know the status of operations and helps to control and prioritize work to the greatest efficiency. Many of the problems we had prior to SAP were due to the use of various, single, unconnected systems. I would say that SAP has helped to solve that issue.
  • Integration of business processes
  • Financial control and management
  • Extreme level of detail
  • Offers a full suite of applications to manage just about any business
  • In our particular version, reporting...
  • programming/development
  • flexibility
SAP is an extremely integrated system. Not all companies are ready for this. Many are so used to having systems that require a lot of batch processing, giving kind of an extra cushion to allow for errors or mistakes. SAP is a live system, meaning that when you commit or transact something, it triggers the integration among all modules that touch whatever the transaction is for. An example is allowing SAP to generate purchasing documents based on the scheduled demand for production. Say someone puts in a work order and by mistake, fat fingers an extra zero on the desired quantity. This may cause SAP to purchase WAY more raw materials than you need. This is a great feature, but it can also come back to hurt you if not controlled properly.
Read John Mota's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

Best in Class ERP planning and management software for HR operations and simplifying business processes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is used as an HR management software by my department. My team uses this software to administer and manage aspects of human resource management to optimize the procedures and information. Through this management software, we can establish a relationship between employees and their roles within the department. Though the use is not at a global scale in the business unit, we plan to scale it up to a larger level.
  • Filters to manage various aspects of the employees and parameters of the department or a company.
  • Helps plan bonuses, appraisals based on the budget available in an effective way.
  • The need for manual intervention for normalization after the software has done its performance analysis.
  • Flexibility to define company policies and make them more granular and apt to departments.
SAP ERP is well suited due to its Digital Global Boardroom feature, which allows normalization of feedback with minimal manual intervention after input from the supervisor has been filled as input. Digital Signature is also an outstanding improvement from the previous version of this software. Add to it the SAP ERP Operations, and you have an eye on how resource pipeline is looking for future projects.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon Macapelit, CISA | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2019

Tool for efficient and effective resource management and processing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used SAP ERP all throughout the organization. It serves as our total enterprise resource management solution. Most of our non-SAP business tools from manufacturing, finance, warehousing, logistics, administrative, etc. are integrated to SAP ERP. In our perspective as auditors, it was very useful since our engagements can be supported by readily extractable data within SAP and we can do analytics on the data extracted. Also, support data for each findings can be easily looked up in SAP.
  • Integration of functions within the organization (example: warehouse releasing and inventory management with finance costing and logistics)
  • Security features are on point. Clear segregation of duties can be achieved by assigning access rights based on least privilege principle
  • Can be easily learned.
  • Roles assigned to users can be customized.
  • SAP sometimes gets slow whenever most of the people in the company simultaneously use it
  • Hopefully they would extend background job processing to all tables in SAP since it sometimes goes time out whenever extracting large historical data (ex. 5 years expense data)
SAP ERP is well suited for large organizations that can fully utilize its potential. plus SAP ERP is an expensive solution, a company needs to allocate a dedicated resource to properly implement it from infrastructures, people, training and support. SAP ERP is least ideal for small enterprises, unless such enterprise belong to a holding company which runs SAP system.
Read Brandon Macapelit, CISA's full review
Domenic Vetro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

SAP ERP unlimited integration opportunities

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP at our organization is set up as a multi-tenant environment for the 12 largest Coca-Cola Bottlers in North America. We use all modules, but my area of responsibility is SAP Finance. This SAP Finance module brings all processes area into one application, which includes AP, AR, GL, Fixed assets, Capital management, etc..
  • SAP ERP in our system integrates Fiance to upstream processes including Procurement and DSD/SD (Sales and distribution).
  • SAP ERP financial analysis is made easy with integration to upstream processes.
  • SAP ERP integrates to external SAP Certified applications such as success factors and Concur Expense.
  • The user interface needs some work as the business believes it is not user-friendly.
  • SAP ERP purchases external applications, and integration usually takes some time for the integration points to be worked out. Ease of integration can be worked on before offering this integration to Customers. Example: Concur Expense was purchased by SAP, and native integration was offered, but it took a couple of years to work out all the integration issues.
SAP ERP is well suited for a medium to large size Company as there is a lot of functionality that may not be used by a smaller company.
Read Domenic Vetro's full review
Juan Carlos Crespo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

SAP ERP: not only an accounting system, it is a business ecosystem

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is our core platform for all our business areas, currently set on-premise but integrated with the new SAP on-cloud solutions such as Concur and Fieldglass. Also, our FI appliances are integrated with non-SAP operational systems through SAP PI. In summary, we have a hybrid and integrated ecosystem that allows the unification of most financial operations in one place.
  • Centralized and reliable accounting.
  • Customizable to the operation and core business of our company.
  • Wide and extensive network of consultants specialized in each module.
  • User experience not friendly, difficult to teach to new SAP users.
  • Any change or improvement must be made by a professional in general with high fees, not for everyone.
  • Management cost, requires an on-site team to manage it.
Appropriate for large scale companies with the willingness to implement it in a reasonable time, guided by a SAP partner. High commitment if a company decides to get SAP-ified.
Read Juan Carlos Crespo's full review
Saravana Kuppusamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Our SAP ERP Journey

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP ERP globally in our organization for finance functions. We also use SAP ERP to enable OTC business processes for a key business unit. Before SAP ERP, we had regional JD Edwards instances where finance functions were being managed. It leads to broken processes and inconsistencies in financial closes. With centralized SAP ERP, we are able to support our finance department users to close books on time.
  • Centralized data and transactional data across the whole business.
  • Highly integrated business process support.
  • Standardized processes across the entire organization.
  • Support for IS Media related processes.
  • RAR module.
  • Support for DevOPS and agile development methodology.
SAP ERP is well suited to support finance and OTC functions. It is less appropriate for publishing industry-related and subscription-based business models, as there is no support for renewals out of the box in S/4 yet.
Read Saravana Kuppusamy's full review
Jill Liegghio | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

SAP has it all once you figure it out!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses SAP. We create projects, create purchase orders, issue payments to our vendors and apply payments from our customers. Our project team measures project completion, creates financial reports and issues invoices to our customers. We issue payments to our team members and track their time and time off. We track career progression and learning and development for our Team Members as well as tracking open positions in our departments.
  • Because it's a standard ERP product, it interfaces very well with third party providers like Concur.
  • It has a quick response time when processing and recalling data.
  • It is fairly easy to create customized transactions and reports.
  • It is in no way user-friendly. It is not intuitive nor is it easy to understand.
  • No one, not even our in house experts, know everything about the product.
  • There isn't a module-based system to help users - like click here for all AP related transactions. Nothing is grouped - except by the user.
SAP works well to send out and to receive files to third parties like banks and Concur. We have multiple data streams from and to our system are scheduled and happen behind the scenes. It's robust and houses a great deal of data - including images - so we can limit the amount of paper we manage. It doesn't have a standard setup, which makes is great for people who like to customize their information but it is much more difficult for new employees or people without experience in this software.
Read Jill Liegghio's full review
Lori Kidd | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

SAP a day keeps the auditor away.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is being used by our entire organization. We do have separate SAP boxes for other countries and we use several "bolt on" systems to assist with areas that SAP doesn't provide the level of service that we need.
  • Generating reports
  • Handling multiple data streams
  • General ledger transactions
  • SAP doesn't have a good tax platform.
  • Is not really user friendly.
  • Requires multiple clicks to get at the data I usually need.
SAP is a nice tool to house all the financial sub groups into one system.
Read Lori Kidd's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Best ERP Platform for Business Process Consolidation!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is our primary ERP platform. It's used across the whole organization. As an ERP platform, it helps us integrate business and technology processes across the whole spectrum from Order to Cash, Procure to Pay, Account to Report, Hire to Retire, Supply Chain Management and Manufacturing & Execution. It has helped to bring in transparency, consolidate financials and have a better future forecast.
  • Industry standard business processes with minimal customization.
  • Seamless integration across all functional modules with readily available reporting capabilities.
  • Availability of supporting solutions in the SAP universe like Business Intelligence, EWM, Employee Central, Concur etc.
  • The core SAP ERP lacks the inviting user experience some of the modern solutions provide.
  • The development, ongoing maintenance and consulting solutions tend to be more expensive.
  • Slow to adapt technology changes.
If business and financial consolidation is a problem for any organization, SAP would work very well to bring in consistency in processes and transparency in financials. The solution works well if the customization is kept to a minimal level and industry standard business processes are followed in an organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

SAP ERP - Solid engine for your business.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using SAP ERP for the whole operations process (from the purchasing - fabrication of the garments till registering or executing the sales in the different channels), financial processes and accounting, controlling (cost center controlling and Profitability Análisis Controlling), including the Warehouse Management of our internal warehouse. Also, it is the SOR for the stock of the whole company, including the digital channels like online business (B2C), marketplaces, or omnichannel capabilities at the store.
  • POS information integration and accounting details.
  • Noticeable but not to forget about it: perfect reconciliation between a financial view of the company and the operational view (purchasing/stock/sales).
  • Performance in terms of retail processes, specifically the assortment functionality when not used by business (technically the process should be there and consume a lot of resources).
  • Material Master data Creation, and in particular managing variants for fashion.
Integration information from your retail stores into the system in a broad base and getting the update of all the operations and financial figures very quickly is one of the key points of the SAP ERP for Retail (IS-R) that we are using. We integrate our 400 stores sales and stock movements every 2 hours allowing us to keep progress on what is going on and reducing integration time by night and also reducing the amount of information lost when a technical problem occurs at the store.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SAP ERP Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is used in our company to support main business processes including finance (treasury, AP & AR), warehouse operations, purchasing, goods movements, and sales management both for wholesale customers and for retail customers. SAP ERP simplifies the management of the core business processes providing complete traceability to the company. Also, SAP ERP integrates with stores IT systems allowing the back office to know our replenishment needs as well as the money collected on each store.
  • Complete traceability of business processes.
  • It covers all business requirements and allows minor modifications to adapt it to our needs.
  • License costs are high.
  • Old product that will be replaced by SAP 4/HANA in the short term.
Any corporation with more than 1000 employees and with complex business processes is suitable to use SAP ERP. It provides a solid and well-known product that will help the company to grow and reach its goals.
I wouldn't recommend it for those companies with business processes that don't fit with the SAP standard as it will require a huge effort of personalization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Big expenses with big upsides

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SAP for nearly all of our business and financial needs including HR, production, inventory, assets, and financials. We have recently added the transportation management module as well. It allows us to manage our organization more centrally and have much higher visibility compared to our previous ERP system. We currently are on SAP ECC but are exploring the possibility of migrating to S/4 HANA in the future.
  • SAP ERP is a large software package and is designed to be able to accommodate a variety of business models and processes.
  • SAP has a huge store of information available for analysis and planning. It can be used by just about anyone in the organization to identify inefficiencies and do detailed variance analysis.
  • SAP ERP is not very user-friendly and requires a great deal of specialized knowledge to take advantage of its full functionality.
  • SAP requires a great deal of human and financial capital to keep it running properly and is very difficult to modify if business processes change. Often, it is better to modify your policies and procedures to fit SAP rather than the other way around.
  • Adding functionality is laborious and expensive, and customization often results in greater difficulty when/if upgrades are offered.
SAP is great for multi-national companies who want to integrate their reporting and processes across organizations. It handles inter-company transactions well and offers tools for tracking data, materials, and money across multiple entities and operational locations. SAP is not a good idea for smaller companies that have fairly simple or straightforward processes. I would also not advise companies with lower financial resources to move toward SAP due to the huge demand for resources that SAP commands, not only during implementation but also to maintain it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

SAP ERP for all kind of sizes company.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I do use SAP ERP in my job daily, I'm SAP ERP basis netweaver consultant with more than five years on it. It can be said that I am a SAP ERP system administrator. I've worked with many kinds of companies and from little systems with 50 users, to big systems with 2000 users. It is hard work, but the system is very secure, you can manage many processes of the company with the speed and the strength of a database like Oracle, SQL Sever, Hana, it can be done with a high level work of security and roles, they speed up mane process of finance, cost, warehouse, and you know that you will have worldwide support wiht the best brand of europe SAP.
  • It can be integrated with other systems at SAP, so there's no problem, the customer will not lose their way to work, they will improve it.
  • You will have the number 1 system for your process, it is very customizable, so you will be sure it is adapted to the need of the company.
  • The customer will have a support all the time 24/7 that it gives confidence that their operations will not be stopped.
  • On it you can speed up the process on CO, Finance, and many other features that you won't find on other ERP system.
  • Integration with many more kinds of software not just SAP -- Such as Microsoft, open source, etc.
  • They could improve front end speed of interaction, sometimes it becomes slow and not responsive.
  • They should do better their first release of a software, called SP00. usually, it comes with some bugs and missing stuff.
If you are a media company with many big processes that you can't handle anymore and you don't know how to centralize the work, sap ERP would be perfect, you will see how controlled you can have your process, and all your users with have permission to do exactly what they need to do, it is good for security.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

SAP ERP is a comprehensive leading system for the long haul.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization is a big company and we had chunks of systems all over the place. We needed one financial system for the enterprise so our data and reports were consistent and drew from one reliable source. We also had many users who had SAP before from their prior companies and they wanted it for financials.
  • We reduced our financial close by at least 5 days and sped that up in an organized fashion.
  • Since we rolled out tons of training for the users, the training excellence made everything fresh with SAP.
  • The integration of related financial process areas was key in SAP ERP, e.g. financial reporting, accounts payables, accounts receivables, etc.
  • Treasury and cash management does not look like other best of breed systems, and it was hard to understand. Not intuitive.
  • We found lots of SAP implementors, but not many for the Treasury functions, this was tough to work with.
  • The implementation cost was multiples of the actual ERP purchase. and it took well over a year to implement.
Accounting, financial stability, and consistency are core strengths with SAP and well suited. We can also drill down into transactions and automated a great deal of reporting which save us hundreds of hours. Auditing of transactions and analyzing data became much more suitable for the company. When we made the decision, it was for a 5+ year horizon, but we know that SAP will be around.
Read this authenticated review
Pradeep Bele | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2019

SAP ERP, a hub for a business.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
SAP offers ERP as their huge range of modules with one product as SAP ERP for enterprise use. It's been used within our whole organization base.
  • Our customers have SAP ERP with different Enhancement packages, where the actual business works and uses entirely the system's modules, like HR, MM, PP, SD, FI, and CO, etc.... all these modules can easily interact along with different SAP products like CRM, SRM, BW, and many more for complete business running on an SAP landscape.
  • SAP ERP is SAP's advanced product, where SAP has made tremendous growth not only functionality-wise, but also technology-wise, which ultimately helps a complete business to be managed under a single umbrella,
  • There was definitely room for improvement in SAP ERP in having so many modules under one software, which was making the product more complex, and was requiring more training to understand all its features. This is even with all the efforts SAP have made for growth and launching different enhancement and product modules to make it simple.
It's very well suited when the business is kind of big and works with different vendors, and has more departments like productive, human resourcing, supply chains, customer-facing interactions, warehousing, etc, and businesses that have more skilled and experienced resourcing which is being used along with global or local mode.
It is less suited when the business is small, with less experienced and with limited resourcing products generation, and if the business can't afford the cost of the software to maintain and manage.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
Adriana Paez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

SAP ERP: not so user friendly, but great for power users

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP communicates with Ariba to create service orders and to provide goods receipts for invoices, creates billing for vendors, pays vendors, receives payment (when applicable), generate reports, etc.
  • Improves productivity
  • Allows the company to manage financial transactions and supply chain activities
  • Allows the company to run reports for analytical purposes, evaluates performance, view volumes sold, etc.
  • High IT cost for system support
  • Not user friendly. This tool is only meant for power users
  • Convoluted to request access to transactions
This is a system of integrated applications, runs well with compatible systems, such as Ariba. Good for data management, inventory, finance, HR, sales, etc.
Read Adriana Paez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

SAP transform to perform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP is used to support of all entry processes of the organization. We use not only the finance and controlling modules, but also inventory management, purchasing, treasury, asset, project, and payroll. We are actually implementing a production and planning module as well.
  • Accounting
  • Controlling
  • Material management
  • Asset management
  • Profitabilty analysis
  • It's not easy to manage the access rights
  • You can't download to the Google Cloud environment
  • It lacks features to let you manage intra-company activity through the same business area
I used other ERPs, but SAP is more complete and adaptive to complex business. For small entries I think it's too complicated and quite expensive to implement. In small teams, it's difficult to guarantee proper segmentation of duties.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

Keep your business under control and keep growing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is being used across the entire organization. We control production and inventory, maintenance, sales orders finance and controlling and project systems. We were able to consolidate all processes cross regions in one single SAP instance. We are now at the point where we can take advantage of the structured data collected through transactional data into analytical tools like Power BI. The main challenge of SAP ERG is usability I would say. In a world where user interface needs to be easy and fast. SAP has a long way to go in this area.
  • Data integrity
  • Finance Integration
  • Inventory control
  • User interface
  • CRM
  • Reporting and data analysis
I would recommend SAP for medium to large companies that have operations in several regions or locations where you need to make sure you can have a high standard level on how to collect transactional data. I would not recommend using SAP and making too much customization across locations or business units.
Read this authenticated review
FRANCO PIÑERO | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2018

SAP ERP is a technological tool that drives the growth of your organization.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is used by the production management department of the company for planning, administration, and monitoring of the three production plants, and the engineering, quality, education, and planning coordination departments as well.

Before the application of SAP ERP, the company had problems with information organization and compliance, including completion of tasks in the established time frames. Thanks to SAP ERP the organization achieved the mechanisms to systematize and analyze the information immediately, achieving a more timely decision-making process.
  • The SAP system adapts to the business model of any organization because it has multiple parameterized business processes.
  • SAP ERP allows users to automate any process of the company in order to be more efficient.
  • SAP ERP issues progress reports that are easy to understand.
  • It provides the possibility of working with management indicators that allow measuring the management of the company's operations, detecting weaknesses and consequently making decisions in a timely manner.
  • It is a tool that allows us to integrate all the operative processes of the company, making it easier to understand the its behavior and the dynamics of the economic activity.
  • SAP ERP must make an effort to simplify the use of its system, considering that it requires learning time to make the most of its applications.
  • SAP ERP should look for ways to integrate modules better considering that in the simulation of the modules there can be confusion.
  • It is a complex program that must offer its users a module to help with the use of tools so that they can take full advantage of the tools.
SAP ERP adapts very well to organizations that have a complex and difficult to control operation to address, because it has the work tools that allow the modules to integrate each of the processes present across production, facilitating planning, execution, and immediate follow-up of each of the actions.

SAP ERP is not recommended to be implemented in simple organizations with simple work operations. A simple organization does not require investing a significant amount of money in the implementation of an ERP system, which SAP ERP requires (with input from several professionals, due to the number of variables that compose it and because of its complexity).
Read FRANCO PIÑERO's full review
Alexis Correa | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2018

Complete management of customers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use SAP ERP to create requests for customer orders. We create new customers, customer's orders, supply orders; create purchase orders, manage product inventories, and invoices. We also generate sales reports to contribute with the requests of several involved departments. The system is used practically by the entire organization, each with its corresponding module. Thanks to this software we can have details of all the requests from the customers, from the orders to invoices, deliveries, credit notes and all the transaction history made in our company.
  • The administration of clients. Accounts with a complete customer management system, transaction history, claims, everything related to your customers.
  • Access controls by users. With this you avoid users without authorization levels, entering into transactions or making changes.
  • Integration to other systems. To take advantage of all the information generated, you can integrate with another system, for example, one to generate reports.
  • In our case, the support department is a little slow to meet important requests.
  • When the user does not remember the password, our recovery option is only the technical support department. Some recovery option by E-mail would be excellent.
  • Transactions to generate monthly reports over time have become slower. We need debugging of this. Customers are growing and transactions equal, there should be some way to optimize the process and for these reports to not take so long to generate.
  • The data export formats are of old software. They should consider updating the current formats to the new ones.
It generates a lot of reprocessing for us. Some customers who place orders with purchase orders, if they re-order an order with the same order, there is no validation that indicates that the order is already in the customer's account in order X. For issues related to invoices, products, purchasing history, it is excellent. It has scrips to repeat usual functions (requests).
Read Alexis Correa's full review
Alan Indomenico | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2018

SAP ERP best for big companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is a choice to improve the use of the data in any organization. At all the places that I have worked, the main problem was that we had a lot in an information island, and that's a problem. That's where SAP ERP comes in and integrates all the data under one roof and makes it useful for the user. There's no need to try to guess what the data is supposed to be because SAP will always give the data as it is.
  • Integration of data
  • System adjustments to fit the company's needs
  • Full documentation to investigate and find solution to any trouble
  • The pricing and licensing
  • The user interface experience
  • More information in Spanish
If the companies run a full production process, SAP ERP is the way to go. It will take your production, administration, and maintenance to another level. Otherwise, if you have less areas or your company only works in one point of the production area, it is going to be very high-price investment for just one area of improvement.
Read Alan Indomenico's full review
Gustavo Porporato Daher | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

SAP review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a full integrator across several functions, most of them related to the economic or financial impact of the activities of the company. It provided the support to manage one set of data, giving the reliability and consistency required. It ensured data is managed consistently, integrated with other systems.
  • ensure the consistency of financial and accounting information across functions
  • data management is solid - allowed to deal with data throughout the world
  • it covered all the accounting aspects of the company
  • update of customisation is cumbersome and complicated
  • creation of new set of rules is quite complex
  • implementation could be long and expensive
It is a valid solution for multinational companies, as it manages pretty well all data updates. For small companies, the SME version of SAP is still complex to implement due to the enormous number of options to customise it.
Read Gustavo Porporato Daher's full review
Saravanan Veerayah Jayaraman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2017

SAP as Enterprise Resource Planning all in one solution

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ECC Netweaver is used as the main ERP in my company. We used this to run 3 business units. We are running the PP module, SD module, MM Module, FI and CO module as an integrated manufacturing system from Sales Order processing from customer Purchase Order to Delivery and invoicing customer. To extend the function in our AFS industry module, we have created a cutting room and roll management system which is built with ABAP within SAP. SAP ECC is very good but it is too traditional and very labour/resource intensive. Not all functions in an apparel industry are addressed by the current SAP ECC.
  • Creating Sales document and following the sales into production and delivery is a very integral part of SAP. Very rarely we have a system which is so closely knit and integrated with financial transactions.
  • Material management is also a very detailed and transparent system where inventory of each category is managed whether it is finished good, semi finished good or raw material. Even sub-contracting procedure is there to manage material category which in BOM is created as a semi finished good to be delivered via sub-contracted supplier.
  • Financial Controlling module, which I think is the best module within ECC ERP as it contains all controlling mechanisms to run all other modules, to alert them of any irregularities and facilitate the pre-production scenario in terms of financial impact and act as an agent to create a smooth production and sales flow which makes this a customer-supplier-customer end-to-end system.
  • SAP's innovation on external data integration is well known for it's standard in EDI transaction supporting multiple EDI standards. It has its own module IDOC which works like magic. The Process Integrator (PI module), OData support and Gateway module have given third party vendors the ability to integrate their systems with SAP to extend its functions and system reach. This makes SAP more acceptable and flexible in system integration.
  • SAP ERP ECC AFS module definitely has a lot of room to improve within the generic apparel industry where traditional work in sample processing, cutting room, and roll management is an essential part of the business and needs to be addressed.
  • SAP Financial module should be more integrated and flexible with regard to multiple client business unit management - I would like to see them make it more intelligent and robust.
  • ABAP programming could be more human friendly and more object oriented within its core programming modules.
  • Screen painter and other development tools need to be more modern and flexible for this era of development. It needs to evolve to a more RAD type technology.
SAP ECC will work in any industry but you need to make a proper business blueprint or master business process flow which clearly identifies the exact flow and process of your manufacturing or business methods. SAP also can be used as a financial and sales only system without running its PP or MM module. It is a flexible system. You can use SAP in various industries including restaurants and coffee shops. I cannot see why SAP will not function or fit everywhere unless there is a geographical support issue or a in country with restrictive software policies.
Read Saravanan Veerayah Jayaraman's full review
Atul Nagar | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2015

My SAP Viewpoint

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP ERP is used widely in my organization. All the operations - sales, finance, manufacturing, procurement are done with SAP ERP.
  • Integration: I have worked with PeopleSoft and SAP ERP both, but SAP ERP provides the best integration among all the areas of the business.
  • Very easy to use.
  • The GUI can be made more user friendly. Apart from that, everything is great.
Read Atul Nagar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2018

SAP ERP Best for Big!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our organization, SAP ERP is being used in different departments wherever business processes are applicable to SAP solution. e.g. Procure to Pay, Quote to Cash, Order to Cash, Customer Returns, Warranty/Exchange, Warehouse, 3PL Warehouse, Retail Store cases, Forecast to Delivery, Financial planning to Report, Plan to Inventory etc.

It provided a solution for many more business processes than given above. For us, SAP ERP connects well with upstream & downstream systems (SAP & Non-SAP) with different types of interfaces very effectively that was the problem in the past. Also, we are working towards to merge non-SAP system/processes within SAP systems for a centralized solution to decrease maintenance cost.
  • SAP ERP integrates well with third-party systems.
  • SAP ERP software is very reliable, extensive & complete solution for any business process it supports.
  • Great support from SAP on bug fixes, new releases for the standard solution provided.
  • High cost of licensing, implementation & maintenance.
  • It gets complex when companies try to implement their existing business processes to Standard SAP provided business processes if it differs.
  • It is not for small/medium size businesses
  • The complete implementation process may take several years. Usually, companies take core modules of SAP ERP & implement those first.
Well suitable for large organizations with complex business processes. It provides best practices and built-in processes for a wide range of industries – from manufacturing and distribution to professional services and retail.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (1)
5
Benefit plan administration (13)
7.8
Direct deposit files (12)
8.2
Salary revision and increment management (11)
7.9
Reimbursement management (14)
8.1
API for custom integration (25)
7.3
Plug-ins (21)
7.3
Single sign-on capability (26)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (31)
9.2
Dashboards (23)
6.4
Standard reports (31)
7.3
Custom reports (31)
6.9
Accounts payable (32)
8.6
Accounts receivable (32)
8.1
Inventory tracking (27)
8.8
Automatic reordering (25)
7.7
Location management (26)
8.2
Manufacturing module (22)
8.3
Pricing (27)
8.0
Order entry (28)
7.9
Credit card processing (18)
6.0
Cost of goods sold (25)
7.8

About SAP ERP

SAP ERP is an enterprise suite formerly known as R/3 ERP. It is comprised of Financial, HCM, and Operations components. The financial component includes accounting, reporting, risk management, and profitability analysis for a global scale. The Human Capital Management features include core HR, as well as time management, payroll, and regulation. Operations capabilities include procurement, manufacturing, and sales and service enablement. SAP ERP also supports integration and automation of core processes across these components. The product is designed for large organizations.

SAP ERP Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Does not have featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Does not have featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Does not have featureJournals and Reconciliations
Does not have featureEnterprise Accounting
Does not have featureConfigurable Accounting
Does not have featureCentralized Rules Framework
Does not have featureStandardized Processes
Subledger and Financial Process Features
Does not have featureAutomated Invoice Processing
Does not have featureShared Services Payments
Does not have featureBillings Management
Does not have featureCustomer Receipt Applications
Does not have featureCustomer Collections
Does not have featureRevenue Recognition
Does not have featureCash Management
Does not have featureAsset Management
Does not have featureTravel & Expense Management
Does not have featureBudgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting
Does not have featurePeriod Close
Does not have featureTransactions Tax
Does not have featureSubledger Reconciliations
Does not have feature3rd Party Accounting Systems
Inventory Management Features
Has featureInventory tracking
Has featureAutomatic reordering
Has featureLocation management
Has featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Does not have featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Grants Management Features
Does not have featureAward Lifecycle Management
Does not have featureSpending Control
Does not have featureIndirect Cost Management
Does not have featureBilling
Project Financial Management Features
Does not have featureBudgeting and Forecasting
Does not have featureProject Costing
Does not have featureCost Capture
Does not have featureCapital Project Management
Does not have featureCustomer Invoicing
Does not have featureCustomer Contract Compliance
Does not have featureProject Revenue Recognition
Does not have featureProject Financial Performance Analysis
Does not have featureProject Financials Dashboard
Does not have featureReal-time Financial Reporting
Does not have featureEmbedded Business Intelligence
Does not have featureProject Planning Collaboration
Project Execution Management Features
Does not have featureProject Planning and Scheduling
Does not have featureProject Manager Dashboard
Does not have featureResource Manager Dashboard
Does not have featureTask Insight for Project Managers
Does not have featureProject Manager Mobile Functionality
Does not have featureTeam Member Task Collaboration
Does not have featureTeam Member Mobile Functionality
Does not have featureProject Candidate Search
Does not have featureProject Candidate Comparison and Analysis
Does not have featureDefineable Resource Pools
Does not have featureDefineable Resource Pools
Does not have featureTalent Profiles
Does not have featureReal-Time Project Reporting
Does not have featureAbsence Management
Does not have featureProduct Lifecycle Management
Procurement Features
Does not have featureSourcing Team Collaboration
Does not have featureSourcing Analysis
Does not have featureBids Analyzed and Compared
Does not have featureCatalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees
Does not have featureContract Authoring
Does not have featureContract Compliance Management
Does not have featureContract History
Does not have featureContract Renewal Automation
Does not have featureContract Repository
Does not have featureContract Standardization and Enforcement
Does not have featureElectronic Signatures
Does not have featureInvoice Automated Matching
Does not have featurePurchasing Risk and Compliance Management
Does not have featureRequisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated
Does not have featureSpend Compliance Management
Does not have featureSupplier Assessment
Does not have featureSupplier Communication and Collaboration
Does not have featureSupplier Management
Does not have featureSupplier Portal
Risk Management Features
Does not have featureRisk Repository
Does not have featureControl Management
Does not have featureControl Mapping
Does not have featureControl Efficiency Assessments
Does not have featureAutomated Control Assessments
Does not have featureAssessment Capture
Does not have featureIssue Detection
Does not have featureAutomatic Notification
Does not have featureRemediation and Certification
Logistics Features
Does not have featureTransportation Planning and Optimization
Does not have featureTransportation Sourcing Management
Does not have featureTransportation Process Integration
Does not have featureTransportation Execution Management
Does not have featureFreight Payment Automation
Does not have featureTrade Management
Does not have featureTrade Regulatory Compliance Management
Does not have featureCustoms Entry Management
Does not have featureCustoms Document Management
Does not have featureCustoms Document Collaboration
Does not have featureFulfillment Management
Does not have featureInventory Visibility
Does not have featureWarehouse Workforce Management
Manufacturing Features
Does not have featureProduction Process Design
Does not have featureSupply Chain Business Flows
Does not have featureProduction Management
Does not have featureContracted Manufacturing Management
Does not have featureConfiguration Management
Does not have featureWork Definition
Does not have featureWork Execution
Does not have featureAdvanced Fulfillment
Does not have featureManufacturing Costs
Supply Chain Features
Does not have featureForecasting
Does not have featureInventory Planning
Does not have featureMulti-tier Supply Chain Planning
Does not have featurePerformance Monitoring
Product Lifecycle Management Features
Does not have featureIdeation Management
Does not have featureRequirements Management
Does not have featureProposal Management
Does not have featureInnovation Portfolio Management
Does not have featureProduct Master Data Management
Does not have featureVendor Portal
Does not have featureProject Portfolio Management

SAP ERP Integrations

SAP ERP Competitors

SAP ERP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No