SAP Lumira Discovery

SAP Lumira Discovery

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.7 out of 100
SAP Lumira Discovery

Overview

Recent Reviews

Lumira Pilot

5 out of 10
March 06, 2022
Data exploration and conceptual prototypes for executive dashboards were attempted with Lumira. The software appears to have a strong …
Continue reading

Lumira is Good but NOT Great

7 out of 10
March 01, 2022
In my business, we use SAP Lumira Discovery as a connectivity tool for all of our data. It is an easy tool that allows to understand, …
Continue reading

SAP Lumira Discovery Review

7 out of 10
December 16, 2019
SAP Lumira is used across the organisation by key users that have the need to do data discovery and extract conclusions. SAP Lumira …
Continue reading

SAP Lumira Review

8 out of 10
December 12, 2019
SAP Lumira is used as a self-discovery tool. We can use the tool in order to create ad-hoc reports when we need to prepare a specific …
Continue reading

Great product

10 out of 10
November 29, 2019
SAP Lumira has helped us make made more easy and friendly decisions for our IT team and our final users too.
It has helped us to develop a …
Continue reading

Lumira

8 out of 10
August 24, 2018
SAP Lumira enables our company to interpret massive amounts of internal data available and turn it into a visual report. This helps allow …
Continue reading

SAP Lumira Software

7 out of 10
July 27, 2018
SAP Lumira, a software to visualize your large data and allows users to explore data deep down. It helps to understand the data …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 10 features

Report sharing and collaboration (99)

8.0
80%

Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (102)

7.4
74%

Drill-down analysis (100)

7.4
74%

Formatting capabilities (104)

7.2
72%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SAP Lumira Discovery, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

SAP Lumira, standard edition

$185

On Premise
per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://getlumira.sapstore.com/download…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

BI Standard Reporting

7.2
72%

Ad-hoc Reporting

7.5
75%

Report Output and Scheduling

7.2
72%

Data Discovery and Visualization

5.7
57%

Product Details

What is SAP Lumira Discovery?

SAP Lumira Discovery is a data visualization software solution that helps business users take full advantage of the massive amounts of data that is available to their business by using data analysis and data visualization capabilities. The data available in all major data sources (like MS Excel, csv, txt, and diverse database formats) can be put together in grids and graphs to create presentations, dashboards, infographics or business reports. The vendor says that its solution helps users go beyond spreadsheets and basic data presentations – all with drag and drop and point and click actions.

SAP Lumira Discovery Features

BI Platform Features

  • Supported: Live Connection to External Data
  • Supported: Snapshot of External Data
  • Supported: OLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
  • Supported: ROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
  • Supported: Multi-Data Source Reporting (Blending)

Supported Data Sources Features

  • Supported: MS Excel Workbooks
  • Supported: Text Files (CSV, etc)
  • Supported: Oracle
  • Supported: MS SQL Server
  • Supported: IBM DB2
  • Supported: Postgres
  • Supported: MySQL
  • Supported: ODBC
  • Supported: Hortonworks Hadoop
  • Supported: IBM Netezza
  • Supported: HP Vertica
  • Supported: SAP Hana
  • Supported: Teradata
  • Supported: Salesforce
  • Supported: SAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Customizable dashboards

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
  • Supported: Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization

Additional Features

  • Supported: Acquire and enrich data, big and small, from any source
  • Supported: Visualize and explore any amount of data in real time without sacrificing performance or security
  • Supported: Export reports, dashboards, presentations and infographics to pdf format for easy sharing

SAP Lumira Discovery Screenshots

SAP Lumira Discovery Videos

SAP Lumira Discovery Competitors

SAP Lumira Discovery Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesChinese (Simplified), Czech, English, French, German, Hungarian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SAP Lumira Discovery?

SAP Lumira Discovery is SAP’s data visualization and discovery application. It facilitates data discovery, visualization, and analysis by assisting users with creation of dashboards, infographics, presentations, data facets, tag clouds, and more.

What is SAP Lumira Discovery's best feature?

Reviewers rate Report sharing and collaboration highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses SAP Lumira Discovery?

The most common users of SAP Lumira Discovery are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 106)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Bhagyalakshmi S | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the software for data management and visualization. It is very easy to use, has improved efficiency, assesses risk, and identifies new business opportunities using different data sources. It helps in sales forecasting to monitor and act on individual opportunities, more accurate with revenue details and distinguish between profits and loss, sales performance, etc. mainly we are service providers in different industries for corrosion solutions PAN India and use sap for sales and marketing purpose.
March 06, 2022

Lumira Pilot

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data exploration and conceptual prototypes for executive dashboards were attempted with Lumira. The software appears to have a strong focus on the development of infographics which is different in terms of data complexity required for the development of executive level dashboards containing key performance indicators and summary charts which have drill down capabilities. The ability to connect to various data sources is well supported in SAP BusinessObjects Lumira although I was unable to quickly transform a Lumira chart into a SAP BusinessObjects report using the Web Intelligence framework. It would be ideal if the SAP BusinessObjects product line allowed users to seamless transition work performed from one product line to the other.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira Discovery helps us to decipher the massive amount of usable internal data to be translated and transform into visual reports. Helps to organize data, which can be put into charts and graphs to analyze data and help in making strategic decisions with very significant business information. A great tool to make sense of all the internal data on multiple platforms.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira helps to create the data visualization layer with self service analytical capabilities and well integrated to the backend core ERP system(s). Many out of the box templates and the accelerators make the work easy for the business intelligence. The data can be real-time and more trusted instead of siloed/redundant data.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my business, we use SAP Lumira Discovery as a connectivity tool for all of our data. It is an easy tool that allows to understand, connect and manipulate data, facilitating this information to be understood by different members through the graph and share options. It contains great constant discoveries of important data that help my business and the development of different projects within our organization.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira Discovery is used to create on-the-fly ad-hoc reports for various audiences at different levels within the organization. Report insights can be gained from this data easily. We use it to connect different data points to create more meaningful reports.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used SAP Lumira Discovery for self-service use cases to explore the on- premise SAP BW data. Based on the analysis some new dashboard requirements will be noted and they will be developed in SAP Lumira Designer as a custom application with moderate to complex functionalities. SAP Lumira Discovery is the tool used to analyze data which may lead to any new dashboard development.
Arkadip Kundu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SAP Lumira Discovery is a great Self service BI tools to help in my organization to bring all the businesses and my IT team together. Data Visualization and connecting,acquiring and merging data is being done here. The business problem is that it requires more cyber security to preventing thefting and manipulation of datas.
Annette Gilmour | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great and effective discovery functionalities and the easy of using the SAP Lumira Discovery tool on the first time to use the software. Easy to configure the tool interface is a major point and the predictive data analytics that this SAP platform provides are very useful to the project. The ability to manage project workflow and the easy data feedback gathering on this software is effective.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being the self-service BI software, the team in my department strives on having queries that they can create as custom queries to fetch data for analysis and visualizations on the underlying data and sharing the results of those queries in a easy to interpret form with other users. They feel their needs are fulfilled to a very great extent by SAP LD. They are able to actually do a lot of data discovery very easily for lot of applications so that tells in an obvious manner that it can be integrated with lot of other systems. The on-prem solutions/installation makes it another factor in favor of SAP LD as a great tool.
December 12, 2019

SAP Lumira Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira is used as a self-discovery tool. We can use the tool in order to create ad-hoc reports when we need to prepare a specific presentation or do some special analysis. We do not have published reports, only the data content we are able to use as a data source.
November 29, 2019

Great product

Carlos Bonilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira has helped us make made more easy and friendly decisions for our IT team and our final users too.
It has helped us to develop a more intuitive dashboard and useful reports. We have been using it for years, and it works in combination with SAP BI and web intelligence too.
August 24, 2018

Lumira

Trever Voit | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira enables our company to interpret massive amounts of internal data available and turn it into a visual report. This helps allow a sense of all data in various layouts and interpretations to better better business decisions and modifications. The software helps us do complete reporting and is an easy to use and understand platform with limitless options to present our data, sort and find it.
July 27, 2018

SAP Lumira Software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira, a software to visualize your large data and allows users to explore data deep down. It helps to understand the data requirement, what needs to be done to grow your company. It is basically a BI tool designed for small or large companies. It can be used for accounting, reporting, make graphs and charts. Easy to load data and create graphs.
Darian Rawson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone has data, and spreadsheets have been around forever. More and more, clients are becoming more accustom to viewing information, whether professionally pertinent to their business or in journalism, in visual representations. Lumira is a step in that direction that helps our organization to bridge the gap between piles of data, and visual representations of that data which are more engaging, easier to digest and often times reveal relationships that were not as readily apparent otherwise.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira is the best BI tool to analyze big data and make perfect use of it. It helps cleaning of data and gives real-time analytics of what is going on in your business performance. With a great simple UI and analytical graphs, it is easy to find the glitch and make it correct in business performance. Searching for patterns, irregularities, data missing data, etc, Export data in CSV format, filtering, quick changing of graphs as per requirements are the functionalities which make SAP Lumira a perfect tool to use for small business.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Lumira in several projects, one of them was for analysis and creation of ad/hoc reports, and visualizing the results of a big/data analytical project. Another opportunity when we effectively used Lumira was analysis of random incidents, where a measurement was several measurement points (technical PCs with sensors, database and application server logs). When searching for patterns and irregularities, Lumira helped us to quickly visualize outages, indicating where to further search for the problem. Seeing performance of all components on a common time-scale is very helpful for quick orientation on when and where the irregularity happens. Considering into account several millions of rows in each log, Lumira did a good job. It is advisable though to use a really quick PC with and SSD hard drive, and save the work frequently.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our MIS program, students use a number of tools to learn about enterprise systems, ERP, Data Warehouses, and analytics. The student use at least three Data visualization programs so they can compare and judge which one they like and why. They start with Lumira and other SAP programs like BeX and WebI. These are cumbersome to use and not as fully developed as other software/systems they will use. They run their businesses using SAP software and then extract the data to visualize it, from procurement to inventory to sell to financial statement data.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to highlight KPI's, trends in Sales and Logistics trade lanes. We also use SAP Lumira dashboards for deals to identify areas in Sales, that the organization needs to focus on to be more effective, like Churn based customer reporting. We use Lumira to connect directly to BW queries on BW4HANA.
Himanshu Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira with the brand name SAP is a strong product for data visualization and used by my finance and accounts teams majorly. It has great data visualization and supports the users for non-data fields also. The accounts team uses this for some financial data visualization and draft it into the presentation.
Banbhalang Kharpuri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firstly, SAP lumira is one amazing product that I would use daily for making data-driven decision. It has become easy for visualization. We use a lot of real-time data to process and make decisions in a short time frame. It's mostly used in the ops department. We were handling improvement projects where we had to reduce wait time and delivery time. With SAP lumira, we were able to see where the maximum time was spent in the whole process and how to improve upon it.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization for dashboarding purposes. It helps C-level department heads analyze their HR data quickly and determine where the most cost-effective organizations are located. It also is used to view where the most vacancies are across the organization to see where more budget should be allocated to help productivity.
Parimelalagan Kumaraguru -Pari- | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lumira is an ad-hoc analytical presentation tool for non-technical business management decision makers and end users.

I have proposed the Lumira solution for business IT heads and data analysis consultants. In the process of rolling out Lumira we started with the treasury and risk management departments. It was a successful launch allowing SAP BW data, and non-SAP Data to be presented in a meaningful way, with graphical and geographical interactive dashboards. Lumira overcomes issues with the Tableau platform regarding Microsoft SQL and Oracle DB as the multi-sourced direct universe, and SAP BW as the BEx direct source. Even though there are some limitations, waiting for the Lumira 2.0 with design studio to fulfill everything under one roof as SAP BO and Lumira 2.0.