TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qf/ZA/146R8ADA8WKQ.PNGTake the scariness out of Big Data and put it to work for you!Everyone has data, and spreadsheets have been around forever. More and more, clients are becoming more accustom to viewing information, whether professionally pertinent to their business or in journalism, in visual representations. Lumira is a step in that direction that helps our organization to bridge the gap between piles of data, and visual representations of that data which are more engaging, easier to digest and often times reveal relationships that were not as readily apparent otherwise.,Take large swaths of raw information and turn it into something approachable and relatable. Minimize the role of IT departments being necessary for tasks that are better left to account managers, project managers and marketers as well as business owners. While there is a cost involved, it is affordable and the return on investment is high.,Even though the process of creating visualizations of data is now greatly improved, it could still be a lot better as users become accustomed to this kind of tool and bring forward edge cases the developers did not anticipate. It would be awesome to have a cross platform tool that works on more than just Windows. Some options for specific graphs feel limiting.,8,Tableau Online,7,7,SAP Crystal Reports, Google Analytics, CrashPlan,5,2,Expanded data analysis to provide preventative measures be taken before issues become serious. Training more people in the benefits of a Lumira optimized environment. Shifting the mentality of account managers to using data driven decision making.,Data analysis Data visibility Data oriented decision making,Surprise benefits of feature updates Visibility of behaviors and patterns that were previously under the radar Knowing rather than "feeling" something to be true based on the dataLumira is a simple ready to use visualizing and analytical tools, when dealing with millions of rows of ... anything. It is quick, comfortable and does 80% of what a consultant needs with 20% effort.We have used Lumira in several projects, one of them was for analysis and creation of ad/hoc reports, and visualizing the results of a big/data analytical project. Another opportunity when we effectively used Lumira was analysis of random incidents, where a measurement was several measurement points (technical PCs with sensors, database and application server logs). When searching for patterns and irregularities, Lumira helped us to quickly visualize outages, indicating where to further search for the problem. Seeing performance of all components on a common time-scale is very helpful for quick orientation on when and where the irregularity happens. Considering into account several millions of rows in each log, Lumira did a good job. It is advisable though to use a really quick PC with and SSD hard drive, and save the work frequently.,Import of semi-structured data, logs. Filtering. Quick transformation of views from one type of graph to another. Export of results as a report. It is quick.,We need OFFLINE viewing of data, to be able to save the reports to and iPad in HTML5 or similar format, and be able to go through the graphs with some level of interaction. I know it exports stories ... this is something more advanced. Conversion to time is not sufficient, it comprises only seconds, in the IT world mostly we work with milliseconds. Not a big deal, but can be pre-built. In case something is impossible to visualize, it simply says: "unable to show more than 10 000 values or similar". What about providing some suggestions on how to limit the scope? What about preparing some templates for analysis of e.g. IT logs, supply chain with some predefined reports, sourcing tasks, location based reports .... some simple building blocks, that can be further tailored. Currently working with SAP Lumira Discovery and the application keeps crashing by certain data sets and reports. Not very stable lately, it is a good idea to save regularly work in progress, not to lose the changes in case of a crash.,8,,9,7,Splunk Enterprise, KNIME Analytics Platform, Microsoft Power BI, H2O, Alteryx Analytics, Domino Data LabSAP Lumira - Software to deal with large numbersSAP Lumira is the best BI tool to analyze big data and make perfect use of it. It helps cleaning of data and gives real-time analytics of what is going on in your business performance. With a great simple UI and analytical graphs, it is easy to find the glitch and make it correct in business performance. Searching for patterns, irregularities, data missing data, etc, Export data in CSV format, filtering, quick changing of graphs as per requirements are the functionalities which make SAP Lumira a perfect tool to use for small business.,Analytical Graphs with awesome calculations. Self Service Data Access, Data Visualisation and Handling easy Web/Mobile Support, Securely Sharing of data,Heavy software, need a good quality of Laptop. Not a stable software.,7,QlikView,5,6,QlikViewSAP Lumira Still Not Ready for PrimetimeIn our MIS program, students use a number of tools to learn about enterprise systems, ERP, Data Warehouses, and analytics. The student use at least three Data visualization programs so they can compare and judge which one they like and why. They start with Lumira and other SAP programs like BeX and WebI. These are cumbersome to use and not as fully developed as other software/systems they will use. They run their businesses using SAP software and then extract the data to visualize it, from procurement to inventory to sell to financial statement data.,SAP has built in features you would expect from a data visualization package, like easy import from other SAP systems. SAP has most of the typical charts that you would expect in order to visualize your data. SAP allows you to have multiple charts on one visualization for your data.,SAP is not as intuitive as other visualization software and you have to find an expert to show you how to do some of the simplest things. SAP is still working on the package so it is in constant change, and it makes 'learning' the software more difficult than it needs to be. SAP keeps renaming, re-merging, un-merging its systems so the 'Roadmap' they are so famous for is only valid for about 6 months!,3,,4,2,Tableau Desktop, Tableau Public, Microsoft Power BI,,3,They need to integrate it better with some non-SAP systems as any organization of a decent size will have non-sap systems that are not going to go into the SAP ERP, Database, or Data Warehouse. They need to have better story boarding or story telling features like their competition has.,Using it to see the basic descriptive analytics of what has been going on in the business, no matter the functional area in the past 24-36 months. Using it to preform the basic diagnostic analytics to try and determine why the data in the business is the way it, trying to determine the root cause for declines, or slow downs, etc.. Trying to integrate it with Predictive Analytics so we can try to see what will happen in the future, now what happened in the past.,None!,The simplest of charts are pretty easy to use, once you get the data into it and in the right format. The default colors are pretty easy to use. The default fonts are pretty easy to use.,Trying to wrangle the data into the system so it is in the right format to get the most from your visualizations is hard and cumbersome. Trying to use color pallets and custom color schemes not already defaulted in the system is better now, but in earlier versions were frustrating. Trying to integrate with Predicitve Analytics, the next logical step after creating visualizations is not simple.,2Lumira 2.x is ready for ProductionWe use it to highlight KPI's, trends in Sales and Logistics trade lanes. We also use SAP Lumira dashboards for deals to identify areas in Sales, that the organization needs to focus on to be more effective, like Churn based customer reporting. We use Lumira to connect directly to BW queries on BW4HANA.,Excelled connectivity to all SAP products like BW, HANA as well as to SAP's trademark SAP BO Universes. Cost effective and can be implemented with little technical effort. It is part of SAP Analytics enterprise license by SAP. Dashboards and applications are saved in BI launchpad I self so all security developed in SAP BI can be reused.,Lumira could provide better charts Visualization in-memory engine must be improved Map analysis of Lumira needs significant upgrades to compete with market leaders like Tableau.,9,Tableau Desktop, Microsoft Power BI and QlikView,10,9,Tableau Desktop, QlikView, Microsoft Power BI
Windows
SAP Lumira
405 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

SAP Lumira Reviews

SAP Lumira
405 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 405 vetted SAP Lumira reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 94)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 17, 2018

SAP Lumira Review: "Take the scariness out of Big Data and put it to work for you!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone has data, and spreadsheets have been around forever. More and more, clients are becoming more accustom to viewing information, whether professionally pertinent to their business or in journalism, in visual representations. Lumira is a step in that direction that helps our organization to bridge the gap between piles of data, and visual representations of that data which are more engaging, easier to digest and often times reveal relationships that were not as readily apparent otherwise.
  • Take large swaths of raw information and turn it into something approachable and relatable.
  • Minimize the role of IT departments being necessary for tasks that are better left to account managers, project managers and marketers as well as business owners.
  • While there is a cost involved, it is affordable and the return on investment is high.
  • Even though the process of creating visualizations of data is now greatly improved, it could still be a lot better as users become accustomed to this kind of tool and bring forward edge cases the developers did not anticipate.
  • It would be awesome to have a cross platform tool that works on more than just Windows.
  • Some options for specific graphs feel limiting.
Lumira is especially well suited where you want to customize and create tailored benchmarks for different segments of your business. Whether that means making information available to department heads, directors or even account directors and managers.

What really is valuable is the confidence you have when using the dashboards for decision making and monitoring the success of those decisions in a tailored manner.
Read Darian Rawson's full review
May 22, 2018

SAP Lumira Review: "Lumira is a simple ready to use visualizing and analytical tools, when dealing with millions of rows of ... anything. It is quick, comfortable and does 80% of what a consultant needs with 20% effort."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Lumira in several projects, one of them was for analysis and creation of ad/hoc reports, and visualizing the results of a big/data analytical project. Another opportunity when we effectively used Lumira was analysis of random incidents, where a measurement was several measurement points (technical PCs with sensors, database and application server logs). When searching for patterns and irregularities, Lumira helped us to quickly visualize outages, indicating where to further search for the problem. Seeing performance of all components on a common time-scale is very helpful for quick orientation on when and where the irregularity happens. Considering into account several millions of rows in each log, Lumira did a good job. It is advisable though to use a really quick PC with and SSD hard drive, and save the work frequently.
  • Import of semi-structured data, logs.
  • Filtering.
  • Quick transformation of views from one type of graph to another.
  • Export of results as a report.
  • It is quick.
  • We need OFFLINE viewing of data, to be able to save the reports to and iPad in HTML5 or similar format, and be able to go through the graphs with some level of interaction. I know it exports stories ... this is something more advanced.
  • Conversion to time is not sufficient, it comprises only seconds, in the IT world mostly we work with milliseconds. Not a big deal, but can be pre-built.
  • In case something is impossible to visualize, it simply says: "unable to show more than 10 000 values or similar". What about providing some suggestions on how to limit the scope?
  • What about preparing some templates for analysis of e.g. IT logs, supply chain with some predefined reports, sourcing tasks, location based reports .... some simple building blocks, that can be further tailored.
  • Currently working with SAP Lumira Discovery and the application keeps crashing by certain data sets and reports.
  • Not very stable lately, it is a good idea to save regularly work in progress, not to lose the changes in case of a crash.
It is well suited for:
  • A quick view on logs (or any other data) relating to time scale.
  • A quick view on new data.
  • For viewing and experimenting with HANA results.
Less appropriate (or not appropriate at all):
  • When we need to visualize sequences with start/stop e.g. it could visualize workflows, loops, or waiting times between steps.
  • Also it can not merge several data sources in one (or the functions are hidden somewhere?)
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
July 06, 2018

Review: "SAP Lumira - Software to deal with large numbers"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira is the best BI tool to analyze big data and make perfect use of it. It helps cleaning of data and gives real-time analytics of what is going on in your business performance. With a great simple UI and analytical graphs, it is easy to find the glitch and make it correct in business performance. Searching for patterns, irregularities, data missing data, etc, Export data in CSV format, filtering, quick changing of graphs as per requirements are the functionalities which make SAP Lumira a perfect tool to use for small business.
  • Analytical Graphs with awesome calculations.
  • Self Service Data Access, Data Visualisation and Handling easy
  • Web/Mobile Support, Securely Sharing of data
  • Heavy software, need a good quality of Laptop.
  • Not a stable software.
SAP Lumira is well suited for processing a large amount of data. Analysing those data and work on it as needed. Variety of graphs, charts for identifying trends on market. Format all the data with your own measures, and to apply needed formulas without any expertise on it. Friendly UI, easy to use and learn within a few days.
Read this authenticated review
February 23, 2018

Review: "SAP Lumira Still Not Ready for Primetime"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our MIS program, students use a number of tools to learn about enterprise systems, ERP, Data Warehouses, and analytics. The student use at least three Data visualization programs so they can compare and judge which one they like and why. They start with Lumira and other SAP programs like BeX and WebI. These are cumbersome to use and not as fully developed as other software/systems they will use. They run their businesses using SAP software and then extract the data to visualize it, from procurement to inventory to sell to financial statement data.
  • SAP has built in features you would expect from a data visualization package, like easy import from other SAP systems.
  • SAP has most of the typical charts that you would expect in order to visualize your data.
  • SAP allows you to have multiple charts on one visualization for your data.
  • SAP is not as intuitive as other visualization software and you have to find an expert to show you how to do some of the simplest things.
  • SAP is still working on the package so it is in constant change, and it makes 'learning' the software more difficult than it needs to be.
  • SAP keeps renaming, re-merging, un-merging its systems so the 'Roadmap' they are so famous for is only valid for about 6 months!
It is suited for an organization that is totally invested in SAP already and does not want to spend more money for a visualization system that will more meet their needs. A complete SAP shop would be the only time I would recommend it.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2018

SAP Lumira Review: "Lumira 2.x is ready for Production"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to highlight KPI's, trends in Sales and Logistics trade lanes. We also use SAP Lumira dashboards for deals to identify areas in Sales, that the organization needs to focus on to be more effective, like Churn based customer reporting. We use Lumira to connect directly to BW queries on BW4HANA.
  • Excelled connectivity to all SAP products like BW, HANA as well as to SAP's trademark SAP BO Universes.
  • Cost effective and can be implemented with little technical effort. It is part of SAP Analytics enterprise license by SAP.
  • Dashboards and applications are saved in BI launchpad I self so all security developed in SAP BI can be reused.
  • Lumira could provide better charts
  • Visualization in-memory engine must be improved
  • Map analysis of Lumira needs significant upgrades to compete with market leaders like Tableau.
SAP Lumira is not suited for doing big data analysis. it is very useful for small and medium data sets.
Read this authenticated review
January 18, 2018

Review: "SAP Lumira - Another good SAP product for beautiful data visualizations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Lumira with the brand name SAP is a strong product for data visualization and used by my finance and accounts teams majorly. It has great data visualization and supports the users for non-data fields also. The accounts team uses this for some financial data visualization and draft it into the presentation.
  • Data visualization is near to perfect
  • One doesn't need to be a data expert to use this
  • It has great Business Intelligence features
  • The main problem we faced is that we couldn't use external plotting methods
  • Customization of data charts takes a lot of time
  • The inbuilt features are only good for non-technical persons
When one of your team lacks in terms of being technically profound and has daily usage of data visualization, presenting charts and calculating simple financial models, SAP Lumira is a very good product to use. But, if your community is technical friendly and one has to use various plotting methods with huge variety of data, it lacks in that field. For that, I would prefer some more sound data visualization platform.
Read Himanshu Singh's full review
August 04, 2017

Review: "SAP Lumira User friendly tool for visualization and reporting complex functions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have implemented this tool across different organizations and trained users in using Lumira's visualization capabilities.It addresses inventory, production and sales problems.
  • Visualization
  • alter data structures and correlations
  • expanding the age reports involved in monthly reviews
  • Should have Excel-like pivot table drill down features
  • Integration with MS excel needs to enhance for importing data
  • Output formats are bit rigid
  • Limited functionality to manipulate data before reporting
When working with Lumira, we noticed that there are not that many charts available to do any statistical analysis. for example No Control charts, Histogram, Gantt chart, Highlight Table. Hope Lumira can incorporate some of these features in later versions.
Read Renu Khatri, LSSGB's full review
August 29, 2017

User Review: "SAP Lumira - Good Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used widely across the organisation. The software is used to manipulate and visualize data. Basically it a business intelligence software developed and marketed by SAP BusinessObjects. For us it addresses the following: reporting, online analytical processing, analytics, data mining, process mining, complex event processing, business performance management and prescriptive analytics.
  • EASY data handling and manipulation.
  • Helps achieve priorities, goals and directions at the broadest level.
  • Empower organization to gain insight into new markets.
  • Limited visual reporting.
  • Not easy to grasp.
  • Requires ERSI integration and does not pick up zip code right now.
People will typically prefer the powerful semantic layer of BusinessObjects / Lumira. It provides a better segregation of duties. Lumira is part of SAP BusinessObjects which is "one platform that serves all use cases," however, it has seemed to focus more on HANA and non-SAP customers, as opposed to old school SAP BW / BEx customers.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2017

User Review: "SAP Lumira is for DATAphiles"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firstly, SAP lumira is one amazing product that I would use daily for making data-driven decision. It has become easy for visualization. We use a lot of real-time data to process and make decisions in a short time frame. It's mostly used in the ops department. We were handling improvement projects where we had to reduce wait time and delivery time. With SAP lumira, we were able to see where the maximum time was spent in the whole process and how to improve upon it.
  • Recommended charts option will give you a quick overlook at your data
  • Customization of the charts and graphs as per our needs
  • The interface is user-friendly and there are videos to help you to navigate along in case you get lost
  • Easy visualization, more detailed reports, good for presentation
  • Manual data entry in LUMIRA
SAP lumira is well suited for medium and large enterprises but would not suit well for small and local businesses. It is well suited for organizations handling businesses across the world such as global trade, global sales, etc. It would not be suited for small businesses like hyper local logistics, small food shops or local food chains.
Read Banbhalang Kharpuri's full review
May 02, 2017

SAP Lumira Review: "Lumira is a great innovation from SAP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lumira is an ad-hoc analytical presentation tool for non-technical business management decision makers and end users.

I have proposed the Lumira solution for business IT heads and data analysis consultants. In the process of rolling out Lumira we started with the treasury and risk management departments. It was a successful launch allowing SAP BW data, and non-SAP Data to be presented in a meaningful way, with graphical and geographical interactive dashboards. Lumira overcomes issues with the Tableau platform regarding Microsoft SQL and Oracle DB as the multi-sourced direct universe, and SAP BW as the BEx direct source. Even though there are some limitations, waiting for the Lumira 2.0 with design studio to fulfill everything under one roof as SAP BO and Lumira 2.0.
  • Multiple Data sources enabled single tool
  • Publishing availabilities on the web, and mobile devices
  • Multiple components and canvases on single display
  • Multiple graphical objects with drilling facilities on single display
  • Improve the memory utilization with a new technique which is really an essential requirement
Lumira well suited for at a glance final high-level KPI analysis but it does not really fulfill management related detail analytics of a million records.
Read Parimelalagan Kumaraguru -Pari-'s full review
April 27, 2017

SAP Lumira: "Limited Lumira review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A trial version is being used by the sales team to extract and manipulate SAP Cloud for customer sales data, and they use Lumira to create meaningful management reports.
  • Quick transformation of data into tailored dashboard reports
  • Easy access to SAP Cloud for customer data using the SAP add-on
  • Very fast processing capability with no noticeable lag
  • Control over data import formatting - for example where amount and currency values are imported there is not enough control over the transformation and formatting and this has caused us data import difficulties where values read have been truncated due to punctuation in the amount fields.
  • The user interface is simplified, but the terminology and screen layout do not always make it obvious how to start the process for a new user - for example to add a new data source or create a new report.
Lumira is well suited for users that have little or no reporting experience but need to be able to create reporting dashboards, especially for management where the ability to manipulate the graphical output to the right format is key.
Read Andrew Griffin's full review
April 05, 2017

Review: "SAP Lumira gets better with our opinion"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've worked for a SAP Business One partner. We sell Lumira attached to SBO. We wanted the clients to explore all the data that they get from their ERPs, and other data sources, and visualize new insights, trends and use the geo data for exploring their business behavior. Also we we're working on developing plugins for Lumira, to add value to the product and [address] specific issues of Colombian companies.
  • Prepare the data for exploration
  • Receive multiple datasources even if isn't a SAP product
  • Lumira is very intuitive
  • The way that the user [can] export the results is very limited
  • Use a more detailed map engine
  • Add more examples, documentation and templates
SAP BusinessObjects Lumira is very appropriate when all your data comes normalized, and you need to get a very general and detailed visualization of your data, and is not appropriate when all your data is unorganized and you don't know what you want to know.
Read Leonardo Hernandez's full review
March 06, 2017

SAP Lumira Review: "Lumira - the next gen visualization!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a software service provider organisation and have a gold partnership with SAP. We are demonstrating the capabilities of Lumira for our prospects and help them achieve bigger and in-depth business decisions. With Lumira, we are able to answer complex business KPIs with the help of Lumira's visualizations.
  • Eye catching easy to to use data visualizations.
  • Support to merge heterogeneous data sources and prepare it according to requirements.
  • Sharing the custom user stories in SAP BI/BO repository and give the end users flexibility to play around with it.
  • Almost no coding required, still fantastic outcomes.
  • Infographics can be made easier to use.
  • Mobile and handheld device orientations and rendering could be improved.
  • Time series sliders can be added which was there in dashboard designer.
In today's world it’s all about getting information from raw data and in that area SAP BusinessObjects Lumira is performing significantly well. Probably this will bring the end of the traditional multi-page tabular report. If you can’t visualize your data, you can’t make decisions out of it.
Read Avishek Chakraborty's full review
March 15, 2017

User Review: "SAP Lumira - Affordable and attractive"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recommend the best tool for each customer, be it Power BI, Tableau or SAP Lumira. It depends on what kind of data source they have, available licences etc.
  • Working with files (CSV, Excel).
  • Ease of use, easy to start.
  • Quick start videos are really helpful.
  • Connecting to Micrsoft SQL Server requires JDBC drivers and add many steps.
  • A cheaper web portal should be available.
[It's well suited] if the customer is already using SAP server products or most the data is available in files. It is less of a good fit if the customer uses Microsoft databases.
Read Frédérick Samson's full review
May 02, 2017

SAP Lumira: "SAP BOBJ Lumira Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization for dashboarding purposes. It helps C-level department heads analyze their HR data quickly and determine where the most cost-effective organizations are located. It also is used to view where the most vacancies are across the organization to see where more budget should be allocated to help productivity.
  • Visualize data in a nice and professional way.
  • Doesn't allow base templates to be used. Have to recreate each visualization.
It should be more geared for users with less technical backgrounds.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2017

SAP Lumira Review: "Lumira Test Drive"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it to rapidly implement and deploy some "dashboards" for use in one department of our existing client.
  • First, it is highly responsive and has a user-friendly interface, with a very rich and intuitive look and feel.
  • It is easy to quickly get going and do rapid prototyping.
  • Learning curve is not steep.
  • It enforces best practices by "forcing" pre-aggregation in the back-end.
  • It misses the ability to give developers options to dive into the "code-behind" and manipulate without leaving the environment. It could do with a WYSIWYG type of functionality.
  • Stacked graphs need some enhancements with regards to displaying the data labels and the sum totals of each stack category.
  • The major blockage I faced was failure to do calculations in the compose because of a lack of dimensions. It was a major blow for me.
Good - Quick Proof of Concept (POC) and rapid prototyping works well and saves time; Value for money. Lumira's insistence on best practices makes it easy to use and implement.

Less-Good - implementing heavy customization and dynamic functionality; less dynamic features has less independence to the developer on what can be customized.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2016

SAP Lumira Review: "Lumira Falls Short to other available visualization tools"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I utilize Lumira to visualize HANA calc views for a defense management company interested in 8 different monitoring activities within the organization.
  • Real time connection to HANA.
  • Simple to use.
  • Needs more options to filter. Right now, it's single and multi drop down. What about sliders or radio buttons?
  • More graphical displays, such as dual axis bar graphs that allow for block overlays. Right now, the design features are only 25% of what alternative solutions may offer.
  • Color Legend is not dynamic.
  • Changing the data source, where missing fields no longer exist, will disappear... as opposed to leaving the view waiting for an alternative, available fields.
Due to its visual limitations, I would much rather use Tableau than Lumira. I have found the simplicity of using Lumira to fall short in comparison to other services that I always have available to me.
Read Lauren Brands's full review
September 12, 2016

SAP Lumira Review: "Great Addition to Reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects Lumira is mostly used by the departments who put together reports for management but it is not used all the time by every department. The departments that I have experience using Lumira with are logistics, customer service, and procurement.
  • useful visualisations
  • not too much of a hassle to use (can figure out the program even if you don't have advanced training)
  • fully integrated with multiple data information platforms
  • expensive
  • the dashboard is too busy
Because of the cost of SAP BusinessObjects Lumira I would not recommend it wholeheartedly because I would expect the program to be a bit more refined (cleaner and easier to use UI) and to have more flexibility for the price. SAP BusinessObjects Lumira is great when you have to create a visual that will be used to demonstrate something that would otherwise be complicated to explain without just words or regular charts.
Read Alina Hera's full review
January 03, 2017

SAP Lumira Review: "Good to have for a good business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects Lumira was a very helpful tool for making the business decisions for [our] client super easy, with their virtual decision making graphs and charts. One can easily find it user friendly in terms of usability. I strongly recommend Lumira.
  • Data extraction is very easy, particularly the clipboard.
  • Different types of charts and graphs.
  • Easy to analyse the storyboard.
  • More data filter options.
  • SQL logic can be implemented.
  • Storyboard should have some more templates.
[Lumira was well suited for] Our client [who] was facing some issues in analysing their different businesses in a single time [frame], because they were not able to storyboard to help them analyse their business for different geographies at one time.
Read Rakesh Sharma's full review
September 07, 2016

SAP Lumira Review: "Enhance the Impact of Your Reports with Lumira"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization we use SAP Business Objects Lumira alongside our reporting software to create visualisations as needed. We use it when we want to highlight in presentations (usually to management) and need a more specific visual aid than can be created easily with our reporting and analytics software.
  • Eye-catching visualisations
  • Dashboard easy to use
  • Cluttered UI
  • Static visualisations
I use SAP Business Objects Lumira to create visualisations when I need to clearly and visually convey something that would be complicated to do so with just words, or simple graphs/graphics. I do not think that this program would be the most effective for regular reporting needs though, at least that has been my experience with it.
Read Maria Lyon's full review
December 22, 2016

SAP Lumira: "SAP Business One with SAP BusinessObjects Lumira Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects Lumira is being used and suggested for customers that have implementation needs. When it is used at the management level and in departmental headquarters it strengthens the process structure and presentation of results. The information is designed and presented clearly and accurately and favors the decision making and evaluation processes. It is especially productive.
  • Create reports quickly with a lot of data
  • Easily share and analyze business strategies
  • Creates stakeholders
  • Graphic annex tables and summary information
[It is well suited for] submission of information to managers and control bodies.
Read Francisco Fajardo's full review
December 16, 2016

Review: "SAP Lumira - A Useful Tool for Graphical Analysis and Reporting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I am working as SAP Functional Consultant and as a part of my job role I do implementation of SAP Lumira at our client location.
  • First advantage is that you can install SQL Drivers and further connect SQL with Lumira. This will help to use SQL query in order to import data into Lumira Directly.
  • Advance Graphs are readily available for user, which can be used easily with a handsome knowledge of Statistics.
  • You can also create different visualization and altogether put them along with each other. This will be created as a Story in Lumira which becomes a Presentation for the user.
  • SAP Lumira provides a stage to connect to your SQL database. Customers have frequently asked us a question that why SQL query already saved in SAP Product such SAP B1 is not available in Lumira to be selected. That means customer wants to link SQL saved queries of SAP B1 with Lumira, but not manually to be copied and paste.
  • Also the queries created and used in Lumira don't get saved, not if the user wants to run the same query for another time period. He needs to again do manual copy paste and create the same story, but cannot update the saved one.
  • Also users look for some pre-designed examples readily available with Lumira Installation for their own reference.
It's quite useful for Internal reporting, Management reporting and Head office Reporting.
Read Kuldeep Vaishnav's full review
August 21, 2016

SAP Lumira Review: "SAP BusinessObjects Lumira Is the Thing!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinesssObjects Lumira has greatly benefited my productivity during my work. It has greatly helped me and aided me in getting my work done efficiently and effectively. It is easy to use and has a great user interface, thus making it suitable for newcomers to adopt. Lastly, it is able to transform work productivity into cost savings for my organization.
  • Easy to use
  • Great UI
  • Does jobs well
  • Costly
  • Needs more customization & control
The data visualization features were amazing! I couldn't believe that a computer programme could accomplish such sophisticated tasks where data is well presented in a manner that is visually appealing. However, it takes some time to get used to the features and such. I hope there would be more instructions/tutorials available for new users.
Read Nicol Wong's full review
August 19, 2016

SAP Lumira Review: "SAP BusinessObjects Lumira (From outside of a SAP ecosystem)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I consulted for a company that was having serious network troubles which were directly impacting their production process. I was asked to come in and aid their team in identifying the root cause and then to put a plan in place to rectify the problem. When I arrived on site, they had virtually no visibility into what was going on in their network. After working with their team to compile enough data to identify the problem, Lumira allowed us to easily illustrate the problems to their management without losing them in confusing network speak. It allowed me to convey a very complex and confusing problem in a way that could be digested by people outside my field.
  • Allows simple creation of data visualizations without requiring the assistance of a DBA or a coder.
  • Can easily pull data from multiple sources.
  • Takes almost no time to learn, very intuitive.
  • The primary interface feels cluttered, there is so much data and so many options it can appear daunting to a new user.
I find Lumira to be a fantastic piece of software for easy data visualization, however as the data is static its use cases will be rather limited for my field. As a tool to create visualizations for a presentation, or emailed statements it is fantastic. However if it was possible to provide dynamically updated data this would become a must have.
Read this authenticated review
August 15, 2016

"A tentative review of SAP Lumira - one to watch for the future"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BusinessObjects Lumira is new to our organisation. We have many other tools already, and we are considering whether we can use this for better visualisation in our ERP environment. The business problem we face is that the default SAP BW graphs and reports are too bland, too basic and do not satisfy the user requirements.
  • The tool seems easy to use, it was simple to connect to sources and to get going.
  • There are many default connections to SAP environment
  • The ability to consume SAP BW queries directly in Lumira was great, and the interoperability seemed seemless
  • The tool is relatively new, and if it is going to go up against stiff competition it has a lot of catch-up to do
  • The user interface is simple, but might be cumbersome for those who expect more from a tool in a few clicks
  • The limited trial version will dampen the opportunity for people to properly review and get used to the tool. Different options should be explored for free trials that extend for longer - against competition that is available for free.
Good in a predominant SAP environment, as it connects seamlessly with the SAP environment. When it is compared to other tools that work against many database formats and tools, it still has some way to go. It is only through time and regular exposure to people who use visualisation tools all the time that these tools mature.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customizable dashboards (86)
7.2
Drill-down analysis (89)
6.7
Formatting capabilities (92)
6.5
Report sharing and collaboration (87)
6.6
Publish to Web (72)
7.0
Publish to PDF (84)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (58)
7.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (91)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (85)
7.0
Predictive Analytics (74)
5.9

About SAP Lumira

SAP Lumira Discovery is a data visualization software solution that helps business users take full advantage of the massive amounts of data that is available to their business by using data analysis and data visualization capabilities. The data available in all major data sources (like MS Excel, csv, txt, and diverse database formats) can be put together in grids and graphs to create presentations, dashboards, infographics or business reports. The vendor says that its solution helps users go beyond spreadsheets and basic data presentations – all with drag and drop and point and click actions.

SAP Lumira Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Does not have featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Does not have featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Does not have featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Does not have featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Does not have featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureAcquire and enrich data, big and small, from any source
Has featureVisualize and explore any amount of data in real time without sacrificing performance or security
Has featureExport reports, dashboards, presentations and infographics to pdf format for easy sharing

SAP Lumira Screenshots

SAP Lumira Videos (6)

SAP Lumira Downloadables

SAP Lumira Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SAP Lumira, standard edition$185per user

SAP Lumira Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SAP Lumira Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: Chinese (Simplified), Czech, English, French, German, Hungarian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish.