TrustRadius
SAS Visual Analytics provides a complete platform for analytics visualization, enabling users to identify patterns and relationships in data that weren't initially evident. Interactive, self-service BI and reporting capabilities are combined with out-of-the-box advanced analytics so everyone can discover insights from any size and type of data, including text.SAS VA is our reporting toolI use SAS Visual Analytics to build reports for my coworkers. I build dashboards based on census data and website logs. The dashboards are all interactive and the user can choose themes or subsets. They do not have any software (except Office) for those analyses besides what I provide them and they are all happy with the results.,Very fast, even with tens of millions of records Nice visually Simple to use with mostly drag and drop,Sorting with values not used in a chart or table Views built from a table instead of always creating a table,9,7,8Best analytical tool.Visual Analytics is being used for attrition analysis; we want to focus on why people leave and where. It's only used in a small department of merchant solutions.,Easy to use Interface Face Paced Results Drag and drop analytics perks,For what we use it for, we can't find any flaws. We strictly use it for our use case and have not noticed any downfalls.,6,IBM Cognos,9,7SAS Analytics,a data analytics tool for your needsSAS Visual Analytics was used to identify data type, and for filtering data fields as per requirements. For me, it appeared like SPSS combined with R language. This interface is very helpful and made it easy for me to use the software. To get the desired result and output, it is very easy to relate. For regular R users, writing algorithms is very easy and visuals appear side by side.,Stock market analysis. Resource utilization and optimization. Pivot table analysis.,Customizing a report as per the user requirement. Adding more color and font styles. Presenting data in a more colorful way. The website has a lot of tutorials which is more inclined to the technical side. Maybe add more to the presentation side as well.,9,,8,9,Microsoft Access, Microsoft Office 365, SAP Lumira, Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft ProjectGo for SAS VA if you already have SAS environmentWe use SAS Visual Analytics in visualising credit risk data for Regulatory reporting and Analysis. It has been very helpful in finding the gaps in data quality and understanding the data better from a business standpoint.,Visualisation capabilities. Statistical techniques. Integration with most of the data sources.,Features from competitors like Tableau, PowerBI, etc. Basic Data modelling (star and snowflake) for data transformation before dashboards. Performance Tuning.,9,Tableau Desktop and QlikView,8,4Preferred by our users.It is used by a single department. We use it to better analyze our medical data we receive to look for trends and benchmark area results and improvements. This is a new method for us, and we are still evaluating the need.,Our staff are familiar with it as it is a common tool. Our training and implementation was short. Installation was easy. Our staff was able to deploy to the receiving department relatively quickly. Though the download was a pretty good size. Seems to crunch through large volumes of data (millions of records) pretty quickly as I've received no complaints on this front from staff.,Support. Have had billing and license/key issues. The first time my staff reached out to support, they recommended contacting our site admin for help (me). If we could help ourselves, why would we contact? Support seems lacking. Download. The install file is huge and can be an issue for remote employees, or areas where networking is poor.,5,,9,9
Windows, Linux
SAS Visual Analytics
40 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SAS Visual Analytics Reviews

SAS Visual Analytics
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 40 vetted SAS Visual Analytics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jean-François Ducré-Robitaille profile photo
February 23, 2018

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "SAS VA is our reporting tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SAS Visual Analytics to build reports for my coworkers. I build dashboards based on census data and website logs. The dashboards are all interactive and the user can choose themes or subsets. They do not have any software (except Office) for those analyses besides what I provide them and they are all happy with the results.
  • Very fast, even with tens of millions of records
  • Nice visually
  • Simple to use with mostly drag and drop
  • Sorting with values not used in a chart or table
  • Views built from a table instead of always creating a table
Reporting to users who do not have access to specialized software Dashboards with a lot of interactivity, so users decide by themselves what characteristics they want to see. Integrates very well with other SAS products.
Read Jean-François Ducré-Robitaille's full review
Scott Bellefeuille profile photo
February 22, 2018

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "Best analytical tool."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Analytics is being used for attrition analysis; we want to focus on why people leave and where. It's only used in a small department of merchant solutions.
  • Easy to use Interface
  • Face Paced Results
  • Drag and drop analytics perks
  • For what we use it for, we can't find any flaws. We strictly use it for our use case and have not noticed any downfalls.
If you are a business looking for a visual appealing tool that is easy to use, look no further.
Read Scott Bellefeuille's full review
Banbhalang Kharpuri profile photo
June 20, 2017

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "SAS Analytics,a data analytics tool for your needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAS Visual Analytics was used to identify data type, and for filtering data fields as per requirements. For me, it appeared like SPSS combined with R language. This interface is very helpful and made it easy for me to use the software. To get the desired result and output, it is very easy to relate. For regular R users, writing algorithms is very easy and visuals appear side by side.
  • Stock market analysis.
  • Resource utilization and optimization.
  • Pivot table analysis.
  • Customizing a report as per the user requirement.
  • Adding more color and font styles. Presenting data in a more colorful way.
  • The website has a lot of tutorials which is more inclined to the technical side. Maybe add more to the presentation side as well.
For the industry I was working it, it was very well suited. We conducted regular analytics of the number of orders completed a week. It gave us insight on how we grew week to week. While it was easy to work on quantifiable data, it was difficult to work on qualitative data. One suggestion I would add is that if SAS could provide options that would allow qualitative data to be quantified.
Read Banbhalang Kharpuri's full review
No photo available
August 29, 2017

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "Go for SAS VA if you already have SAS environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAS Visual Analytics in visualising credit risk data for Regulatory reporting and Analysis. It has been very helpful in finding the gaps in data quality and understanding the data better from a business standpoint.
  • Visualisation capabilities.
  • Statistical techniques.
  • Integration with most of the data sources.
  • Features from competitors like Tableau, PowerBI, etc.
  • Basic Data modelling (star and snowflake) for data transformation before dashboards.
  • Performance Tuning.
It is well suited for companies which are already in SAS environment and have lot of data in SAS for Analytics. If you don't have any SAS products or expertise, this need not be the first SAS tool you should look at. Explore Tableau, PowerBI and assess based on "fit for purpose."
Read this authenticated review
Mike Narumiya profile photo
February 20, 2017

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "Preferred by our users."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a single department. We use it to better analyze our medical data we receive to look for trends and benchmark area results and improvements. This is a new method for us, and we are still evaluating the need.
  • Our staff are familiar with it as it is a common tool. Our training and implementation was short.
  • Installation was easy. Our staff was able to deploy to the receiving department relatively quickly. Though the download was a pretty good size.
  • Seems to crunch through large volumes of data (millions of records) pretty quickly as I've received no complaints on this front from staff.
  • Support. Have had billing and license/key issues. The first time my staff reached out to support, they recommended contacting our site admin for help (me). If we could help ourselves, why would we contact? Support seems lacking.
  • Download. The install file is huge and can be an issue for remote employees, or areas where networking is poor.
Its best suited for a staff that already knows how to use it. If they don't, might look for a simpler solution.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Ian Macintosh profile photo
October 18, 2016

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "Eye Candy on steroids"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAS Visual Analytics is one of our key products. It allows us to present detailed and complex statistics in a meaningful way. It also allows us to look at the data with 'fresh eyes' and see correlations that may not otherwise be evident. For 'big data' organizations this is a great tool.
  • Present data across a range of axis in a meaningful way
  • bring out correlations that could lead to some interesting research
  • it's FAST!
  • Securing individual records or fields from view
  • additional view types
It is particularly well suited to big data collections that have good structure. It is not really designed for unstructured datasets (documents, etc). Its strength is the processing speed (particularly when implemented on Hadoop). It is not cheap but it is worth it!
Read Ian Macintosh's full review
suva sahu profile photo
June 06, 2016

User Review: "SAS Visual Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAS Visual Analytics is used by the fraud, risk and marketing team in our organization for portfolio analysis of various DC and PLCC clients. SAS Visual Analytics is used to create various dashboards for marketing, SRM and other departments for better and easier analytics usage.
  • The risk team uses risk analysis reports created by team members for mitigating future risks and challenges.
  • Supply risk management uses SAS VA analytics dashboards on daily basis for their research and decision making. SAS VA has LASR analytics servers which are very fast and tuned for analytics queries.
  • SAS VA is used by the finance and marketing team to create their own reports out of SA LASR tables as per their need. SAS VA does have both ETL and analytics capability which makes it a complete analytics package.
  • More advanced dashboard features like multiple tabs creation.
  • Should have option to export dashboard reports to multiple formats with original format intact.
  • Latency time of reports and response should be increased.
SAS Visual Analytics is mostly suited for all scenarious because we can customize the code as per our need using base SAS and can write business logic or equations.
Read suva sahu's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2016

SAS Visual Analytics Review: "Visual Analytics makes my job fun and interesting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an agency that provides marketing and database consulting solutions to multiple clients. Depending on the needs of the client we use SAS Visual Analytics to provide BI dashboards where client can get access to updated data as soon as it is available and drill down on the metrics they are interested in. It also allows them to export the data behind a chart (bar chart, pie chart etc.) in different formats.
We also use it internally for exploration, we have used decision trees and network diagrams in the past.
  • Visualization of large amount of data is faster because of the SAS engine behind it.
  • Features like decision trees, box plot, scatter plot, and histogram are very easy to use for exploring large data. It also has some unique features like Sankey Diagrams which can be used to show a flow of a process.
  • Customization options for the design of reports, making it visually more appealing.
  • Better HTML5 support.
  • More tutorial videos or literature on the features that are present in SAs visual analytics
Well Suited for:
Providing BI dashboards that can be accessed across multiple devices.
Visualizing/exploring large amounts of data.

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (6)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (6)
7.5
Report Formatting Templates (5)
6.3
Drill-down analysis (7)
8.9
Formatting capabilities (7)
9.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (5)
8.5
Report sharing and collaboration (6)
7.0
Publish to Web (6)
8.1
Publish to PDF (7)
7.6
Report Versioning (4)
8.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (6)
8.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (2)
8.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (6)
9.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (6)
8.0
Predictive Analytics (5)
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (6)
7.6
Role-Based Security Model (5)
8.1
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (6)
7.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (3)
7.7
Responsive Design for Web Access (5)
7.8
Dedicated iOS Application (3)
8.2
Dedicated Android Application (4)
8.6
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (4)
9.0
REST API (1)
8.2
Javascript API (1)
8.2
iFrames (1)
8.2
Java API (1)
8.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (2)
7.1
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (1)
8.2

About SAS Visual Analytics

SAS Visual Analytics provides a complete platform for analytics visualization, enabling users to identify patterns and relationships in data that weren't initially evident. Interactive, self-service BI and reporting capabilities are combined with out-of-the-box advanced analytics so everyone can discover insights from any size and type of data, including text.

BI & Analytics Features

Platform

  • Administration via Windows App
  • Administration via Web Interface
  • Live Connection to External Data
  • Snapshot of External Data
  • Multi-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
  • ETL Capability
  • ETL Scheduler

Supported Data Sources 

  • MS Excel Workbooks
  • Text Files (CSV, etc)
  • Oracle
  • MS SQL Server
  • IBM DB2
  • PostgreSQL
  • ODBC
  • Cloudera Hadoop
  • Hortonworks Hadoop
  • EMC Greenplum
  • IBM Netezza
  • HP Vertica
  • SAP Hana
  • Teradata
  • Salesforce
  • SAP
  • Google Analytics

Standard Reporting Features

  • Customizable dashboards
  • Report formatting templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Drill-down analysis
  • Output formatting
  • Predictive modeling
  • Report sharing & collaboration

Report Output & Scheduling Features

  • Publish to Web
  • Publish to PDF
  • Output raw supporting data
  • Report delivery scheduling

Data Discovery & Visualization Features

  • Multiple pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots, etc.)
  • Location analytics/geographic visualization
  • Predictive analytics
  • Machine learning models
  • Pattern recognition & data mining
  • Integration with R/other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

  • Multi-user support (named login)
  • Role-based security model
  • Multiple access permission levels (Create/Read/Delete)
  • Report-level access control
  • Table-level access control (BI-layer)
  • Row-level access control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities

  • Responsive design for web access
  • Dedicated iOS application
  • Dedicated Android application
  • Dashboard/Report/Visualization mobile interactivity

Additional Features

  • SAS Visual Analytics also includes web-based self-service data preparation, text analytics, forecasting, pathing, prescriptive and descriptive analytics.

SAS Visual Analytics Screenshots

SAS Visual Analytics Integrations

Google Analytics, Microsoft Office, Microsoft SharePoint, Digital Marketing snd Social Media: Twitter, Facebook, Salesforce, All major Hadoop distributions

SAS Visual Analytics Competitors

Tableau, Qlik, SAP Lumira, Microstrategy

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SAS Visual Analytics for SAS CloudAnnual By Users: 5, 10, 20

SAS Visual Statistics and SAS Office Analytics are also available as add-ons.

SAS Visual Analytics Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
70%

SAS Visual Analytics Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Email

SAS Visual Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: 26