Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
292 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 179)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Tom Blazek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Each system I evaluated has its own strengths and weaknesses. I ended up choosing Scale because of the features and the price. I feel Scale has the best value for the money. I also like to support smaller businesses and I feel that you often get better customer support, which is what I have experienced in this situation as well.
Read Tom Blazek's full review
December 11, 2020
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Scale replaced a VMWare solution. We compared Scale against a new VMWare solution as well as against a Nutanix hyper-converged solution. After looking at the costs, features, support, and hardware, Scale was the easy choice for our business. It fit every need we had and after 6 months of having it in place, I have no regrets with our decision.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
November 30, 2020
Jon Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I had quotes from Dell and HP at the time and I think the smaller business market was not on their radar. Scale hit the underserved mid-size market at the right time. I have not used any other virtualization system at this time.
Read Jon Rich's full review
November 25, 2020
David Roden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nutanix could not compete on price. Not even close. It is a much more complex environment to configure and manage. While this probably means it has a few additional features, we did not encounter any that were relevant to us. It's lone advantage was onsite hardware support. Starwind turned out to be the most expensive solution we considered. It relies heavily on underlying Microsoft technologies (such as clustering) which we saw as a potential point of failure that Starwind did not control.
Read David Roden's full review
November 03, 2020
Jim Bittel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I researched several HCI solutions from the big players like Dell, Nutanix, VMware, Cisco, and HP. Scale Computing HC3 has the same or better capabilities as their competitors at a fraction of the price, and you won't feel like a number when you call. You'll get the impression that your business is important to them, and that they value you as a customer.
Read Jim Bittel's full review
October 07, 2020
Michael Rials | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I evaluated Nutanix, Pivot3, and Simplivity before choosing Scale.
Nutanix failed in the areas of support, cost, and if we were to choose their solution within our budget the scalability was lost.
Pivot3 and Simplivity both failed our requirements because they require VMWare which was an expense we wanted to avoid. And even for companies that have already made that investment stop and give thought to what you’re saving the business with consideration to eliminating that piece.
Read Michael Rials's full review
October 02, 2020
Anthony Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are several feasible products in the hyper-converged marketplace (aside from Scale HC3) that review well, and are capable, effective products. However, upon analyzing you will find that just about all of these products/solutions are catering primarily to large organizations with enterprise pricing. Additionally, many of these products come with a significant amount of complexity in regards to use, management, components, and in some cases, licensing models. Scale computing HC3 provides a great product, at a great price, with great customer support, single point of contact, and ease of use. It checked so many of our boxes that it was almost impossible to look away. Scale HC3 was not our initial choice, but it was ultimately our unanimous choice.
Read Anthony Martin's full review
October 02, 2020
Raymond Bilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used both Promox and VMWare in very limited means previously, and each require a decision on the hardware you're purchasing to complement it. Scale Computing HC3 comes complete, with the software and hardware perfectly matched, at an affordable price. And when Scale Computing HC3 is telling it's scalable, by simply adding a machine to scale up, and it joins the existing cluster (just point the new server to the IP of a machine in the existing cluster), take that to the bank! No OS or software to install, it simply powers up, you answer a few questions and it becomes part of your cluster!
Read Raymond Bilton's full review
December 18, 2020
Jon Brantner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I saw Scale at a vendor show. I realized how perfect of a fit it was (and affordability) that we didn't shop around.
Read Jon Brantner's full review
December 01, 2020
Ryan Elsenheimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our previous infrastructure was either IBM servers or custom built servers as hypervisors that weren't clustered. It meant downtime. TCO is about the same, but the improved uptime is dramatic.
Read Ryan Elsenheimer's full review
December 01, 2020
Jeffrey Place | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We evaluated several Hyper-converged systems before deciding on Scale Computing HC3, including Cisco and EMC. Scale Computing offered more "bank for the buck". Good hardware, an easy to use interface, and no annual licensing costs, all at a reasonable price point. It was the best fit for our organization. I would recommend anyone to take a look what they have to offer.
Read Jeffrey Place's full review
November 30, 2020
Zach Hightower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • VMware
VMware works. But it is not pretty and the licensing is awful. We often had to sit around waiting for VMware's clunky interface to load before we could do anything and it would only work on Windows. VMware's licensing was ok (not great, but ok) at 3 nodes. However, it massively spiked after 3 due to our educational pricing. This is ultimately what made us decide to go to Scale Computing and we have not once regretted it. We are currently sitting on 6 nodes and planning to add 2 more. How much have we had to add on for licensing for additional nodes? Nothing.
Read Zach Hightower's full review
November 28, 2020
Don Agnew | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Scale is light years ahead in usability, setup and management. Sales people had me a quote while on the call, other suppliers took up to 3 months.
Read Don Agnew's full review
November 27, 2020
Todd Naveau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

HC3 blows XenServer out of the water. The backup process is so much easier, the interface is much easier to follow, and Scale has a built-in portal in the background to remote in and help with issues.
Read Todd Naveau's full review
November 25, 2020
Richard Hardcastle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Price was a huge factor. Of the products we looked at the Scale HC3 package was considerably cheaper, but had processing, storage and virtualization we needed. I spoke to other companies in our line of business that own the Scale servers and all were so happy they moved over to Scale.
Read Richard Hardcastle's full review
November 25, 2020
Chris Nixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had looked at hyperconverged systems from Nutanix, HPE (Simplivity) and NetApp - all wanted a very high premium on top of which there were still additional licenses.

Their individual high costs meant they were never viable despite some attractive feature sets.
Read Chris Nixon's full review
November 24, 2020
Collin Coe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The price to performance for Scale Computing HC3 is something that made the final decision for our organization easy. While Scale may lack some of the advanced features of VMware, as a shop that had used VMware for over 7 years, I can confidently say that in my time with the organization the capabilities of Scale Computing HC3 have more than kept pace with what we used daily in other solutions.
Read Collin Coe's full review
November 24, 2020
Brad Fulmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at VxRail from DELL EMC. SCALE was able to come very close to the performance at a fraction of the cost and the simplicity on the interface compared to vSphere/vCenter is what really sold us.
Read Brad Fulmer's full review
November 24, 2020
Kelly Mumm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We previously used XenServer and had constant issues with reliability and management of the VMs. It was a pain dealing with three different entities when an issue came up. We had the server vendor, Citrix, and the NAS vendor. When there was an incompatibility issue or an issue with an upgrade I would spend days trying to track down what entity could help even though we used Citrix approved hardware. Now, I make one call to Scale for any issue.
Read Kelly Mumm's full review
November 24, 2020
Mike Maner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There Scale solution is easier, vastly simplified, more robust and fault tolerant, and faster than any other solution we've tried.
Read Mike Maner's full review

What is Scale Computing HC3?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Watch HC3 Success Story - American Foundry Group

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

Scale Computing HC3 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC1200$8,500Per Node
HC1250D$15,170Per Node
HC1250$9,665Per Node
HC1250DF$16,750Per Node
HC5250D$25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Scale Computing HC3's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability and Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Scale Computing HC3?

The most common users of Scale Computing HC3 are from Mid-size Companies and the Government Administration industry.