Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
292 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 206)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Tom Blazek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I feel Scale Computing is well suited for any small or medium business that needs more than 1 physical server. The ease of use and capabilities of the cluster are really unmatched for the price. I like how all the features are included for one price. I could even see it being used in a larger enterprise environment.
Read Tom Blazek's full review
December 11, 2020
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scale definitely has a market where it fits and is a great solution (small to medium-sized businesses). Very large organizations may be better suited to a different solution. For the market that Scale fits into, it really is a perfect solution. I had compared Scale to Nutanix and while Nutanix had some additional features, I couldn't justify the additional costs. However, a large organization may find that additional feature set very useful and worth the additional costs.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
November 30, 2020
Jon Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I have used the Scale Computing HC3 system to save time by purchasing an appropriate server operating system license and delivering a fully functional server with less time and expense of a physical server. With any purchasing decision you have to weigh out costs and benefits and this system was a perfect fit for our business. They continue to grow and improve their products, so we will be able to continue using their system into the future.
Read Jon Rich's full review
November 25, 2020
David Roden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scale is obviously well-suited for SMB / SME environments. Larger environments will likely find a reduced need for dedicated storage admins or VM specialists in-house. Environments that rely on SDN or very complex VLANs may find Scale's networking to be somewhat limited.
Read David Roden's full review
November 03, 2020
Jim Bittel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I can't speak to large businesses because I'm not familiar with their technology needs, but for any small or medium business with servers and storage on-premises, Scale Computing HC3 is a scalable HCI platform that's cost-effective and easy to manage and maintain. Especially for businesses with limited tech staff, Scale Computing HC3 is a game changer, freeing up valuable time to focus on higher-level projects.
Read Jim Bittel's full review
October 28, 2020
Rex Knepp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a company the size of ours, the Scale Computing HC3 system fits very well. We do not have a large IT staff and ease of management of the system means that we have time to use on other tasks. Another big plus is that management tasks are very intuitive and when I've needed assistance, I was able to find what I've needed from their knowledge base.
Read Rex Knepp's full review
October 20, 2020
Wesley Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In our situation, Scale Computing has been an excellent fit for our network. Being a medium-sized company with a small IT department, we have been able to leverage the ease of use to greatly speed up our ability to react to new ideas, and knowing that our virtual machines are running on a solid platform makes everyone feel better about our hardware on the backend. We are much less concerned with single points of failure in the server room.
Read Wesley Johnson's full review
October 07, 2020
Michael Rials | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In organizations that are forward thinking and innovative Scale is a great fit to simplify an otherwise overly complex infrastructure. Any corporation looking at a small or large scale server refresh Scale is the best fit across all organizations. In the past I would have stated companies requiring repositories of media files and things such as security footage wouldn’t be a good fit, however, true to form Scale has solved these issues and offer solutions perfect for this. Their Edge solutions are perfect for companies with multiple sites, buildings, remote data collection needs. In this day and age I am confident that there is no industry that wouldn’t benefit from the Scale HC3 or other Scale Computing offerings.
Read Michael Rials's full review
October 02, 2020
Anthony Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scale HC3 is priced especially competitively for the SMB space. For the cost of a high-end alternative you can price-out an extremely robust Scale Cluster. Managing the system does not require extensive staff, nor specialized training, so this is an attractive consideration for smaller organizations, or organizations with relatively smaller tech teams.
Read Anthony Martin's full review
October 02, 2020
Raymond Bilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scale Computing HC3 is very well suited for small-medium sized businesses looking for a redundancy solution that is simply "easy to use" without getting bogged down in licensing costs. The speed of starting up a new machine, whether for testing purposes or for production, is so quick, that I can take a request and provide a new machine within minutes. Allowing IT to not be a stepping stone to get a project up and running, but a gas pedal that drives the business forward.
Read Raymond Bilton's full review
December 01, 2020
Ryan Elsenheimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works very well in an education environment. It is well suited for databases, voicemail systems, mail filtering, domain controller VMs, DHCP VMs, web server VMs, building management system VMs, federated services VMs. I would say the only time we've seen a less appropriate instance would be extremely RAM intensive VMs, as the system ideally reserves 1/3 RAM to maintain its system redundancy against failure, so high RAM workloads cost 1/3 more in essence.
Read Ryan Elsenheimer's full review
December 01, 2020
Greg Starnes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scale Computing HC3 is great for small to medium businesses and I.T. departments. They have a great pane of glass to tell what is going on in the environment. They also scale out very easily. I would also have to say they have some of the best support around.

The only thing I could think that would not be the best scenario for Scale Computing HC3 is in extremely large companies.
Read Greg Starnes's full review
December 01, 2020
Jeffrey Place | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The unit I have is very for small SMBs with few or no full time IT personnel, they can be remotely managed and with the new single node option you can have off-site backup/disaster recovery set up in a very time. I can see how this system can be used with multiple small offices/remote site and can scale up to larger enterprises.
Read Jeffrey Place's full review
November 30, 2020
Zach Hightower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Scale is perfect for small organizations that don't want to buy virtual hosts and storage. They also don't have ridiculous software licensing costs like many other virtual providers.

I am not sure where it would be less appropriate, but they are a lesser known company and there may be scenarios where more known software are compatible with other vendors.
Read Zach Hightower's full review
November 30, 2020
Josh Cope | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

With a combination of great pricing, ease of use, top-notch support, and scalability, Scale Computing really hits the mark for the small and medium business market. They really make things a lot easier for companies with minimal IT staff.
Read Josh Cope's full review
November 27, 2020
james buckey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Less appropriate if you like to get dirty with the details of maintaining the system. Everything else is great. It does exactly what it is supposed to do and is as hands-off as it can be without being a managed service. You do not have to worry about it doing its job. This is my biggest plus. I don't have to worry about it.
Read james buckey's full review
November 27, 2020
Todd Naveau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I believe it is well suited for small to medium-sized businesses that need local servers for employees, web servers, and even FTP sites to store data. Large businesses who need Terabytes of storage for each machine to store data for thousands of employees would be able to use the units, but not to the full effect because that would leave them with no storage to run backups or Disaster Recovery.
Read Todd Naveau's full review
November 25, 2020
Richard Hardcastle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This a great solution for smaller organizations to utilize a virtual environment that takes advantage of hyper converged environment. It has all of our CPU processing, SAN storage, and processing memory in one package that is very easy to monitor utilization and at a very low cost.
Read Richard Hardcastle's full review
November 25, 2020
Thomas Martini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Scale Computing HC3 is well suited for companies that need a lot of storage and performance, but don't have a large budget, or even for ones that do.
Read Thomas Martini's full review
November 25, 2020
Blaine Derek Cappel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Any application that is I/O intensive or mission critical where a virtualized environment is beneficial. Scale Computing HC3 has been a tremendous asset to our information technology infrastructure. Reliable, efficient, easy to use and administer. We did end up taking a video security system server off this solution as it was still better suited for a stand-alone box.
Read Blaine Derek Cappel's full review
November 24, 2020
Ryan Janzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think in small business scenarios where the amount of servers is small and not quite as much granular access to the VM's and datastore is required, this solution meets the business needs quite well and is a great bang for the buck.

In large enterprise scenarios where there are higher volumes of VM's and greater details regarding VM's, resources and datastores are needed this solution is probably not the best fit.
Read Ryan Janzen's full review

What is Scale Computing HC3?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Watch HC3 Success Story - American Foundry Group

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

Scale Computing HC3 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC1200$8,500Per Node
HC1250D$15,170Per Node
HC1250$9,665Per Node
HC1250DF$16,750Per Node
HC5250D$25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Scale Computing HC3's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability and Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Scale Computing HC3?

The most common users of Scale Computing HC3 are from Mid-size Companies and the Government Administration industry.