Scale Computing HC3 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
292 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 203)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Tom Blazek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The biggest impact Scale has had is on my time. I really don't even think about the infrastructure anymore. It has really freed me up to handle other important matters.
  • It's also very nice to know that when I need to upgrade or refresh in the future, I can just swap out servers and have minimal, or no downtime.
Read Tom Blazek's full review
December 18, 2020
Jon Brantner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Server uptime and overall health
  • Immediate availability for growth or increase in server infrastructure without additional hardware costs
Read Jon Brantner's full review
December 11, 2020
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Considering the short time I've had Scale, it's hard to speak to ROI but before purchasing we did compare costs of our previous solution in terms of licensing costs and future hardware costs and Scale was the less expensive option.
  • From purely a power consumption perspective, the Scale solution is definitely a cost saving feature. I find myself with additional circuits that aren't needed any longer in my server room.
  • Even in the short time I've had Scale in place, I can already tell that the uptime is better than with our previous solution.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
November 30, 2020
Jon Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As a one person IT department I always try to streamline and automate whenever possible. The Scale HC3 has reduced time spent on maintaining multiple physical servers and the overall ease of use is great.
  • At the time of purchase their system was at least 10-15,000 less than their competitors.
Read Jon Rich's full review
November 25, 2020
David Roden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our Scale investment will pay for itself in 2 years with the reductions we're seeing in server licensing, management software, backup software, and online backup services.
  • We've had zero downtime attributable to Scale.
Read David Roden's full review
November 03, 2020
Jim Bittel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Partially due to the ease of managing and maintaining the Scale Computing HC3system, we were able to eliminate our MSP.
  • Due to the ease of managing and maintaining the Scale Computing HC3 system, I have more time to engage in higher-level projects.
  • When we calculated the cost savings of eliminating our MSP, not having to purchase additional hardware for 5 years, and time saved managing the system, we'll save over 400k in the next 5 years!
Read Jim Bittel's full review
October 28, 2020
Rex Knepp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With the HC3 system being an "all-in-one" solution, the costs are lower than what we had with our previous virtual system with all of the licensing costs needed for that other system.
Read Rex Knepp's full review
October 20, 2020
Wesley Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The biggest ROI for us has been time. We have saved so much wasted time by cutting down on replacing multiple physical servers with more hardware to maintain.
  • We also have saved quite a bit of money by not having to buy lots of new hardware. Scale nodes make it much easier for us to really take advantage of and allocate resources more efficiently than physical servers ever did.
Read Wesley Johnson's full review
October 07, 2020
Michael Rials | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our experience on both use and ROI has been positive. We’re able to be more flexible to users needs and have achieved much faster response times when something new is needed. We’ve also been able to focus on our quality systems and customer centric systems instead of maintaining a bunch of hardware and spending hours chopping up luns and configuring what workloads need to be run on what servers.
Read Michael Rials's full review
October 02, 2020
Anthony Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have experienced cost reduction to our Disaster Recovery solution. The prior expense of 1 year of DR can now cover multiple years using Scale HC3 with Cloud Unity.
  • Our Scale solution is more cost effective than our legacy solution. The cost of 1 major component (appliance) from our legacy solution was approximately half the cost of our production Scale cluster.
Read Anthony Martin's full review
October 02, 2020
Raymond Bilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Moving from physical MS Window servers to virtual MS Servers running on Scale Computing HC3 in essence provided us with more MS Server licenses automatically.
  • Whether unboxing, setting up a new machine and installing its OS, or performing machine recoveries, time to complete tasks are counted in minutes now, instead of hours.
  • Scale Computing HC3 software updates are applied to one machine at a time, with you in control of each node upgrade, and no downtime to the VMs as it automatically moves the VMs around to allow updates to be applied that need a node to be rebooted.
Read Raymond Bilton's full review
December 01, 2020
Ryan Elsenheimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We've eliminated multiple power intensive servers by amalgamating the workloads on to HC3.
  • The support agreement gives peace of mind against downtime.
  • Our server drive stock is gathering dust as we no longer need to worry about replacing drives and having stock on hand ourselves.
Read Ryan Elsenheimer's full review
December 01, 2020
Greg Starnes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have a full functional DR location with Scale at a very low cost.
  • We have seen a complete ROI with our systems.
  • We don't have to have a dedicated person to handle Scale.
Read Greg Starnes's full review
December 01, 2020
Jeffrey Place | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • TCO is way down. We saved a lot not having to have separate SANs, VM Ware licensing, etc.
  • Down time is minimal since we moved to the HC3 platform. Lower costs from lost production time.
Read Jeffrey Place's full review
November 30, 2020
Zach Hightower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We know what scale is going to cost - This has allowed us to focus on other projects.
  • Scale has provided much more value than the cost. We were able to replace 3 older Dell/HP servers and a SAN cluster with less Scale nodes. This saved us thousands of dollars.
  • Scale is expensive, but not unreasonably so. We were easily able to lease their products to fit our budget.
  • Scale does not use the painful licensing of other companies. It is nice paying for hardware and support and not needless proprietary licenses.
Read Zach Hightower's full review
November 27, 2020
Greg Madden, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The best overall thing I can say about Scale is the increased DR support. If something fails with the scheduled snapshots we have a 10-minute recovery window so we never lose more than 10 minutes of data.
Read Greg Madden, CISSP's full review
November 27, 2020
Todd Naveau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The response time of our internal servers has doubled, and our Public web server has increased by 45%.
  • Our time for managing backups has gone from 2 hours a week to 0. After the schedules are set there's no need to do anything else besides changing the schedule if your needs change.
Read Todd Naveau's full review
November 25, 2020
Richard Hardcastle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Very low cost on the initial purchase of the equipment.
  • No cost support for the first 3 years of ownership.
  • File storage allow us to utilize the the thin-provisioned storage.
Read Richard Hardcastle's full review
November 25, 2020
Blaine Derek Cappel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Peace of mind from servers being in a virtual environment.
  • Good ROI from being able to load multiple servers without having to purchase individual servers appliances.
  • Reduced downtime.
Read Blaine Derek Cappel's full review
November 25, 2020
Chris Nixon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Meeting tight timescales at an affordable price meant our business re-organisation was able to actually occur.
  • Outsource support teams are confused by it - because of its simplicity - they keep trying to make something more complex than it is to keep earning unjustified fees
  • Being able to carry out rolling upgrades with live users on the cluster went just fine
Read Chris Nixon's full review
November 24, 2020
Ryan Janzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are now running in an environment that is under warranty.
  • We have complete redundancy of all our business critical systems.
  • We also have the ability to delegate HC3 admin roles to various staff.
Read Ryan Janzen's full review

What is Scale Computing HC3?

Scale Computing offers edge computing, virtualization, and hyperconverged solutions for customers around the globe. Scale Computing HC3® software promises to eliminate traditional virtualization software, disaster recovery software, servers, and shared storage, replacing these with a fully integrated, highly available system for running applications. The vendor says that, using patented HyperCore™ technology, the HC3 self-healing platform automatically identifies, mitigates, and corrects problems in the infrastructure in real-time, enabling applications to achieve maximum uptime even when local IT resources and staff are scarce. The vendor says ease-of-use, high availability, and TCO are key differentiators. The product works for distributed enterprises, global retailers, and SMBs alike.

According to the vendor, key features and benefits include:

  • Install in less than an hour
  • Deploy new VMs in minutes
  • Built-in Browser-based Management
  • Software-defined, hybrid storage system with automated tiering
  • Fully integrated, cluster-wide resource utilization and alerts
  • Single vendor support experience, no disparate systems to integrate
  • Integrated all-in-one appliance
  • Scale-out Architecture
  • Mix and match new nodes
  • Incremental resources improve performance of existing workloads
  • Fast and easy to expand, no downtime required
  • No additional licensing required
  • Start small and grow as your business grows
  • No forklift upgrades

Scale Computing HC3 Videos (4)

Watch HC3 Success Story - American Foundry Group

Scale Computing HC3 Downloadables

Scale Computing HC3 Integrations

Leostream, Cloud Unity - Google

Scale Computing HC3 Competitors

Scale Computing HC3 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
HC1200$8,500Per Node
HC1250D$15,170Per Node
HC1250$9,665Per Node
HC1250DF$16,750Per Node
HC5250D$25,700Per Node

Pricing shown in U.S. Dollar. Pricing for other regions available on request.

Scale Computing HC3 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
20%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

Scale Computing HC3 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Scale Computing HC3 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Unix
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, EMEA, Australia
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Scale Computing HC3's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability and Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Scale Computing HC3?

The most common users of Scale Computing HC3 are from Mid-size Companies and the Government Administration industry.