TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ul/1M/C9V7DDRQE87F.JPEGSchoology: Big Impact and Learning CapableSchoology is being used district-wide in my school district. Being able to use Schoology has greatly enhanced student participation in classwork, made homework easier to manage for both students and teachers. It also allows student out of class for extended periods, such as illness, to be able to keep up with their classwork. Schoology provides for a seamless integration into classrooms while not being difficult for teachers and students to learn how to use it. The ease in syncing to the district grade book is fast and easy as well.,The ability to integrate Google Drive assignments is wonderful. Adding Google Sheets, Docs, and Slides are very helpful for presentations within the Schoology framework for both students and teachers. Being able to enter assignments in multiple ways and types enhance the learning of the students. The fact that Schoology is so user-friendly is great for both teachers and students to easily acquire the skills to be successful in it. Schoology allows for both collaborations with team members that may not always have the same planning periods and with students. Students are able to contribute and collaborate across class periods into large projects within Schoology. Feedback - it is wonderful that as I grade assignments in Schoology it allows me to give students feedback which is huge that cannot happen as quickly in any other way. I can easily insert a link in my feedback to assist a struggling student or perhaps just to assist a student that needs a little extra help. The ability for students to resubmit an assignment is also easily performed by the students and can be quickly graded by teachers.,The test banks in the personal resources need to be more functional. The ability to be able to create folders for a course and insert multiple test banks within that folder for different units of the same course would be more efficient. Being able to add colors to different folders would also make it easier to identify which course teachers were looking for and separate test and quizzes from the unit and final exams. It would be nice if the tracking of the test banks could be turned on and off so that graphs, charts, political cartoons, and other images could be changed without the need to necessarily change the question. For example, using red for US History, blue for World History, green for Economics, black for Government then within each folder quizzes could be orange, unit exams could be yellow, and finals exams could be purple under each course, or whatever color made sense to the teacher. The graphing capabilities in assessments need to be more functional outside of math. It would be nice if geography students could create population graphs that would include inverted x and y-axis charts to the left of a regular x and y-axis chart with the ability to add age ranges in between them and then have bar graphs going both directions. Economic students need to be able to create dot line charts that curve to demonstrate supply, demand, and equilibrium charts. These also need both the x and y-axis so that price and quantity can be included. Bar graphs need to be able to have multiple bars in groupings so that students can compare the different measurements of GDP across multiple countries. Graphing isn't only for math.,9,I think Schoology overall provides a positive impact for both the learner and the teacher.Schoology is a good productWe are a school district using Schoology as an LMS for blended learning. It allows teachers to facilitate a school to home connection. It is also a source for parents and students to access classroom content beyond the walls of the classroom. Lastly, teachers are able to engage students in conversations beyond the walls of the classroom, building a positive environment of collaboration for a richer learning experience, again, beyond the walls of the classroom.,Schoology will respond pretty quickly to support request. Schoology also integrates with Infinite Campus and Google Drive. There are still bugs to fix, but the process is on-going.,Schoology needs to improve on support. Although they are quick to respond, I have come across some of their support team who have not had a supportive mindset. Schoology needs to improve on the integration with Google. This might not be Schoology's issue, though. Schoology has a place to store resources, but it is just templates. You cannot create specific assignments or assessments in the resources area and they transfer over. This would be a great feature if they could fix this.,8,It has helped many teachers facilitate the school to home connection. It has helped students with access to materials and time management.,Edmodo,G SuiteSchoology: Teacher's New Best FriendOur organization allows individual programs to use the Schoology (Basic) platform as our Learning Management System. It is not used organization-wide, but several programs use it across our multiple campuses. I manage the courses and content for a Digital Media and Video Production vocational program for high school juniors and seniors. Schoology has provided a free utility for creating assignments, distributing and collecting classroom materials, tracking student grades, proctoring quizzes and exams, documenting classroom attendance, and maintaining contact/feedback with parents/guardians. This has allowed us to migrate services that were spread across multiple platforms into one single platform, allowing instructors to focus more on in-class interaction than classroom management.,Gradebook — provides a detailed breakdown of student grades, viewable by class or by the individual student. Integration with other services — Schoology makes a priority to integrate with other common teaching tools (such as EduCanon, TurnItIn, YouTube, Google Drive, and OneDrive). Assignment Distribution and Collection — Schoology allows instructors to distribute and collect assignments digitally, removing the "dog ate my homework" excuse from students. In conjunction with Google Drive / Doc integration, distributing assignments is made easy.,Some functionality blocked by paywall — Schoology offers two levels, Basic and Premium. Basic is available to anyone for free, allowing access to all of the core functionality (building Courses, assignments, gradebooks, etc). Premium offers additional services at an organization-wide level with a subscription. Slow Updates / Upgrades for Free Users — While Schoology has rolled out several great features for Premium users (such as the more advanced "Assessments" assignment mode), free users rarely see any earth-shattering upgrades. Clunky Assignment Creation Utilities — Creating assignments can be cumbersome at times; the assignment creation interface allows basic word processing or HTML options. Unfortunately, this can cause some issues when trying to format text or import objects into the assignment pages. For example, text may not change colors, font sizes, or styles despite selecting new text options. Formatting can slightly change after creating the assignment.,8,Increased time on instruction / more 1-to-1 student time. User-friendly compilation of classroom tools (fewer accounts needed to achieve similar results offered by various other individual services) Free version allows individual classrooms to manage class materials without a subscription/license fee.,Blackboard,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Premiere Pro, Adobe Illustrator CC, Google Drive, Final Cut Pro X, OneDriveSchoology ReviewFor the first four years of my teaching career I taught at schools that were not digital. Because I had little experience using technology, I was nervous when I was hired into a school district that was 100% digital with a 1:1 device to student ratio. Schoology was a completely foreign word to me when it was brought up at our new teacher training sessions. It’s hard to believe that only one year later I’m teaching Schoology to other educators in my district.I quickly realized that Schoology was not going to be an extra hassle to deal with in my class, but a lifesaver instead. It was an incredible way to keep my my resources organized in one location where I didn’t have to waste time searching for them. It was also the perfect home site for my students who immediately logged into Schoology each morning where they could find all of their assignments and materials for the entire day. Color-coated folders and the ability to add photos to courses made our journey even easier. As a past user of both Microsoft and Google classrooms, I wouldn’t trade Schoology for either of them. I have never used another platform that combines so many different capabilities into one location. Its user-friendly design and variety of functionalities makes it the perfect LMS for any digital teacher.,Schoology promotes classroom community through discussions and other collaborative features. Schoology makes it easy for educators to share resources with each other. Schoology promotes student choice by giving the ability to post a number of different activities and assessments.,I would like to see Schoology add an area for students to create freely and submit work to the teacher that has not been assigned.,10,Schoology has helped my school reach its goal of becoming 100% digital and paperless.,Schoology - Highly RecommendedSchoology is used across our entire organization (Byron Center Public Schools). We use Schoology as a platform for teaching, communication with students, assigning and collecting assignments, and administering tests. This addresses many business "problems" -- by engaging in one program, district wide, for communicating with and teaching students, we are able to better reach our students and their individual needs.,User-Friendly: Schoology is easy to navigate for both teachers, administration, and students. This is important because this helps users get the most out of their Schoology experience without running into frustrating mishaps. Several Features: Schoology is multi-faceted. Teachers can assign tests and assignments, as well as post class updates, polls, and videos. Students are able to be enrolled in several classes at once so they have one spot as reference for all of their classes Differentiated Instruction: Teachers are able to individually assign assignments and tests to students/classes, making differentiated instruction easy.,The prime version of Schoology has some kinks that could be worked out with linking to a Gradebook - the grades do not always transfer over, and in the event a teacher changes them, you have to manually enter the grade in the gradebook. Schoology Update font options - It would be great to be able to highlight and change the color of fonts right in the Schoology update menu,10,This is hard to quantify given that our data is not directly related to or as a result of Schoology. It does, however, undoubtedly contribute to our high test scores because of how accessible all of our learning content is through Schoology.,Moodle, Blackboard and Google Classroom,Wix, PowerSchool Student Information System
Unspecified
Schoology
104 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Schoology Reviews

Schoology
104 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 104 vetted Schoology reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 91)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Leslie Nash profile photo
November 30, 2018

Review: "Schoology: Big Impact and Learning Capable"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is being used district-wide in my school district. Being able to use Schoology has greatly enhanced student participation in classwork, made homework easier to manage for both students and teachers. It also allows student out of class for extended periods, such as illness, to be able to keep up with their classwork. Schoology provides for a seamless integration into classrooms while not being difficult for teachers and students to learn how to use it. The ease in syncing to the district grade book is fast and easy as well.
  • The ability to integrate Google Drive assignments is wonderful. Adding Google Sheets, Docs, and Slides are very helpful for presentations within the Schoology framework for both students and teachers. Being able to enter assignments in multiple ways and types enhance the learning of the students.
  • The fact that Schoology is so user-friendly is great for both teachers and students to easily acquire the skills to be successful in it. Schoology allows for both collaborations with team members that may not always have the same planning periods and with students. Students are able to contribute and collaborate across class periods into large projects within Schoology.
  • Feedback - it is wonderful that as I grade assignments in Schoology it allows me to give students feedback which is huge that cannot happen as quickly in any other way. I can easily insert a link in my feedback to assist a struggling student or perhaps just to assist a student that needs a little extra help. The ability for students to resubmit an assignment is also easily performed by the students and can be quickly graded by teachers.
  • The test banks in the personal resources need to be more functional. The ability to be able to create folders for a course and insert multiple test banks within that folder for different units of the same course would be more efficient. Being able to add colors to different folders would also make it easier to identify which course teachers were looking for and separate test and quizzes from the unit and final exams. It would be nice if the tracking of the test banks could be turned on and off so that graphs, charts, political cartoons, and other images could be changed without the need to necessarily change the question. For example, using red for US History, blue for World History, green for Economics, black for Government then within each folder quizzes could be orange, unit exams could be yellow, and finals exams could be purple under each course, or whatever color made sense to the teacher.
  • The graphing capabilities in assessments need to be more functional outside of math. It would be nice if geography students could create population graphs that would include inverted x and y-axis charts to the left of a regular x and y-axis chart with the ability to add age ranges in between them and then have bar graphs going both directions. Economic students need to be able to create dot line charts that curve to demonstrate supply, demand, and equilibrium charts. These also need both the x and y-axis so that price and quantity can be included. Bar graphs need to be able to have multiple bars in groupings so that students can compare the different measurements of GDP across multiple countries. Graphing isn't only for math.
Schoology is functional for use in class every day and for assignments homework outside of class. The ability to analyze assignments can assist teachers in meeting the needs of all students. The archive of Schoology function of Schoology is great for retrieving the previous year's lesson plans and assignments, which also allows a teacher to adjust those assignments as needed. It is more difficult to use in the elementary classroom, but that exposure will also help students work in it better at the intermediate, middle, high school levels.
Read Leslie Nash's full review
Kelley Stone profile photo
November 13, 2018

User Review: "Schoology is a good product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a school district using Schoology as an LMS for blended learning. It allows teachers to facilitate a school to home connection. It is also a source for parents and students to access classroom content beyond the walls of the classroom. Lastly, teachers are able to engage students in conversations beyond the walls of the classroom, building a positive environment of collaboration for a richer learning experience, again, beyond the walls of the classroom.
  • Schoology will respond pretty quickly to support request.
  • Schoology also integrates with Infinite Campus and Google Drive. There are still bugs to fix, but the process is on-going.
  • Schoology needs to improve on support. Although they are quick to respond, I have come across some of their support team who have not had a supportive mindset.
  • Schoology needs to improve on the integration with Google. This might not be Schoology's issue, though.
  • Schoology has a place to store resources, but it is just templates. You cannot create specific assignments or assessments in the resources area and they transfer over. This would be a great feature if they could fix this.
Schoology is a good product and the company overall is always willing to listen to ideas and improve. Their growth mindset will help them to be come a leader in the industry.
Read Kelley Stone's full review
Dan Talvi profile photo
October 18, 2018

User Review: "Schoology: Teacher's New Best Friend"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization allows individual programs to use the Schoology (Basic) platform as our Learning Management System. It is not used organization-wide, but several programs use it across our multiple campuses. I manage the courses and content for a Digital Media and Video Production vocational program for high school juniors and seniors. Schoology has provided a free utility for creating assignments, distributing and collecting classroom materials, tracking student grades, proctoring quizzes and exams, documenting classroom attendance, and maintaining contact/feedback with parents/guardians. This has allowed us to migrate services that were spread across multiple platforms into one single platform, allowing instructors to focus more on in-class interaction than classroom management.
  • Gradebook — provides a detailed breakdown of student grades, viewable by class or by the individual student.
  • Integration with other services — Schoology makes a priority to integrate with other common teaching tools (such as EduCanon, TurnItIn, YouTube, Google Drive, and OneDrive).
  • Assignment Distribution and Collection — Schoology allows instructors to distribute and collect assignments digitally, removing the "dog ate my homework" excuse from students. In conjunction with Google Drive / Doc integration, distributing assignments is made easy.
  • Some functionality blocked by paywall — Schoology offers two levels, Basic and Premium. Basic is available to anyone for free, allowing access to all of the core functionality (building Courses, assignments, gradebooks, etc). Premium offers additional services at an organization-wide level with a subscription.
  • Slow Updates / Upgrades for Free Users — While Schoology has rolled out several great features for Premium users (such as the more advanced "Assessments" assignment mode), free users rarely see any earth-shattering upgrades.
  • Clunky Assignment Creation Utilities — Creating assignments can be cumbersome at times; the assignment creation interface allows basic word processing or HTML options. Unfortunately, this can cause some issues when trying to format text or import objects into the assignment pages. For example, text may not change colors, font sizes, or styles despite selecting new text options. Formatting can slightly change after creating the assignment.
Overall, Schoology provides a solid learning management system on par with Blackboard. Schoology is best utilized in environments where students have 1:1 access to computers, laptops, or smart devices for extended periods of the class period. With mobile apps also available, instructors can choose to allow students to use their personal devices to access Schoology functionality for in-class discussions, assessments, or updates.

Schoology is also best suited for secondary education purposes (8-12 grade) and higher education, as much of the social interaction and assessment functionality may be difficult for younger students to utilize and/or navigate. However, primary education instructors may find Schoology to be beneficial for digital record keeping, tracking grades, and parent/teacher communications.
Read Dan Talvi's full review
Janie Everett profile photo
December 03, 2018

"Schoology Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

For the first four years of my teaching career I taught at schools that were not digital. Because I had little experience using technology, I was nervous when I was hired into a school district that was 100% digital with a 1:1 device to student ratio. Schoology was a completely foreign word to me when it was brought up at our new teacher training sessions. It’s hard to believe that only one year later I’m teaching Schoology to other educators in my district.

I quickly realized that Schoology was not going to be an extra hassle to deal with in my class, but a lifesaver instead. It was an incredible way to keep my my resources organized in one location where I didn’t have to waste time searching for them. It was also the perfect home site for my students who immediately logged into Schoology each morning where they could find all of their assignments and materials for the entire day. Color-coated folders and the ability to add photos to courses made our journey even easier.

As a past user of both Microsoft and Google classrooms, I wouldn’t trade Schoology for either of them. I have never used another platform that combines so many different capabilities into one location. Its user-friendly design and variety of functionalities makes it the perfect LMS for any digital teacher.


  • Schoology promotes classroom community through discussions and other collaborative features.
  • Schoology makes it easy for educators to share resources with each other.
  • Schoology promotes student choice by giving the ability to post a number of different activities and assessments.
  • I would like to see Schoology add an area for students to create freely and submit work to the teacher that has not been assigned.
Schoology is excellent for the school setting at all grade levels. I have found uses for it in every grade from Kindergarten through Senior Year.
Read Janie Everett's full review
Erika Muller profile photo
November 08, 2018

User Review: "Schoology - Highly Recommended"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is used across our entire organization (Byron Center Public Schools). We use Schoology as a platform for teaching, communication with students, assigning and collecting assignments, and administering tests.

This addresses many business "problems" -- by engaging in one program, district wide, for communicating with and teaching students, we are able to better reach our students and their individual needs.
  • User-Friendly: Schoology is easy to navigate for both teachers, administration, and students. This is important because this helps users get the most out of their Schoology experience without running into frustrating mishaps.
  • Several Features: Schoology is multi-faceted. Teachers can assign tests and assignments, as well as post class updates, polls, and videos. Students are able to be enrolled in several classes at once so they have one spot as reference for all of their classes
  • Differentiated Instruction: Teachers are able to individually assign assignments and tests to students/classes, making differentiated instruction easy.
  • The prime version of Schoology has some kinks that could be worked out with linking to a Gradebook - the grades do not always transfer over, and in the event a teacher changes them, you have to manually enter the grade in the gradebook.
  • Schoology Update font options - It would be great to be able to highlight and change the color of fonts right in the Schoology update menu
Schoology is well-suited for any educational environment where students have access to technology in school. Out students are one-to-one, so every student has a computer, so Schoology is a great platform for everything we do. It would not be as well-suited if technology was not integrated into a school or classroom on a daily basis.
Read Erika Muller's full review
Christine Logsdon profile photo
November 06, 2018

User Review: "Schoology Made Me More Effective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology has been used as our primary LMS for about 5 years. During that time, its use has spread to district wide. It is an excellent source for managing student work and keeping parents in the loop.
  • Schoology allows me to create assignments within a folder, assign them to students, and give feedback on their work. No more, "The teacher lost my assignment."
  • Schoology allows me to develop effective assessments that rely on a variety of questioning levels, attach learning objectives to each question to give students purpose, and give fast feedback.
  • Schoology allows me to track student progress by standards or traditional grading scales, allowing for complete flexibility.
  • While Schoology has added the ability to load assignments from Google Drive to Schoology when creating assignments, it is unusable on iPads. This has been frustrating, but is easily worked around.
  • Initially, the assessments were a bit hard to navigate, especially when trying to set submission parameters, but if you have done it once, it's actually quite easy.
  • There are occasional glitches in giving student feedback where your comments are not visible to students, but this has become less of an issue with the update.
I use it to assign and collect student work, create assessments that are comprehensive and effective, and to develop self paced units of study based on student request. It has really streamlined my workflow and allows me to give immediate feedback.
Read Christine Logsdon's full review
Ai Ashe profile photo
October 25, 2018

User Review: "Schoology for Education"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Schoology as a learning management tool where students review assignments, resources and submit assignments online. It allows students to access their assignments and resources at home or away from the classroom and it makes learning management more convenient for the instructor and the students. My school uses Google products for learning and able to use link resources from the google drive for my students makes it easy for them to access all materials.
  • Great interface, easy to use.
  • Parent access code allows parents to monitor their children's learning.
  • Notifications of resubmitted work is the most useful.
  • Some of my students have difficulty signing in because Schoology linked them to a formal foreign language class. I found a workaround.
Best suited in an educational environment; could possibly be used for project management.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Isha Gangopadhaya profile photo
October 19, 2018

User Review: "Schoology conquers all"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I started using Schoology since last year so it's been more than a year now. Last year, I taught fourth graders and this year, I am teaching first grade. I have implemented online teaching and blended learning via Schoology. I am also responsible for helping other teachers on campus with successfully implementing schoology with their students in class.
  • My students love emailing me via Schoology.
  • Before, homework wasn't something to look forward to but now my kids ask me to assign them homework on Schoology.
  • Schoology has made grading so much easier.
  • I love the rubrics provided by Schoology.
  • My students ' parents are always updated about homework, upcoming events, newsletters, pictures, and videos via parent folder on Schoology.
  • I would love Schoology and YouTube to talk to each other. My kids are unable to watch a video on Schoology via YouTube in school. I know the school district blocks it but there has to be a way out.
  • Please work on the students' usernames. They are too long!
  • I would like Schoology to have avatars like Class Dojo, instead of badges. I know the kids would love that. 😊🙂
Last year, when I had a challenging group of kids who weren't too excited about writing and they had to take the STAAR Writing Test (state test in Texas,) Schoology was a blessing! Kids started to enjoy writing and the assignments became interesting again, thanks to Schoology.
Read Isha Gangopadhaya's full review
Saloni Hemani profile photo
October 18, 2018

Review: "Schoology: Great for Teachers and Communication with Students"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is used by our entire school- all teachers use Schoology to upload homework assignments, tests, quizzes, class work etc. It addresses the need to have electronic access to assignments and gives teachers the chance to have one location to post assignments and grades. It eases the grading process as all submissions are in one location- also making it easier to see late assignments, etc.
  • Posting Assignments
  • Grading Assignments
  • Using Schoology Rubrics to grade
  • Time management for students as it shows due dates and upcoming assignments in order by date
  • It is hard to find a student by name
  • The loading takes a very long time when grading submitted papers
  • The formatting of Word documents is messed up when using the viewing feature. I always have to download the paper to view the formatting correctly
Any teacher who needs Schoology to post and grade assignments, this is a great time to use Schoology. It allows the teacher to store all assignments, and go back to archived classes from previous years as well, which can be very helpful. It is won't be as appropriate if the teachers want the parents to be able to view their grades. There is no functionality of parent access which can be hard.
Read Saloni Hemani's full review
Kate Patterson profile photo
October 18, 2018

User Review: "Love Schoology"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is being used by my entire school district. Different groups have different needs and uses for Schoology. Schoology allows teachers to more effectively reach students, differentiate learning, and analyze data derived from student work.
  • I enjoy that it has an app so my students can securely message me and it reaches my phone instantly.
  • I can keep my home bound/ sick students up to date on what we are doing in class.
  • The test bank function cuts down on the amount of cheating during a test because students will never have the same questions in the same order.
  • I can create interactive and differentiated assignments to reach students at all levels.
  • I love that Schoology grades my assessments for me and then puts the grade in my gradebook for me saving me tons of time.
  • I would like to be able to upload videos that I have made on my computer instead of putting my videos on YouTube and linking them on Schoology.
  • I would like the ability for students to graph equations on assessments.
I think Schoology is great for all types and levels of classrooms. I use it to help me teach math and I also use it for my swim team. Obviously I don’t encourage all of your class to be on Schoology during class time, but it’s a great supplement for out of class time and to supplement learning in class.
Read Kate Patterson's full review
Ben Westby profile photo
October 17, 2018

User Review: "Schoology at the District Level"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is used district-wide amongst 13 schools. We use it to collaborate between colleagues and students. It has been very helpful to coordinate lesson plans and upload documents for students to work on.
  • It does scheduled posts and assignments really well.
  • It links to our Google Drive seamlessly.
  • It connects to our LMS very well, which makes grading very easy to do.
  • The interface on the iPad/iOS app could be smoother.
  • The connection to Google Drive could be more user-friendly.
It’s perfect for an upper elementary or secondary grade level environment. It’s not super helpful at the intermediate/lower elementary level. It’s a little difficult for students to navigate.
Read Ben Westby's full review
Sean Coffron profile photo
November 17, 2018

User Review: "Schoology - the Next Generation of LMS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is an excellent program for facilitating more effective and efficient learning for stakeholders. Whether being used in the classroom or in the organization as a training platform, this learning management system is organized, user-friendly, and function driven. More importantly, it evolves to meet the demands of the market and illustrate best practices. Definitely recommended for any firm interested in keeping colleagues informed, educated, and engaged in the professional community.
  • Instructional Design
  • Organization of resources
  • User interface
  • Integration with Student Information System
  • Content Creation Platform
Best for a learning management system that integrates multiple resources into a single template. I have never used it for content creation, it is much better suited from bringing together resources to create a seamless user interface.
Read Sean Coffron's full review
Kate Berger profile photo
July 19, 2018

Review: "Schoology: User Friendly and Major Impacts"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is used by all teachers at our school. It allows us to streamline student and parent communication, as well as innovate on ways students are able to learn and demonstrate their learning. From technophobes to early adopters, all of our team members have embraced Schoology because of its easy user interface and intuitive nature.
  • The streamlined grading system that tracks assignments and standards mastery -- this is the most intuitive, organized grading system I have ever used.
  • Engaging student and staff discussions -- students and staff jump right in due to the ease of use -- and they are easy to grade!
  • App integration -- it is easy to incorporate the G Suite and other applications.
  • Chat -- we wish Schoology could have a chat program like Facebook.
  • School-level control -- we wish we could push out a grading scale to all teachers automatically for organization.
Schoology is excellent -- we had immediate buy-in from staff because of the ease of use. Our early adopters were able to customize Schoology and come up with exciting connections to outside apps. Our students became fluent with Schoology within a month and use it to communicate with teachers. Teachers are also able to communicate seamlessly with parents.
Read Kate Berger's full review
Eric Chamberlin profile photo
November 06, 2018

User Review: "Schoology is a slam dunk!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I arrived in this school district to find that they did not have a Learning Management System. I have experience with a handful of other companies, and knew that in order to achieve the goals we have, that a strong LMS would be a vital component of our program. I looked at a handful of companies but quickly knew that Schoology was the right choice for Salem. First, it is aligns with Standards Based Practices which Salem is adopting K-12. Secondly, the user interface is very easy to understand and use. Other reasons were the strong mobile apps, the LTI integrations with apps such as Nearpod, CK-12 and others, and the Google Drive integration. We began a pilot program in the spring of 2018 and purchased the Enterprise district level program in the summer. We now have almost 1000 students and over 200 staff using it daily, and are also leveraging it to support our new teacher induction program and other professional development programs over the summer.
  • Ease of use
  • Mobile App
  • Social Media connections
  • Ability to individually assign folders within courses
  • Continue to strengthen the assessments, including test banks
Schoology is well suited across the K-12 spectrum. 3rd grade teachers are leveraging the discussions feature and the ease of LTI connections with 3rd party apps. I think Schoology can be well suited to all age groups, including Higher ed and adult learners.
Read Eric Chamberlin's full review
Candice Ottaviani profile photo
November 06, 2018

User Review: "Schoology-time saver and user friendly"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is being used by those educators who have chosen to, it is not mandated. Those who use it post daily, informing students of their daily agendas, assignments, readings, and ongoing projects/assessments. Files can be uploaded to have a paperless classroom. Assessments can be built in and scored automatically giving students immediate feedback.
  • Can build assessments to provide instant feedback for students, and greatly assist the grading process
  • Schoology gradebook can be synced to an outside gradebook for easy transfer
  • Allows the sharing of documents, including Google Docs, so a paperless classroom is possible
  • Keeps a running record of daily posts for students who are absent
  • Issues with "resubmitted" assignments. It is not easy to see what has been resubmitted or to clear those submissions from your "to-do" list
Best suited for academic classes where a computer would not be a hindrance.
Read Candice Ottaviani's full review
Marci Karoll profile photo
July 09, 2018

Review: "Parents Partner with Schools using Schoology"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After testing several LMS products, including Schoology and Google Classroom, we chose the enterprise version of Schoology. In addition to its relatively intuitive design and amazing teacher/educator network and support community, Schoology fulfills our need for transparency in our school/home partnership.
  • The grade book is easy to use and share with parents as well as students.
  • Schoology integrates with our SIS, for grades, using Clever.
  • Support via chat enables us to get a quick response.
  • Some of the feature requests remain unresolved.
  • We would like to be able to download attendance so we can integrate it in our SIS.
Schoology is a great way to help students organize their work and for teachers to identify areas of concern for students.
Read Marci Karoll's full review
Diane Lytle profile photo
July 16, 2018

User Review: "Schoology Snippets"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our university is starting our third year using Schoology after transitioning over from Moodle. What a difference! Company support and tutorials are top-notch. They ask for and receive input from users. Their annual users' conference is phenomenal - extremely practical (but also extremely expensive). They started in the K-12 market and are still adjusting to working with higher ed clients. Looking forward to our partnership with them for years to come as they respond to the challenges we have with reporting to accrediting agencies, etc.
  • Easy user interface
  • Looks like Facebook
  • Plays well with other programs
  • Need automated reports for accrediting purposes
  • Ability to grade individual discussion posts
  • Use of flash problematic for some
Education learning management system and social network within an institution or school district (for K-12).
Read Diane Lytle's full review
Kate Faulkner profile photo
July 09, 2018

User Review: "Schoology Scores Big"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our district has been using Schoology as our LMS for the past year. It has been a lifesaver! The curriculum is easy to navigate and teachers are able to collaborate between campuses with ease. We also use Schoology for professional development courses, and it has completely revolutionized PD in our district.
  • Intuitive User Interface
  • Embedded Web Tools
  • Integration with SIS
  • More functionality to groups that can mirror courses
I think Schoology is well suited for districts of any size and any available technology. Even if your district is far from 1:1, there are a ton of Schoology features that would fit your needs.
Read Kate Faulkner's full review
Stacy Dunn profile photo
March 20, 2018

User Review: "Schoology Is My New Best Friend!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is used by my district as our learning management system. Using an LMS is optional this year. I am the tech coach in my building as well as a teacher so I am full on Schoology and LOVE IT!! This is my class hub - kids know to go there to find everything they need for the day! I currently teach using a blended learning model so the kids have folders set up to work through. Using the folder feature allows me to easily differentiate instruction - I have kids working on different sections all at once - and class runs smoothly! Schoology easily integrates many apps. This allows me to assign a video to watch from youtube or give assignments through Schoology as well as integrated apps like ck12.org - all without making students leave the Schoology platform! Schoology has allowed me to operate a paperless classroom for both outgoing and incoming material. I can grade assignments on my laptop, phone, or iPad while I have a few minutes without having to lug around papers! Schoology is a great tool that helps me organize my class and use my time effectively!
  • Easily organizes materials for students and teachers with the ability to reuse those materials from year to year without recreating them!
  • Easily allows my students to work at their own pace without a lot of work on my end to differentiate instruction!
  • Creates a learning hub where all of their materials are distributed as well as submitted (if you decide to go paperless)
  • While Schoology currently integrates Khan academy videos into their platform they do not have that option for Khan academy activities/assignments
  • Syncing issues with powerschool gradesbook - sometimes it is inconsistent as to whether it is automatic or if I need to sync the grades manually
Schoology can be used in all types of classroom models from traditional to flipped learning! The only issue I see where it would be less beneficial is if students don't have access to devices (laptop, Chromebook, phone, iPad, etc) and wifi.
Read Stacy Dunn's full review
Bryan Brutto profile photo
April 27, 2018

Review: "Schoology is a Key Component to Enhancing Rigor and Relevance in our School"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school (grades 4-12) was looking for a solution that allowed us to begin to build hybrid/blending learning opportunities for our students along with leverage technology to increase the rigor and relevance of our course expectations. Schoology's platform has helped us streamline communication with our school, work towards specific 21st-century teaching and learning goals, and engage our learners through supportive learning technology that is aligned to our school's mission and vision. If you are a school looking for a comprehensive LMS system to support the amazing work happening in your classrooms then I recommend that you look into adopting the Schoology LMS platform.
  • Intuitive platform
  • Responsive to user requests for enhancements
  • Amazing technical support
  • Need to expand LTI Application library.
Schoology's platform adoption has gone very smoothly in our schools, grades 6-12. We are adopting the platform in grades 4 and 5 next year. In my experience with Primary Grade learners, the platform may not be appropriate for students in grades lower than 4th grade unless it was utilized strictly within classroom settings with guidance from an instructor.
Read Bryan Brutto's full review
Shannon Ziegler profile photo
February 28, 2018

User Review: "We love Schoology!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of the secondary schools (teachers and students) in our school district, as well as all district staff (for professional development), utilize Schoology.
  • Departments can build units/lessons/resources together in group resources. This keeps curriculum consistent amongst teachers and buildings.
  • Students have a consistent layout from teacher to teacher, and because we have the enterprise version that integrates with PowerSchool, their courses are created automatically.
  • Teachers can use this platform for professional development courses.
  • Still waiting for the Assessments feature to be completed - it's sort of in "beta" right now, which can be frustrating.
  • Teachers have stated they would like auto-save to happen within the platform so answers do not get lost.
  • Has a great integration with Google Drive, but the Google Drive Assignments feature (new feature) is a little disjointed. It works pretty well, though!
This is well suited for school districts for students, curriculum building/housing, and for professional development. I'm not sure this would fulfill a large company's need for professional development and training.
Read Shannon Ziegler's full review
David Wallace profile photo
February 23, 2018

"Schoology Review!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our district uses Schoology to provide online 24/7 access to course materials. Teachers use it to develop lessons, share resources, and assess students learning. We also use Schoology to coordinate many of our school groups and athletic activities.
  • Listen to users.
  • Provide consistent access.
  • Streamline the process of sharing resources for teachers.
  • Increased interactivity in the assignments.
  • Improve the reporting of data following assessments.
  • Improve question types in assessments.
I have had a hard time finding an LMS that has the full range of features from a gradebook and attendance to full assessment features, discussion boards, and assignments.
Read David Wallace's full review
No photo available
February 13, 2018

User Review: "Loving Schoology"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology (the enterprise version) is used in my entire school district. This LMS helps organize teachers and students, and makes learning accessible anytime.
  • Organization for students & teachers
  • Teacher can provide valuable feedback to students
  • Grading takes less time on Schoology
  • The assessment platform isn’t truly user friendly. It lacks meaningful data.
Schoology is great for schools focused on 21st century skills. This LMS lends itself well to include best practices for teaching and learning. Schoology is great for blending learning & is has easy functionality for both students and teachers. I don’t see this LMS being inappropriate for any setting.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Rich profile photo
November 22, 2017

User Review: "Why we love Schoology"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across our 34 K-12 schools, we use Schoology as our LMS. It is an amazing solution as the hub for all of our digitals tools. It connects all stakeholders and focuses on the learner. Students are able to navigate across multiple classes. Teachers are able to provide timely and appropriate feedback. Parents are able to view not just student grades, but teacher comments, student work, and more. We could not be a future ready school without Schoology.
  • Schoology does an amazing job of keeping students organized. No more lost assignments. No more backpacks full of black holes.
  • Schoology frees up teachers' time. It allows them to provide individualized feedback.
  • Schoology is a great way for parents to be connected right into the heart of a classroom.
  • The new Assessment Tool is a work in progress and has great potential.
Schoology is perfect for the digital classroom environment where all students have access to a device. It is a great tool to get the entire school on the same page. The student calendar helps them be more organized. The Advisee role allows for counselors to provide focused and direct intervention to struggling learners.
Read Mike Rich's full review
Brian Bruggeman profile photo
November 21, 2017

Review: "Schoology creates success for students and staff"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schoology is a Learning Management system that is used in both the middle school and the high school where I teach. It is being used to help deliver content, assess student proficiency, and develop skills in our students that will aide them in post secondary success.
  • One way in which I believe that Schoology is a high leverage educational tool is its ability to communicate with students and families. I love the intuitive design of the user interface, which allows me to provide the families I serve with information that they can quickly access and use to develop student knowledge.
  • Another feature of this platform that I find valuable is their assessment features. I utilize these assessments regularly. This feature allows me to quickly ascertain where my students are in their level of proficiency and make quick, targeted corrections to student misconceptions.
  • Another thing that I enjoy about working with this company is their focus on their users. I have attended their annual user conference twice and I have never met people in a system who are so totally dedicated to making their product work for their customers. They are truly focused on each user or systems success with their platform.
  • I would like to see them continue to develop their assessment platform to provide more meaningful analytics of both group and individual performances.
  • I like how the community of users have a forum to aide each other. However, on rare occasion the feed is a little overwhelming.
  • I would like more information about hooking more parents into the platform so that they could interact better with the school and their children.
Schoology works exceptionally well in school settings that are focused on new and innovative learning practices. The platform lends itself very well to incorporating best practices of teaching and learning. As more schools turn to professional learning community style structures, Schoology allows for collaboration across a school system. I truly believe that its only limitation is user creativity.
Read Brian Bruggeman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (15)
9.0
Course catalog or library (8)
7.9
Player/Portal (10)
6.7
Learning content (14)
7.7
Mobile friendly (16)
8.0
Progress tracking & certifications (14)
7.8
Assignments (16)
9.0
Compliance management (8)
7.0
Learning administration (11)
8.2
Learning reporting & analytics (13)
8.0
Social learning (13)
8.2

About Schoology

Schoology is a learning management system (LMS). The Basic Package is free for instructors and includes features such as an Academic Activity Dashboard, Instructional Tools and a Native Document Grader. The Enterprise Package includes the Basic Package and additional features such as: Systemwide Administration, User Management, and Workload Planning.

Schoology Competitors

Schoology Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No