ScienceLogic SL1 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
247 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 143)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 16, 2021
Andy Roughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Science Logic SL1 as our monitoring and event-based automation tool to help manage our managed service customers networks and infrastructure. We also offer a Monitoring as a Service proposition, where our clients can just purchase a monitoring and automation service only.

ScienceLogic helps solve a number of problems:
  1. Monitoring of status and performance of assets and services.
  2. Displays and views via dashboards and Business Service views of the overall health/risk and performance of key higher-level services.
  3. Event-based automation. ScienceLogic is a great platform to launch automated actions from. It comes with a large number of pre-build infrastructure specific scripts, which are easy to customize (with basic knowledge of Python).
  4. Integration with other IT deliver tools such as ITSM tooling & CMDB.
  5. Auto-generation of network maps that show asset dependency.
ScienceLogic is a great tool to bring together aspects of service operations and lead a customer from a reactive firefighting position towards a more mature operational model. The industry buzzword, AIOps, is a good one and ScienceLogic will start the journey to automating support and operations functions.
Read Andy Roughton's full review
April 16, 2021
Matthew Levitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ScienceLogic across the organization to monitor both our
infrastructure and the health endpoints of services, and have found it gives us
great visibility of system health. We are currently exploring moving away from competent
level dashboarding and moving to dashboarding that will display the business
services and show the impact a component failure has on that service as well as
any other services dependent or linked to it.





In 2020 we carried out a migration to ScienceLogic’s SaaS platform
to remove the requirement of both hosting and managing onsite DBs and this has
also opened up new opportunities we are exploring within ScienceLogic.

Read Matthew Levitt's full review
March 04, 2021
Aditya Dev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole organization for monitoring the network devices availability and performance. It is used to monitor the devices on various parameters and get the case logged automatically in case of some issue for the appropriate team to look into and get it fixed before the impact becomes huge. From packet drops on interfaces to availability of the device all are being very well taken care by the ScienceLogic.
Read Aditya Dev's full review
March 02, 2021
Matthew Carter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a managed services provider, we use ScienceLogic internally as well as in support of our customers for monitoring. We utilize it for availability and performance monitoring across all customers and internally. The data gathered is also used for sizing/re-sizing, application requirements planning, and continuous improvement cycles. We utilize the platform for automation for remediation and alerting/ticketing.
Read Matthew Carter's full review
March 02, 2021
Rob Duram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are an MSP providing monitoring and analytics services to audio/video and UC customers. We use SL1 to monitor customers' audio / video integrated rooms and UC endpoint-enabled rooms including Poly, Cisco and LifeSize devices. We have a 24/7 customer support operation centered around receiving customer device events from SL1, auto-generating tickets into our ITSM platform and providing real-time analytics and trending report analysis through SL1 collected data. This data and analytics help customers make business decision surrounding the use and optimal deployment of their conferencing and enriched media services to their internal teams.
Read Rob Duram's full review
May 17, 2021
Haniel Carlos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ScienceLogic SL1 as our modes of monitoring of our devices within the company. We use multi vendor platform that are enrolled in SciLo. We use this platform to schedule maintenance window when we have activities, change, and other tasks. We also use it to monitor certificates and uptime of the devices.
Read Haniel Carlos's full review
May 17, 2021
Lordwill Manaloto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ScieLo is very useful, especially to us engineers, it makes our life easier and efficient as the automation from monitoring (networks and certificates validity) and integration to Snow ( ticket creation for any alert/error).
Read Lordwill Manaloto's full review
May 16, 2021
Matthew James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ScienceLogic SL1 will be used to bring order from the chaos. Before ScienceLogic SL1, we had numerous stand-alone monitoring systems and all alerted on their own. With ScienceLogic SL1, we are working towards a single pane of glass and allow our NOC to look at one screen instead of twenty seven different monitors.
Read Matthew James's full review
May 11, 2021
Ron Naef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Multi-tended customer and internal managed service provider monitoring. Used across the company by technology owners and developers. Addresses inventory and network monitoring system servicing to CDW and its clients.
Read Ron Naef's full review
May 17, 2021
Steve Winton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're still in pilot phase to see if we can get the same efficiencies as other organisations have through their deployments.
Read Steve Winton's full review
May 11, 2021
Mickey Mehta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we are using ScienceLogic for one of our accounts as it is a rich platform and it connects so many technologies.
Read Mickey Mehta's full review
March 03, 2021
sahaj patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using ScienceLogic SL1 for our managed services business. It is used to manage and monitor all internal infrastructure as well. As of yet, we haven't addressed any milestones from our previous monitoring tool. COGS are a first-hand business problem that it has addressed.
Read sahaj patel's full review
April 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining our company website's health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability.

We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.
Read this authenticated review
May 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've been using SL1 for some years for infrastructure and application capacity monitoring and we've been satisfied with the tool. The SaaS, agentless, open/customized tool brought us the opportunity to monitor our customer devices with power packs (some good, others not so much) and create our own monitoring collections, presentations, and monitors, which was good. The quick data warehouse and report/dashboard capabilities are a plus for the tool as well, for simple purposes they can fulfill what is required.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used it as the AIOps platform to do the proactive monitoring. In addition to that, we are also tied into our ServiceNow. It is used by the department and expanding to BU. The main focus of the ScienceLogic is to provide monitoring in a relationship, this gives the team the opportunity to quantify a lot of gaps that we had before.
Read this authenticated review
March 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We uses SL1 to monitor computer systems for availability and performance metrics. It is used for all necessary monitoring needs across the company. SL1 allows us to very quickly respond to outages as well as making informed decisions with performance metrics.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ScienceLogic as our proactive monitoring platform for our core infrastructure devices, including our VMs, as well as all the devices for our managed customers. The monitoring notification system allows us to notify the key stakeholders, by email of any potential issues before it becomes critical. The flexibility of ScienceLogic is allowing us to tailor the monitoring of each device differently.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just use ScienceLogic API to get the respective details mentioned above.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As we are a large company we have many different requirements and due to the way ScienceLogic works we are having to spend a lot of time creating standards and disabling some features from the product that may impact on our customer's requirements. Regarding tool the specifically, it seems to be a very powerful tool but as the famous phrase from Spiderman says, with great power comes great responsibilities. The level of knowledge from the maintainers must be on a higher level than the previous tools required.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product.
In some cases, it is helping us to generate our report for our customers, i.e. when a customer migration happens.
Also, we create some intelligence about alarming, so the service is better monitored.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty.
Can raise a hornbill ticket for the incident.
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using ScienceLogic for the past 2 years now and have seen significant improvement in the tool. It is a highly flexible tool and works efficiently for monitoring the entire IT infrastructure from hardware to software to cloud, application and synthetic monitoring. The tools has open snippet codes, which gives you the flexibility to adapt to any type of environment.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ScienceLogic products are used across the whole organization that I belong to. It is a core component of one of our solutions to deliver managed services for our customers. It is also used internally to monitor and manage our own infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Disclaimer: We are heavy users.
Review: It is a great tool, however, there are still some gaps.

We were impressed, at first sight, with the easy way to monitor anything in an agentless way just by using specific powerpacks, however, in a few months we realized it was not so simple. It is a trade-off between the pros and cons.

From the perspective of service provider and internal users we use and support sciencelogic in internal (in house) and external (offering) in order to address the monitoring for several different technologies (as databases, hypervisors, cloud, operational systems, etc). So the pros and cons:
Pros:
1. Agentless monitoring is surely the future. In a small environment it does not matter, however when there are thousands of servers, appliances, etc, do not botter with agent patching, install, reinstall, etc, is a relief.
2. Snippets can be used to customize or get the information exactly as you need
3. Runbooks can save a lot of time. When you get used to the possibilities in the tool, the runbooks can save some time and you can even start using data that usual tools cannot.

Cons: You need to pay way more attention to the network, appliance hardware/usage, need to code, etc. IF you want to fully use the tool.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ScienceLogic SL1 for monitoring our clients and as our main SNMP poller. ScienceLogic SL1 does an excellent job integrating with our ticketing system and alerting the client when there is an issue. It has many robust features that can be added and tuned to get the alerting dialed in to exactly how you want. We haven't been able to find another tool that matches what it is capable of doing. Also, we are regularly adding new power packs to monitor new equipment and software. Support has been very responsive when we are having issues and are always able to help us to resolve and do any tuning needed. As we grow, we feel ScienceLogic SL1 will continue to be able to handle our needs and provide the best monitoring for ourselves and our clients.
Read this authenticated review

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

The ScienceLogic SL1 platform aims to enable companies to digitally transform themselves by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 uses patented discovery techniques to find everything in a network, so users get visibility across all technologies and vendors running anywhere in data centers or clouds. The vendor states the advantage of SL1 is that it collects and analyzes millions of data points across an IT universe (made up of infrastructure, network, applications, and business services), to help users make sense of it all, share data, and automate IT processes.


With SL1, the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components—–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect, merge, and store a variety of data in a clean, normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights. Use this context to understand the impact of infrastructure and applications on business service health and risk, accelerate root cause analysis, and execute recommended actions.
  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate workflows at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos (5)

Watch Eliminate Visibility Gaps While Driving Tool Consolidation

Watch Diagnose and Resolve Service Impacting Issues with Behavioral Correlation

Watch Automate Troubleshooting for Faster Root Cause Analysis

Watch Achieve CMDB Accuracy With Real-time Synchronization of Monitored Environment

Watch Understand Infrastructure Impact on Apps with AppDynamics

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

Kubernetes, Cisco HyperFlex, Nimble, Hyper-V, MySQL, Dynatrace, New Relic, Cloud -AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, IBM Cloud, Aliyun, CloudStack, OpenStack, etc., Cloud Services – Amazon EKS, ECS, Fargate; Azure AKS; etc., Containers – Docker, etc., Software-defined Networks/WAN – Cisco, VMware, etc., Network - Cisco, F5, Juniper, Meraki, Riverbed, Aruba, Avaya, Fortinet, HP, etc., Storage - Dell EMC, NetApp, HPE, Hitachi, Nutanix, Pure Storage, etc., Hypervisors – VMware, Xen, KVM, etc., Operating Systems - Unix, Windows, Linux, Business Applications, Databases - Microsoft, SAP, Office 365, MS SQL Server, Oracle, IBM DB2, etc., APM - AppDynamics, etc., etc., Storage - Dell EMC, NetApp, Pure, HP/Nimble, etc., Cloud -AWS, Azure, Google, IBM, Aliyun, Openstack, etc., Applications -Microsoft, SAP, etc., Compute -VMWare, Microsoft Hyper-V, KVM, Linux, Unix, Converged -Nutanix, Unified Communications and video - Cisco, Polycom, Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

LogicMonitor, Datadog, Moogsoft, OpsRamp, Dynatrace, SolarWinds, BMC, Broadcom CA, IBM, MicroFocus/HP, ServiceNow ITOM, Splunk ITOM, Zenoss

ScienceLogic SL1 Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SL1 Premium – AI/ML-driven Analytics, Low-Code Automated Workflow Authoring$0
SL1 Base – Infrastructure Monitoring, Topology & Event Correlation$0
SL1 Advanced – Application Health, Automated Troubleshooting and Remediation Workflows$0
SL1 Standard – Infrastructure Monitoring – with Agents, Business Services, Incident Automation, CMDB Synchronization, Behavioral Correlation$0

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
0%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Success Managers
Online Training / eLearning

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

ScienceLogic is a system and application monitoring and performance management platform. ScienceLogic collects and aggregates data across and IT ecosystems and contextualizes it for actionable insights with the SL1 product offering.

What is ScienceLogic SL1's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 7.7.

Who uses ScienceLogic SL1?

The most common users of ScienceLogic SL1 are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.