ScienceLogic SL1

ScienceLogic SL1

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.7 out of 100
Top Rated
ScienceLogic SL1

Overview

Recent Reviews

Review

8 out of 10
March 17, 2022
We use it for Infra monitoring. We have some pros and cons with this tool. Customer expectation is high! They need APM, AIOPS within SL …
Continue reading

All in one AIOps solution

8 out of 10
March 03, 2022
SL1 we have leveraged for ITOPS, which includes IT infrastructure discovery, CMDB update, performance monitoring, fault monitoring, alert …
Continue reading

My view on ScienceLogic SL1

6 out of 10
December 13, 2021
We use EM7 and Integration server from Sciencelogic SL1 and applied it across 100+ customers across different sectors and would continue …
Continue reading

Good product!

7 out of 10
November 30, 2021
We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just …
Continue reading

My ScienceLogic Review

10 out of 10
May 19, 2021
We use it to monitor our on prem and cloud platforms (Azure, AWS).
It escalates callouts to our engineers via PagerDuty and then raises a …
Continue reading

Technical opinion

9 out of 10
May 17, 2021
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product.
In …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of ScienceLogic SL1, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.sciencelogic.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $7.50 per month per node

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

The ScienceLogic SL1 platform aims to enable companies to digitally transform themselves by removing the difficulty of managing complex, distributed IT services. SL1 uses patented discovery techniques to find everything in a network, so users get visibility across all technologies and vendors running anywhere in data centers or clouds. The vendor states the advantage of SL1 is that it collects and analyzes millions of data points across an IT universe (made up of infrastructure, network, applications, and business services), to help users make sense of it all, share data, and automate IT processes.


With SL1, the user can:

  • See everything across cloud and distributed architectures. Discover all IT components—–across physical, virtual, and cloud. Collect, merge, and store a variety of data in a clean, normalized data lake.
  • Contextualize data through relationship mapping and machine learning (ML) for actionable insights. Use this context to understand the impact of infrastructure and applications on business service health and risk, accelerate root cause analysis, and execute recommended actions.
  • Act on data that is shared across technologies and IT ecosystem in real time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate workflows at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic SL1 Features

  • Supported: Infrastructure Monitoring (Cloud, Container, Server, Storage, Agent-Based, Network, Application, Database, UC/Video, Synthetic)
  • Supported: Closed-Loop Automations (Digital Experience Monitoring, CMDB & Inventory, Incident & Notifications, NetFlow, Configuration and Change Management, Troubleshooting & Remediation
  • Supported: Topology-Driven Event Correlation
  • Supported: Full-Stack Topology Mapping
  • Supported: Business Service Monitoring
  • Supported: Behavioral Correlation (Events, Changes, Anomalies, Topology)
  • Supported: Analytics - ML-Based Anomaly Detection
  • Supported: Incident Automation - Event Forwarding & Email
  • Supported: Dynamic Baselining Analytics
  • Supported: Manage Workflow Health & Endpoints
  • Supported: Dashboards and Reporting
  • Supported: Log Collection
  • Supported: 400+ Pre-Built Monitoring Integrations

ScienceLogic SL1 Screenshots

Application to infrastructure mapping with APM toolsVMWare Docker SwarmAWS Availability Zones and RegionsNative Application Monitoring and MappingMulti-Cloud Business ServicesBusiness Services Impact Dashboard

ScienceLogic SL1 Videos

ScienceLogic SL1 Downloadables

ScienceLogic SL1 Integrations

  • Kubernetes
  • Cisco HyperFlex
  • Nimble
  • Hyper-V
  • MySQL
  • Dynatrace
  • New Relic
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google Cloud
  • IBM Cloud
  • Aliyun
  • CloudStack
  • OpenStack
  • etc.
  • Cloud Services – Amazon EKS
  • ECS
  • Fargate; Azure AKS; etc.
  • Containers – Docker
  • etc.
  • Software-defined Networks/WAN – Cisco
  • VMware
  • etc.
  • Network - Cisco
  • F5
  • Juniper
  • Meraki
  • Riverbed
  • Aruba
  • Avaya
  • Fortinet
  • HP
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • HPE
  • Hitachi
  • Nutanix
  • Pure Storage
  • etc.
  • Hypervisors – VMware
  • Xen
  • KVM
  • etc.
  • Operating Systems - Unix
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • Business Applications
  • Databases - Microsoft
  • SAP
  • Office 365
  • MS SQL Server
  • Oracle
  • IBM DB2
  • etc.
  • APM - AppDynamics
  • etc.
  • etc.
  • Storage - Dell EMC
  • NetApp
  • Pure
  • HP/Nimble
  • etc.
  • Cloud -AWS
  • Azure
  • Google
  • IBM
  • Aliyun
  • Openstack
  • etc.
  • Applications -Microsoft
  • SAP
  • etc.
  • Compute -VMWare
  • Microsoft Hyper-V
  • KVM
  • Linux
  • Unix
  • Converged -Nutanix
  • Unified Communications and video - Cisco
  • Polycom
  • Tandberg

ScienceLogic SL1 Competitors

ScienceLogic SL1 Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)0%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)100%

ScienceLogic SL1 Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAmericas, EMEA, APAC
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

ScienceLogic is a system and application monitoring and performance management platform. ScienceLogic collects and aggregates data across and IT ecosystems and contextualizes it for actionable insights with the SL1 product offering.

How much does ScienceLogic SL1 cost?

ScienceLogic SL1 starts at $7.5.

What is ScienceLogic SL1's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses ScienceLogic SL1?

The most common users of ScienceLogic SL1 are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 151)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
March 23, 2022

SL1 - Early Adopter

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 is used as the primary observability platform to monitor the health of infrastructure and applications in our Corporate Data Centers and Market locations. An integration using SL1 PowerFlow, with ServiceNow has allowed us to automate Incident escalation in a fine-tuned manner, ensuring events get escalated to the correct teams and individuals. This automation has allowed us to minimize NOC staffing requirements, essentially adopting a lights-out posture and only requiring staff to manage/maintain the product. As an early adopter of SL1, the product has played a vital role in our business for years, giving us the confidence we need in observability.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is used as a strategic monitoring tool for hybrid cloud environments, compute, middleware and database. More recently we have expanded into network device monitoring to provide a holistic monitoring platform for multiple user groups. We have a mix of hosted and SaaS platforms across all geographies. SL1 is deployed in an agentless mode which reduces the administrative overhead associated with legacy tools that were reliant on one or more agents to perform similar functions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL1 is being used in our organization to manage and support the proactive monitoring of Datacenter devices and applications of the National Railway of Belgium. The scope of SL1 is quite wide as our customer's inventory is spread across 3 huge datacenters (2 on-premise and 1 public cloud). We monitor more than 3000+ servers, 2000+ databases, 200+ Network devices, and 300+ applications. In TCS, we have gone beyond the Out-of-Box monitoring and built our own custom DAs and RBAs to support our customers. The best feature about the tool is its auto-discovery mechanism which has helped us to build an advanced CMDB showing the relationship between hyper-v and VMware host and guest devices and also with underlying databases. A few business problems which we have across during implementations were 1. A very limited number of reports and that too very basic and do not comply with industry best practices (like Availability reports do not have a business and not business hour feature and even does not exclude the outages during scheduled maintenance). 2. Every small customization or help required from experts is treated as PS work and PS is very costly. 3. Sciencelogic Support engineers does not support and even does provide any suggestions on issues on customized DA even if the issue is because of the built-in ScienceLogic functions are a lot of internal Dynamic Apps (Like for filesystem, services, processes, availability, etc) where there is no visibility on the logic of how alerts are configured. 4. It is not possible to put only a few metrics (like DB services) in maintenance for a certain period. The entire server has to be put in maintenance mode and due to which even the OS-related alerts get suppressed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an SME in HCL Technologies for the ScienceLogic SL1 monitoring tool and have five ScienceLogic SL1 customers in a shared environment. There was scope to manage the entire 60 customers from HCL Tech, but because the scope is limited and not advanced, many customers opted out for ScienceLogic SL1 as a tool.

Scope of use cases - each PowerPack should be tested properly for alerting. With the help of the application team, the DB alerts should be tested. They should consult with the DB team and ask what alerting is required and how relevant it is with the PowerPack that ScienceLogic SL1 offers, and accordingly, this should be enhanced.
March 11, 2022

Cognizant Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance. Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance. Cognizant is an SI partner and Managed service provider worldwide. We recommend it to our customer for IT service Assurance.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
SL1 we have leveraged for ITOPS, which includes IT infrastructure discovery, CMDB update, performance monitoring, fault monitoring, alert management, and auto incident creation into the ITSM platform. It helps to address ITOPS problems. A couple of use cases server operating system performance, database performance, network devices performance monitoring. Discovery of all IT devices and update the CMDB.
Trent Kenelly, DTM | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses ScienceLogic EM7 as our primary ticketing platform for our IaaS data centers. We also use ScienceLogic to monitor our events and also our managed services, such as servers, switches, and other network appliances. We also utilize ScienceLogic as our bandwidth billing platform, utilizing 95% billing rates on the greater of ingress and egress of network traffic.
November 30, 2021

Good product!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it mainly to get monitoring data for our devices. It being used specifically in my department and the neighboring teams. We just use ScienceLogic API to get the respective details mentioned above.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic for monitoring our Managed Service customers, providing in-depth analysis on a range of hardware and software components in the data center. We also sell, deploy, and configure the application to any of our customers that require a monitoring solution for IT environments. Typically it is deployed across all departments.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic SL1 used [...] across [the] organization to manage the infrastructure environment to address monitoring issues, [and] perform automation against manual interventions to resolve issues, [and] ticket creations.
May 17, 2021

Technical opinion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for a particular product, called Unified Communications. ScienceLogic is monitoring and creating reports for this product.
In some cases, it is helping us to generate our report for our customers, i.e. when a customer migration happens.
Also, we create some intelligence about alarming, so the service is better monitored.
May 17, 2021

SciLo

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic SL1 as our modes of monitoring of our devices within the company. We use multi vendor platform that are enrolled in SciLo. We use this platform to schedule maintenance window when we have activities, change, and other tasks. We also use it to monitor certificates and uptime of the devices.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScieLo is very useful, especially to us engineers, it makes our life easier and efficient as the automation from monitoring (networks and certificates validity) and integration to Snow ( ticket creation for any alert/error).
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using SL1 for some years for infrastructure and application capacity monitoring and we've been satisfied with the tool. The SaaS, agentless, open/customized tool brought us the opportunity to monitor our customer devices with power packs (some good, others not so much) and create our own monitoring collections, presentations, and monitors, which was good. The quick data warehouse and report/dashboard capabilities are a plus for the tool as well, for simple purposes they can fulfill what is required.
Andy Roughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Science Logic SL1 as our monitoring and event-based automation tool to help manage our managed service customers networks and infrastructure. We also offer a Monitoring as a Service proposition, where our clients can just purchase a monitoring and automation service only.

ScienceLogic helps solve a number of problems:
  1. Monitoring of status and performance of assets and services.
  2. Displays and views via dashboards and Business Service views of the overall health/risk and performance of key higher-level services.
  3. Event-based automation. ScienceLogic is a great platform to launch automated actions from. It comes with a large number of pre-build infrastructure specific scripts, which are easy to customize (with basic knowledge of Python).
  4. Integration with other IT deliver tools such as ITSM tooling & CMDB.
  5. Auto-generation of network maps that show asset dependency.
ScienceLogic is a great tool to bring together aspects of service operations and lead a customer from a reactive firefighting position towards a more mature operational model. The industry buzzword, AIOps, is a good one and ScienceLogic will start the journey to automating support and operations functions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use ScienceLogic across the organization to monitor both our infrastructure and the health endpoints of services, and have found it gives us great visibility of system health. We are currently exploring moving away from competent level dashboarding and moving to dashboarding that will display the business services and show the impact a component failure has on that service as well as any other services dependent or linked to it.

In 2020 we carried out a migration to ScienceLogic’s SaaS platform to remove the requirement of both hosting and managing onsite DBs and this has also opened up new opportunities we are exploring within ScienceLogic.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining our company website's health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability. We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.
March 19, 2021

SL1 - review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as the AIOps platform to do the proactive monitoring. In addition to that, we are also tied into our ServiceNow. It is used by the department and expanding to BU. The main focus of the ScienceLogic is to provide monitoring in a relationship, this gives the team the opportunity to quantify a lot of gaps that we had before.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using ScienceLogic for the past 2 years now and have seen significant improvement in the tool. It is a highly flexible tool and works efficiently for monitoring the entire IT infrastructure from hardware to software to cloud, application and synthetic monitoring. The tools has open snippet codes, which gives you the flexibility to adapt to any type of environment.