TrustRadius
ScienceLogic, from the company of the same name in Washington DC, is a system, infrastructure, and network monitoring offering.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/fP/24/13BXMP64E7K8.JPEGNot perfect, but a solid solution with a lot of future promise in a very challenging field of competitive solutions.ScienceLogic is used both internally to monitor the organization's internal infrastructure and to provide managed services to our client base. We leverage it for all of our alerting, event management, incident automation, and performance analytics for service delivery KPI reporting and capacity management.,It supports a wide range of technologies. It is a very extensible tool that can be used to develop custom solutions. In the field of Cisco Collaboration, ScienceLogic is not perfect, but has the best offering and support for supporting the core infrastructure and back-end systems (i.e. beyond CDR and call analysis reporting). They are responsive to feedback and try to fix problems when they are brought to their attention.,They need to improve the service delivery experience. The professional services and implementation experience were not what we expected and left us with gaps that caused our deployment to be delayed. They sometimes send mixed signals about the support of products "out of the box," versus custom development and using ScienceLogic to build a solution. Out of the box solutions should follow best-practice and work "out of the box" without customization. Documentation is frequently not accurate and has caused operational issues. ScienceLogic frequently references solutions to problems in the form of Dashboards, or PowerPacks for example, that were developed internally or shared with them, but that they are not allowed to share...either share the knowledge with us or teach us how to solve the problem. Developers have resorted to private slack boards to accomplish what should possibly be occurring in the official support forums. Their SaaS offering has improved over the past 4-6 months but needs to mature -- it's currently more of a Platform as a Service, which does not really help with operations. They must streamline the basics so that they do not eat up all of my staff's time. We do not want to spend a lot of time tweaking out of the box event policies for official power packs that are fully supported.,8,ScienceLogic allowed our Managed Service to implement Incident automation for the first time ever, which greatly increased our ability to accurately catch and triage issues. As a diagnostic tool, it allows our Engineers to quickly verify their current status and identify trends, which increased our efficiency and effectiveness. Increased the capabilities of our CMDB immensely, and allows our Solution Architects to quickly identify clients that may be in need of additional services. Provided an avenue for additional lines of business, such as Monitoring as a Service (MaaS).,Yes,We have a much more granular and easily accessible view of what is in our client's infrastructure and where it resides. Event Management is much more accurate and is feeding good data into ServiceNow.,Yes, we are expanding the types and quantities of devices we can support, and introducing new lines of business that we were not able to take advantage of and would not have considered with our previous tool.,Event and Incident Management has been automated, which allows my Engineers to focus on Engineering problems.,Generating inventory reports for OEM maintenance renewals. We are still working on other ideas in progress.,Flexibility, performance, and capability. Ideal platform to do more than you expect from a single product.As a managed services provider, we use ScienceLogic internally as well as in support of our customers for monitoring. We utilize it for availability and performance monitoring across all customers and internally. The data gathered is also used for sizing/re-sizing, application requirements planning, and continuous improvement cycles. We utilize the platform for automation for remediation and alerting/ticketing.,Flexibility and coverage for the full spectrum of device types and use cases. Robust automation and event management interaction. Ability to write custom snippets for various actions/collections creates high customization ceiling for solving problems.,HA/DR requires dedicated physical hardware to my knowledge.,10,Flexibility in multi-tenancy allows us to tweak individual customers to allow us to properly alert and avoid SLA penalties for over-ticketing. Provides performance data to reduce overall ecosystem costs in various platforms, such as over or undersized AWS resources. Helps to maintain uptime and detect issues before they can become a full-blown outage, causing loss of faith from customers which ultimately hurts the bottom line.,Not Sure,We sell monitoring and alerting as a service. We also provide insight into customer ecosystems to guide customers down an improvement path and reduce their overall costs and increase their resiliency and performance. Due to this process being refined constantly, we create opportunities for case studies that support the business acquisition teams in their duty of finding new customers and contract opportunities,It is used for billing for customers via monitored elements. We use it to populate a CMDB in ServiceNow, as well as ticket creation and resolution with ServiceNow. Ticket enrichment and remediation automation reduce repetitive tasks and overall reduce manual time spent on processes by the NOC. Overall, these automations and integrations provide reduced cost and increased agility for serving the customer and internal systems.,A vendor did not have a supported remote reporting object for a specific scenario in their network setups, so we wrote a collection application that utilizes SSH connections and regex processing to provide extremely detailed and accurate monitoring and alerting of network status for hundreds of sites. Creating customer copies of specific events with filtering allowed us to provide alerting capabilities for proprietary customer applications. We use automations for ticketing creation and resolution in an external system. We use the monitoring data for resizing AWS resources to optimize costs.ScienceLogic - Enterprise ConsiderationsScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining cisco.com health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability. We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.,Deep monitoring across infrastructure components and with 8.12 across application layers Device discovery which builds infrastructure components ServiceNow Integration for CMDB driven device discovery as well as event-to-incident integration and automation Runbook Automation controlling notification as well as leading to remediation capabilities Event richness enabling detection of leading events which occur prior to a failure,12 introduces #multitenancy support which enables Enterprise with many Organizations to share (read-only) properties and performance data across Organizations without compromising credentials with inappropriate access. This is the first release of this feature and we are only now evaluating the well-communicated delivery against our requirements. This has been communicated as only being applicable via the new UI. Monitor thyself. We have found data gappiness issues which stem from incomprehensible / non-actionable system messages. The system is unable to communicate SIGTERM when used as a timeout (implying capacity issues) and SIGTERM when actually used as a fault (implying something non-actionable). The advisory services team is going to help, but this needs to be productized and shipped rather than be made available by customer success manager engagement. Things that SHOULD have results but do not should throw a under-collected event by the type of collection which is under reported. This should have a dynamic part of the event giving specific numbers not bland / generic statements that have to be interpreted. The platform team should immediately recognize the fault because the numbers are relevant. These events should be actionable, either referencing KB articles or some other specific remediation plan. Data collector load v. capacity planning in both a vertical (cpu, memory, disk) and horizontal (more collectors). The data collector specs are very stale. 4x24G is recommended for 1000 devices but customers frequently view that as individual devices, not the DCM trees found during discovery. Those tend to be my expect N (<= 1000) devices + M (which are barely understood records and which are typically treated as zero, when in fact these devices are what blow through the assumed 4x24G capacity spec). Need a horizontal-infra-scaling event as well as a vertical-capacity-limit event to be thrown when more collectors are needed. Actionable events. My end users barely understand the events. Referencing a KB article by URL might help users and admins in remediation. If you already understand the events they are obvious. If you don't, such as timeouts, having an article which helps people identify standard remediation steps will help close outages faster. Most events are contextual. Pointing users at that context will help.,10,For us, the ROI has been positive, but the specific ROI isn't the money spent on ScienceLogic itself, it is the money invested in the skills of the engineers who now leverage the platform to maintain our high standards of availability and performance monitoring while trending over years (5-10+). Those resource costs and investments far outweigh the cost of ScienceLogic and not only retention but valuation of those skills more the covers the specific ROI on ScienceLogic itself. Coming from a history of two decades of homegrown build (e.g. free), the cost of ScienceLogic feels like a questionable value, but when measured across the resources educated to use the ScienceLogic platform, the ability to quickly ramp up those same resources on technologies they may have scant knowledge of and be successful is incalculable.,Yes,As Cisco IT, we forced a common view to be rendered in ScienceLogic so that the vast majority of our 2200 users could see where they were supposed to go based on droplets of Cisco IT culture which we sprinkled across the ScienceLogic legacy user interface. 80% of our customers will use ScienceLogic without really using ScienceLogic. 20% of our customers will deeply use ScienceLogic PowerPacks, etc. Everything has changed, but our core structure is visible throughout. If anything, the new structure is now more inline with our recently updated CMDB (ServiceNow) structure as opposed to our legacy CMDB (EMAN) structure. (These have been multi-year change cycles.) ScienceLogic IT Services are how Cisco IT currently renders Host Clusters, Application Clusters and Application endpoints (regardless of lifecycle). Cisco IT will be working with ScienceLogic on the 8.12 view of Application Management (which as configured won't match the Cisco IT model or requirements). We expect sometime in the 8.13 or 8.15 release cycle that we may have something usable which we will move our Application Monitoring and Service health monitoring onto Business Services and Application Health. For now, we will continue to use IT Services though Host Clusters will slide down into Device Services. It is unclear if we will move Application Clusters will move up to Business Services. We need more discussions to determine how Cisco IT will interact with Business Services since Cisco IT Management wants Application Monitoring, but Cisco IT can't consume it because our view of an application isn't supported by ScienceLogic's definition that it is rooted by a process in memory on a given box. (We run many applications through the same nginx / apache process... Exactly which application is up and which is down?),ScienceLogic has supported our ability to integrate with AppDynamics before they really have support for it. ScienceLogic is helping ensure that their ACI support matches as the Cisco engineering groups continue to rev it. ScienceLogic is helping us support and monitor our multi-cloud strategy even as we struggle to comply with InfoSec, CASPR and other compliance processes governing what can / should be allowed to be hosted external to the Cisco network. ScienceLogic's Cisco Partner status allows them to match Cisco's Customer-Zero program where we try to influence product operability and supportability from a Cisco IT perspective faster than Cisco IT could do it ourselves.,Cisco IT has only a few of our domain teams which have started to look at this. The vast majority of integration and automation is limited by what SyncSever and our own Cisco IT integrations with ServiceNow for Host Composites, AppMon and AppMon Composites. The teams doing this work are currently limited to event-to-incident automation, though Cisco IT is looking forward to our migration to Integration Server.,This question is ambiguous. As stated, it suggests that Cisco IT might have found an unexpected or innovative way which ScienceLogic (the platform) is used which surprises Cisco IT. The reality is that Cisco IT is driving how ScienceLogic is used and we are surprising ScienceLogic (the company) with our scale and Enterprise Use Case specifications and articulations. The remainder of the questions will answer from a company perspective, not a product perspective. #multitenancy - Enterprise Use Case wants to share many data elements in a read-only way to the IT world. As originally deployed, 8.3 > 8.11 suffers from Managed Service Provider Use Case where Organizations are expected to be 100% independent from each other with no read rights and no world implications. 8.12 delivers our first glimpse of how Cisco IT will allow a more seamless Enterprise Use Case experience by allowing configuration of a WORLD rights permission that grants read (but not write; as is the case in 8.9 and prior) permissions to device configuration and performance data. We have 467 Organizations with some 2200 users. Many in multiple organizations. IT Services have been how we folded our host clusters onto Science Logic stacks. We've been involved in early discussions about Device Services and Business Services and as those become tangible in the platform we will provide our feedback based on issues we find due to our scale. Given 467 Organizations and some 2200 Users, we found that pre-generating Critical Ping Failure and Availability runbook automations and actions and external contacts so that all of our teams had a starting point in the platform was a surprise to use as a mechanism whereby we provide base training to our end-users in the RBA space. Our statement is these are yours. Play with them. Learn from them. Delete them if you need clean copies and we will regenerate those for you. Our use of ServiceNow as our upstream CMDB with monitoring configuration paint being applied downstream has been a great boon to us. This allows our operations teams to force a repaint to clean up problem configurations without concern to multi-master issues. We consistently find that SyncServer and Integration Server use cases are inverted for us in that ScienceLogic pushes to ServiceNow and a hand-wave on whether or not ServiceNow does its own discovery (thereby creating a multi-master problem).,Zenoss Cloud,,15,Infrastructure Monitoring (20% of our user base is in this category) Application Monitoring via synthetic test transaction (80% of our user base is in this category) Ability to feed all priority (P1 and P2) events through an Elasticsearch engine and render only P1 / P2 events (outages) on a single pane of glass given that we have 8 independent stacks due to our scale. Minimal disruption to the vast majority of our users as we effect a sea-change in our monitoring capability (dump our old, homegrown system) and replace it with 8 independent ScienceLogic stacks around the world.,Educate our users to accept event-to-incident for non-priority (P3-P6) use cases Drive AIOps and data lake construction so that we can be agnostic of the 8 independent stacks and treat the data as wholistic and global rather than regional and constrained. Ensure that ScienceLogic product capabilities fit more and more Cisco IT use cases over time. Use our relationship as a large Enterprise deployment to educate ScienceLogic on the Enterprise Use Case and the challenges that come from a large deployment so that the product improves overtime. Fulfill our internal goal to support Cisco Partners (which ScienceLogic is) and grow their potential, even though they are also our vendor providing this specific capability. Maximize the viability of our on staff engineering resources to support / grow the capability consumption for internal Cisco IT clients in spaces that we currently can't get to by ourselves, such as multi-cloud monitoring configurations.,10,ServiceNow,Implemented in-house,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Undersizing the central database file system. 1.2TB was consumed surprisingly quickly. Default data retentions surprised us significantly and we had to scramble to ratchet down the data retentions until we could rebuild to 4TB internationally and 26TB (domestically). The engineering recommendations was 3-5TB "for someone our size". We no longer believe them at our scale and we feel much more comfortable with 10TB+ than we do with 4TB. (We're not concerned with one of our 4TB stacks, but we're keeping the data retention limited on our other 4TB stack because it is heavily used; a surprise based on our user consumption patterns.) Disparity between the way we used to count and the way that ScienceLogic counts. They are not the same. You won't know until you start discovering devices how off your estimates are because the DCM trees balloon quickly and surprisingly. This has implications on data collector sizing. Are you using large vCenters? Large routers? Large storage arrays? Your resiliency strategy should inform how you should view your RAID configurations. We started at RAID-6 and rebuilt to RAID-10, then dropped to RAID-0 because we use a DR configuration. The starting point of RAID-6 was found to not be healthy for a heavy-write MySQL database. A RAID-10 did moderately well. The RAID-0 (with a DR config) actually performs very nicely, with all that this configuration means.,10,In-person training Self-taught,10,I specialize in reverse-engineering systems. I would not recommend that developers try to reverse-engineer the system. I have yet to take the online courses, but will so that I can honestly evaluate their recommendation to new users in my end-user set for their ramp-up on the platform usage.,Yes,8,Yes,Our EAST1 stack had been suffering from repeated Medium Rows Behind scenarios with a MTBF of around 10 days. One night I needed to report the issue because it didn't look like it could wait for morning. They understood the severity of the issue for Cisco IT. They moved the issue around their follow-the-sun support model. Even though I had to hand the issue off to my follow-the-sun support team offshore, they were still able to get to a real root cause and remediate the symptom within a few hours of my falling off of the call. The complexity of the product sometimes forces the invocation of the support team with an impacting severity and the priority-response portion of the support team was awesome! The normal priority support team supports us in very key ways, which, while not "emergency" in nature, should still be recognized as above average support.,Once configured, the runbook automations can be magical. Doing the configurations requires technical skills. The Cisco IT team pre-populates the obvious runbook automations and actions and all configurations so that most of our users don't have to touch them. They just have to enable them. The Cisco IT team pre-filtered event types down from nearly 5000 to just about 25 interesting event types. Once designed, the authentication model works moderately well. Cisco IT has operators, leads and (platform admins). The configuration design was interesting because our first swing was to grant rights to each Organization. We found that a two dimensional rights / orgs matrix made this simpler. We almost have two rights, but the leads have a very few extra rights which the operators don't have. Cisco IT takes ServiceNow data for clusters and paints IT Service configuration onto each of our stacks so that our end-users don't have to deal with the configuration of an IT Service. (Doing that integration took a little time.) We are looking for ways for ScienceLogic to consume our implementation semantics so that the behaviors make it into the product, presumably via Integration Server.,Cisco IT goes to great lengths to allow the vast majority of our users to ignore most of the legacy user interface by focusing on a few local / cultural works to trigger behaviors which those users need to execute (RunTest, AppMon Bypass). The 8.12 Unified UI solves these issues. We are currently evaluating when we can move our end-users to that Unified UI later this summer. Designing whether ScienceLogic should participate with ServiceNow in a multi-master scenario or if ScienceLogic should be the single-master or if ServiceNow should be the single-master requires assistance. Cisco IT prefers ServiceNow as our single-master allowing us the flexibility of repainting a configuration downstream if things go sideways. This is an Enterprise Use Case concern. Cisco IT generates Availability and Critical Ping runbook automations for each of our end-user teams (by Organization). The design and implementation work was left as an exercise to Cisco IT. We will be looking for ways to encourage ScienceLogic to make this Enterprise Use Case concern simpler for future Enterprise adoptions. Our implementation was complicated by our desire to NOT use ServiceNow group data. We expect this to be migrated to the new Integration Server as we continue to morph this integration over time. Multiple stacks (an Enterprise Use Case concern) is a challenge for configuration, especially if you design for rebuild repeatability. We've lost disks on our secondaries on one stack and have been forced to rebuild because we failed to estimate our disk capacity correctly. We originally estimated 1.2TB, but due to our scale, we rebuilt (several times) against 4TB internationally and 26TB domestically using RAID-0 with a dual-data center DR configuration. We found that RAID-6 cost us database speed on UCS 220C bare metals. We found that RAID-10 was better, but that RAID-0 was the fastest. We accept the DR fail-over model as our resiliency strategy rather than a full backup (since we're downstream from the CMDB and almost everything is disposable and repaintable from the single-master). We didn't find out these problems until after we had started deploying to the production environment which meant full rebuilds on each of our 8 stacks. The reconfiguration after each rebuild was made simple only because we reverse-engineered the authentication configuration and all other central database configurations and pushed those into our Ansible playbooks.,8,10,10,I was not involved in the negotiation process.,Once you sign, figure out how you want to deploy. This is far easier as an Enterprise Use Case deployment as you already have specific must-do capabilities that you have to fold into the product somehow. Be precise. Write clear and unambiguous PROBLEM STATEMENTS. Draw diagrams. Articulate your onboarding requirements. Articulate your end-user communities. Challenge the initial spreadsheet which you'll get when you're being helped with the initial deployment planning. Identify your MUST-DO and WOULD-BE-NICE critieras. Know your own skillset contributions to the deployment. Expecting them to deploy for you with zero skin in the game on your side won't be pleasant or successful. You can get them to do the deployment for you, but they still come from a Managed Service Provider semantic and their default reaction is based on that use case. If you are an Enterprise Use Case, you have inverted concerns at time from their default mode and you have to make sure that what they give you matches your use cases. If your use cases are not crystal clear or written down, you will be unhappily surprised by being deployed with the wrong deployment use case. Know when you want simplicity for your end-users. Know when you need to apply your own elbow grease to maintain that simplicity for your end-users. Work with the vendor. Don't just expect them to read your mind.SL1 - A no-brainer for a single view into infrastructureScienceLogic is being used for realtime monitoring of our infrastructure across the entire organization. It allows us to collect data from any number of agents, traps, or logs and aggregate them into a single place to streamline troubleshooting.,Collector of All - This allows us to leverage multiple data sources and agents to collect as much information as possible Automation - We are able to create workflows and integrations with various other SaaS solutions as dictated by business need Scalability - We are able to deploy multiple clusters in different geographic regions, along with the ability to monitor thousands of devices at once.,UX - The current UX feels slightly dated, and can lead to new-user confusion. Windows are also unable to be resized properly. Documentation - While there is an abundant amount of documentation, it takes a fair amount of time to locate the information needed.,9,ScienceLogic has enabled the consolidation from 5+ monitoring platforms to a single stack solution SL1 has also given the ability to collect much more data than previously available, with configurable views into the data.,Yes,With having a single pane of glass solution, SL1 allows multiple users in many different departments the ability to see various parts of the company's infrastructure, instead of having silo'd interfaces and legacy monitoring deployments. This alone has decreased confusion during various issues, as well as the ability to review issues after the fact.,SL1 integrates directly into our case management system, and allows the generation of cases as soon as an issue occurs. Whether for customer infrastructure or internal infrastructure, being able to quickly diagnose and triage issues has been invaluable since the migration to SL1. We were able to quickly integrate our automated deployment process into SL1 to allow for seamless monitoring as soon as a device is created.,We have been able to leverage legacy monitoring agents to feed data directly to SL1, negating the need for a lengthy additional deployment period,EM7, better than the rest.It is the core of the company. We use it to generate bills for bandwidth, get historical data on devices, generate alerts on the devices, and more. We really use every major function of the product in our daily workflow. Every department has a role within the company. Sales uses it to demo what we can do. Various teams can use it to see the status of the devices that they support.,Out of the box the multi tenancy is great compared to other products in this space The dynamic app creations and aligning to devices is something not really seen anywhere else Ability to write reports in some commonly known code and methods helps speed development of new reports,The support team can be at times tiring, repetitive and not answering a question directly. New features in the OLD GUI often introduced new OLD GUI bugs. Instance on building the NEW GUI and not correcting issues in the OLD GUI.,9,A positive ROI around detecting faults as early as the data shows it, and allowing a reaction to occur before they become a catastrophic failure,Yes,N/A, we started out the gate with it so we had full view at the start.,We are constantly writing new power packs to fulfill the needs of the company and new products we bring in to sell.,N/A, We are just now starting at looking automating our workflows/processes.,Monitor domain name expiry dates,PRTG Network Monitor, Nagios, Zabbix, Xymon Hobbit and Traverse
Windows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
ScienceLogic
100 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

ScienceLogic Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
ScienceLogic
100 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 100 vetted ScienceLogic reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Tim Reaves profile photo
April 25, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Not perfect, but a solid solution with a lot of future promise in a very challenging field of competitive solutions."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is used both internally to monitor the organization's internal infrastructure and to provide managed services to our client base. We leverage it for all of our alerting, event management, incident automation, and performance analytics for service delivery KPI reporting and capacity management.
  • It supports a wide range of technologies.
  • It is a very extensible tool that can be used to develop custom solutions.
  • In the field of Cisco Collaboration, ScienceLogic is not perfect, but has the best offering and support for supporting the core infrastructure and back-end systems (i.e. beyond CDR and call analysis reporting).
  • They are responsive to feedback and try to fix problems when they are brought to their attention.
  • They need to improve the service delivery experience. The professional services and implementation experience were not what we expected and left us with gaps that caused our deployment to be delayed.
  • They sometimes send mixed signals about the support of products "out of the box," versus custom development and using ScienceLogic to build a solution. Out of the box solutions should follow best-practice and work "out of the box" without customization.
  • Documentation is frequently not accurate and has caused operational issues.
  • ScienceLogic frequently references solutions to problems in the form of Dashboards, or PowerPacks for example, that were developed internally or shared with them, but that they are not allowed to share...either share the knowledge with us or teach us how to solve the problem. Developers have resorted to private slack boards to accomplish what should possibly be occurring in the official support forums.
  • Their SaaS offering has improved over the past 4-6 months but needs to mature -- it's currently more of a Platform as a Service, which does not really help with operations.
  • They must streamline the basics so that they do not eat up all of my staff's time. We do not want to spend a lot of time tweaking out of the box event policies for official power packs that are fully supported.
A very good development platform for monitoring solutions, and great if you have developers in-house to build those. It has limitless potential as a monitoring tool. There is a good community, and the platform is actively developed and improved constantly.
If you have to rely on ScienceLogic Professional Services, that can become very frustrating. It's not great for reporting (particularly the SaaS offering) or truly intelligent WAN/flow-based monitoring.
Read Tim Reaves's full review
Matthew Carter profile photo
April 25, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Flexibility, performance, and capability. Ideal platform to do more than you expect from a single product."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a managed services provider, we use ScienceLogic internally as well as in support of our customers for monitoring. We utilize it for availability and performance monitoring across all customers and internally. The data gathered is also used for sizing/re-sizing, application requirements planning, and continuous improvement cycles. We utilize the platform for automation for remediation and alerting/ticketing.
  • Flexibility and coverage for the full spectrum of device types and use cases.
  • Robust automation and event management interaction.
  • Ability to write custom snippets for various actions/collections creates high customization ceiling for solving problems.
  • HA/DR requires dedicated physical hardware to my knowledge.
Monitoring for any vendor I can think of is easy to build along with support for various customers. The multi-tenancy can be used in an enterprise capacity as well as MSPs. Monitoring/alerting and performance metrics are easily gathered and maintained to guide improvements in any ecosystem. The flexibility of snippets being written in python can solve unique use case scenarios for customers, such as gathering and alerting on extremely specific aspects of a system.
Read Matthew Carter's full review
John &quot;Frotz&quot; Fa'atuai profile photo
April 25, 2019

Review: "ScienceLogic - Enterprise Considerations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic brings significant abilities to the table (and on their roadmap) which enable critical business operations (such as maintaining cisco.com health and availability) to track against our ServiceNow (CMDB) data and our ScienceLogic (IT Infrastructure Monitoring) deployment. We have replaced our legacy / homegrown system with ScienceLogic to enable our on-prem, private cloud and multi-cloud deployments (sometimes using all three) the ability to ensure health and availability.

We are looking to move to ScienceLogic's AIOps and data lakes to further simplify the transformation of our event-storms to meaningful business information.
  • Deep monitoring across infrastructure components and with 8.12 across application layers
  • Device discovery which builds infrastructure components
  • ServiceNow Integration for CMDB driven device discovery as well as event-to-incident integration and automation
  • Runbook Automation controlling notification as well as leading to remediation capabilities
  • Event richness enabling detection of leading events which occur prior to a failure
  • 12 introduces #multitenancy support which enables Enterprise with many Organizations to share (read-only) properties and performance data across Organizations without compromising credentials with inappropriate access. This is the first release of this feature and we are only now evaluating the well-communicated delivery against our requirements. This has been communicated as only being applicable via the new UI.
  • Monitor thyself. We have found data gappiness issues which stem from incomprehensible / non-actionable system messages. The system is unable to communicate SIGTERM when used as a timeout (implying capacity issues) and SIGTERM when actually used as a fault (implying something non-actionable). The advisory services team is going to help, but this needs to be productized and shipped rather than be made available by customer success manager engagement. Things that SHOULD have results but do not should throw a under-collected event by the type of collection which is under reported. This should have a dynamic part of the event giving specific numbers not bland / generic statements that have to be interpreted. The platform team should immediately recognize the fault because the numbers are relevant. These events should be actionable, either referencing KB articles or some other specific remediation plan.
  • Data collector load v. capacity planning in both a vertical (cpu, memory, disk) and horizontal (more collectors). The data collector specs are very stale. 4x24G is recommended for 1000 devices but customers frequently view that as individual devices, not the DCM trees found during discovery. Those tend to be my expect N (<= 1000) devices + M (which are barely understood records and which are typically treated as zero, when in fact these devices are what blow through the assumed 4x24G capacity spec). Need a horizontal-infra-scaling event as well as a vertical-capacity-limit event to be thrown when more collectors are needed.
  • Actionable events. My end users barely understand the events. Referencing a KB article by URL might help users and admins in remediation. If you already understand the events they are obvious. If you don't, such as timeouts, having an article which helps people identify standard remediation steps will help close outages faster. Most events are contextual. Pointing users at that context will help.
Regardless of the product or solution, all monitoring systems encourage coding. ScienceLogic enables those coding skills to be leveraged across an ever growing list of technologies if one codes inside the Science Logic platform. Coding monitoring solutions outside of the ScienceLogic platform will tend to collect more technical debt and decay faster than it otherwise would if the code is embedded inside the ScienceLogic platform. For large, enterprise use cases, ScienceLogic (alone) is not as appropriate (6-digit volumes). Here, their integration with ServiceNow turns that gap into a benefit.
Read John "Frotz" Fa'atuai's full review
Jay Consentino profile photo
April 24, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "SL1 - A no-brainer for a single view into infrastructure"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is being used for realtime monitoring of our infrastructure across the entire organization. It allows us to collect data from any number of agents, traps, or logs and aggregate them into a single place to streamline troubleshooting.
  • Collector of All - This allows us to leverage multiple data sources and agents to collect as much information as possible
  • Automation - We are able to create workflows and integrations with various other SaaS solutions as dictated by business need
  • Scalability - We are able to deploy multiple clusters in different geographic regions, along with the ability to monitor thousands of devices at once.
  • UX - The current UX feels slightly dated, and can lead to new-user confusion. Windows are also unable to be resized properly.
  • Documentation - While there is an abundant amount of documentation, it takes a fair amount of time to locate the information needed.
If you are looking to move from multiple data-collection and monitoring sources to a single view, then ScienceLogic should be one of the first and top contenders on your list. From having the ability to leverage native API calls, PowerShell, Kubernetes, as well as leveraging a stand alone agent, ScienceLogic is configurable for any company, regardless of scale.
Read Jay Consentino's full review
Brian Davenport profile photo
April 24, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "EM7, better than the rest."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the core of the company. We use it to generate bills for bandwidth, get historical data on devices, generate alerts on the devices, and more. We really use every major function of the product in our daily workflow. Every department has a role within the company. Sales uses it to demo what we can do. Various teams can use it to see the status of the devices that they support.
  • Out of the box the multi tenancy is great compared to other products in this space
  • The dynamic app creations and aligning to devices is something not really seen anywhere else
  • Ability to write reports in some commonly known code and methods helps speed development of new reports
  • The support team can be at times tiring, repetitive and not answering a question directly.
  • New features in the OLD GUI often introduced new OLD GUI bugs.
  • Instance on building the NEW GUI and not correcting issues in the OLD GUI.
For a MSP it is great as it allows a company to monitor a wide variety of devices across multiple locations. It is possibly not suited for the small office/company that only has a couple of systems they need to monitor.
Read Brian Davenport's full review
Nicolai Kildal profile photo
May 04, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "A highly flexible and scalable monitoring platform -- anything is possible (if you know what you're doing)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ScienceLogic in our managed services department to monitor our client's environments, covering networking, storage, and server technologies. The environment is multi-tenant. This means our monitoring tool must support the isolation of the individual clients, while still being able to handle unique requirements for each individual client. Due to the number of clients and components, ease of management and automation of the monitoring tool is also important.
  • Flexible: it can be used to monitor anything, using its Dynamic App (DA) concept. DA's are the workers doing the actual collecting of data from the devices being monitored. The product comes with an extensive set of built-in DA's, but it is easy to develop your own, need be. DA's can use SNMP, custom Python code, REST/SOAP APIs, Powershell, WMI, Database queries, and others to fetch data.
  • Easy to manage architecture: all updates and changes are done in the central interface and then automatically pushed to collectors. This is particularly important when dealing with complex environments with many collectors distributed across client networks.
  • Open architecture: everything is customizable. The product has an open REST API which allows integration with other products. Dashboards and Reports can be built to suit most requirements for visualizing data. Run Book Automations allow for triggering automatic actions, both within ScienceLogic itself but also externally through scripting, rest, or database calls.
  • Great support: Fast reacting and competent support teams in multiple timezones to aid with urgent support. There's a professional services teams which can aid when developing custom solutions and when our own expertise is no longer enough. Excellent Customer Satisfaction team for monthly followup meetings, making sure things are on track and new possibilities are identified and discussed.
  • To get the full benefit of the product, you either need in-house expertise to do custom development, or be prepared to engage with ScienceLogic Professional Services for assistance.
  • The current interface is a bit dated -- ScienceLogic is, however, working hard on releasing a new and improved version of it.
ScienceLogic is especially well suited when dealing with:
  1. Multiple tenants - monitored by the same system.
  2. Large environments - the number of components being monitored is high.
  3. Complex environments - components are spanning multiple technologies (ie. network, storage, servers).
  4. Changing environments - there's a need to support changing/new device types.
  5. A need to automate as much as possible.
  6. A need to integrate with other systems.
Read Nicolai Kildal's full review
Dhanasekar Padmanabhan profile photo
April 27, 2019

ScienceLogic: "SL Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We the company, recommend this product for our customers as the monitoring solution for various infrastructures and application monitoring. This product is placed as a monitoring solution for a couple of our customers.
  • This product provides a good plug-in for integration.
  • It has a good event management system for a mid-range company.
  • Easy navigation and UI.
  • Easy to setup and use.
  • Infra and application discovery in this product is easy.
  • Better integration with ITSM products. Currently, it's focused only on ServiceNow as we do for other market products.
  • Duplication on devices can be looked into.
  • Revisit collector server bugs/data collection design. EG. if the collector is down all servers marked to that collector are not switching to other collectors.
  • Looking forward to cloud monitoring solutions.
As I mentioned, It has a good event management system and easy to scrip custom monitoring requirement. It also has good room to develop a custom monitoring requirement.
Read Dhanasekar Padmanabhan's full review
iyyappan lalithasankaran profile photo
April 26, 2019

User Review: "Future forward with ScienceLogic"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We prepare large managed services proposals for our clients in which we also propose monitoring and automation solutions. We have begun proposing ScienceLogic as a monitoring and automation tool and have successfully deployed ScienceLogic with a large CPG client which we plan to replicate in proposals to other clients.
  • Infrastructure monitoring.
  • Consolidation of data in one place.
  • Good reporting.
  • Good event correlation.
  • Easy integration.
  • Ease of use.
  • Better out of box reporting.
  • Business specific items.
  • More application monitoring.
ScienceLogic offers good integration with client existing tools like AppDynamics and others, which has helped us create a 360-degree view of the IT system in an effective way. It is also easy to integrate with our ML tool and create automation. We created executive and operational level dashboards using the tool.
Read iyyappan lalithasankaran's full review
Kelly Price profile photo
April 25, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Trials and tribulations of SciLo as part of a managed hosting service provider."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our entire organization to monitor customer systems. We're a managed hosting and colocation provider with 16 datacenters across the USA. If a system goes down, we're the first responders to react to the issues. Thus, any infrastructure we build for a customer that we onboard is tracked, monitored down to the application level, and acted upon. We also present the metrics out to our customers.
  • SNMP data gathering.
  • API/Program data gathering
  • Statistics and presentations.
  • Platform stability.
  • Documentation, especially SciLo API documentation, when integrating into ScienceLogic.
  • Diagnostic information is readily available.
It is good at monitoring, data gathering, and topology mapping of your equipment. However, it has issues where the movement of equipment is a concern. For instance, if a virtual machine in a VMWare "development" or "pre-production" cluster or host is built, and you want to retain the performance data that you gathered through it's VMWare integration and SNMP statistic gathering, it will (as of this year) drop and recreate devices should you move the device across host/cluster/resource pool boundaries. Only recently is it being fixed.
Read Kelly Price's full review
Kshitij Sheth profile photo
April 25, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Innovative platform with the power of intelligence & consolidation."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a pre-sales solution architect and helping our customers to choose the right products and solution as part of TCS consulting with appropriate demo and capabilities presentation. At the moment, we have a couple of customers who are engaged and using the ScienceLogic product. Looking forward to seeing many more customers.
  • Dashboards
  • Integrations utilities
  • Manager of the manager
  • CMDB and common service data model
  • Mobility and specifically towards mobile app launch
  • UX
In an organization where multiple monitoring tools like SolarWinds, Scom, Zabbix, App Dynamics, and many more legacy tools are being used, there is a high possibility to fit the ScienceLogic product to provide consolidated monitoring and business service end to end visibility console. It also helps customers to initiate remedial actions or direct integration with ITSM tools like ServiceNow.
Read Kshitij Sheth's full review
Naz Ghadban profile photo
April 25, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Integration Leaders"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization in both Network and IT. Currently transitioning from a satellite network to ScienceLogic from Netcool. And we are now adding IT to ScienceLogic.
  • Support
  • Assistance with deployment and upgrades.
  • Communication
  • Communication surrounding systems (SyncServer to IS, for example) is being retired.
Yes, we'd recommend it. ScienceLogic is in line with industry standards and technologies. ScienceLogic has been great at taking our feedback and actioning items.
Read Naz Ghadban's full review
Ron Naef profile photo
April 25, 2019

"My ScienceLogic Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multi-tended customer and internal managed service provider monitoring. Used across the company by technology owners and developers. Addresses inventory and network monitoring system servicing to CDW and its clients.
  • Dynamic Applications: Able to build custom applications which makes us more scalable.
  • CMDB population: Automatic CI population of assets and attributes provides excellent inventory reporting and helps with billing.
  • Dashboards: Excellent ways to build custom views of devices and graphs helps to get a good view of the health of a customer's system.
  • Upgrades: Looking forward to the new Yum deployment.
  • Interface management: I want to be able to disable/not discover certain interfaces. Filters by type, device class, ifDescr, org, etc. would be lovely.
Good UI interface. You can build custom applications to provide a new monitoring feature without relying on the vendor. With regards to functionality, ScienceLogic would be a great fit for any sized organization. Billing would possibly be the only barrier for smaller organizations.
Read Ron Naef's full review
Ross Thompson profile photo
April 25, 2019

User Review: "ScienceLogic helps me sleep at night!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SL is used as a network monitoring tool at Sun Life for the Engineering and Operations department. It is the main asset and configuration management tool and is currently being integrated with the ServiceNow platform.
  • Event management
  • Trending or resources and bandwidth usage
  • Configuration management
  • Asset management
  • Smoother upgrades
  • AI configuration
  • Life cycle management
Trending of interfaces on routers, switches, servers is excellent. Building dashboards and reports with relevant data for executives is easy and intuitive. Adding new assets to the system is fairly easy, and discovery works well. Integrations with other toolsets is easy, and pulling data from the SL database via REST-API is easy to setup and test. I look forward to the AI features in Big Ben.
Read Ross Thompson's full review
Bharati Bala profile photo
April 25, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Awesome! SL1"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We offer monitoring as a service and we have many clients across the USA that are all in the federal space. This includes device monitoring and alerting on critical events.
  • The device registry is very helpful to locate the devices or groups of devices all in one page.
  • The events tab gives us a quick rundown of critical events that need attention at any given point.
  • Ease of navigation to various aspects of a device like credential, performance, properties etc.
  • Ease of reporting on the devices we monitor for our various customers.
  • Time and date stamp on every report exported including date range for which the report was run in any output format like PDF, CSV or XLS.
  • More detailed documentation for integration servers to integrate SL1 to SNOW.
  • Easier discovery whenever credentials change or the device class is changed.
Very well suited for monitoring teams as all information is readily available. Cumbersome when it comes to setting dynamic apps that need customizations and how to carry it thru to version changes going forward.
Read Bharati Bala's full review
Rich Dobry profile photo
April 25, 2019

"How WWT embraced ScienceLogic as a strategic partner to build a powerful recurring revenue platform."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
ScienceLogic is a core solution in WWT's Managed Platform. It was introduced to allow for world-class operational monitoring, management engine that plays in the enterprise space. WWT also resells ScienceLogic to clients who wish to deploy their own instance.
  • Vast OEM support across thousands of devices out of the box.
  • Open API platform to extend as needed by business requirements & outcomes.
  • Amazing organization where our investment is in a partnership, not just a product.
  • More PowerPacks ready to go with new/leading technologies.
  • Faster/easier GUI drag/drop based workflow/RBA.
  • More out of the box RBA's to use day one and extend upon.
ScienceLogic plays a great role in being the central data lake pane of glass integration point for both data gathering, analytics and ITSM integration. By creating ScienceLogic as a central data gathering point, it allows for a much easier hub/spoke cross-system functionality.
Read Rich Dobry's full review
Jeffrey Bailey profile photo
April 25, 2019

User Review: "Next Gen Journey with ScienceLogic"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Managed Service Provider, ScienceLogic provides internal and customer network monitoring as the backbone of our service offering.
  • Extensible - the ability to build our own custom monitoring or extend the out-of-box functionality is paramount
  • Automation - the ability to automate routine level one tasks for Incident Enrichment, or extend further to automated issue remediation
  • Integration - the ability to integrate with our ITSM tool for CMDB and Incident sycnhronization
  • Scalable Architecture - improvements are in progress as we speak, but scale is currently an issue for "legacy" architecture
  • Application Performance Management - Again an area where major enhancement/investment is taking place, but a gap for legacy systems
ScienceLogic is well suited for nearly all scenarios, with the extensible architecture allowing for a high degree of customization to suit many needs. With regards to functionality, ScienceLogic would be a great fit for an organization of any size.
Read Jeffrey Bailey's full review
Benita Proctor profile photo
April 24, 2019

"ScienceLogic Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is being used by my department. It addresses visibility into the servers that are managed in that department. We have also added it to manage our network devices. Once this is completed, we will have full visibility into our infrastructure. This will help when there is an issue, we will be able to pinpoint where the problem is located.
  • Automation.
  • Discovery. It is very easy to use.
  • Customer Service. We have a wonderful SME.
  • Knowledge Base
  • IT Services
  • Integration
ScienceLogic is well suited for finding problems. If several servers are alerting from the same Rack Location we can assume there is an issue with the Rack. It could be power, network, etc. We have just started adding in the Network. This will give us insight into if it was a network issue or a power issue. If we see issues with the network in other Racks that this network is connected to, then we can assume that it is a network issue. If it is just this one Rack, we can assume it is the Power.
Read Benita Proctor's full review
Shambhu Kumar Jha profile photo
April 24, 2019

ScienceLogic: "My review on EM7 and IS4 performance from a engineering stand point"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used EM7 for the last four years for device on-boarding and ticketing. We have seen a lot of ups-and-down from Cisco business viewpoint but, yes, we are amazed by the delivery from the Professional Services and Program Management team to make our deliveries on time.
  • EM7's RunBook Action and automation engine are amazing and are working perfectly on a demand basis.
  • Professional Services team and Support team are available for good.
  • Overall interlock meetings are great to curb any issues and bring the solution on time to run the business demand on time.
  • The ScienceLogic team must foresee the business demand and accordingly it needs to focus on scale and cloud solutions to be more competent in the market and win the customer obsessions.
For small/mid-scale companies who want to monitor devices and do ticketing, EM7 is perfectly suited for them. And since the inception of IS4 it has raised its edge to be best suited with other ITSM products as well, specifically with SNOW.
Read Shambhu Kumar Jha's full review
Steven Barrow profile photo
April 24, 2019

Review: "How ScienceLogic replaced our IBM Netcool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is currently being used by our Network Operations Center for Tier 1 monitoring of our Satellite Services. ScienceLogic replaced our existing Netcool solution which was expensive and difficult to support in-house. We are currently in the process of integrating our IT Network into ScienceLogic.
  • Easy to support, maintain and develop with in-house resources.
  • Cost Effective: Annual cost of ScienceLogic was much less than our previous costs for IBM Netcool.
  • Better Vendor/Customer Interaction: In comparison with IBM, this is all you do.
  • Integration with ServiceNow has been challenging. We initially deployed the Sync Server in 2018, but a few months later we were told that the Sync Server was being eliminated and being replaced with IS. It has been challenging to get the IS integration scheduled, and IS is key to our goals this year in enabling Integration with ServiceNow and Automation.
Well suited for the Network Management of IT and Telecommunication Networks.
Read Steven Barrow's full review
Trent Kenelly, DTM profile photo
April 16, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Science Logic EM7 SL1 Release for Service Providers"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses ScienceLogic EM7 as our primary ticketing platform for our IaaS data centers. We also use ScienceLogic to monitor our events and also our managed services, such as servers, switches, and other network appliances. We also utilize ScienceLogic as our bandwidth billing platform, utilizing 95% billing rates on the greater of ingress and egress of network traffic.
  • Event logging
  • Event escalation
  • Monitoring of applications
  • Collection of data
  • Ticketing platform is being deprecated
  • UI not intuitive for most users
  • SL1 is not complete in functionality
ScienceLogic EM7 is a great monitoring platform for service providers.
ScienceLogic EM7 is a great eventing platform with custom escalation levels.
ScienceLogic EM7 does a good job at the collection of data.
ScienceLogic EM7 allows client based portals and the setting of specific roles based on the client's administrative level.
ScienceLogic EM7 ticketing platform is being deprecated and is not available in the SL1 platform at this time.
Read Trent Kenelly, DTM's full review
Rachit Rihar profile photo
April 10, 2019

User Review: "ScienceLogic from a user's perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is being leveraged to monitor and throw alerts for the devices we have in our infrastructure. It is being used by every organization in the company. We have integrated ScienceLogic with another tool called ESP. You can create your own dashboard to monitor the health of the infrastructure that you are concerned with.
  • The data on ScienceLogic is real time. One can see the logs generated on the devices on the ScienceLogic without any considerable delay. Also, it gives a view of health using different graphs.
  • ScienceLogic exposes REST APIs that can be used to monitor and manage the infrastructure. The knowledge-base describes everything exhaustively.
  • Ticket Management is also nice. You can see the ticket assigned to you in your inbox right in ScienceLogic, instead of mails.
  • The UI is a little rough to the eyes. An old-style UI.
  • Adding the inventory is little cumbersome. You have to go to a number of places before you can see them on your dashboard.
It is well suited in areas when the infrastructure is huge and monitoring is very difficult. ScienceLogic very well organizes the infrastructure and gives you the right information.
Read Rachit Rihar's full review
Roland Winson profile photo
April 09, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Great Network Monitoring application, but Support needs improvement."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is used for monitoring network devices across our Global Infrastructure, alerting us to active and potential problems which could impact our business processes.
  • ScienceLogic provides alerts for Applications and servers which either drop from the network (or go offline), as well as when critical Operating Thresholds are crossed, like CPU, Memory, filesystem utilization, and any number of other measurable criteria we need monitored.
  • In addition to devices, we also monitor Web Sites (URLs) for specific http response codes and messages using ScienceLogic
  • We integrate ScienceLogic with other applications like Service Exchange for automated Incident ticket creation, and AlertSite which is used for more intensive WebSite Monitoring like Synthetic User Experience simulations (i.e: eCommerce transactions).
  • We provide our Customers with ScienceLogic Dashboards which provide them quick heads-up status on their Project environments which they use on a regular basis throughout their business days to get rapid health checks on their environment.
  • Our Global Command Center uses ScienceLogic to track all Critical and Major alerts and bring in appropriate Support Teams as required in order to have Major Incidents addressed in an urgent matter.
  • As a Network Monitoring Engineer, I open Cases with SL Support on a regular basis. The biggest area I see for improvement is turnaround in Problem Resolution. Waiting months for a problem to be addressed is totally unacceptable. They site response in 24 hours, but getting an email that just acknowledges that my ticket has been received is a lame excuse for meeting that response criteria. Also, I have had cases where it took so long to get a ScienceLogic Engineer to look at the issue that all the pertinent logs are gone. The idea of "if we wait long enough the problem will go away" is not a good model for successful support strategies. Lately, I find the first contact on my cases to be from a 1st line ScienceLogic Support Admin who knows less about their product than I do. This is a total waste of time and cost for both us and ScienceLogic. I'd already rather wait for someone who actually has some insight and ability to fix the problem.
  • I have submitted several feature requests but have never seen any of mine, nor others that I am aware of, acted on. After several release upgrades over the past couple of years, nothing stands to me as any significant feature enhancements. I have never been invited to any unveiling's, announcements or product demonstrations of new product releases.
  • Please offer Webex sessions more rapidly/up front. They have shown the best results from a customer perspective. It seems like after exhausting every effort to tap any and all information from the customer (even irrelevant data), will ScienceLogic finally consider starting a Webex. Again, much time is wasted before 'progress' in Issue closure occurs.
  • Overall, ScienceLogic improves your Support turnaround on open cases.
ScienceLogic is very customizable to customer monitoring requirements. I give it an 8 rating due to the fact that I have no experience with competitor products. The Customer Support is their primary weak spot.
Read Roland Winson's full review
Hans Meldgaard Raben profile photo
April 05, 2019

Review: "ScienceLogic SL1 - the best tool to solve your monitoring needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At ATEA we use ScienceLogic SL1 for monitoring our customers' infrastructure, mainly networks devices. Having one platform supporting many different customers makes it easy to manage the software and have common policies applied to the same network device types.
We also use it internally for monitoring the services provides from our datacenters. From the network, storage, VMware and to the individual servers OS and apps. ScienceLogic SL1 scales pretty well, 20K+ devices is no problem.
  • One common platform and not a lot of different apps or plugins.
  • Fast deployment of new customers.
  • Many vendors supported.
  • Very good support for integrations with other systems.
  • Support is good and fast if help is needed.
  • The web interface needs to be redone. It works but looks old (this is currently in process at ScienceLogic, and being beta tested at the moment).
  • I know it sounds odd, but I don't really have any real cons for ScienceLogic SL1 -- there are only minor details here and there...
ScienceLogic SL1 is very good at monitoring devices and mapping out more complex systems (VMware, storage systems and F5 as examples). It does not do Netflow, configuration backup, or end-user application monitoring, but you can integrate with systems that can do this.
Read Hans Meldgaard Raben's full review
Chase Strange profile photo
March 22, 2019

User Review: "ScienceLogic Feedback"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ScienceLogic is being used by our managed service team to provide a full view of all equipment and services being provided to customers. It is only being used by one department currently in our organization. Without ScienceLogic, we are unable to monitor all equipment that we implement onsite due to the fact that we use multiple Cisco products like Meraki that do not integrate with other products. ScienceLogic makes it all possible.
  • ScienceLogic serves as a single pane of glass to integrate all the technologies that we use today.
  • It's very easy to interact with.
  • Creating custom reports has proven difficult.
  • The dashboard could be much simpler.
ScienceLogic is great for monitoring large networks, it is great for escalations when issues arise and provides event logging, which is very beneficial. It is not so suited for smaller networks. The UI seems a bit outdated as well.
Read Chase Strange's full review
Naveen Bhira profile photo
March 19, 2019

ScienceLogic Review: "Science Logic as an IT Admin"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Science Logic to monitor a particular customer network and VoIP environment that has a global presence across multiple sites (400).
  • Out of the box alerting and monitoring metrics.
  • Ease of adding and deleting new devices to be monitored.
  • Event handling and management.
  • Topology mapping is not consistent.
  • Automation policies have issues to run.
  • Reporting is not easy.
  • Dashboards are complex and need customization for basic requirements.
Cisco Network environment had good out of the box monitoring features. Event co-relation needs to be improved.
Read Naveen Bhira's full review

About ScienceLogic

ScienceLogic aims to make infrastructure and application monitoring and performance management (APM) for IT operations (ITOps) easier. The vendor’s value proposition is that with ScienceLogic SL1, users gain cross-domain, cross-cloud visibility, context, and action every step of the way on the path from ITOps to Artificial Intelligence Operations (AIOps)

Key benefits of ScienceLogic SL1 include:

  • See. Discover all IT components within your enterprise – standard and unique – across physical, virtual and cloud.
  • Contextualize. Collect and store a variety of data in a clean data lake. Apply AI/ML for actionable insights – understand relationships between infrastructure, applications and business services. Use this context to gain insights.
  • Act. Integrate and share data across technologies and your IT ecosystem in real-time. Apply multi-directional integrations to automate actions at cloud scale.

ScienceLogic Features

Has featureMonitor hybrid IT and multi-cloud environments (AWS, Azure, Google, IBM, Aliyun, etc.)
Has featureInfrastructure mapping across technologies (infrastructure to infrastructure)
Has featureBusiness Services Impact
Has featureMonitor containers and microservices (Docker, Kubernetes, etc.)
Has featureReal-time incident management and CMDB enrichment (ServiceNow, Remedy, etc.)
Has featureRun Book Automation (RBA)
Has featureEvent management (correlation and suppression)
Has featureBidirectional integration and workflow automation (across platforms, tools, data sources)
Has featureApplications mapping (applications to infrastructure, application components)
Has featureReal-time operational data lake (fuse multiple data sources together)

ScienceLogic Screenshots

ScienceLogic Videos (4)

Watch Boost Your ServiceNow Investment With Real-Time CMDB Accuracy

Watch ScienceLogic SL1: Bring Context to AIOps

Watch ScienceLogic SL1: Integrations for AIOps

Watch AIOps: ScienceLogic's Guide to Operational Readiness

ScienceLogic Downloadables

ScienceLogic Integrations

VMware NSX, HyperFlex, AppDynamics, New Relic, Dynatrace, FlexPod, Network -Cisco, Meraki, Juniper, F5, etc., Storage - Dell EMC, NetApp, Pure, HP/Nimble, etc., Cloud -AWS, Azure, Google, IBM, Aliyun, Openstack, etc., Applications -Microsoft, SAP, etc., Compute -VMWare, Microsoft Hyper-V, KVM, Linux, Unix, Converged -Nutanix, Unified Communications and video - Cisco, Polycom, Tandberg

ScienceLogic Competitors

Moogsoft, Dynatrace, LogicMonitor, Solarwinds, Broadcom CA, BMC, IBM, MicroFocus/HP, ServiceNow ITOM, Splunk ITOM, Zenoss

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
SL1 Infrastructure Health$0per device
SL1 Application Health$0per node
SL1 Service Health$0per device
SL1 Incident Automation$0per device

ScienceLogic Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
0%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
100%

ScienceLogic Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Customer Success Managers
Online Training / eLearning

ScienceLogic Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, UNIX
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC
Supported Languages: English