Sequel Pro Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Ilyas Bakouch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Simple and Fast

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is used by the engineering department on daily basis to design, investigate, query and manage our DBs, local and remote.
  • Table filters are simple and easy to use
  • I love the ability to install plugins: Export tables to Laravel migrations is one of our most used plugins
  • Super easy to connect to local Docker containers, Vagrant and remote DBs through SSH
  • A feature to design the DB would be great
  • NoSQL DB management
  • It crashes very often and random.
  • Super easy for quick development and investigation
  • The interface of exporting tables to SQL can be made better, it's not easy to manually check
  • Not suitable for designing your DB
  • Connections over SSH to vagrant and Docker hosted DBs
  • Auto suggestion can be better
Read Ilyas Bakouch's full review
Jake Schlingman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Extremely unreliable SQL program that would be great if it just worked

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is used to query data from our system. This is usually limited to our test QA databases. It's also used to test certain elements when creating new features to ensure that data is being created correctly in the appropriate tables. It is used across our engineering and product departments today.
  • Ability to quickly connect to a variety of databases.
  • Ability to see the schema and data within the tables so you don't have to go looking for it.
  • Theoretically, the ability to have multiple connections open in multiple tabs at the same time (see problems section for why I say "theoretically").
  • Ability to write queries and have them execute locally.
  • Quickly see relations between tables and rows in tables.
  • It crashes CONSTANTLY. If you have more than one connection tab open and close one of them, it crashes. If you just have it open in the background, it randomly crashes. If you're using it, it randomly crashes. When you try to send a crash report, the CRASH REPORTER CRASHES.
  • Can be a bit slow.
  • No way that I'm aware of to query multiple databases in the same query.
Honestly, if Sequel Pro was more reliable it'd be a great tool for our needs. It does everything we need it to do in regards to querying a single database, seeing the data schema, modifying test data, etc. The fact is that it isn't. The constant crashing is a HUGE problem. It makes simple tasks take much longer and it is extremely frustrating. I can't even report the crash because the crash reporting tool crashes every time you try to send the report. LITERALLY EVERY TIME. I can't wait until we find a new, more reliable tool.
Read Jake Schlingman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Great Database IDE Toolkit

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is being used by our organization as a database IDE. My department uses it to create, update, delete and view the table schemas. It helps me to build the software robust and secure.
  • Ability to define the schemas and run the queries.
  • Gives a great UI to work with and the ability to see the application content data in an integrated manner and filter them as per our needs.
  • User Interface can be made better and appealing.
  • It can be made smarter by suggestion of auto completion of queries.
It's a great tool when building the software, the ability to add SQL and No-SQL databases. Very convenient to write the queries and generate the filtered data we require. Gives the ability to export, import databases of various formats and generate reports from them.

It might not be suitable if you want the data to be seen in a visualized manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Sequel Pro - A Great Solution for Mac Users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sequel Pro to pull custom data sets that help gain insights on products, customers, sales, and more. I am the only one using this software in the marketing department. I use this software to connect to our database in the cloud built on a Magento eCommerce platform. I write custom SQL syntax within this software.
  • Connect to remote databases
  • Query database tables
  • Provide feedback and Query Errors
  • Good user interface
  • More visual aids to help find table realtions
Sequel Pro is well suited for quick data extraction and querying. It lacks some more advanced features that enterprise systems might have.
Read this authenticated review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Simple yet powerful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is an SQL client app that works only on a MacOS. It is used by backend developers who work with the business data layer, and APIs that power the frontend applications. Also, it's most suited for development environments where it helps the developers to quickly perform DDL and DML operations. There are few developers who choose to stick to the CLI, but still, I see more value in a GUI application which saves a lot of time in writing queries.
  • Very simple to install and use. Installation is as simple as a drag and drop.
  • Clean and intuitive UI.
  • It's open-source and free.
  • No annoying ads and diversions, which keeps you most productive.
  • Multiple server sessions and profiles.
  • Multi-tabs and windows to manage multiple connections or the same connection.
  • A nice to have feature request -- Skins and themes.
  • Must fix intermittent app crashes, which happen when there is more than 1 tab open.
  • Support for more SQL servers.
Hands down Sequel Pro is one of the best MySQL management apps for MacOS, and the best part is that it's open source and free. It's powerful, with an easy to use GUI which suits developers and database admins of any expertise. It's exclusively meant for folks who use MacOS and require a robust and minimalist MySQL management app.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Dan Mahoney | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2018

Sequel Pro - best MySQL data editor available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is used in my department for database maintenance. It greatly simplifies the task of correcting data errors in MySQL tables.
  • Editing existing data. Editing record contents is trivial in Sequel Pro, while not nearly as easy in MySQL Workbench or phpMyAdmin.
  • Deleting data - even simpler than editing data.
  • Inserting new data - using "Duplicate row" then making needed changes is very simple.
  • Sequel Pro would benefit from the addition of a tool to simplify the creation of new tables.
When an existing MySQL table needs to be examined or edited, Sequel Pro excels. In the circumstance where a new table needs to be created, I believe phpMyAdmin might offer slightly better interface.
Read Dan Mahoney's full review
Carlos Eduardo de Souza | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2018

The best tool I've used for MySQL management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sequel Pro on a daily basis and it helps me to better manage and organize our project databases, without needing to use a browser based solution like phpMyAdmin. We use it in both local, staging and production environments.
  • Creating new databases and managing them, like editing some specific fields and options
  • Great interface; it's easy to execute functions like SQL commands that automates our workflow
  • The way it imports existing databases makes everything much easier, so we just need to import ZIP or SQL files
  • Improving the way we create new connections to remote databases
  • I couldn't find any way to configure my local server (MySQL), so I need to make changes on server outside the application. I know that there are other tools that integrate it, so you don’t have to leave the workflow
  • It could have a feature to integrate our databases or connections (favorites) with other devices, like using Google Drive or Dropbox. It would be really useful!
It's my definitive solution for managing local and remote databases, and it's the best tool I've ever used for MySQL administration. I've literally learned how to use Sequel Pro in a matter of minutes.
We develop a lot of Wordpress websites and it works just fine. Maybe it’s not that appropriate for large scale applications, since it can suffer from the performance viewpoint.
Read Carlos Eduardo de Souza's full review
Joey Yax | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Free, powerful and easy to use database management tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is used by our developers for accessing MySQL and alternatives like MariaDB. We work with many different clients and websites so having a GUI application that stores credentials for this database but also provides the ability to perform basic to advanced tasks and queries has proven far more efficient than using the terminal or web-based applications like PhpMyAdmin.
  • Searching and filtering
  • Connections over SSH
  • Raw SQL when you need it
  • Database and table management
  • User management, credentials and roles
  • Some queries can be slow and fail to stop
  • Support for different types of database structures like SQLite or NoSQL would be awesome
I always suggest Sequel Pro for accessing databases. It's free, secure and easy to use. Because it's an application that lives on your machine and possesses the ability to connect to databases over SSH it means we don't have to expose web-based database management applications or expose the database port publicly on the server. The only time Sequel Pro is not an option is if the database is not MySQL or an equivalent.
Read Joey Yax's full review
Kyle Randolph | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2017

Sequel Pro: Everything you need in a Mac MySQL interface

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is almost indispensable in our organization. It strikes the perfect balance of intuitive UX and powerful capabilities. We use it internally to query from several databases containing ad-performance data. It is useful for everything from simple exploratory data work to query optimization for BI visualization tools. Sequel Pro's ability to view/create/change database structure and relations make dealing with API or data structure changes a breeze.
  • A favorite Sequel Pro feature is the UI for Table/Database creation. APIs and data structures change often so having an intuitive way to make quick updates is a lifesaver.
  • Sequel Pro makes it easy to manage and connect to multiple databases with tabbed windows. It's great to have multiple databases open with their specific queries stored and ready to go.
  • As the database admin for my team I also value the ability to manage users and database privileges. As our teams change in size or different clients and applications need access I can easily create and provision credentials.
  • Wish it could handle more database types. As of now it can't connect to disparate datasources.
  • Wish it could autoformat.
  • Error messages aren't typically verbose enough to really debug a query without resorting to EXPLAIN queries.
  • Amazing for ad-hoc requests and simple aggregation.
  • Great for writing, troubleshooting and optimizing queries for BI visualization tools and preprocessing data for more advanced analysis in Python or R data environments.
  • Amazing for quick schema/structure changes.
  • Not a visual query editor which necessitates knowledge of MySQL syntax.
  • Not for the code-averse.
Read Kyle Randolph's full review
Anand Chhatpar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2017

Sequel Pro is the first thing you should install if you're administering a MySQL server on a Mac

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is my MySQL client of choice. I use it on my Macbook and it is used to administer my databases, both locally and on our servers via an SSH tunnel. The main business problem it solves is to provide a GUI-based client for managing and administration of MySQL databases.
  • Very easy to do backups and restore of MySQL databases using their SQL export function. The function also compresses the output so you can create a .gz file. Multiple formats of export are supported, including CSV and SQL.
  • Connecting to remote databases using SSH tunnels works great with Sequel Pro. It automatically establishes the SSH tunnel to the correct port and logs you in seamlessly.
  • Seeing all currently running queries and all processes on the server is easy with Sequel Pro. It also allows you an auto-refresh option so you can constantly monitor the queries coming in. This is very useful when diagnosing MySQL query bottlenecks for web application databases.
  • I don't see a way in Sequel Pro to easily see and monitor MySQL's MyISAM keybuffer usage and InnoDB's buffer pool usage.
  • The tool currently doesn't help you optimize your MySQL configuration variables. It would be very useful to be able to keep the client open for monitoring a DB server for a long time and then based on query usage, the tool could provide you with optimum variable settings for your server.
  • The Query window that lets you write a SQL query by hand is not particularly smart. It doesn't autocomplete your queries or show you any syntax help or suggestions. When you try to run a bad query, you simply get back the error that MySQL would throw -- Sequel Pro will not help you debug the query.
Sequel Pro is a great client for MySQL databases used for web applications. If you do development on your local machine, and your local machine is on Mac OS, installing Sequel Pro is a no-brainer first choice. Once you get used to it, you can even use it for administration of server-side databases.
Where I would not recommend using Sequel Pro would be for architecture-level configuration or setting up the structure for new databases. Their interface is not particularly helpful for configuring DB server variables or scanning through server-side logs.
Read Anand Chhatpar's full review
Brad Magyar | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

SQL Pro is Killer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used for building reports, queries and basic SQL Server management.
  • Simple, intuitive interface
  • Runs natively on Mac
  • Has handy built-in functionality such as beautification, auto-complete and other similar features
  • Stability, it crashes from time to time
  • Speed, it returns results more slowly than SSMS, even when running in a VM
  • More complex management abilities
It's well suited for everyday SQL tasks, but nothing too complex, unless you want to handle all of that with straight SQL.
Read Brad Magyar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

Sequel Pro is for sure an analyst-friendly data leverage tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Sequel Pro daily for my analyses at my company. I don't necessarily run queries in Sequel Pro all the time but it is absolutely my first choice when I need to filter the data or do a quick sanity check. It's used across the whole company.
  • Filtering/Sorting data based on single constraint including equal to/in/like/between etc.
  • Sanity check or data integrity check.
  • Color coding of different tabs is pretty useful.
  • With multiple tabs open, a user can easily forget in which tab he writes query and in which he checks the content. Probably some UI improvements.
  • Exporting data/query result is not that easy compared to other similar products.
As mentioned, it's very convenient when data filtering is needed - no query needs to be written, just play with the drop-down toolbox.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2017

Great Database Navigator!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sequel Pro is used as a database management interface at our company. It's used widely across engineering, and it's a good access point for engineers, product managers, etc. It is a versatile tool for peeking into databases and being able to view the tables and db schema from a top down prospective. Makes it easy for both technical and less technical people all the same.
  • Easy to understand interface
  • Very versatile; it is powerful to both the beginner, and the expert
  • It makes it easy to navigate across various databases on different servers
  • There's not much missing, the tool is pretty complete
  • There could be an easier way to setup ssh tunnels that require using different keys
  • It would be cool if the console was more customizable
It's really good for when you want to take a look at the overall db schema from a top down view. Everything is laid out in a tree structure that allows you to see the tables and how they're put together. You can also edit rows really easily without typing out update statements.
Read this authenticated review

About Sequel Pro

Sequel Pro is a relational database software solution offered by Sequel Pro.
Categories:  Relational Databases