ServiceNow IT Service Management Reviews

383 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 03, 2021
Panav Beri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow [IT Service Management] is well suited for situations where you want a quick, responsive, and one-stop platform that can be accessed by support engineers and they can work on the fixes with specified SLAs. Also, they can interact with the dashboard and update the info so that easy management of incidents and requests can be done.
Read Panav Beri's full review
December 21, 2020
Saul Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is great to have a well-defined process while requesting support, it is easy for you to see the progress of your ticket and who is or has worked on your request. You need to have a well-defined catalog; if you do not do that your support requests steps could be too many.
Read Saul Sanchez's full review
February 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Some SNOW processes are simpler than the others. But overall, what SNOW ITSM lacks is out of box integration with external apps or platforms. We can do customized integrations that have their own set of challenges.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is a ticket software and is fine to use for any circumstances which requires assigning work to teams or individuals, creating approval flows where different people need to approve a work item, or even some other random functions like a knowledge base for storing team articles or creating a Configuration Management Database (CMDB). While it is used by all of our IT department, I can see why the developers are using Jira more and the infrastructure teams are using ServiceNow.
Read this authenticated review
December 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is suited for medium to large companies that can afford to have a full-time ServiceNow developer. There is a lot of customization and coding that can be done to make it a great product but that requires some coding expertise. It is great for companies that do not have any current products and are looking to get ServiceNow IT Service Management implemented.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2020
Srinivas Rao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If I am opening a new process, then I will include ServiceNow. I will recommend highly to the people who would require an application to track data and handle customer complaints and issues.
Read Srinivas Rao's full review
October 24, 2019
Gardiner Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In very large enterprises. ServiceNow can handle a multitude of operations to help with overall IT management. The downside is two-fold: it can get quite clunky at times, and is expensive. While much of it is not intuitive and can be difficult to figure out and use, it has quite a wide range of reporting capabilities. If set up properly with solid process flows, it can be a tremendous tool for IT consumers, technicians and management.
Read Gardiner Jones's full review
February 12, 2020
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow has a lot of useful training material. It is easy to get trained and be able to use the tool efficiently in a short period of time. Fast performance and a lot of different reporting options is a big plus of the tool.
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
December 12, 2019
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Tracing a piece of hardware like a node within a cluster of servers, to its data center and network connection is very easy if configured properly within ServiceNow. Determining what changes have been made to a configuration item, or a dependent item is very easy. This is critical to problem diagnosis, troubleshooting, and root cause analysis.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
March 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow can facilitate an organization's needs for a robust incident and change management tool. It also has a wide array of other features that can be tailored to the company or down to the individual. ServiceNow also provides capabilites for event management, such as a trigger that would perform a restart of a service on a server for example.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is well suited to any organization with a large service desk that needs to address the issues, requests, and concerns of multiple users. It is well suited for an organization that needs an easy way to distribute tickets.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is certainly appropriate for any organization that operates using a ticketing system to document work managed (i.e. an IT HelpDesk, a cable, phone, or internet service provider). It would not be well suited for an environment where service offerings are not the type that can be compartmentalized and aggregated perfectly (i.e. some professional services such as law offices, financial services, medical facilities).
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend ServiceNow for anyone. ServiceNow is so powerful and highly useful that it would be a benefit to any organization with at least over 750 employees. This software is highly customizable and integrates with almost any software that might be used by your organization. It is something to look at if you can afford it.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Ticketing is the greatest strength of ServiceNow, so having users log issues and then trigger workflows to get tasks created and assigned to multiple support groups to solve the problem is the best use of ServiceNow.
  • Although ServiceNow is powerful, sometimes they (ServiceNow reps) want to sell you the idea that all processes can be solved through the use of ServiceNow. However, that would require too much customization that gets problematic when a new version upgrade is required. As I mentioned, they do between 1 to 2 releases per year, so trying to upgrade when too many customizations were made can become a problem or need too much time to make sure all isn't broken.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would highly recommend this platform for any firm trying to consolidate a lot of tasks into one tool. If you need a SaaS provider that allows you to manage requests, change management, knowledge bases, client portals, and reporting functionality, this is a great tool. My firm has really benefited greatly from utilizing this tool.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a large scale organization, it's been working perfectly. We have used it for over 5 years and I'm happy with it. Some users complain about small things but I'm sure no other tool can solve what a 10k+ person organization needs.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is well suited to an organized IT department who has multiple people with the time to understand and help others use it effectively. Having lots of end users, even IT people, create their own articles and manage tickets is difficult due to a non-intuitive interface. This might be due to how our organization setup and implemented ServiceNow originally. Nonetheless, I find it very difficult to navigate and to remember where things are. Building reports is a struggle. However, it's not my primary role to understand ServiceNow and I only use it 1-2 a week. My advice is to reduce the number of people who need to interact with ServiceNow to a bare minimum. If you can have one person who helps others create and manage help articles and incidents (if they are infrequent) it'll ultimately save time.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Over the years I have tried multiple ticketing and change management systems and Service Now is by far the simplest to use, but without compromising any of the functionality or configurability of the other products. And being a cloud-based system, the maintenance is almost non-existent which is always a plus.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2019
Jasun Aubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is a great tool for any deskside or MSP team. Overall, it is easy to use, very end user-friendly and just makes my job a lot easier. I manage 7 deskside techs and our queue often gets to over 120-150 tickets. We support roughly 1000-1200 employees. One thing I did notice is the status of the tickets seems to have no effect on the SLA warnings like it should. Putting a ticket into Awaiting caller status doesn't seem to stop the "timer" on our SLAs as it should.
Read Jasun Aubert's full review
July 13, 2019
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is well suited as an ITSM tool. It includes all the necessary ITIL processes. It makes it simple to assign tickets, track and report workflows and tickets with analytic power.
The workflow engine is the best side of ServiceNow. For example, problem management is definitely connected to a workflow to take approvals and set state fields based on the approvals. Because of that, you can create some Business Processes. We did it as well.
All of our servers, network elements, and IT things are registered in CMDB, and we relate them with processes and manage them with our integrated monitoring tools.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
July 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SNOW is great for Service Desk activities (Incidents, requests, etc). It is very scalable and robust, allowing proper segregation of duties and controls (ITIL type).

In my opinion the forms and workflow offering is limited as it requires a dedicated and expert dev team. Simple business processes are more challenging to be automated using SNOW as it is harder to identify an ROI.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2019
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

ServiceNow is a perfect and great fit for A to B style helpdesk ticketing! I would tend to shy away from this product is your project management shop is on the medium or larger scale. It is ok for smaller projects but not for large complex, multi-team projects. ServiceNow is also great for establishing routine and frequently used workflows that you want to publish to an external or public customer base. There is a lot of potential to relieve a lot of administrative overhead but it requires a lot of back end work to see those results.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
December 28, 2018
Anthony Zappala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Centralizing Data / Reporting - ServiceNowexcels in providing easy ways to import/export data from the platform. Some automated, some manual, all users benefit with properly designed ServiceNow connected tables.

CMDB / Inventory Mgmt - Discovery and the CMDB functionality provide an easy means of keeping track of your configurable HW and SW environments. Best CMDB tool I have seen to date, in the market.

Change / Incident Mgmt - This is really the best out of box experience ServiceNow has. Very straightforward, with unlimited benefits to be provided in this space when enhancements to the CMDB are made. When everything is connected, gleaning context off a ticket becomes easy. Automation based on historical data is also a big feature in this space

Automation Tool - If you have tools which provide orchestration/automation, and you're just looking to replace them with a cheaper option, look elsewhere.
Read Anthony Zappala's full review
March 11, 2019
Adam Sylvester | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's well suited for our process owners in Change, Incident, Request and Problem scenarios. These areas are covered well. However in Event Management, I noticed that in every new release of ServiceNow, there seems to be an update in Event Management, where it's not required. It breaks our current setup, so we raise an Incident with ServiceNow’s support which takes months to resolve. A current example of this is that we've upgraded to the London release from Jakarta and Alert Management Rules were introduced. This prevented us from creating new Alert Rules until we enlisted an expensive training course! There was nothing wrong with the old Alert Rules, as they worked well. So why bring thing new functionality when it's not required?
Read Adam Sylvester's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (61)
8.5
Expert directory (46)
7.7
Service restoration (50)
7.5
Self-service tools (58)
7.8
Subscription-based notifications (57)
8.3
ITSM collaboration and documentation (55)
8.3
ITSM reports and dashboards (56)
8.3
Configuration mangement (55)
7.9
Asset management dashboard (55)
7.7
Policy and contract enforcement (48)
7.3
Change requests repository (55)
8.5
Change calendar (50)
8.3
Service-level management (51)
8.3

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and configuration management, and (on the higher tier ITSM Professional plan) ITAM and software asset management.

ServiceNow IT Service Management Integrations

ServiceNow IT Service Management Competitors

ServiceNow IT Service Management Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$10,000.00Per Year

ServiceNow IT Service Management Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and configuration management, and (on the higher tier ITSM Professional plan) ITAM and software asset management.

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management's best feature?

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets and Change requests repository highest, with a score of 8.5.

Who uses ServiceNow IT Service Management?

The most common users of ServiceNow IT Service Management are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.