ServiceNow IT Service Management Reviews

383 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 03, 2021
Panav Beri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Service Request Management
  • Incident Management
  • Quick responsive management for multiple issues
  • Scalable workflows to manage deliverables
  • More interactive user interface
  • More detailed documentation on APIs for auto ticket creation and closure
Read Panav Beri's full review
December 21, 2020
Saul Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organizing development process.
  • Handling production incidents.
  • Easy way to submit a ticket to request support, you have a friendly user catalogue.
  • There are some processes that have too many steps to be completed.
  • You have limited users with full access (write/edit), you need to pay more.
  • You need time to understand the user interface.
Read Saul Sanchez's full review
February 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • New requests
  • Approval flow
  • Alerting for process flows
  • Change management has a much more complex process flow as compared to others and needs improvement.
  • Filtering and searches can get better.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Flexibility in the type of tickets created.
  • Standard forms to fill for tickets and incidents.
  • Allows you to assign work to teams if you don't have an individual to assign it to.
  • I need to keep special bookmarks since some areas don't have links to get to, and I'm not sure how else I would get to those pages.
  • When I'm trying to open one type of ticket, sometimes I can only find the buttons for a different type.
  • The different ServiceNow versions are named after locations which doesn't make it clear what is a newer or older version.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2019
Gardiner Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • When I have a number of requests to make, for example a request to add a dozen or so user accounts to more than one group account in Active Directory , I can put all the needed information into the initial form, add it to my "shopping cart" and all of that information remains on the screen for the next item for which I only need to edit a few items (like the AD group name in this example), and keep adding them to the shopping cart until I have them all. When I "Check Out" each of those items is generated as a separate task under the one request. It simplifies and expedites the creation and tracking of these kinds of requests.
  • I can easily and quickly see what tickets are currently assigned to me in order to prioritize them and remain aware of my workload.
  • Numerous fields for CIs can be used when trying to find the entry for a particular item. For example, IP Address, server name, raw text, classification, and so on.
  • To help with making sense out of related tasks, when a task is assigned to me and I need to open another task for a different team to work in order to complete my task, I can open a sub-task from my ticket so that the relationship between the two can be pulled up later into reports. For example, I may have a task to build a new vm, and need to open tasks for networking, security accounts, software installation and so on. By opening sub-tasks from my assignment, the time spent by all parties concerned is tied together for more meaningful cost accounting.
  • Finding requests that I opened and have since been completed by the assigned group/individual is very difficult to accomplish unless I've written down the request numbers somewhere.
  • Requests that I opened and are subsequently closed, often continue to appear in the list of "My Open Requests" giving the appearance that they were not completed when in fact they were.
  • It may exist, but if it does I haven't found it yet, which makes it less than intuitive, but I would like to see the ability to recall a request in ServiceNow.
  • I believe our firewall rule change request for is a custom form, but it has a serious drawback. If I submit such a request and need to make a correction to it before it is approved, there isn't anyway for me to do so. The request has to first be rejected with the creation of a sub-task in order to edit it before it is resubmitted for approval.
Read Gardiner Jones's full review
February 12, 2020
PAULIUS BUCINSKAS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Faster performance than competitor products.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Does not have a "paste from clipboard" option.
  • Missing some functions in Incident creation option (like adding a table in the description field).
Read PAULIUS BUCINSKAS's full review
December 12, 2019
Maurice Samuels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to track all changes to a specific and individual item (such as a Linux server).
  • Retrieve and display interdependent items. Servers run OS' and connect to a network via addresses 1, 2, 3, etc.
  • Very difficult to onboard configuration items one by one.
  • Very difficult to remove items added by mistake. For example, once a contact number is entered for an individual resource, it is impossible to remove it.
Read Maurice Samuels's full review
March 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use and straightforward with options that fit just about every department.
  • API easily accepts SOAP requests for automatic ticket generation and integration into other applications.
  • Dashboards and a built in visual task board similar to a Kanban board are nice features.
  • Unable to create robust service offerings for end users in the catalog. The current process works fine for our needs but have to tailor certain offerings based on limitations of the product.
  • Certain aspects are clunky and hard to correctly setup. For example, oncall calendars and scheduling require the user to define several components which are not intuitive and don't seem to follow a logical flow.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Alerts immediately when a ticket has been created.
  • Streamlines the process for whose ticket is sent.
  • The interface can be a little jumbled looking.
  • Excess emails are sometimes sent.
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of ticket creation (navigating just a few fields to get the process underway).
  • Ability to provide supporting documentation as attachments to tickets (screenshots, spreadsheets).
  • General slowness when querying on lists of tickets at times.
  • Mentions of service disruptions can be significantly delayed following the actual event (i.e. network connectivity disruption, power loss, etc.).
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Report and assign issues that employees are having with a system or application that they need to use to help them complete their work.
  • Keep track of all IT assets (Employee computers, company telephones assigned to employees).
  • To accomplish some of the tasks like the discovery of servers and retrieval of info from these servers on the network, ServiceNow requires you to pay extra to get the additional services, and these services can get very expensive.
  • ServiceNow has between 1 or 2 version releases per Year, these New releases introduce new features but most of the cases they have issues or create new problems on existing components on initial release, so we decided to skip releases and make the updates on every other release and wait at least for the first set of fix patches to be available
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ServiceNow is highly customizable. You can build out your desired forms and leverage those forms to build out reports to track progress and trends.
  • ServiceNow has e-mail forwarding built in, so anytime a ticket gets updated, the end-user associated with the ticket can have an e-mail notification sent to them.
  • To get the platform to do exactly what you need, it requires a good amount of dev work. I wish the out of the box version had an easier way to build out customizations.
  • The firm will have to hire ServiceNow experts to serve as administrators.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Track requests
  • History and archiving
  • Slowness
  • It costs more to integrate it with MS Teams even if the organization has a license for both
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendly.
  • The workflow within ServiceNow is efficient.
  • As a user, I haven't identified any areas where i would like to see improvement.
  • I'd like to learn how to use filters better in order to find tickets assigned to me in a faster, easier way, but that is not a system issue.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2019
Jasun Aubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like the way the dashboard is setup, very easy to access reporting I need to see to help run my team better.
  • Its very easy to train end user on how to input a ticket. The process is typically very easy.
  • I also enjoy to ability to export reports to an excel file for further analysis.
  • When adding additional filters to a report that has already been created, that seems to create issue with pulling information from the database correctly.
  • We use SN for asset management, it can sometimes take awhile for information to update.
  • Alot of times, KB articles do not save to my favorites correctly and I have to go try to find them again. That can be a bit tedious.
Read Jasun Aubert's full review
July 13, 2019
Celil ÇİYNEKLİ | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's an end to end ITSM solution with a lot of add-on market. Also, AI/ML support, Analytics.
  • ServiceNow CMDB is fully integrated to the ITSM side in helping the support team to relate any request, incident, problem, or change to a particular CI that registered in the CMDB.
  • The back end development side is supporting java and JavaScript. It is very flexible.
  • ServiceNow is serving as Saas and Paas as well.
  • It also supports the integration of autoCAD as well. It's very helpful if you are currently managing weak projects.
  • When using a UI action which has a script inside, it freezes the screen.
  • Upgrading an instance will become quite hectic.
  • The CMDB functionality is wonderful, but we have some high-cost concerns when you try to implement discovery tools for an automatic CMDB population.
  • Since it is web-based, there could be some incompatibility and web page display issues on some browsers.
Read Celil ÇİYNEKLİ's full review
April 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Web based GUI where we can have drag and drop feature enabled for handling the items
  • Integrates well with third party platforms using REST APIs like monitoring tools to create tickets or Alerting tools to create alarms in case of an event
  • Available as a SAAS solution by ServiceNow hence users needn't worry about the backend infrastructure
  • Search capability can be further improved
  • The bulk ticket update feature can be added if not available as I haven't seen it until now
  • Can introduce power chart features like Power BI and others
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Incident Management. Very robust and extensive solution, very easy to extend globally.
  • Application Management: We have our own custom developed SNOW module to manage Business apps that will be replaced with the upcoming migration to Madrid.
  • Change Management: Great way to keep control of any and all changes to production systems.
  • Limited Power-user Dev Tools for Forms: It would be great to offer a no-code alternative to Power Users to create forms and workflows, similar to what Infopath offered. We are using SNOW forms but each initiative requires a dedicated Dev team to develop.
  • JIRA Integration: We'd like to have a more flexible way to interface and promote Incidents in SNOW to Stories in JIRA.
  • Assignment Groups are difficult to manage and require a complex IT process to be done.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2019
Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ServiceNow does a great job in creating a one-stop shop for ticketing for any organization large or small. The system has the ability to scale easily to both internal and external customers.
  • ServiceNow has the ability to scale beyond ticketing to include contract and project management modules to further support one single operation for administration.
  • ServiceNow integrates very well with Microsoft Active Directory.
  • ServiceNow has a very robust set of permissions and rules you can apply for a high level of security.
  • ServiceNow knowledgebase is limited for self-learning on how to use their features.
  • ServiceNow sometimes has a very linear approach to some workflows or assignments where there could only be one child/parent relationship.
  • The ServiceNow features for Project Management serves its function is rather cumbersome. The dependencies aspect or predecessors or successors options are rather limited. It is more focused on hours planned vs hours worked then dependencies.
  • ServiceNow customer support is hit or miss. They could serve to have more self-help step by step articles.
  • ServiceNow needs to have a better export or import features for their Project Management module.
Read Jesse Bickel, MS - PMP's full review
December 28, 2018
Anthony Zappala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Request Management - ServiceNow's front end facing catalog is a fantastic cost-wise approach to expose the repetitive request-able functions your organization can offer to your company. Cost/Chargeback functions can be included effortlessly. Baking in Knowledge throughout the catalog like experience (to promote self service) is effortless. If you can organize your team into repeatable processes, then ServiceNow can take everyone out of email and spreadsheets, and into a fully transparent, documented, automated workflow to deliver each and every step of that process.
  • Alerting / Monitoring - ServiceNow provides the tables/functionality you would need to store, organize and report on all monitoring tools in your portfolio. Importing information into ServiceNow is decidedly easy. Enriching data within ServiceNow is straightforward and benefits from all other business / infrastructure related content that you store on the platform. Using Discovery alongside monitoring tools provides the capabilities and flexibility needed to protect and run daily operations needed to support a growing and thriving company that Wayfair is.
  • CMDB / Discovery - Very easy, licensing the technology that comes with Discovery is the single easier decision you can make to provide the level of support, transparency and consistency your infrastructure teams require to stay ahead of issues...and act quickly when they are happening.
  • Backend Support - If you size dictates it, purchase the technical support from ServiceNow. They react quickly and with a solution your team can actually use to solve both short and long-term roadblocks.
  • Pricing - we all want to expose as much as our data as we can, internally. Easy reporting makes happy employees, and happy employee's stay productive. ServiceNow allows you to expose a front-end catalog like experience to all users in your company...but restricts their intuitive and fantastic back-end reporting capabilities to a subset of paid (sometimes expensive) users. The trick is finding our where you can and cannot compromise on functionality and experience. Sometimes you need to buy a license for a team, sometimes you can provide on-demand reporting functionality. Really depends case by case.
  • Widget Flexibility - Allowing non-dev users to build their own widgets. Make the tool more friendly (no-code) to non-development/front-end only users. I would love to support a widget or piece of functionality which allows users to customize their ServiceNow catalog experience or reporting without my team's involvement.
  • Better back-end reporting - reporting on system tables or core data is not always accessible via ServiceNow reporting/logging. I have often found myself at a roadblock to report on simple statistics like page views or number of clicks. We want to understand how our users are engaging in the platform, but there is a lack of reportable tables/metadata to help us build this picture.
Read Anthony Zappala's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (61)
8.5
Expert directory (46)
7.7
Service restoration (50)
7.5
Self-service tools (58)
7.8
Subscription-based notifications (57)
8.3
ITSM collaboration and documentation (55)
8.3
ITSM reports and dashboards (56)
8.3
Configuration mangement (55)
7.9
Asset management dashboard (55)
7.7
Policy and contract enforcement (48)
7.3
Change requests repository (55)
8.5
Change calendar (50)
8.3
Service-level management (51)
8.3

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and configuration management, and (on the higher tier ITSM Professional plan) ITAM and software asset management.

ServiceNow IT Service Management Integrations

ServiceNow IT Service Management Competitors

ServiceNow IT Service Management Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$10,000.00Per Year

ServiceNow IT Service Management Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No