SharePoint Designer Reviews

54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Krishn Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Valuable tool for SharePoint customization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SharePoint Designer is well suited to develop custom workflow solution and deploy on SharePoint sites. It is also used to customize site master pages and template modification along with custom search.

It is not suited for designing site pages and for developing highly customized solutions, as it will crash.
Read Krishn Garg's full review
Doreen Giles | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

SharePoint Designer Novice

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SharePoint Designer is good if you want to do a custom page design—editing the master page in SharePoint. I have never done this. I like to use SharePoint Designer for moving pages around within a site. It is not as easy if you want to move pages between sites. If I am looking to edit HTML or apps, I am able to track down code through the SharePoint Designer interface. It is useful for locating all the files that make up pages. It is not my go-to for design because I would rather use an interface where it is WYSIWYG and not bounce from one screen to a browser to view the results of changes made.
Read Doreen Giles's full review
Laura Stein | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Decent product

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for simple workflows and easy conversion of lookup fields to text. Not well suited for complex workflows. Not well suited for cross-site lookups. The issue I am facing is that we have a list of all shop locations. The list lives on the root site of one of our 3 site collections and has many details about each shop. There is also managed metadata with just the shop location name to be used as a lookup field in many lists in all three site collections. This can't be accomplished in SharePoint Designer.
Read Laura Stein's full review
Melissa Kattke | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Ah-ha thoughts after using SharePoint Designer

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SharePoint Designer is a great HTML web page designer that allows customization of master pages, page layouts, CSS, and JavaScript. SharePoint Designer can also add KPI elements to your List Views through the creation of Conditional Formatting (i.e. having the font display in Red for any overdue tasks). It can also create a web part connection that allowed you to connect web parts across pages, like the ability to create a connection that allowed you to select an item in a list on one page and open another page to view data that was associated with the selected item.

If you opt to use SharePoint Designer, latest version 2013 for SharePoint Online or on-premise, here is what you can do with a SharePoint list: Custom list, Permissions, Columns, Views, Forms, Content Type and set Custom Actions.
Read Melissa Kattke's full review
Nicholas Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2017

The Truth about SharePoint Designer - The Key to Success

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well Suited - WORKFLOWS!
To a SharePoint Developer, workflows are like a hammer to a carpenter. If there is a business process that needs automation, the first thing I look to is what are we automating? What/where is the data? How can we minimize the number of keystrokes by end-users to get from the start to finish? The answer to all of these is "build a workflow". With the introduction of "Call HTTP Web Service" action, you can now access data anywhere in a site collection and consume it in any site, on any list, for any form. SharePoint Designer Workflows makes the SharePoint world go round.

Less Appropriate - Building SharePoint Pages
I have attempted to use SharePoint Designer to build custom pages, but it just is the worst tool to use. There are many other tools to use to develop customized pages. The techniques of designing custom page layouts, CSS files to populate in pages, JavaScript Snippets for pages have changed so much over the years, and SharePoint Designer did not change with them. In fact, it is my opinion the 2013 version made it 100 times more difficult than the 2010 Version.
Read Nicholas Miller's full review
Matt Finley, MSIT | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

Business solutions with SharePoint Designer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SharePoint designer is good for building out of the box SharePoint workflows. It is also good for managing site content and site lists and libraries. It can also be used as a source code editor for front end development. SharePoint designer is not appropriate for full stack SharePoint development. Does not have the capabilities that Visual Studio offers for developing SharePoint sites.
Read Matt Finley, MSIT's full review
April Dunnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

SharePoint Designer: A Necessary Evil

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would say that most developers such as myself are not big fans of SharePoint Designer. With that said, there are a couple things that you can't deny it is still well suited for. The biggest is workflow development. Microsoft is pushing Flow as a workflow tool more and more but it still has a way to go and is only available on O365. So, for workflow development, SharePoint Designer is your first stop. It is actually pretty end user friendly for developing workflows. The other thing it's well suited for it uploading resource files. Rather than mapping a drive to upload files, you can easily open it up in Designer and copy and paste.

Read April Dunnam's full review
Kristina Geiger | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2016

Designer is great- but no more Design view IN Designer??

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very well-suited and efficient for workflows, item/page views (as long as you aren't afraid of and are well-versed in the page code), and ease of creation for pages/sites/etc. If you need something extremely customizable with the least amount of limitations, you may be better off creating a custom solution in Visual Studios, but if your solution needs to go a bit larger than standard out-of-box functionality, SharePoint Designer would be a good tool to use.
Read Kristina Geiger's full review
Lorraine Marrero | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 16, 2016

Using SharePoint Designer to Easily Modify Pages and Create Workflows

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SharePoint Designer is very well suited for designing/modifying workflows. It is very easy to use for this purpose. I also find it easy to create page layouts and display templates, which if used together with search queries and content queries, can take the place of having to create web parts.
Read Lorraine Marrero's full review
Mary Kay Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2016

SharePoint Designer: Use With Caution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Designer 2010 is a huge improvement over Designer 2007. I'm just now installing Designer 2013 for my next upgrade environment, and I hope it is similarly improved. Given that there aren't any easy alternatives to Designer, it is worth putting up with its idiosyncrasies in order to get quick results for my end users.

But it is a powerful tool, so I will not make it available to the various power users who have requested access to it in production. We can restrict what site(s) Designer users can change, but within those sites, everything becomes up for grabs. Since my company wants to (a) maintain consistent user interfaces, and (b) restrict the number of unghosted pages overall (for performance reasons), we opt to let users from outside my team create their designs/customizations/workflows in the test environment, then we vet them before moving them to production.

Read Mary Kay Scott's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

SharePoint Designer Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Good for: simple to medium complexity workflows.
Weak on: scalability, portability, easy connection to other systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2016

There's no SharePoint without SharePoint Designer

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would have to say no. Most out of the box functionality can be done in SharePoint Designer as well as within SharePoint. I think it's okay to use both if you have the permissions to do so. If you aren't a power users or developer I would recommend not using SharePoint Designer because you could easily make modifications that weren't intended.
Read this authenticated review

About SharePoint Designer

Microsoft's SharePoint Designer is a tool for developing SharePoint applications.
Categories:  .Net Development

SharePoint Designer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No