TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/1F/d4/8461C69S0QXJ.PNGShopify Plus for a Rapidly Growing BusinessWe set up Shopify Plus for a large wood flower company. Due to the volume of orders, we went with Shopify Plus in order to handle it. It was easy to spin up a new website, and we could add features as the company grew.,Expandability was key to the growing business Large community of plugins and templates Handled the payment processing, etc.,Customizing templates can be difficult Some features required third-party tools,9,It allowed us to scale to millions in sales very quickly Costs to create and manage the site were reasonable compared to other options,Magento and Bigcommerce Enterprise,$1 to $10 million,B2CBest E-Commerce Platform on the MarketWe used Shopify Plus as our primary e-commerce platform to sell, market, brand, and present our wares to the world. I was operating an e-commerce store at the time and Shopify Plus was an excellent platform to both learn about e-commerce business modeling as well as digital sales and marketing. It was a one-stop shop for us and that was immensely helpful given limited resources.,Easy ramp up and very user-friendly interface. Easy to track payments, refunds, and customer interactions, including shipping. Discounts on shipping rates with preferred vendors. Reasonable monthly pricing.,Improved templates and themes. Less expensive premium templates and themes. More font and color/branding elements, without the need to purchase outside the platform or add-on expensive add-on applications. Expand shipping options, perhaps more integrations, Increased quality of drop shipping vendors and on-platform design tools.,9,No negatives Helped positively with product development Helped positively with product management and inventory,Squarespace, Wix and Weebly,Sprout Social, Marketo, Hootsuite Free,Less than $20,000,B2CShopify is the unquestioned market leader for hosted eCommerceWe assist merchants who are using Shopify Plus both online and in physical retail stores. All but one of our employees directly interacts with Shopify on a daily basis; about half of those employees are developing or supporting Shopify Plus merchants in some way.,Scales incredibly well. Forget about hardware concerns, load balancing, downtime, etc. and focus on eCommerce. We've seen merchants go from a few thousand dollars per month to having million dollar days, all on Shopify without having to worry about performance or scaling systems. Great new features consistently being added, ahead of the curve on almost everything Solid API to build on and work with, a few annoying quirks here and there for super complex use cases but overall very well documented and works well Most Merchant Success Managers are good and genuinely want to be helpful A fantastic user interface, very logical and easy to use Tons and tons and tons of out of the box integrations. Easily the best integration marketplace of the e-commerce platforms. There's an app for that.,Some very enterprise features are missing. Vaulted credit cards only work via the Shopify Pay (different than Shopify Payments) and aren't saved to customer accounts. Probably in part because of this, recurring subscriptions are not possible without using third party apps which is super annoying and those third-party apps hijack the native Shopify checkout so that they can take you to their checkout where they can actually save the cards. Shopify does not seem motivated to change this anytime soon either. Some merchants are frustrated that they have to use apps for functionality that they would otherwise consider essential such as wishlists. Shopify would argue that they are best as a platform and would rather empower apps as that results in an even better user experience since there are options for different apps, app developers are more incentivized to go deeper and build better, etc.. In most cases I believe this works well.,10,For merchants doing 500k/mo or more, the additional functionality afforded by Shopify Plus is definitely worthwhile. Negotiated credit card fees, increased API limits for customization, a dedicated MSM and priority support contacts, ability to have more than 15 staff, prioritization by Shopify Partners/experts, all add to Shopify Plus's solid value proposition.,BigCommerce, WooCommerce, Magento and Netsuite SuiteCommerce,Asana, Harvest, Xero, BrowserStack, 1Password, G Suite, Microsoft Office 365, Bitdefender GravityZone, TeamViewer, ShipStation, NetSuite, GitHub, Algolia, Postmark, Slack,$1 to $10 million,B2CFlexible solution for flexible businesses.We use Shopify Plus for our e-commerce website, some order management, some product management, and some analytics. We needed a strong e-commerce platform that was flexible for a growing midsize company, scaleable with our growth, could also support POS, and had a good API. Shopify plus has provided all of the non-negotiable for us at a really good price.,From a web perspective, it's really fast and has great out-of-the-box SEO benefits. The user interface is very, very easy to navigate. Very intuitive. Reporting is built in, allowing you to build customize-able reports for at-a-glance KPIs. Amazing support.,Some features that are non-negotiates for some businesses are missing, or are only available if you use Shopify Payments. One that comes to mind is saved/vaulted credit cards. Many aspects of Shopify Plus, including pre-built reporting features and widgets in the admin interface are very obviously built for small businesses. The larger you get as a business, the more irrelevant many of Shopify Plus features become. Shopify Plus does not have a robust POS at all. The POS is not enterprise-level.,10,Shopify Plus has been a very cost effective solution for us. As our business grows, it's easy to train new hires on how to use Shopify Plus. What we've lost in the missing features of Shopify we've made up for in the other areas.,,ShipStation, NetSuite, MailChimp, Slack, Domo, Google Analytics, Google Drive, WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Typeform, Jive Hosted VoIP,$50 to $100 million,B2CShopify Plus for mid-size, global, multi-brand & multi-channel retail storeWe have a relatively interesting use case for Shopify Plus. We use it in conjunction with our backend ERP system, Netsuite. We also use a third party system, FarApp, that links the two systems (products, orders, inventory, pricing, etc). As a result, we use Shopify as somewhat of a "container" that houses the digitally purchasable versions of our in-store products (since we link the in-store inventory and the online inventory). We are constantly working in Shopify and also in the other systems to try and make it as efficient as possible. Really Shopify excels in its ease of use and its focus on forward looking web technologies (responsive website, linking with analytics software, ability to use on mobile) and it struggles at some of the heavy lifting (content laden website, advanced product options, API is crappy).,Ease of use - you can basically start using Shopify out of the box with very little training. It's self explanatory and the resources for help are fantastic. Support - if you are a Shopify plus merchant you have dedicated account representatives that will really go the extra mile to help or create a fix for you. They do a good job making sure that you are taken care of to the best of their ability and frequently work with engineers for quick fixes to common problems. Customization - this is something Shopify is going to sell you on with Plus. You can create your own checkout, you can create custom pages that link in, and you can link in other systems through their app store and also custom coding. Partnerships - Shopify DOES link in with some systems great (Shipstation, Uber, CreateSend/MailChimp) and that is a huge positive.,API - unfortunately, given the amount Shopify talks about the ability to customize, they conveniently leave out the fact that their API is notoriously weak and also undocumented. It makes building custom solutions on top of Shopify cumbersome. Advanced Product Options - simple things like adding additional images into products with multiple variants doesn't exist! You have to install Apps to get some of this done. Inventory management is very basic and things like collection organization are light years ahead of other systems but can still use improvements. Mixing product and content - Surprisingly, Shopify isn't as strong here as you'd think. Oftentimes, people use entirely separate programs like Squarespace and Wordpress to run their content section of the website. This is fine except they are missing a critical component of linking the content to the product. I think Shopify should focus on this A LOT going forward.,7,It's definitely made it easier for us to manage the website and their SEO appears to be strong which is great since we have changed our website so much. Also, allowing integration with Paypal and Apple pay seamlessly has definitely made a positive impact. The ability to sync with Shipstation and CreateSend has definitely improved business efficiencies. The poor API has hurt us with our integration software, FarApp, fairly significantly as it takes longer to push products online.,Magento and Brightpearl,NetSuite, Dropbox for Business,$500,000 to $1 million,B2C
Unspecified
Shopify Plus
32 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Shopify Plus Reviews

Shopify Plus
32 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 33 vetted Shopify Plus reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Gardner profile photo
June 11, 2018

Review: "Shopify Plus for a Rapidly Growing Business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We set up Shopify Plus for a large wood flower company. Due to the volume of orders, we went with Shopify Plus in order to handle it. It was easy to spin up a new website, and we could add features as the company grew.
  • Expandability was key to the growing business
  • Large community of plugins and templates
  • Handled the payment processing, etc.
  • Customizing templates can be difficult
  • Some features required third-party tools
You can begin with Shopify and upgrade as your business scales. And it was able to handle seasonal and holiday spikes.
Read Chris Gardner's full review
No photo available
December 10, 2018

Shopify Plus Review: "Best E-Commerce Platform on the Market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Shopify Plus as our primary e-commerce platform to sell, market, brand, and present our wares to the world. I was operating an e-commerce store at the time and Shopify Plus was an excellent platform to both learn about e-commerce business modeling as well as digital sales and marketing. It was a one-stop shop for us and that was immensely helpful given limited resources.
  • Easy ramp up and very user-friendly interface.
  • Easy to track payments, refunds, and customer interactions, including shipping.
  • Discounts on shipping rates with preferred vendors.
  • Reasonable monthly pricing.
  • Improved templates and themes.
  • Less expensive premium templates and themes.
  • More font and color/branding elements, without the need to purchase outside the platform or add-on expensive add-on applications.
  • Expand shipping options, perhaps more integrations,
  • Increased quality of drop shipping vendors and on-platform design tools.
I don't think there is another platform on the market that compares to Shopify Plus, but I still think there is room for improvement specific to the points I mentioned.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

Shopify Plus Review: "Shopify is the unquestioned market leader for hosted eCommerce"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We assist merchants who are using Shopify Plus both online and in physical retail stores. All but one of our employees directly interacts with Shopify on a daily basis; about half of those employees are developing or supporting Shopify Plus merchants in some way.
  • Scales incredibly well. Forget about hardware concerns, load balancing, downtime, etc. and focus on eCommerce. We've seen merchants go from a few thousand dollars per month to having million dollar days, all on Shopify without having to worry about performance or scaling systems.
  • Great new features consistently being added, ahead of the curve on almost everything
  • Solid API to build on and work with, a few annoying quirks here and there for super complex use cases but overall very well documented and works well
  • Most Merchant Success Managers are good and genuinely want to be helpful
  • A fantastic user interface, very logical and easy to use
  • Tons and tons and tons of out of the box integrations. Easily the best integration marketplace of the e-commerce platforms. There's an app for that.
  • Some very enterprise features are missing. Vaulted credit cards only work via the Shopify Pay (different than Shopify Payments) and aren't saved to customer accounts. Probably in part because of this, recurring subscriptions are not possible without using third party apps which is super annoying and those third-party apps hijack the native Shopify checkout so that they can take you to their checkout where they can actually save the cards. Shopify does not seem motivated to change this anytime soon either.
  • Some merchants are frustrated that they have to use apps for functionality that they would otherwise consider essential such as wishlists. Shopify would argue that they are best as a platform and would rather empower apps as that results in an even better user experience since there are options for different apps, app developers are more incentivized to go deeper and build better, etc.. In most cases I believe this works well.
I would recommend Shopify Plus to any merchant doing at least 500k/mo and doesn't primarily do subscription products. High volume merchants who run complex subscriptions may be better off on an eCommerce platform that doesn't rely on third-party subscription apps that can't even use Shopify's native checkout. Merchants doing under 500k are probably fine with one of Shopify's normal plans rather than Plus.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

Shopify Plus Review: "Flexible solution for flexible businesses."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Shopify Plus for our e-commerce website, some order management, some product management, and some analytics. We needed a strong e-commerce platform that was flexible for a growing midsize company, scaleable with our growth, could also support POS, and had a good API. Shopify plus has provided all of the non-negotiable for us at a really good price.
  • From a web perspective, it's really fast and has great out-of-the-box SEO benefits.
  • The user interface is very, very easy to navigate. Very intuitive.
  • Reporting is built in, allowing you to build customize-able reports for at-a-glance KPIs.
  • Amazing support.
  • Some features that are non-negotiates for some businesses are missing, or are only available if you use Shopify Payments. One that comes to mind is saved/vaulted credit cards.
  • Many aspects of Shopify Plus, including pre-built reporting features and widgets in the admin interface are very obviously built for small businesses. The larger you get as a business, the more irrelevant many of Shopify Plus features become.
  • Shopify Plus does not have a robust POS at all. The POS is not enterprise-level.
Well suited for growing mid-sized to large businesses who want to remain flexible and agile and are OK making compromises here and there. Not well suited for large corporations that have very traditional requirements for what e-commerce should look like; Shopify is on the cutting edge of e-commerce and they seem to tailor their product to the tastes and preferences of millennials.
Read this authenticated review
Jeffrey Hilliard profile photo
April 04, 2017

Review: "Shopify Plus for mid-size, global, multi-brand & multi-channel retail store"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a relatively interesting use case for Shopify Plus. We use it in conjunction with our backend ERP system, NetSuite. We also use a third party system, FarApp, that links the two systems (products, orders, inventory, pricing, etc). As a result, we use Shopify as somewhat of a "container" that houses the digitally purchasable versions of our in-store products (since we link the in-store inventory and the online inventory). We are constantly working in Shopify and also in the other systems to try and make it as efficient as possible.

Really Shopify excels in its ease of use and its focus on forward looking web technologies (responsive website, linking with analytics software, ability to use on mobile) and it struggles at some of the heavy lifting (content laden website, advanced product options, API is crappy).
  • Ease of use - you can basically start using Shopify out of the box with very little training. It's self explanatory and the resources for help are fantastic.
  • Support - if you are a Shopify plus merchant you have dedicated account representatives that will really go the extra mile to help or create a fix for you. They do a good job making sure that you are taken care of to the best of their ability and frequently work with engineers for quick fixes to common problems.
  • Customization - this is something Shopify is going to sell you on with Plus. You can create your own checkout, you can create custom pages that link in, and you can link in other systems through their app store and also custom coding.
  • Partnerships - Shopify DOES link in with some systems great (Shipstation, Uber, CreateSend/MailChimp) and that is a huge positive.
  • API - unfortunately, given the amount Shopify talks about the ability to customize, they conveniently leave out the fact that their API is notoriously weak and also undocumented. It makes building custom solutions on top of Shopify cumbersome.
  • Advanced Product Options - simple things like adding additional images into products with multiple variants doesn't exist! You have to install Apps to get some of this done. Inventory management is very basic and things like collection organization are light years ahead of other systems but can still use improvements.
  • Mixing product and content - Surprisingly, Shopify isn't as strong here as you'd think. Oftentimes, people use entirely separate programs like Squarespace and Wordpress to run their content section of the website. This is fine except they are missing a critical component of linking the content to the product. I think Shopify should focus on this A LOT going forward.
If you are a new e-commerce business that wants to get up quickly, has very easy to use systems, and has a relatively simple business structure (not global, inventory relatively simple), then Shopify is definitely for you. It's intuitive, has several built-in features that are incredibly nice, and plugs into other large systems. If you are a large business with several shipping centers, complex products, with a huge content goal, Shopify can make it difficult or require some outside technology that often falls short of what they tell you.
Read Jeffrey Hilliard's full review
Mika Casey profile photo
June 16, 2016

Review: "Shopify Plus has delivered enterprise-level service at a small business cost"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Shopify Plus as the e-commerce front-end for our flagship websites, including MMAWarehouse.com and BJJWarehouse.com.
  • Very slick and well-designed interface, the easiest cart backend we've ever worked with
  • Enterprise-level features at a very affordable price
  • A very extensive app store with truly turnkey apps
  • Better multi-store management
  • More robust promotion and upselling capability (without apps)
  • Pricebooks for scheduled pricing
  • Scheduled content management
I would recommend Shopify Plus to businesses that want a hands-off store with most of the latest and greatest features and a highly converting mobile experience. It may not be suited for a business with the need for many sites or for a business with thousands of products that doesn't want to also use a complementary inventory management system or PIM.
Read Mika Casey's full review
Paul Pender profile photo
May 03, 2016

User Review: "Shopify Plus > SquareSpace"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a company, we historically generated revenue through a subscription service to our app, as well as paid media advertisements. Last May we decided to introduce a third line of business - eCommerce. We adopted Shopify Plus in August to help us scale our eCommerce business, and bring our product offering to our 50+ million user base.
  • Customer support - Shopify Plus gives us top tier support, which allows us to jump to the top of the support queue anytime we have a question. Support is available via live chat, email or phone. For more technical questions, we can book a call with our account manager who connects us to the appropriate resource at Shopify.
  • Ease of use - It was incredibly easy to stand up an eCommerce business on Shopify Plus. The platform is intuitive to use and allowed us to get up and running quickly.
  • Customizations - It has been very easy to customize our shop to the look and feel of our brand. You can either install a theme from the Theme Store or let designers and engineers run wild to create their own.
  • Reporting - The native reporting in Shopify is not as in depth as one would hope. They often rely on third party apps to fill any gaps they've missed. For example, it would be nice to be able to input the costs of your products included in the Shopify admin so we can run reports with margins included.
  • Business guidance - We haven't received a ton of advice in terms of business suggestions or guidance. It would be great to guide those merchants who are new to eCommerce to help them navigate pitfalls and common problems.
Shopify Plus is well suited for those running a medium-scale business. It is not needed for a new merchant running a small operation. It is also likely not suitable for a larger business generating a few million in revenue per quarter.
Read Paul Pender's full review
Griffin Thall profile photo
May 02, 2016

User Review: "Shopify Plus Kicks A$$, Literally!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Shopify Plus is being used by the majority of our team to power our e-commerce store. Our entire team knows how to log in to our website backend, make proper changes, look up orders, and get customer info.
  • They have a great support staff who responds quickly to any issues we have.
  • The backend is very easy to use for people who do not have a ton of web experience.
  • I love how they can update the entire platform with zero downtime.
  • There is no way to track revenue per coupon code in a nice graph layout like the "Reports" section does for sales.
  • Seamless integration into third party vendors.
  • Free sShipping on a product specific level.
It is great for a brand who wants to easily scale the e-commerce part of their business.
Read Griffin Thall's full review
Scott Foster profile photo
April 29, 2016

Review: "Our mix of virtual and physical product eCommerce store has been elevated by Shopify Plus!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Shopify as the main source for our players to buy game pieces. We needed to have a product that we could customize, had near 100% uptime, and allowed people to choose payment options. Shopify covered all of those, and with Plus, it allows us to use things like Multipass and 1-on-1 attention to make Shopify work for us.
  • 1-on-1 attention. Our account representative answers all of our questions very quickly.
  • Multipass. We didn't want people to recreate accounts, just use the Munzee accounts that they currently have.
  • Giving us information as it's announced e.g. "This new feature may help your account in x, y, z ... "
  • Weekly Reviews. If this week was x amount less than last week, work with the client on why.
  • Recommend new products based on best selling products.
  • Wish I knew the roadmap of unannounced features. That way when it's announced, I already have a plan.
It's very well suited for making us feel comfortable about our online store. The 24 hour support is great along with the ease of use. We love it!
Read Scott Foster's full review
No photo available
April 29, 2016

Review: "Shopify Plus IS the leading e-commerce platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an e-commerce agency, building websites for some of the biggest businesses out there. All of our e-commerce websites use the Shopify platform.
  • Well-developed platform
  • Easy, secure, and fast customer experience
  • Clean and organized management system for merchants
  • More control over code for developers
It's the platform of choice for any e-commerce website. Compared to others, such as Magento, it really makes the entire experience easy yet powerful for all people involved from developer, to merchant, to consumer.
Read this authenticated review

Shopify Plus Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (8)
9.1
Product management (9)
9.0
Bulk product upload (7)
9.1
Branding (9)
7.5
Mobile storefront (9)
8.7
Product variations (8)
8.2
Website integration (8)
7.9
Visual customization (9)
7.1
CMS (9)
6.3
Abandoned cart recovery (10)
9.2
Checkout user experience (10)
8.5
eCommerce security (10)
9.9
Promotions & discounts (9)
9.4
Personalized recommendations (7)
8.4
SEO (10)
9.5
Order processing (9)
9.0
Inventory management (9)
7.6
Shipping (8)
7.5
Custom functionality (9)
7.0

About Shopify Plus

Shopify Plus is an ecommerce solution that enables business to sell online and off across social channels like Facebook and Pinterest and through marketplaces like Amazon and eBay. The vendor says this solution is engineered for scalability and reliability.

The vendor’s value proposition is that Shopify Plus is driving disruption in the traditional enterprise landscape by giving customers the power and capabilities they need to grow and succeed without the headaches, costs, and lengthy timelines of traditional enterprise options. Shopify Plus customers include Proctor & Gamble, General Electric, Budweiser, Red Bull and many more.

Categories:  Ecommerce

Shopify Plus Features

Online Storefront Features
Has featureProduct catalog & listings
Has featureProduct management
Has featureBulk product upload
Has featureBranding
Has featureSearch & filter
Has featureMobile storefront
Has featureProduct variations
Has featureSubscriptions & downloads
Has featureWebsite integration
Has featureVisual customization
Has featureCMS
Has featureCustomer service tools
Online Shopping Cart Features
Has featureAbandoned cart recovery
Has featureTax calculator
Has featureShipping calculator
Does not have featureIntegration with Amazon
Does not have featureIntegration with eBay
Has featureCheckout user experience
Online Payment System Features
Has featurePayPal integration
Has featureReturns & refunds
Does not have featureSingle-click checkout
Has featureeCommerce security
Has featureCredit card transaction fee
Has featureB2B features
eCommerce Marketing Features
Has featurePromotions & discounts
Has featurePersonalized recommendations
Has featureSEO
Has featureProduct reviews
Has featureSocial commerce integration
Has featureCustomer registration
eCommerce Business Management Features
Does not have featureMulti-site management
Has featureOrder processing
Has featureInventory management
Has featureAccounting
Has featureShipping
Has featureCustom functionality
Additional Features
Has featureBuilt-in automation tools like Shopify Flow and Launchpad
Has featureWholesale channel that automatically builds a self-service storefront for high-volume buyers

Shopify Plus Screenshots

Shopify Plus Competitors

Shopify Plus Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Dedicated Account Management
Dedicated Launch Management
Priority 24/7 Support

Shopify Plus Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:Canada, USA, Australia, United Kingdom, Europe
Supported Languages: English