Shopify Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
261 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 80)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Paul Francis Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2020

Awesome Front & Back End, Not So Great WIth Inventory

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I was hired by the owners of The Outdoor Patio Store to help usher in a new, more modern experience. The website was hosted on an extremely old and out of date platform that hadn't been updated in years so I had a little experience using Shopify, and I felt it was a really good choice for a small to medium sized business. The back-end is incredibly simple to use, and on the front-end you get a really modern website that does an incredible job displaying your products.
Read Paul Francis Jones's full review
Horacio Carcamo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

E-commerce's finest platform for your business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is a great way to promote and distribute the company's products. It also functions as another way to sell in a digital way. If you do not feel like investing in a web developer, Shopify gives you the tools so you can create your landing site to start selling on day one.
Read Horacio Carcamo's full review
Nichole Pelaez | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

The Best E-commerce Platform-biz in a Box

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is currently used to host our eCommerce store and it fully supports our business. It is used by our whole organization for web design, operations and order fulfillment, shipping, marketing, and product management. Shopify addresses the main issue small and new business owners have when wanting to start an online store. They are supportive every step of the way adding so many apps that make it possible to have variety and automation with every aspect of your businesses. Shopify helps you customize webpages, processes credit card transactions, organizes your orders, and allows you to print shipping labels, track inventory, and use other programs to market and email campaigns to your customers. They have so many tools, apps, and support guides available it was essential to getting my business up and running and now fully operational and thriving. What’s best, I know Shopify will have what I need when my business is ready to take the next step and grow.
Read Nichole Pelaez's full review
Kim Hoogenboom | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Branded products, no overhead or inventory!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify, combined with Custom Cat and Printful provide our private school system with an advertising avenue not previously afforded. We are now able to offer multiple designs in a multitude of colors, sizes, and styles without the overhead of having inventory. Everyone that orders become a walking, talking, and actionable billboard for the schools with almost no overhead or volunteering.
Read Kim Hoogenboom's full review
Rachel Blankenship | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Shopify allows you to go beyond the Brick and Mortar store.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is used as our ordering system, as well as our POS system for our temporary brick and mortar stores. Customers are able to purchase through our website which is run by Shopify. Our fit stylists are then able to place orders such as exchanges for customers on the back end through Shopify. We are able to house customer information such as their shipping and billing address. And we also utilize an app within Shopify called Swell. This is used for our loyalty program in which each order that a customer places adds to their Swell and they are able to move up different tiers.
Read Rachel Blankenship's full review
Steven Duran | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Shopify is perfect if you're just getting started!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Shopify as the sales platform for a subscription service that we offer customers. It's being used by our e-commerce line of business and it has been fairly successful so far. It allowed us to take an idea that we had and implement it really quickly without a ton of development resources.
Read Steven Duran's full review
Adam Litvack | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Shopify Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is the backend for our 2 e-commerce websites. We operate 2 branded sites that serve as our customer-facing websites. Our e-commerce and Marketing team both use Shopify on an ongoing basis to sell online.
It manages our store catalogs, inventory, images and descriptions. With Shopify, my team can control the look and feel of the online stores with many tools and apps that expand options, giving us complete and total flexibility. Shopify excels on the backend as it’s all in the cloud, and we do not have to host the servers, payment gateways. It also includes a wide-ranging suite of tools and analytics.
Read Adam Litvack's full review
Kathy Pierre | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Shopify Works

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Shopify as the platform for our official skincare e-commerce website. We have found it to be the best platform we have discovered thus far, especially if you are someone who is not very good at developing a website from scratch.
Read Kathy Pierre's full review
Stephen Steinberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2019

One of the top eCommerce providers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've used Shopify to test new products and new markets. Shopify is perfect for those cases because it's cheapest plan is functional enough to test a product and market, yet it has enough out-of-the-box themes to look presentable without much time and effort in customizations. BigCommerce has a bit more functionality but it's cheapest plan is more expensive and takes more effort to make presentable, so Shopify is perfect for rolling out a website quick and cheap.
Read Stephen Steinberg's full review
Lindsay Halsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Two thumbs up for SEO friendliness

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our search engine marketing agency, Shopify is a frequently used eCommerce platform by our customers. We, then, use Shopify for search engine optimization. The platforms allow us to implement search engine marketing best practices with ease.
Read Lindsay Halsey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Dependable eCommerce platform with solid analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Shopify to sell a large volume of consumer products. There are multiple users within the company actively using the platform. It serves as a versatile and dependable eCommerce solution that allows us to make changes to the product pages quickly and easily. The analytics data is robust and helps us keep an eye on KPIs throughout the day.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

One-stop shop for all your eCommerce needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is being used as the eCommerce backend for two of my clients' websites. They use it to set up and sell products online along with the design and layout of the website itself. It's a great single-solution platform for most online sales and the management and creation of products for the stores.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Shopify Vs The Competition

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is a handy website management tool. We have multiple websites through Shopify to sell different products through our companies. Our customer care team uses Shopify to get orders and then enter them into our system and get them started in our company. I update our websites with new products and promotions that I can run through Shopify, such as free shipping.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

A user-friendly way to set up your first e-commerce store.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have personally been using Shopify, for a small e-commerce store I run, for the last year. I set up a store and was able to start selling items and accepting payments very quickly after signing up. One of the biggest challenges for me (since this is a side business I work on) is that I cannot devote a lot of time or resources to get this up and running. That meant I would not be able to hire a dedicated design and development team to set up my e-shop. Shopify was the perfect solution for this. Their interface was really easy to understand, I really liked how everything is basically drag-and-drop simple. They were also able to set up my payment method without any hassles as well and that meant I could generate revenue from the get-go. Overall, this is the perfect e-commerce start-up tool for small and medium businesses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Best all-around option

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am a web designer and have used Shopify for the set up of e-commerce sites. Shopify is the best all-around option for e-commerce websites. It is particularly good for those with a large online store that need the functionality that Shopify has as well as the integrations it has.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Nice basic platform at a nice price

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Shopify as an 'add-on' to our main retail websites. We use it to create additional 'mini sites' that allow for more marketing opportunities beyond what our main retail sites can provide.
Although those sites are large and robust, they don't always take advantage of the latest tools and trends the way Shopify does.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Best E-commerce platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify is arguably the best e-commerce platform. It has hundreds of payment gateways, integrations, fantastic UI, and is just an excellent platform for an online store.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Hanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

A great E-commerce platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am currently in Shopify's partner program. I build web stores for clients who are looking to start there own E-Commerce store. We also help customers who already have Shopify stores. We help them grow and upgrade their current stores. I am able to manage all parts of Shopify without having the need for more employees.
Read Dan Hanna's full review
Kiara Elder | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Gotta love Shopify

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as our main store on the internet and use their technology for our popup and local stores. We use their interface as our main customer interaction and sell point. We use it across our whole organization.
Read Kiara Elder's full review
RICKY NG | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

A non-tech user opinion of Shopify Basic for the new eCommerce user and startup.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We run Shopify Basic for eCommerce as a second storefront for our luggage business. It is used as an independent store platform alongside our BigCommerce platform. Given Shopify is a top eCommerce platform, we decided to try it and test out its performance compared to our BigCommerce store.
Read RICKY NG's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

I absolutely love Shopify, would NEVER use anything else ever again.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify Plus is the version that we are using and it is the best online platform that we have found, bar none. We have used several different systems, including but not limited to OFBiz, Magento, and BigCommerce. Each of those other platforms have severe limitations or problems, and we have encountered none of them with Shopify. The best part for us is that we are saving thousands of $$ per month, from just hosting and general fees for merchant accounts to developers and server issues. And between the 3 active sites that we have on Shopify Plus, we are doing around $20M in sales. We love the app store and that really provides so many quick fixes or plugs gaps that we need and most of them cost little to nothing to add into your store. We couldn't be more pleased with Shopify and it has changed how we do things for the better!!!
Read this authenticated review
Marcio Vizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Shopify is an important ally in your online sales

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Shopify was the platform chosen to create our company's online sales site. We needed a platform that was intuitive and easy to operate, and that could be operated by several people in our team. We also wanted a platform that was highly customizable, where we could leave it with a unique identity without appearing generic or too much like other sites. Shopify seemed to fit perfectly in these points, and with it implemented we have all our online sales procedures automated, being able to realize sales with more efficiency, agility, and safety.
Read Marcio Vizoli's full review
Mandy Cramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Sales Assured with Shopify

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I manage the Shopify for my brand producing enamel pins and accessories. I love Shopify because I can integrate my web shop with my social media like Instagram, Facebook, etc. 97% of all my sales come from Instagram and being able to have an easy way for my customers to click on products and easily access my very user-friendly website is probably the number one reason for my sales.
Read Mandy Cramer's full review
Ashley Gennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Helps a small software company get it's products out there

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were trying to make our products (which are software based) easier or our users to purchase and look at. We also host a bi-annual conference, where Shopify has helped us list and highlight all products & items we are presenting on, to make it easier for our attendees to purchase them.
Read Ashley Gennett's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (67)
9.0
Product management (65)
8.7
Bulk product upload (54)
8.0
Branding (67)
8.9
Mobile storefront (66)
9.1
Product variations (64)
8.4
Website integration (62)
8.9
Visual customization (65)
8.7
CMS (52)
8.5
Abandoned cart recovery (59)
8.7
Checkout user experience (63)
8.8
eCommerce security (65)
9.5
Promotions & discounts (63)
8.7
Personalized recommendations (32)
8.4
SEO (62)
7.8
Multi-site management (19)
6.7
Order processing (65)
9.1
Inventory management (64)
8.9
Shipping (59)
8.7
Custom functionality (60)
8.1

About Shopify

Shopify is a commerce platform that allows anyone to easily sell online, at a retail location, and everywhere in between. Shopify offers a professional online storefront, a payment solution to accept credit cards, and the Shopify POS application to power retail sales. Shopify is used by over 90,000 retailers in 100 different countries.

As a SaaS, Shopify's stability and always-on availability are touted. The eCommerce site presents the customary inventory and presentation controls typical of eCommerce solutions. Items are organized into collections, or using smart collections customize groupings to fit the merchandise (e.g. less than $20 items, gift ideas, bundles, etc.). Content management features (e.g. a blog) are present for tailoring the look and interactivity of the site.

For selling online, the $14 Starter pack includes a basic eCommerce site with 1GB of storage, chat & email support, and support for 25 listings. The $29 Basic pack includes POS and unlimited products, as well as fraud analysis tools. The $79 Professional Pack bumps storage space from 1GB to 5GB and adds gift cards, professional reports, and abandoned cart recovery. Finally, Unlimited, at $179 per month, makes space unlimited, and provides advanced reporting and real-time carrier shipping.
Categories:  Point of Sale,  eCommerce

Shopify Features

Online Storefront Features

Has featureProduct catalog & listings
Has featureProduct management
Has featureBulk product upload
Has featureBranding
Has featureSearch & filter
Has featureMobile storefront
Has featureProduct variations
Has featureSubscriptions & downloads
Has featureWebsite integration
Has featureVisual customization
Has featureCMS

Online Shopping Cart Features

Has featureAbandoned cart recovery
Has featureTax calculator
Has featureShipping calculator
Has featureIntegration with Amazon
Has featureIntegration with eBay
Has featureCheckout user experience

Online Payment System Features

Has featurePayPal integration
Has featureReturns & refunds
Has featureSingle-click checkout
Has featureeCommerce security

eCommerce Marketing Features

Has featurePromotions & discounts
Has featureSEO
Has featureProduct reviews
Has featureSocial commerce integration
Has featureCustomer registration

eCommerce Business Management Features

Has featureOrder processing
Has featureInventory management
Has featureShipping
Has featureCustom functionality

Shopify Integrations

Shopify Competitors

Shopify Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Shopify Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Shopify Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android