Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Sigma

Sigma

Overview

What is Sigma?

Sigma Computing headquartered in San Francisco provides a suite of data services such as code free data modeling, data search and explorating, and related BI and data visualization services.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Sigma Recommended.

8 out of 10
February 19, 2024
Incentivized
We use it to embed onto our website for client-facing reporting and internal reporting for our teams that need to see our Sigma data but …
Continue reading

Sigma Rolling Out.

9 out of 10
February 16, 2024
Incentivized
We use Sigma all day everyday to achieve our production goals and monitor current progress at just a glance. It aids us in planning and …
Continue reading

My Sigma Review

10 out of 10
February 13, 2024
Incentivized
Used for KPI dashboards, monthly/quarterly financial reporting, tracking data sets, and manipulating data. I have used Sigma to make …
Continue reading

Sigma Review

10 out of 10
February 08, 2024
Incentivized
I use Sigma Computing to find patterns in my data and create dashboards to strategize business decisions based on my analysis. I enjoy …
Continue reading

Love Sigma

9 out of 10
January 10, 2024
Incentivized
I create analytics reporting for many stakeholders. I make customer data available on a variety of dashboards to our account managers, I …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 15 features
  • Drill-down analysis (151)
    8.5
    85%
  • Report sharing and collaboration (157)
    8.3
    83%
  • Customizable dashboards (156)
    7.7
    77%
  • Formatting capabilities (158)
    7.3
    73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Sigma?

Sigma Computing headquartered in San Francisco provides a suite of data services such as code free data modeling, data search and explorating, and related BI and data visualization services.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

147 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Power BI?

Microsoft Power BI is a visualization and data discovery tool from Microsoft. It allows users to convert data into visuals and graphics, visually explore and analyze data, collaborate on interactive dashboards and reports, and scale across their organization with built-in governance and security.

What is Tableau Desktop?

Tableau Desktop is a data visualization product from Tableau. It connects to a variety of data sources for combining disparate data sources without coding. It provides tools for discovering patterns and insights, data calculations, forecasts, and statistical summaries and visual storytelling.

Return to navigation

Features

BI Standard Reporting

Standard reporting means pre-built or canned reports available to users without having to create them.

7.2
Avg 8.2

Ad-hoc Reporting

Ad-Hoc Reports are reports built by the user to meet highly specific requirements.

7.8
Avg 8.1

Report Output and Scheduling

Ability to schedule and manager report output.

8.8
Avg 8.4

Data Discovery and Visualization

Data Discovery and Visualization is the analysis of multiple data sources in a search for patterns and outliers and the ability to represent the data visually.

6.4
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Sigma?

Sigma is a business intelligence (BI) and analytics platform purpose-built for the cloud. With Sigma, anyone can use the spreadsheet functions and formulas they already know to explore live data at cloud scale, down to the lowest grain of detail. Its familiar spreadsheet-like interface delivers SQL into the hands of any user while keeping data fresh and secure within cloud data warehouses.


Data-first companies can use Sigma to empower their employees, customers, and partners to break free from the confines of the dashboard and explore data for themselves to make better, faster decisions. The software was built to capitalize on the performance power of cloud data warehouses to combine data sources and analyze billions of rows of data instantly – no coding required.

Sigma Features

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pixel Perfect reports
  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Predictive modeling
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Output Raw Supporting Data
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling
  • Supported: Delivery to Remote Servers

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)

Sigma Screenshots

Screenshot of Custom calculations that can be added to tables and visualizations – no SQL skills necessary.Screenshot of Visualization tableScreenshot of Custom bins to drive complex cohort analysis built without SQL code.Screenshot of Complex cohort analyses built without code.Screenshot of Lookups provide familiar spreadsheet functionality to business users.Screenshot of A Sigma Workbook, that brings together spreadsheets, charts, and data narratives onto a live, collaborative canvas.Screenshot of Visualizations, that can be sorted, filtered, and drilled into, to the unconstrained underlying data.Screenshot of Spreadsheet formulas, that can be used to add calculated fields to pivot tables without coding.

Sigma Videos

What is Sigma?
Cohort analysis with Sigma
Sigma for Sales Teams Demo
Rapid Data Prototyping with Sigma
Building Pivot Tables with Sigma
Embedded Analytics with Sigma
Parsing JSON in seconds with Sigma
Sigma Demo at Snowflake Summit

Sigma Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesUnited States, Canada

Frequently Asked Questions

Sigma Computing headquartered in San Francisco provides a suite of data services such as code free data modeling, data search and explorating, and related BI and data visualization services.

Tableau Desktop, Tableau Cloud, and Looker are common alternatives for Sigma.

Reviewers rate Report Versioning highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Sigma are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(296)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 165)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Randall Hidajat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm using Sigma Computing primarily to capture and track all KPIs related to customer service. In addition to that, our organization is using Sigma to track all KPIs across multiple different systems. Sigma allows our business users to be able to create, view, and manipulate data how they feel like it is needed.
  • Ability for a data analyst to upload a specific CSV to join on.
  • Scheduling reports over slack/email/etc
  • Create hidden tabs/charts to use as an intermediary table
  • Create charts based off of any table, csv, other table, etc.
  • Unable to search for a specific chart in a workbook
  • No clear area to test or put one-off questions
  • Search overall is really hard to use
As long as you have data experience, Sigma Computing is a pretty straight forward tool. The ability to embed charts, workbooks, and different assets publicly is very useful especially when needing to send something over to a user. This is a better and cleaner way than to just send over a screenshot of a chart.

Sigma Computing is hard to use however when you are building so many different charts and workbooks, it is impossible to search for a chart that exists inside a workbook. In addition to that, when needing to answer a one-off question, the only option to create is to create a workbook or a new dataset. This means that the best way to test or find a one-off question is to create a workbook called "sandbox", or something temporarily which is not so clean.
February 19, 2024

Sigma Computing Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Sigma Computing for our brokerage, business development, ops, and product dashboards. They help us understand how our team is performing, where to pursue future opportunities, and manage our internal data. Everyone in the org uses it
  • Ease of use - I'm a non-technical user but have built out the bulk of our dashboards
  • Their support is world class - their chat function is super quick to respond and knowledgeable
  • Their tutorials and webinars are useful for new learnings
  • There are occasional bugs
  • Their AI functionality is still lacking
In my opinion, any org that is data-driven should use Sigma Computing - it really enables the entire team to build dashboards and explore data within the org because it is so user friendly.
February 19, 2024

Sigma Recommended.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to embed onto our website for client-facing reporting and internal reporting for our teams that need to see our Sigma data but don't have access to our database. The client-facing reporting is being used to show customers specific data they want to see, but we don't want to give them Sigma access.
  • Having different options for tables and their formatting.
  • Data connection and keeping up to date.
  • Having presets that are easy for other people to use.
  • The errors that happen when the exporting comes.
  • Making the embedding documentation clearer and more concise.
  • Input tables being able to work as a regular table.
Sigma computing is great for customers looking for easy BI solutions that offer various ways to show reporting for their company. It doesn't work for customers looking for much more in-depth and aesthetically severe reporting. Like the layering that Tableau offers and the very specific changes you can make to graphs.
February 16, 2024

Sigma Rolling Out.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Sigma all day everyday to achieve our production goals and monitor current progress at just a glance. It aids us in planning and addressing issues that we may confront through out the day.
  • Live data.
  • Summarization of critical data.
  • Organization of data.
  • Improve the delay of data on the live reports.
  • More customization with the reports.
  • The ability to have more than one report open at once.
  • The ability to have more tab open in a report.
Its a great tool to have. The ability to come in the morning and by using the report being able see how the day will go. Seeing the goal and the current inventory and also to be able to adjust as the day goes on. With the report updates the report as changes to the inventory happen live or if any issues arise. being able to see that live and being to react quickly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Sigma Computing for Clinical Trial Data and I do embed with our existing applications. We have drugs tested out on Animals and Humans ,so with the help of Sigma Computing we create a workbooks and see what are the quantities ,we have provided to which category and many more such use cases we have.Now Sigma Computing has launched Actions as a new feature , so we would be easily able to add actions in our existing dashboards or also with the help of Sigma Computing , embed customers can do self service analytics where they leverage the feature of Input table and add comments .They upload csv's and analyse the'r's data.
  • Embedded Analytics
  • Input Table
  • Sigma AI
  • Linked Input Table
  • Actions
  • Deal with millions of records
  • Live edit
  • Compatible with Snowflake
  • Custom sql
  • Forecasting
  • Dashboard Designing
  • Parameterization
  • Containers
I love Embedded Analytics with Sigma Computing, Which is quite easier than any other tool , Input Table is the best way to feel Excel , Linked input table is something where you can add your comments and add a column on top of Snowflake Table. I love Sigma Computing Custom plugin Feature where you can leverage the power of Creating a chart which is not Possible to build within Sigma Computing.Like Waffle chart which Sigma Computing does not support but you can create it in any third party tool and get it in Sigma Computing through Custom Plugin feature.
February 13, 2024

My Sigma Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Used for KPI dashboards, monthly/quarterly financial reporting, tracking data sets, and manipulating data. I have used Sigma to make dashboards interactive, creating input tables for different teams to adjust scenarios on the fly. I have also created many datasets in the background to improve the calculation and loading speeds of common Excel dashboards.
  • Grouped aggregations
  • Input tables
  • Controlling level of access
  • ETL processes
  • Center justification of data
  • Hiding input tables based on permissions
  • Sending email updates when tickets are complete
Sigma is well suited in table creation and showing aggregations at different levels. I enjoy using it to create clean tables that automatically update based on datasets/Snowflake tables that they are connected to. It is less appropriate for external reporting because you are not able to adjust column colors and some other nuances in formatting in its current state.
February 08, 2024

Sigma Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Sigma Computing to find patterns in my data and create dashboards to strategize business decisions based on my analysis. I enjoy using Sigma Computing because of the flexibility it gives me
to share my dashboards with other users and allow them to edit or view them as well.
  • Customer Technical Support (Sigma Help)
  • Addressing feedback from users (implementing requested features)
  • Providing demo's on new product launches
  • Sometimes my dashboard crashes if there are too many pages on it
  • Ability to share dashboards externally (I'd like to add some to my public portfolio like I do with Tableau)
Sigma Computing is very beginner friendly because of their technical support team, leveraging this at the beginning of my Sigma journey was immensely helpful. Even today, where I am more comfortable with Sigma i'll run into an issue and their support team will always be there to walking me through a solution. I also think it's easier to make more cohesive and clean dashboards on Sigma Computing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Sigma Computing is used to monitor and display data used in our organization. We are also using Sigma Computing as a product alternative. Our business is an alternative data provider, and Sigma does a great job at allowing us to easily visualize and connect to live data in the Cloud Data Warehouse.
  • Dashboard customization
  • Exceptional support
  • connection to live data
  • there are some nice to have features that Sigma is missing
Sigma is well suited if you are looking to created dashboards from live data in a Cloud Data Warehouse. Sigma also works well with application embedding.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Sigma is the hub for all of our organizations reporting and dashboarding needs. We use it for everything from quick questions about our data, to advanced analysis and projections. As a small data team, I use Sigma daily to create workbooks and answer questions of my internal team. Sigma's workbook functionality is some of the best I've seen in any BI tool. Advanced questions that would involve complicated query writing are very fast to develop in Sigma's formula and table editors.
  • Interactive workbooks
  • Data Table development
  • Data Table reusability
  • Document based report development
  • Theming and styling
  • Visualization types offered
I have recommended Sigma to colleagues who are looking for a BI tool that is hosted and who are utilizing Snowflake. While I think Sigma could be good for analysis purposes for any organization, if the consumption of the reports is primarily focused around interactive dashboards, I think it is a very good fit.

I would not recommend Sigma for organizations that have requirements for document based reports.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to create reports for other teams to provide a more complete view of the company. We are able to create workbooks that report on a global level (not just D2C, E-commerce, etc) and be able to connect different sources of data that would've been separate otherwise.
  • Our team loves Excel and it is very similar to excel
  • User friendly UI
  • Sigma team is responsive whenever we have questions or need to troubleshoot
  • Be able to create more robust reporting - can't do window functions
  • Sometimes we get a lot of loading errors. I don't think the query it optimized when Sigma is creating the reporting. When I look at the query it's thousands of lines long
I think Sigma is great for companies that have different teams with different needs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I utilize Sigma to visualize datasets that I have curated in Snowflake. Sigma allows us to identify issues within our products and services to improve efficiency and effectiveness.
  • Allows end users to easily dive into the data without having direct access to the table in our database management software.
  • Can easily turnaround dashboards that are detailed and visually pleasing.
  • Sigma is intuitive and as new features are rolled out it is easy to adopt and incorporate them into new and existing dashboards.
  • Improved period over period functionality within the KPI Visual that would allow me to compare one year to another without including all years in the visual. I.E. the primary value is 2022 and the comparison line is 2021.
  • Greater ability to customize aspects of different visuals such as color, font and font size.
  • The ability for certain elements or blocks of elements to move as one scrolls down the page. I.E. I would enjoy the ability to create a set of filter elements along one side of the dashboard that scrolls with the user as the user scrolls down the page to view various visuals.
Sigma is intuitive to use and can be quickly understood i.e. versus Tableau which is more complex. Sigma handles large datasets (10MM + rows) easily with limited load time.
January 10, 2024

Love Sigma

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I create analytics reporting for many stakeholders. I make customer data available on a variety of dashboards to our account managers, I create internal reporting of platform usage data for custom partner billing arrangements, and I complete custom data requests for anyone from customer experience reps needing custom data exports to product managers seeking to learn more about our platform features.
  • Allows easy use of the data flowing from our data pipeline - I can join more rapidly than I could using sql and create recyclable templates that anyone can export.
  • Data visualization features are easy to use.
  • User traffic metrics are helpful in gauging adoption.
  • Pull last and pull first from a table of aggregated numbers - this feature seems to break often.
  • Providing a place to link documentation or embed video documentation.
Sigma works great for building out team resources for internal stakeholders who need to leverage data for a variety of needs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We're in the process of rolling Sigma out to our entire company as our "Analytics-endorsed" BI tool, replacing Domo. We're looking to facilitate easy self-service for business users to answer 80% of their own questions. For explorer and creator users, they have a ton of flexibility in slicing, grouping, and aggregating the data as they see fit.
  • Easily connects to Snowflake.
  • dbt Integration to show column level definitions and dataset metadata (freshness, size, rows, etc.)
  • Very quickly create workbooks and content.
  • Unlimited viewer model, so everyone in the company can have read-only access.
  • Viewer level license is quite limited. These users can't download data or even add filters on datasets. Something to keep in mind.
  • Directly querying the underlying data warehouse will lead to increased usage. Not a big deal on something like Redshift, but your Snowflake consumption will increase, potentially by a lot.
Sigma is well suited for the 80% of BI & reporting needs your company will have. If you already have a data engineering function, are leveraging a managaged extract & load tool (e.g. Fivetran,Stitch), and are transforming data in your warehouse (I.e. ELT via dbt), Sigma does the consumption piece very well. However, if you're a small analytics team with no BI or Data Engineering skills, it doesn't cover those needs, such as something like Domo would. Our stack of Fivetran/Snowflake/dbt/Airflow plus Sigma works very well for us.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Using Sigma effectively as a replacement for MS Excel. Using it as a data analysis and presentation tool.
  • Ease of manipulating data
  • Tracking of version history
  • Constantly pushing updates
Easy to use MS Excel replacement for reporting purposes capable of handling much more data in a very user friendly way
Jose F. Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Sigma to build data visualizations for our data warehouse. It allows us to consolidate information and build analysis tools such as reports and charts that empower our teams in their decisions making process.
  • Charts
  • Reporting
  • Data Analysis
  • Decision Making Tools
  • Pricing
  • UI is intuitive but powerful features require deeper knowledge of SQL
Whenever there’s data that need to be analyzed, visualized or simply aggregated in a pivot table, Sigma is the perfect tool for the job: it helps build rich data dashboards, including charts, tables, colors and more. It connects with several alternatives of external sources such as Google BigQuery, Google Drive, other database engines or tabular data files.
August 30, 2023

Sales Ops Usage

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Key sales KPIs, stack-ranking sales people on activity and conversion. We also use it for executive reporting, distilling the health of the sales engine into digestible visuals, graphs, and charts.

I also use it to dissect specific problems. For example if we are seeing an issue during a specific point in the sales funnel, I’ll use sigma to dissect the problem and reach a solution.
  • Easily pull in tables
  • Integration w Snowflake
  • Tabs are very helpful for executive reporting
  • Visualizations are not very intuitive
  • The views are not as friendly as Tableau for less experienced data users
  • Pulling in graphs - not easily editable
We use Sigma for plenty of use cases. It’s great for exec reporting and providing high level views of performance, down to individual performance. It’s not great at quickly doing analysis to dissect a specific problem - I’ll still pull data into gSheets to run a quick analysis for the exec team.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Sigma Computing to query Snowflake data to run analysis on our clearinghouse data. One of our use cases is to identify pricing gaps with each of our clearing houses, instead of going to our AD to request for the underlying data from Power BI, these data are ultimately stored in Snowflake, we can utilize Sigma Computing to query the large set of data sat in Snow Flake on an on-demand basis. Sigma Computing is easy to use and intuitive, anyone who knows basic Excel is able to learn Sigma Computing quickly. The Sigma specialists are very helpful and good at follow-up with any issues users have.
  • Customer services
  • Workflow
  • Easy to use
  • To provide more trainings for new users
  • To provide more graphic display
  • Able to use formatting more easily
I really enjoyed using Sigma Computing to query a large set of data, for our use case, I utilized Sigma Computing to identify any gaps for pricing current settlements of TBA. Currently, I have the ability to query and link different tables in Sigma Computing to display the current CUSIPs that are out of or in the settlement windows. Instead of requesting for underlying data from Power BI from our Developers, I can easily query data and show the end results in graphs. This helps me and our entire team to save a lot of time and resources.
Tim Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Dashboarding and ad hoc analysis
  • Beautiful dashboards
  • Functional Data
  • Easy to use
  • Dashboard organization
  • Linking relevant data pieces
Sigma is great for all dashboarding needs. It's easy to use and builds pretty and functional data stories. It's built for snowflake, so if you're on a different warehouse it works, but it's missing some functionality.
August 28, 2023

Nice usage of Sigma

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Sigma to create dashboard and reporting: Data Analysts take care of this creation of dashboards, and they perform Market Analaysis, as well as Product Data analysis, to analyse the usage of some features, some AB tests results...
One of the business problem addressed could be the usage of the Marketplace, reorder rate, churn rate, along with segmentation of our users.
  • Co-editing dashboards at the same time
  • Materialization of tables
  • History of dashboards
  • Imrpoving the switch from explore to edit feature
  • Having to publish your coworker edits when you want to publish a dash, and some of his changes have not been published
  • Comments are not easily usable: you have to open the section comments, and you don't see easily on which report it is linked
Sigma is super well suited to perform analysis within a team or accross teams. The collaboration feature, which makes you able to edit a report at the same time as your collleague is perfect
Nevertheless, the search feature is not that well designed. It'es complicated to search for a certain information, if you don't know in which dashboard looking for.
When given the rights to edit a dashboard, we could have an option to also give access to all the datasets used.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Sigma allows us to preview and visualize data. All data visible in Sigma comes from our data warehouse, SnowFlake, which is our one and only source of truth for all data. Having Sigma helped us address discrepancies that we faced before, when teams were reporting out of different tools.
  • Visualising reports in graphs
  • Quick and efficient customer support
  • Creating custom columns using formulas
  • Building formulas can be complicated and time consuming
  • Licensing model can be limiting for end users if they are on Viewer only permissions
Sigma allows us to visualize and analyze complex data without coding skills. The UI is intuitive once you spent some time in the app, but they provide great training where they teach you everything you need. They offer a lot of customization to create compelling charts and dashboards to communicate insights effectively. However, the highlight for me is their support team. They offer live chat and the team is knowledgeable enough to help you build just about everything you can think of, in just a short chat. If things get more complex they often hop on a call during this chat and help you build what you need. It is really impressive!

On the other hand, due to the way how you can create new columns (using functions), it can be difficult to motivate end users to start creating their own reports or exploring what you built.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have all kinds of data ranging from trades, transactions, accounts and static data that is all over the place. We primarily use sigma to create reports and dashboards for non technical users to make sense of all that data and efficiently perform their daily tasks.
  • User friendly querying of data
  • Exporting reports
  • Data visualization
  • Cloud exports
  • Dynamic data refreshing
  • Doing real time math on the front end
It’s an easy way to query data without knowing sql
August 07, 2023

Sigma isn't that bad

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Just like any other BI tool.
Addresses the issue of allowing unlimited users so all people in the org can access data.
We use it for KPIs and reports
  • Excel Like feel
  • access snowflake data (if is table and not view)
  • customer support
  • Cross filtering
  • Data Drill through
  • User Attribution assignable to user level
Well suited for a midsize company, who currently needs to start implementing an official BI platform for their organization.

If too small, not worth it yet. The cost structure just isn't worth it for sub 150-200 users.
If too large of a company might need even more functionality, and should possibly consider Looker or Tableua
Tyler Lawson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use sigma to bring real-time analysis to my sales and marketing teams. I create dashboards that influence business decisions and allow my stakeholders to move our business in the appropriate direction. We track sales pipeline, sale performance, win-rates, and deal cycle times only with Sigma. We join desperate tables and datasources together to paint a clear picture of the metrics with a wholistic view.
  • Visualizing datasets in a spreadsheet like format
  • Ease of onboarding and general use
  • Frequent implementation of new features
  • Speed and usability
  • Joining datasets together
  • Breadth of visualization types
  • Adding input tables to already existing tables
  • Customizability
I believe Sigma is well suited for almost all use cases. The platform can handle simple reports with small amounts for lean startups all the way up to Enterprise wide data management and reporting. I would be confident running analytics for any company on Sigma. Sigma is very cloud friendly so the only situation in which you might find difficulties is if your company stores all their data on-prem.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Provide self service data solutions to internal and external users. Dashboards to provide insights to internal teams like ops, sales, marketing, finance etc. Also have dashboards for external customers to understand their business with us.
  • Export function in Sigma Computing is amazing.
  • Speed compare to Tableau
  • easy to get started for non technical users
  • release updates all the time
  • Love the live chat function
  • some new features are released with a log of bugs
  • aesthetically not as good as some of the competitors
  • not addressing open requests fast enough. or at least provide some updates
overall I love Sigma Computing. due to the price, I don't think I will recommend to any company that's smaller in size and doesn't have a huge budget for software purchases
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Sigma to create dashboards used across multiple teams, mostly for tracking marketing metrics and customer support requests.
  • Customer support through office hours and the chat function are exceptional
  • Easy drag and drop for both adding elements and rearranging what's on the dashboard
  • It's missing a lot of the features of Excel so often we still have to use spreadsheets and switch back and forth
Sigma is great for quickly pulling together a user-friendly dashboard, which we often share with cross-functional teams. I love that it can accept SQL as input to create the data and visual outputs, since we rely largely on SQL for data analysis. It works well when you need to track certain metrics over time. However, deriving new metrics from those directly outputted is difficult compared to other tools like Excel. We use Excel for things like pivot tables and more complex custom formulas needed for certain metrics.
Return to navigation