Sigma Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
73 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 19, 2020
Jordan Seib | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the company. It is our primary Business Intelligence tool and it allows us to surface reporting in our app. All of our reporting and dashboards are presented through Sigma, both internally and externally.
  • Easy to learn but with enough depth to appeal to more advanced BI users.
  • Constantly updating and improving the tool.
  • The parameter and filter functionality is on point. It makes creating enterprise quality reporting a breeze for our team.
  • The SQL writer is very straight forward and the fact you can write directly in SQL gives Sigma a huge leg up on other BI tools that use their own languages.
  • More visualization options would definitely be welcome.
  • A minor thing, but limiting decimal places on trendline data labels would be a great improvement.
  • Larger bugbear of mine, the filters on a dashboard should react to each other. The filters currently act independently and it causes issues sometimes with our customers.
It is well suited for basically any kind of enterprise-level BI situation. It's robust features and functionality make it flexible enough to fit any situation.
Generally very responsive. Attentive to our needs and willing to work with us on new features and functionality despite being a small company.
We have not benefitted from this, the people who actually build the reports know how to write SQL and the people that don't know are only consuming the information we output.
Read Jordan Seib's full review
September 29, 2020
John Nham, CPA, CFE | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses Sigma, which sits on top of the Snowflake database. Sigma allows me to pull raw data from Snowflake without having to know SQL. I use Sigma to pull down raw data for sales transactional data, payer mix data, and financial data. Sigma allows me to pull data from several tables and join them together to make reports without having to use Excel.
  • Allows user to move columns around to fit their report format.
  • Allows for pre-filters in the report.
  • Allows for user to join several data tables together to make a report.
  • Data can be slow to refresh at times.
  • Sigma isn't build to be a BI tool, so visualization is limited.
  • The user guide/help button is limited.
As a finance and accounting professional, I do not have great knowledge of SQL. The advantage of Sigma is that it allows the user without knowledge of SQL to pull raw data, join tables, and build any custom report that they would need. Because it's good for creating reports, Sigma may not be well suited for data visualization.
Even though Sigma is a pretty easy online application to use, I think that the user-guide is not very friendly and does not always have the solution. I often resort to searching for help from the various online Sigma communities. Maybe Sigma should create an online Sigma community like what Alteryx has done.
Yes - Since I do not know SQL, Sigma has been an amazing tool to help me pull down raw data. I believe that I'm not the only person in the organization that doesn't know SQL, and because of that, we have implemented Sigma across the organization. Every department has the need for data, and the ability to retrieve those data, and Sigma has helped with that.
Read John Nham, CPA, CFE's full review
October 01, 2020
John Vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is being used across the company's whole organization with an emphasis on drawing sales data to provide forecasting as well as current business that is booked and invoiced.
  • Provides sales funnel data
  • Provides sales booked
  • Provides sales invoiced
  • Provides sales data from each of the sales departments
Sigma Computing is a necessary tool for a sales organization and provides valuable data for sales reps and managers alike.
Support has been reliable, and we have not seen any downtime.
Read John Vu's full review
January 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is the BI tool used across our whole organization. It is used to generate reports used internally. Sigma reports are also generated for clients and embedded on our app
  • Easy to use. Allows users to write their own SQL queries
  • Levels and Groups feature makes it easy to analyze and group data by categories
  • Has a wide range of functions that provides more data insights
  • Sigma Computing does not have enough charts that users can choose from to visualize data
  • Formatting features are limited. E.g. It's not possible to customize cards by adding borders, background color and so on
  • Does not support dynamic titles
Sigma Computing is great for developing reports with cloud based data sources such as (Snowflake, Amazon Redshift and Google Big query) and CSV

It does not support other data sources such as Azure. This can be a challenge for users with Azure. Also Sigma [Computing] is not suited for advanced analytics such as forecasting and trend lines, complex calculations and dynamic filtering
The support staff are wonderful. They are very responsive and answer any questions we have
The BI team is able to create Datasets in Sigma which non technical users can connect to, to explore data and build visualizations quickly
Read this authenticated review
December 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma has been great for creating reports of financial data and corresponding visualizations. We've been using it for reporting payment and invoicing data. It helped consolidate the data across multiple data silos.
  • Reports on fraudulent transactions.
  • Visualizations of sales data.
  • SQL queries and reports.
  • UI to be a bit more intuitive.
  • More self-help navigation guidance.
  • Training course on Safari.
Very useful for data reporting and visualization. Not so much for real time data analysis though, since data is mostly historical (one day lag).
Support team is helpful in answering questions and providing help with using the UI. There are knowledgeable people within the support team.
There are also good online support tools. There are significant community support resources available.
There is however lack of a live support. It would be useful to have live phone number or chat to use.
I'm confident with using SQL but Sigma also provides nice visual way to do things. Using SQL helped me tremendously in analyzing recent problems with fraud and getting started with Sigma quickly.
Without using SQL, I would've struggled through the user interface, but through usage of SQL that I'm so familiar with, I was able to get things done quickly and efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is being used to analyze data reported by a network of android-based devices in the field, and the manufacturing info for those devices. In particular, my team uses it to track errors or issues that are reported. Sigma allows us to see trends for issues as they arise and predict future failure rates.
  • Aggregating large data sets.
  • Charting the data.
  • Performing quick queries.
  • Saving queries by user and allowing users to share queries.
  • The user interface had at least one big change in the past two years, which was confusing.
  • I would like to be able to create and run report on the fly, instead of having to schedule them.
  • Better navigation using tabs and menus.
It is well suited for analyzing large data sets, or bringing together several data sets in one place for analysis. The tools provided are very powerful. It is not good for people who want to start using it quickly with little experience. It is great when you need to be able to quickly export reports or data sets.
My support has been primarily through our internal company data team, so I have not had to use any support directly from Sigma Computing.
This has been helpful to me. I have had some experience writing SQL queries in the past - and while I can do it, it is much faster and easier to use the interface provided in Sigma Computing. I haven't had to do any particularly complex queries yet, but I would be interested to see how Sigma can handle increased complexity.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sigma Computing as our secondary Business Intelligence (BI) tool. It is used to create sales reports for external customers to track their records. Our internal sales team uses the reports to manage the sales budget and revenues. It is being used by across the company. The target users are people who likes spreed sheets and no technical background is required.
  • It is very easy to set it up. To connect the cloud data source, you only need to provide a credential of the could database.
  • It provides the options to upload CSV files and SQL runner which you can create customized SQL query.
  • It can generate reports which has row level access level. which makes it possible to share one report with multiple different clients and each client only can see their own data.
  • It does not provide the same amount of features as the marketing leader such as Tableau.
  • There are limited calculated fields.
  • A data quality tool can help visualize data before you analyse it , which are super helpful. So far it is not available in Sigma yet.
Sigma can connect all three cloud platforms ( Google BigQuery, AWS, and Snowflake). It connects to multiple database sources in the cloud data warehouse. The dashboard load speed will be affected by the computing resources provided by the cloud. To fully utilize the computing power, it is better to put the heavy calculating part in cloud data warehouse and save the results as a table in DW instead of [writing] the complicated SQL queries in Sigma.
It has excellent customer support. There are real time chats inside Sigma and the response is prompt. We also have an account manager who will connect with us regularly and follow up with training and recommendation.
The primary users of Sigma in our company are people who likes Excel or spreadsheets. We do have users who write complicated SQL queries inside Sigma too. However, the spreadsheet interface makes the non-tech users intend to try a new tool like Sigma.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Simga Computing is used by the entirety of the data analytics team, as well as a few select individuals like myself, that need to perform data analysis. I believe the plan is for more of a company-wide implementation to be adopted, but outside of engineering, operations, and data analytics, the audience/value will be limited.

Sigma's cloud-based platform offers the benefit of quickly querying large amounts of data, those that would never be able to be effectively run in Excel/Google Sheets. Furthermore, it expands the 'proficient data consumer' population across the company, as SQL (or other query language) skills are not required.
  • Quickly querying vast amounts of data - this cloud-based solution integrates seamlessly with our Snowflake aggregator.
  • It increases the population of employees that can effectively utilize data. Knowledge of query languages are not necessary, but I love that Sigma still offers the option of using query languages (particularly for those that are more familiar with them and/or highly complex queries.
  • Seamless integration wit Snowflake enables quick implementation of the tool.
  • When adding values to include/exclude in a filter, it's not obviously that clicking away from the field entry will initiate the application of the filter.
  • In the filter dropdown menu, it's not entirely obvious how to remove a filter. The "x" is not easy to find visually, nor is its intent obvious.
Sigma is well suited for companies/business units that are >20-30 people--those that require broad access to data company-wide will see the most immediate benefit as the non-data pros will now have the ability to peruse and export as they please. Additionally, those that have already implemented Snowflake have a large advantage for roll-out, but Snowflake is not a necessity.

Sigma doesn't make too much sense for companies with a very limited population of data users, or if all data/analysis is routed directly through one small team (e.g., a 1-3 person team that specializes in-/is solely dedicated to data).
I must remain somewhat neutral on a support rating as I've had very limited exposure to their support organization. That said, in the self-service realm, there are a ton of resources/articles to help guide users though nearly every situation (e.g., understanding syntax, how to add basic objects/filters, etc.). Sigma Computing offers a vast collection of support articles (all fairly well formatted/written), and it's overall usage/adoption have allowed for a number of third-party resources and forums to spring up.
This is what I would describe as the primary benefit to using Sigma at our company -- the world of data analysis has opened up beyond those that have spent years formally studying and/or working with data. An understanding of SQL is certainly helpful but not at all necessary to benefit from Sigma. We have a number of users from the design and marketing teams, they were previously dependent on the data analytics team, but have been able to greatly reduce the number of requests simply due to our implementation of Sigma.
Read this authenticated review
December 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is used by our BI and analytics team for ad-hoc reporting and analysis. They also use it deliver scheduled reports in Excel format to business users. Sigma Computing allows us to quickly create reports and perform analysis.
  • Integrates easily with Snowflake
  • Provides a user-friendly spreadsheet UI
  • Has conditional scheduling capabilities
  • Robust functions and features for analysis
  • Could include a history feature that shows steps used to create a worksheet
Well-suited for
  • Ad-hoc analysis and reporting
  • Light visualization
  • Scheduled delivery of reports
  • Self-service BI and reporting
Less suited for heavy visualization.
Great support from our account reps, great documentation and training, and a good user community site.
We've quickly created reports completely in the UI and delivered them to end users, joining and filtering source data without having to write any SQL.
Read this authenticated review
December 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by multiple departments across the organization to analyze and report business data, mostly transaction data across multiple domains. The tool helps to solve the business problem of measuring the KPI (key performance indicators) of programs. We set up the queries to measure the performance indicators and report those on a regular basis.
  • Easy to set up
  • Good graphing features
  • Easy drill down to find supporting data behind graphs
  • Better performance
  • Easier configuration of parameters
[Sigma Computing] can be used by people who understand the data and not necessarily tech-savvy
Haven't used customer support, there was no need for this.
Yes, all reports used by PMOs have been set up in a spreadsheet format. We have been using these reports without having to learn SQL.
Read this authenticated review
December 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma is a data analytic tool that is used in my whole organization, it helps those who are not proficient with SQL to analyze data easily.
  • Easy to create and join tables.
  • I can create a daily email to remind me if there's any new update on the analytics that are important for my business.
  • Very useful to create visualization or pivot table and refresh automatically.
  • It won't show when the table is updated.
  • No navigation on what tables are available in our company's database.
  • People can create all kinds of reporting but it becomes messy and hard to know which one is the right one to use or leverage.
If you need to join different tables and regularly require report to be updated, Sigma is a great place to go, once reporting is set up you can inform people who also need the information and send alert to them regularly, great for collaboration purposes also.
overall is good and I have been interviewed by their user research team twice.
Definitely! Before, our team always needed to rely on data analytics team to write SQL queries and run the report for us to act on issues we have, this is not efficient and time consuming. After we started using Sigma, all our team members can explore and analyze the data for the information we need that is critical to make decision.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is only really being used by our marketing department at the moment to track traffic and view bookings, conversions, and revenue. For us, it is a tool to get quick insights into conversion rates, looking at traffic sources, device types, etc. We then use this to make decisions through other tools and platforms. It is especially useful when looking at country-specific breakdowns.
  • It's great at quickly allowing for date selections
  • Customized reporting allows for quick insights into different destination markets
  • Quick tools for data download in multiple formats
  • UI is a bit dull and in a way that it can't be presented to our partners
  • Lack of customization to our company
  • Advanced settings are difficult to reach and do not always provide the freedom of some other platforms
  • Product corridor analysis
  • Generating quick reports for decision making
  • Tracking key KPIs on a personal basis through customized reports
  • Access to information during meetings for discussion and briefing other teams
I have never needed to use the support so don't have any experience but have seen that some guides are available online.
I personally have very limited experience with SQL, having a data scientist who completed the setup for us. So without tools like this, I would not be able to fully do my job. There have been significant benefits from employing this kind of tool.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Sigma [Computing] as our data visualization tool - so all data passes back from Google Analytics and is then fed into Sigma.

It is being used by the entire organization.

We were unable to visualize data before through Google Analytics - we would just take the raw data and dump into excel. Now with Sigma [Computing] we can easily create tables and show data in a different way.
  • Easy Filtering
  • Easy worksheet organization
  • Easy to export data into a csv or excel
  • 150k limit for data exports
  • Having too much data makes worksheets run really slow
  • Data updates are not in real time
I think Sigma [Computing] works alright, but I've used other solutions that I think are a bit more user friendly especially for non data folks who know SQL and can make updates to the worksheets. For example I think Tableau is a great visualization tool and is really easy for non data folks to use.
N/A aside from pivot tables we haven't made many data visualizations
Read this authenticated review
October 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is used most often by our Mintel Futures team. I believe it is used to host and run a dashboard to make our GNPD (global new product database) data making it easy to read and manipulate. My team (consultancy) uses this aggregated data to shrink project development time and decrease potential error.
  • Visually the dashboard is much easier to read and has everything in one place.
  • Making changes to the dashboard seems somewhat simple to do.
  • The integration did not take long. Our team was up and using it pretty quickly after hearing about it.
  • I don't have anything really
I think it is perfectly well suited for any business that houses large aggregates of data from multiple sources (e.g., product data, consumer data, trend data). If you're trying to build a story, having the data in a place that is easy to read and limits the amount of potential error is huge.
I have not been in contact with anyone for support. I would assume it is very good though! I know that our futures team seems to speak very highly of everyone on the Sigma team. While I personally haven't experienced it, I know that there aren't any complaints on our end.
Absolutely, I think all of my other responses speak to this, too! The tool has made it possible to put all of the different types of data Mintel tracks, but specifically new product data, in one place that is easy to read, understand, and change. This has made it possible for my team to spend less time working on creating a "story" looking through endless Excel spreadsheets of data while also reducing potential error.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We see Sigma being used as a complement to Tableau or PowerBI for the power users. They are using Sigma to rapidly gain access to data, even in its raw form, to assist with curation, and create a proof of concept insights. Traditionally, this process took weeks or months--now it's hours.
  • Rapid access to data for business users
  • Excel-like functionality that is familiar to most business users
  • Unique features such as being able to upload an Excel file into Snowflake
  • Ability to rapidly process massive amounts of data
  • Ease to learn interface
  • We liked the previous pricing of low cost of entry and the ability to show value
  • Promotion of Worksheets and more granular security on Workspaces and folders
  • More configuration of the interface, as it can be overwhelming
  • More training
Sigma Computing is great for power users that are used to Excel. It's great to get rapid access to the data.
Love the instant chat feature and quick assistance.
Yes, our clients have benefited greatly from this feature. Including the ability the create calculations and experiment with how they would to see the data.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing provides a vital link in our ticket reissuing process, allowing a link that greatly reduces the time to find this information when working on customer service issues. We have trained all our agents on this process so if they ever need to use it they can access it readily. This reduces the need for them to send this on to a supervisor. Previously we would have to search the system to try and find this information and often not be able to retrieve it.
  • Links together a reissued ticket with the original confirmation number and vice versa
  • Shows incidents on a trip readily without having to contact dispatch
  • Easy-to-use interface
Compiling data and showing connections that are usually not as easy to find in the system.
Clear and useful; does what I need.
Greatly reduced the time it takes agents to research customer service issues.
Read this authenticated review
May 28, 2020
Peter Jaffe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma is used throughout Teachable, from executives to engineers to Finance to Customer Operations. Its ease of use has allowed us to democratize data so that it is equally valuable to people in a wide variety of roles. It is used by Product Managers to build dashboards providing insight for Engineering Teams to see how the products they build are affecting our users. It is used by Fraud Analysts to examine transactions and look for bad actors on our platform. It is used by Marketing to filter tables of attribution data to see how specific campaigns are performing. It is used by the QA team to monitor builds and watch for problems in our test suite. In short, business users in every department at Teachable are using Sigma on a daily basis to derive the analyses they need to make decisions.
  • Sigma is highly focused on ease of use. At Teachable, users find its interface far more intuitive and user friendly than the BI platform we were using before.
  • The spreadsheet-style interface and formulas are an easy transition for business users who are not used to working with complex BI platforms.
  • The ability for business users to open any data source that we have granted them permission to access, and to join tables on their own (building their own data models) is incredibly powerful and a huge plus—the Data Team does not need to be a roadblock, as no one has to wait to get access to data sources they need.
  • When we have run up against bugs or shortcomings in the product, the Sigma Team has been extremely responsive. We have seen many improvements already. In less than a year on the platform, and they are clearly iterating on the product at a rapid pace.
  • Many of our users access the SQL Runner and would like to be able to share queries with other users. Sigma does not yet have a feature allowing users to save and share raw queries.
  • The visualizations, while quite adequate, definitely lag behind some of the more established BI platforms on the market.
Sigma is great for organizations that want to give their business users access to generate their own insights from the data warehouse without having to go through Engineering or the Data Team. The product is a great fit if you already have usable data and you want to derive insights into a straightforward interface. It would be less appropriate for organizations that want a data cleaning or data transformation layer integrated with their BI platform, or for cases where very complex, advanced visualizations are needed.
Whenever we have encountered a bug or a feature that needs improvement, I have had no trouble getting it surfaced to a product manager at Sigma. They have often gotten on the phone to walk through the issue and make sure they have a clear understanding of what we are experiencing. And they don't wait for problems to talk to us—their product team regularly reaches out to customers to get feedback and guidance around what we want from the product.
Not having to know SQL in order to use a BI product would be a basic requirement, in my opinion—if you have to know SQL, the product is not worthwhile. Most of our users do not know SQL. They do seem to feel comfortable with the spreadsheet-like interface.
Read Peter Jaffe's full review
May 27, 2020
Nicholas Monje | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sigma across the entire company to conduct all our business intelligence research. We have lots of dashboards to track company and team level metrics of all sorts, as well as ad hoc sheets to answer specific questions. Pretty much all our understanding of our business besides event-based analytics (for which we use Mixpanel) comes from Sigma. We migrated from Looker.
  • Segmenting data.
  • Building dashboards.
  • Incredibly powerful slicing and dicing of input data with its "levels" system.
  • Building visualisations.
  • Ability to create ad hoc data sets to share between multiple sheets allowing you to quickly update shared information/criteria.
  • Complicated queries can be slow.
  • More customization of visualisations, especially the number metrics.
  • Ability to collaborate on a shared sheet.
  • Ability to more easily create pivot columns within a sheet.
Sigma excels at being able to take data and segment it in very complex ways, and build data sets that do that and then extend from them even further. It is hands down my favorite BI tool I have ever used, for the sheer power of its spreadsheets with its level system alone. Its visualisations are also great, though not always the most customizable (though my standard for that is MatLab which is probably unfair). It is not the best for event-based analytics, mostly for solving session de-duping, for which I rely heavily on a more dedicated solution like Mixpanel. Other than that, though, it really is the most powerful tool for any BI job.
Immensely helpful. Incredibly available, with chat right there in the app (and not buried behind a kb - though their kb is also quite helpful). Great followup if they don't know how to solve my problem in the moment (including messaging me weeks later when a bug or feature request is added later).
Allowing non- or less-technical partners to self-serve questions saves our Product and Data team immense amounts of time, and/or allows us to answer questions that might have been dropped had we not had such a powerful tool. The insights this provides is invaluable in helping us prioritize new features and understand the impact of past ones, as well as dig in to understanding issues that arise with customers.
Read Nicholas Monje's full review
May 14, 2020
Dimitri Strutt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our system's usage is captured in Snowflake. Sigma was perfectly tailored to access Snowflake and quickly allow us to build internal dashboards to monitor the usage, track the efficiency of our changes and produce reports easily and automatically communicated to our clients without any ETL/publish phase. The Excel-like UI is particularly convenient and the ability to embed public dashboards (with constantly refreshed data) without a complex licensing model is extremely valuable. We are now exploring other recently released functionalities and taking full advantage of the ability to work with semi-structured data.
We have also been working with clients willing to build their own dashboards and advising some to use it (though we'd deal with the proof-of-concept) to analyze data we don't own and potentially link it to ours.
  • Excel-like UI
  • Semi-structured data
  • Secured embedded dashboards
  • Data constantly refreshed (no need to publish)
  • Limited choice of visualization types
  • Limited customization of visuals (font in tabular charts)
  • Some functions behaving rather crudely (ranking)
Suited to users with little BI but extensive Excel experience. It is best suited within companies that cannot afford the Tableau-like licensing model and don't have the need for large teams of report-builders but have a large audience for report-consumers.
The limited list of data sources and the fact that CRMs such as Salesforce are not accessible is a shame.
The documentation is somewhat succinct and could do with more examples. However, support's response to questions has been perfect, with rapid replies and the availability to discuss matters on calls and help with initial setups.
There has also been a keen interest from support to learn about how the clients were using the tool.
For connections with Snowflake, we have been using SQL as the data source is relatively complex, and using SQL is no issue. But for a case where data has been imported from CSV it was crucial that the datasets could easily be refreshed. We have not as of yet had to link tables from non-SQL sources.
Read Dimitri Strutt's full review
May 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sigma Computing across the whole organization to analyze and report sales performance, finances, and glean insights into how our customers use, succeed, and struggle on our platform.
  • Intuitive interface to both analyze and visualize data
  • Powerful but approachable BI capabilities
  • Some of the best customer support I've ever had
  • The dashboard colors are really ugly
I use Sigma to explore and understand our customer performance. It's a great tool for aggregating data from different stories and building a robust view of the customer.
The support team is AMAZING. Very prompt, thoughtful, and thorough. I always have the best experiences with their customer educators, which can truly be rare in the world of customer support.
Sigma Computing allows less technical users like myself to combine disparate data sources and still build meaningful insights and stories.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma is being used by a majority of our organization. We use it for reporting purposes and to help generate KPI dashboards to track important metrics. It helps our organization to gain a better sense of clarity into how we are performing, what we need to improve on and share valuable insights with our teammates.
  • Easy to use worksheets with drag and drop functions.
  • Dashboards that are customizable + easy to share with external/internal stakeholders.
  • I would like a more detailed instructions page on writing advanced queries to generate different reports, maybe a formula bar?
  • I would like more customizable title/fonts/colors for dashboard visualizations.
Sigma is well suited for first-time users of BI tools without any prior experience. It is easy to learn.
They have an amazing support team!
This allowed many users in my organization that don't have any prior experience in writing SQL queries to be able to work in Sigma and create worksheets after a few tries.
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a manager in our Customer Service Department where we use Sigma to compile and report data related to our KPIs. We recently switched to Sigma company-wide for all our data needs. While I can not speak to the use case for the rest of the company, I use Sigma daily, monitoring dashboards to make informed decisions.
  • Great visual representation of reports.
  • Highly customizable to individual needs.
  • Intuitive navigation.
  • As a "viewer," I can honestly say I have yet to find a sticking point.
My experience so far is that Sigma is great if you want visually appealing reports compiled into dashboards. Our previous data management tool did not allow us to create dashboards pulling in multiple queries (sometimes completely different in scope ) into a single dashboard like we can now with Sigma.
No need for support yet! As a customer support manager, I know that means this product is solid and reliable.
Our Data Analyst is proficient in SQL, but I have noticed the turn around time for a report request has been much quicker now that we use Sigma.
Read this authenticated review
June 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma Computing is mainly used by our client-facing Customer team to build out customized reporting for clients based on their specific needs.
  • Nice to be able to make customized reports for each client based on their needs.
  • Easy to copy generic reports over from client to client if lots customization isn't needed.
  • Smooth user interface.
  • Steep learning curve.
Sigma Computing has been a good tool for what I use it for, but there's a lot that goes on behind the scenes that I'm not really aware of. Great for building out customized reports for my clients.
I have not tried contacting Customer Support for Sigma Computing.
We've definitely benefited from this. The vast majority of folks on our team (including me) who are using Sigma on a day to day basis to build out reporting do not know how to write SQL queries.
Read this authenticated review
May 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma is used as a self-service business intelligence tool across the company. It has taken a lot of load off the data analyst since we started using it, as people are able to get a lot of their own data and do their own data exploration.
  • Easy to use for new people, we currently just give access and let people use it.
  • Json extract is a super useful tool.
  • Really bad on mobile.
Very user-friendly and easy to use. End users don't need any knowledge of SQL to work with Sigma.
They are super active in the chat and are quick to help or pass along bugs.
The benefit is more time for data analysts to do analysis work or work on ETL that makes more data available. End users have been able to do a lot of exploring on there own without taking the time of a data analyst. This was often not the case.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sigma is used across our organization both as a visualization tool for reporting and by our department to pull and slice line item detail. It has helped the business more efficient at answering complex issues.
  • Allows the user to quickly query large data sets.
  • Optimization for Snowflake allows for decreased lag times.
  • Sigma's visualization tools could use some improvement, it is sometimes difficult to tell the story to the end user as well as we'd like.
Fantastic for pulling large quantities of data, speed allows for ease of multiple connection dashboarding.

User friendly for those with an Excel background allowing for entry level ease of use.
Support is always available, has helped team through very specific issues on multiple occasions. The team has even added features as a result of the feedback. Could not say enough about the Sigma overall support level.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (19)
5.8
Customizable dashboards (38)
7.2
Report Formatting Templates (33)
6.7
Drill-down analysis (38)
7.2
Formatting capabilities (40)
6.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (5)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
7.3
Publish to Web (25)
7.2
Publish to PDF (29)
7.4
Report Versioning (24)
6.3
Report Delivery Scheduling (32)
7.5
Delivery to Remote Servers (14)
6.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (35)
6.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (26)
6.2
Predictive Analytics (17)
5.5

What is Sigma?

Sigma is modern analytics built for the cloud. Used by data-first companies, Sigma provides live access to cloud data warehouses using a spreadsheet interface designed to empower business experts to ask more questions without writing a single line of code. With the full power of SQL, the cloud, and a familiar interface, the vendor states business users gain the freedom to analyze data in real time without limits.

Sigma Features

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Has featurePixel Perfect reports

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Additional Features
Has featureVisual Data Modeling

Sigma Screenshots

Sigma Videos (4)

Watch Sigma Product Demo - Most Popular Baby Names

Watch Embedded Analytics with Sigma - Sigma’s embedded analytics functionality extends, accelerates, and monetizes the value of your data by securely embedding dynamic dashboards in internal, external, and custom applications.

Watch Marketing Analytics with Sigma

Watch Parse JSON in Seconds with Sigma

Sigma Downloadables

Sigma Integrations

Sigma Competitors

Sigma Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Contact us for pricing.

Sigma Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Sigma Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, OK