TrustRadius
SilkRoad Onboarding (formerly RedCarpet Onboarding) is SilkRoad's employee onboarding module and is one component of the Life Suite platform.Onboarding Made EasyRedCarpet is used across our organization - in the stores across Canada, home office, and distribution centres. We leverage the system to automate our pre-boarding/onboarding for all new hires. This eliminates the need for paper forms and allows all new hires to be processed by payroll in advance of day one.,Red Carpet is very good for complex organizations as you can set up as many or as few workflows as needed. It is a very flexible tool so it can be leveraged for all levels of role and be customized for your organizational structure. Very stable system - no outages; maintenance downtime; etc.,They have made major improvements to the user interface while we have been a customer but still have some work to do in this space. On the employee onboarding portal; some of the functionality could be more robust (ie: Broader Font Library; more customizable skin).,9,RedCarpet has improved our audit compliance scores (yay!). RedCarpet has improved our percentage of hires processed online vs offline. RedCarpet has improved our overall candidate satisfaction scores.,Jobvite and SuccessFactors Employee CentralStreamline Onboarding with RedCarpet - Great for Mid to Large-Size OrganizationsPolk State has selected Red Carpet to be the onboarding and offboarding portal for its employees across the entire organization. We are phasing the rollout of this product, first by starting with our full-time employees. We will then begin to utilize it with our part-time employees (though we built both simultaneously during the development phase). We are also using a basic offboarding process, but plan to expand both the onboarding and offboarding features over time. This product has helped improve efficiency, created consistency in the process, provided reporting and accountability, as well as greatly improved the candidate's experience.,Employee Task Management: Red Carpet provides a customized welcome portal and system for task management, based upon each employee's location, role, department, etc. It allows the organization to build chronological tasks to complete on the front end, which seamlessly flows through as each are completed. Streamlined Process: During the development process, it causes the employer to re-think its current onboarding process, forms, reason and timing for completing tasks, etc. This results in not only creation of electronic forms, but also an improved overall process. Monitors workflow: Through visible tasks/colors on the back end, as well as reporting features, HR administrators and Managers/Supervisors can easily see where each employee is in their new hire process. Quickly view what tasks remain incomplete, as well as if an individual/team is causing a delay in the process.,Creation and changes to eForms require completion of a detailed spreadsheet (which can be cumbersome and complicated), also with potential costs associated. It would be ideal to be able to make the form (or potential changes) in Word and forward to the team for creation or change. The task workflow and dependency/hierarchy tree can be confusing. Visually it is not appealing or easy to look at and understand, which also caused more time during the development phase. Seems that it could be more user-friendly. Significant number of fields and specifications required to create each task, notification, etc. This should be simplified. Notifications, document library and other features are not user-friendly. Hard to remember how to get to the correct notification, form/document and then edit, create, etc. Needs to be simplified.,8,Though we do not have official metrics yet since we are relatively new users, we have noticed that employees are sent the link even prior to their start date and are able to complete all but a couple required "on site" tasks even prior to their first day. That is a HUGE improvement! Previously we did not have an official onboarding or orientation program. We have now consolidated and streamlined the process so that it is all electronic, with the exception of benefits. Our previous, undocumented process caused delays, missed tasks, and frustrated new hires that took weeks to ramp up. We now are seeing candidates onboard within 2 days, having all of their required materials, login credentials, equipment and completed documents by Day 1. Our Teams/Task Managers are also easily able to see what they are responsible for completing and can check it off once it's done. Everyone is held accountable and the tasks are easily managed and completed on time. This has provided a great improvement to our level of customer service.,,,2,Vendor implemented Implemented in-house Professional services company,Yes,Change management was a big part of the implementation and was well-handled,Revisions/creation of new forms to be used electronically (eForms) and documenting on the required spreadsheet. Follow through and communication issues with vendor/external implementation contact. Internal delays as well due to changing priorities. Understanding the capabilities of the eForms, routing, information/data flow, etc.,4,Onboarding status and I-9 monitoring views Create new tasks in Event Create/edit teams responsible for tasks Create timing/notification of tasks,Create task/group dependencies (knowing whether they should be individual or grouped). Linking, associating, moving, numbering/ordering, etc. is not the easiest feature to grasp.,No,8Onboarding in the USA!RedCarpet is used by LPR organization-wide for all onboarding. We used to spend a lot of time chasing new hire paperwork and getting forms filled in correctly, Red Carpet solves those problems.,Automated I-9s - worry-free processing and Everify Work flow for management of documents that several users may need to see - keeps you organized,The date fields can use some better functionality - just a minor needed improvement but it seems to cause trouble for those not used to working on a computer, they don't know how to use the calendar drop down. In the beginning we had a lot of trouble with different browsers, that seems to be improving.,8,Positive impact to ROI, we don't have hard numbers for overall but just in time spent on chasing paperwork I would say we save a minimum of 20 minutes per new hire and we hire 600+ people/year. We save an unknown amount on properly completed I9 forms since the system doesn't let you make errors that were always common on paper forms.,,Vista by Viewpoint, WingSpanGreat tool for automating!We use RedCarpet to onboard new employees across our entire campus. RedCarpet makes an impression early on for every new employee that we hire. RedCarpet allowed us to take our manual onboarding process that was tracked on multiple spreadsheets across multiple departments and centralize it. Best of all, RedCarpet has allowed us to automate the onboarding process completely. Once we set up the tasks that we need new hires or other departments to complete, we simply click "launch" and each new hire experiences a uniform and smooth process of onboarding.,Task Automation User Friendly (easy to use!) Uniformity and consistency for all new hires,The form builder tool is not super intuitive - especially as it pertains to creating and inserting lists for drop-down questions.,10,RedCarpet has had a very positive impact by saving an enormous amount of time from users across campus RedCarpet has had a positive impact on ensuring new hires have a positive view of their onboarding experience.,,SilkRoad RecruitingRedCarpet - Recommended!We use RedCarpet across the entire organization for all of our new hires. Before RedCarpet, we struggled to collect all of the new hire paperwork in a timely manner, and often times we had to go back and forth with the manager to ensure the forms were completed correctly. RedCarpet also offers a much simpler and more efficient I-9 and E-Verify process that our managers really like.,RedCarpet is easily configurable by the functional owner, so you don't need to put in a ticket to have something changed. RedCarpet has a really smooth I-9 and E-Verify process. Implementing this new process has been the biggest win for us with the product as a whole. RedCarpet has a forms library that is constantly updated with the latest state tax forms, which is really helpful for us.,RedCarpet does not allow you to "un-cancel" an onboarding event. So if you need to re-start it, you have to start from scratch and then customize the task list for that new hire so they don't repeat tasks they've already completed. There tend to be periods where there's either an issue with DHS's server or possibly RedCarpet's integration with DHS where you can't submit the E-Verify request. However, when this happens we just put in a ticket and RedCarpet is usually able to resolve the issue pretty quickly. The one part I'd like to have visibility to, but can't see or configure is the permission list assigned to teams (roles). This can be a problem if a team is assigned more/less access than they need, and as an administrator, you have no ability to see what the permission list is that's assigned to a particular role.,7,We haven't done a formal ROI yet since we've had the product less than a year. However, I'd say that in terms of the I-9 and E-Verify process alone, that it was worth it for us. There is more efficiency in the HR department because they don't have to individually check each form to verify that it's filled out correctly since the e-Form does that for us.
Unspecified
SilkRoad Onboarding (formerly RedCarpet)
20 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SilkRoad Onboarding Reviews

SilkRoad Onboarding
20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 20 vetted SilkRoad Onboarding reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
March 17, 2017

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Onboarding Made Easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedCarpet is used across our organization - in the stores across Canada, home office, and distribution centres. We leverage the system to automate our pre-boarding/onboarding for all new hires. This eliminates the need for paper forms and allows all new hires to be processed by payroll in advance of day one.
  • Red Carpet is very good for complex organizations as you can set up as many or as few workflows as needed.
  • It is a very flexible tool so it can be leveraged for all levels of role and be customized for your organizational structure.
  • Very stable system - no outages; maintenance downtime; etc.
  • They have made major improvements to the user interface while we have been a customer but still have some work to do in this space.
  • On the employee onboarding portal; some of the functionality could be more robust (ie: Broader Font Library; more customizable skin).
It is well suited to larger; more complex organizations that require multiple workflows or have multiple brands. This system would be overkill to a small business that really doesn't have a large volume of hiring or a complex hiring process.
Read this authenticated review
Kristen Sykes, PHR profile photo
July 29, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Streamline Onboarding with RedCarpet - Great for Mid to Large-Size Organizations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Polk State has selected Red Carpet to be the onboarding and offboarding portal for its employees across the entire organization. We are phasing the rollout of this product, first by starting with our full-time employees. We will then begin to utilize it with our part-time employees (though we built both simultaneously during the development phase). We are also using a basic offboarding process, but plan to expand both the onboarding and offboarding features over time. This product has helped improve efficiency, created consistency in the process, provided reporting and accountability, as well as greatly improved the candidate's experience.
  • Employee Task Management: Red Carpet provides a customized welcome portal and system for task management, based upon each employee's location, role, department, etc. It allows the organization to build chronological tasks to complete on the front end, which seamlessly flows through as each are completed.
  • Streamlined Process: During the development process, it causes the employer to re-think its current onboarding process, forms, reason and timing for completing tasks, etc. This results in not only creation of electronic forms, but also an improved overall process.
  • Monitors workflow: Through visible tasks/colors on the back end, as well as reporting features, HR administrators and Managers/Supervisors can easily see where each employee is in their new hire process. Quickly view what tasks remain incomplete, as well as if an individual/team is causing a delay in the process.
  • Creation and changes to eForms require completion of a detailed spreadsheet (which can be cumbersome and complicated), also with potential costs associated. It would be ideal to be able to make the form (or potential changes) in Word and forward to the team for creation or change.
  • The task workflow and dependency/hierarchy tree can be confusing. Visually it is not appealing or easy to look at and understand, which also caused more time during the development phase. Seems that it could be more user-friendly.
  • Significant number of fields and specifications required to create each task, notification, etc. This should be simplified.
  • Notifications, document library and other features are not user-friendly. Hard to remember how to get to the correct notification, form/document and then edit, create, etc. Needs to be simplified.
As of mid year 2016, RedCarpet (now called Onboarding) has a new "look" which is wonderful and more user-friendly! We are not live on this yet, but hope to begin using it very soon. Clients are migrating over in the near future. Basic eForms are now able to be created with eSignatures by administrators; however, anything requiring routing or coding will still need to be done by their engineering team.

This product is ideal where customization based on type of employee, department, location, etc. is key. There is a high level of customization available in this product and is very good for larger organizations that need that level of detailed service and configuration. There is some significant up-front implementation costs, along with the annual maintenance fee, so it may not be suitable for smaller or some mid-sized businesses. Depending upon the required process improvement and customization involved, implementation can be lengthy. This is not a quick-start and inexpensive product, but will provide great results and very satisfied new hires from their perspective. We have had wonderful feedback!
Read Kristen Sykes, PHR's full review
Dana Hohn, SPHR profile photo
September 27, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Onboarding in the USA!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedCarpet is used by LPR organization-wide for all onboarding. We used to spend a lot of time chasing new hire paperwork and getting forms filled in correctly, Red Carpet solves those problems.
  • Automated I-9s - worry-free processing and Everify
  • Work flow for management of documents that several users may need to see - keeps you organized
  • The date fields can use some better functionality - just a minor needed improvement but it seems to cause trouble for those not used to working on a computer, they don't know how to use the calendar drop down.
  • In the beginning we had a lot of trouble with different browsers, that seems to be improving.
RedCarpet is great for keeping onboarding organized and your work flow the way you need it to be so all internal paperwork requirements are done to your satisfaction. The biggest flaw and it's not really a RedCarpet flaw, is that some people are just not computer literate and we spend time walking them through completing their onboarding. This may be more common in our industry but it is the biggest challenge we have with using RedCarpet.
Read Dana Hohn, SPHR's full review
Luke Hedden profile photo
September 06, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Great tool for automating!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RedCarpet to onboard new employees across our entire campus. RedCarpet makes an impression early on for every new employee that we hire. RedCarpet allowed us to take our manual onboarding process that was tracked on multiple spreadsheets across multiple departments and centralize it. Best of all, RedCarpet has allowed us to automate the onboarding process completely. Once we set up the tasks that we need new hires or other departments to complete, we simply click "launch" and each new hire experiences a uniform and smooth process of onboarding.
  • Task Automation
  • User Friendly (easy to use!)
  • Uniformity and consistency for all new hires
  • The form builder tool is not super intuitive - especially as it pertains to creating and inserting lists for drop-down questions.
RedCarpet is great for automating onboarding tasks and ensuring that all of your new hires have a consistent experience. If you manage lots of moving parts in your onboarding (assigning a phone, computer, key card, collecting I-9s, W4s, direct deposit forms, etc...), RedCarpet may be a great tool to help you get organized.
Read Luke Hedden's full review
Katherine Wiggans profile photo
July 26, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "RedCarpet - Recommended!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RedCarpet across the entire organization for all of our new hires. Before RedCarpet, we struggled to collect all of the new hire paperwork in a timely manner, and often times we had to go back and forth with the manager to ensure the forms were completed correctly. RedCarpet also offers a much simpler and more efficient I-9 and E-Verify process that our managers really like.
  • RedCarpet is easily configurable by the functional owner, so you don't need to put in a ticket to have something changed.
  • RedCarpet has a really smooth I-9 and E-Verify process. Implementing this new process has been the biggest win for us with the product as a whole.
  • RedCarpet has a forms library that is constantly updated with the latest state tax forms, which is really helpful for us.
  • RedCarpet does not allow you to "un-cancel" an onboarding event. So if you need to re-start it, you have to start from scratch and then customize the task list for that new hire so they don't repeat tasks they've already completed.
  • There tend to be periods where there's either an issue with DHS's server or possibly RedCarpet's integration with DHS where you can't submit the E-Verify request. However, when this happens we just put in a ticket and RedCarpet is usually able to resolve the issue pretty quickly.
  • The one part I'd like to have visibility to, but can't see or configure is the permission list assigned to teams (roles). This can be a problem if a team is assigned more/less access than they need, and as an administrator, you have no ability to see what the permission list is that's assigned to a particular role.
Like any computer application, RedCarpet is better suited for populations that are comfortable using a computer. If your population is not computer literate, I would definitely think about whether a computer solution is right for you. Also, if you need the application available in another language, know that your team will be doing all of the translations.
Read Katherine Wiggans's full review
Jessica Reyna profile photo
July 26, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "I love RedCarpet!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedCarpet is being used by VendorPass to onboard consultants for several accounts that we have. We use it for employment tracking and process E-verify through the system once the consultant is ready to start their assignment for the client. We enjoy using the system since it is user friendly and doesn't require the system to be compatible with any operating systems.
  • It tracks the progress of the consultant's online paperwork on your dashboard. You will be able to see what tasks have been completed.
  • Its very computer friendly. Never heard a complaint about not being able to access the site.
  • Maybe in the state tax forms when working and living in a different state, some auto populate fields when onboarding New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania.
  • Adding a task can be tricky as well. It is hard to locate the proper task you are looking for in the list. The list needs to be more user friendly.
One of the questions we asked was if it was user friendly or if it was compatible to certain browsers and operating systems.
Read Jessica Reyna's full review
Meena Faqiri profile photo
September 12, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "RedCarpet worked well when we used it"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The version of RedCarpet that my company used was a bit outdated - I feel that when I began using the product the set up already didn't match the fast growing company. Although we made many attempts to update and change the set up - it came down to just moving over to another system. I did feel that once I was more acquainted with the program it was easier to navigate. If you are to use RedCarpet I would advise using all of the Silk Road products so it will be all encompassing.
  • Customizable onboarding experience for different types of employees is easy
  • Employee view is very much like a RED CARPET experience
  • With a proper process everything can easily be maintained in one portal... this is all dependent on how well you set your individual settings for your company
  • Reporting
  • Security access
RedCarpet was able to provide our new hires with a very FUN and captivating onboarding experience. This is what our organization likes to promote...the employee life cycle is very important to us.
Read Meena Faqiri's full review
Michael Fales profile photo
September 07, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "The RedCarpet Roll Out"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use RedCarpet for all New Hire on-boarding and facilitation.
  • Very streamlined
  • Candidates/New Hires love it.
  • Gives users a clear picture via the dashboard as to where all aspects of the on-boarding are, especially to ensure everything is set for the new hire's first day.
  • The back-end set up is a little hard to follow and could be displayed better.
[RedCarpet is well suited for] On-boarding New Hires. Not great if you don't have a start date already established.
Read Michael Fales's full review
Noelle Wilcox profile photo
July 26, 2016

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Red Carpet Onboarding"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using RedCarpet for my company's onboarding activities for four and a half years now. This product really makes onboarding such a smooth process. It allows us to assign, house, and track all onboarding activities for our new employees in one place. We use this for training, forms, benefits selection, notifications, etc. It is a very versatile product and I cannot imagine onboarding for such a large company without a tool like this! I highly recommend RedCarpet.
  • Records Retention
  • Outlines all tasks to new hire in one place
  • Easy access to information for your new hires
  • Reporting
  • Reopening canceled events
RedCarpet is the perfect tool for onboarding at any size company.
Read Noelle Wilcox's full review
Kelly Broderick profile photo
December 23, 2015

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Onboarding the right way!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SilkRoad's onboarding application, RedCarpet, has been a great addition to our firm's employment process. RedCarpet has eliminated a paper process for our staff hires. It is a seamless process for our new hires since we use SilkRoad's applicant tracking application as well. We are currently working on implementing for our attorney hires and integrating with our HRIS system as well.
  • Web portal with informational pages on our company, specific location and benefits.
  • Task management piece integrates both the new hire paperwork and internal administrative tasks for the onboarding process.
  • The web portal pages can only be tied to one category, would be helpful if we could tie to a few similar to the task management piece.
Be sure to find out if RedCarpet can be integrated with both your applicant tracking system and HRIS application to make the entire onboarding process electronic and seamless.
Read Kelly Broderick's full review
Trevor Cherr profile photo
February 14, 2015

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "RedCarpet creates consistency and sustainability for onboarding and other employee events"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedCarpet is being used mainly for onboarding purposes. A new hire flows into RedCarpet from OpenHire (SilkRoad's Recruiting system) and is entered into an onboarding event. The entire organization uses it in various ways, whether it is a new hire going through the event, an IT tech installing software for the new hire, or a manager assigning tasks. It addressed the problem that we faced of an unorganized and inconsistent onboarding process for new hires. With RedCarpet, we have a systematic workflow with reminders and tasks sent out to ensure that all new hires receive a similar experience and are properly informed. It also helped us eliminate paper forms for onboarding and move to a full electronic process with e-forms.
  • Workflow Setup is very easy to do. Follow simple instructions to set up tasks to be assigned to various personnel and/or teams. It is easy to edit the workflow later as well if you want to make changes.
  • The portal is very user friendly and visually appealing. I believe the portals in RedCarpet are the best part of any SilkRoad product. You can really do anything in the portal, and it creates a great interface for new hires to interact with and learn about the company and access documents.
  • Ability to use it for other purposes beyond onboarding. We have a workflow for Offboarding terminated employees. We also have a one for other employee changes. You can use RedCarpet for anything where a workflow is necessary, which makes it very useful for an HR department.
  • Ability to play vidoes and display many media types. The portal is wonderful because it is very interactive. I can place videos in the portal, or link to videos outside of the site on outside website, like our company page for example.
  • E-verify in RedCarpet. We no longer need to manually complete I9 forms and submit them ourselves at everify online. We now just complete them electronically in RedCarpet, and they are automatically submitted to E-Verify once the form is completed.
  • Forms Library - we can store all company documents and policies for associates to access
  • I am working with them right now to clarify some issues with E-Verify. While we love how it functions, we are curious as to how to access already verified cases online. Or what would happen if we were to ever move away from RedCarpet...how can we access our e-verify data? Currently, they do not have an answer to this. An area of improvement would be providing us with the login information to access whatever they are sending to e-verify in case we ever need to access it ourselves.
  • Cost for changes and E-forms. They will try and charge for everything possible after going live, so make sure you get as much done during implementation as possible. E-forms (typically about $500 for extra ones) can get costly, so try to think of ways to combine forms. For example, we created a multiple acknowledgement form so the associate only signs one e-form, but reviews about 8 PDF policies. This helped cut costs drastically.
  • RedCarpet cannot differentiate between week days and weekends. This can get frustrating because it will send reminders and emails out over the weekend, so an employee could return to their desk on Monday with a bunch of reminders that piled up over the weekend. They should improve it to recognize not to send out tasks over the weekend.
If your main goal is to develop consistency in your processes, RedCarpet is a huge help. However, if you have employees who are less honest, it could pose a problem. For example, it would be very easy for an employee to indicate he/she completed tasks in the system without actually doing them. You have to ensure that tasks are actually getting done, not just being marked complete in the system to remove them from people's to-do list.
Read Trevor Cherr's full review
Cassandra L. Arnold profile photo
February 06, 2015

SilkRoad Onboarding: "RedCarpet Onboarding User Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RedCarpet across the organization for New Hire Onboarding. Each departmental Administrative Assistant is entered as an BOC Business Onboarding Coordinator for their business group. Since the system was implemented it has addressed standardizaton and timeliness in how we onboard new employees. We all do it the same way and use the same systems as directed in RedCarpet. The tracked and dated tasks are listed along with links to the proper system to use for that task ie... order computer.
  • All required tasks are listed with due dates to promote timeliness.
  • System sends periodic emails to remind you of status changes, such as new employee added, tasks are due or overdue, notes from other users.
  • New employees can do tasks prehire from home to reduce the amount of paperwork/training to do once they arrive.
  • I have seen when a task is listed twice with different dates. System didn't recoginze the duplicate and still notified you to do the task even though you have signed it off previously.
  • When listing employees it always lists starting with the oldest. I always have to reverse the sort order. I would prefer the newest to show first since they are the ones I am currently working on.
RedCarpet is a good system for standardization and timeliness for onboarding new employees. It provides dashboards for each person involved to see the status of events. I like how the system lists the dated tasks with the links to the other systems needed to complete the tasks. You get emails when tasks are due. If you need data for onboarding metrics or just simply dates and whom, you can get this from RedCarpet.
Read Cassandra L. Arnold's full review
No photo available
February 14, 2015

SilkRoad Onboarding Review: "Can see the potential, if was fully functional."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RedCarpet internally to onboard our new internal employees. So administratively, it is only used by our corporate HR staff, not company wide. The system sends out a welcome email and is a great introduction for our new employees to the company. The portal has options for them to view their orientation schedule, benefit information, and other company info. It also allows them to get a head-start on their paperwork they need to complete so they don't have to spend too much of their first day of orientation completing it. RedCarpet is a great reminder system for our new employees so they make sure they bring everything they need to on their first day as well.
  • RedCarpet is a great system for notifications. It will let you and the employee know if there are items that still need to be completed.
  • RedCarpet is very handy for getting a headstart on paperwork that needs to be completed and stores it all in one place. It's very easy to access completed paperwork and print it out if necessary.
  • RedCarpet is user friendly from the employee side. It's easy to use and navigate through the tabs and task lists.
  • Tech support is one major issue. We have problems with single sign on and silkroad is not very good with response time or keeping us posted on if they are working on our issue.
  • RedCarpet won't let us set up the talent portal at a later time. This causes some issues and confuses our new employees on how to access the onboarding portal.
  • Once we switch an employee over to single sign on, they are no longer able to access or complete any tasks.
  • We have to send out lists of compatible browsers with our welcome emails as not all people have chrome and will have to download it in order to even login and use RedCarpet.
I like the idea of RedCarpet. If it was fully functional for us, I really think it would be a great tool to use. However, the lack of response and the response time itself in tech support is definitely a downfall for our company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 03, 2015

SilkRoad Onboarding: "Frustrated User"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used RedCarpet for onboarding for all attorneys, partners, and staff at an international law firm. When I left the firm, we were working on implementing the system internationally. It addresses the problem of a smooth onboarding process for new hires and limits the amount of paper used.
  • Streamlined process for onboarding- all of the forms are kept in the same place
  • The interface looks nice so it is a great first impression for new hires
  • Easy for employers to send to new hires
  • The implementation of RedCarpet was a long process. It was difficult for someone without a technical background to work on it with limited help from the RedCarpet team.
  • There is limited customization of the product.
  • Once your site goes live all questions have to go through RedCarpet Support. They are very slow in getting back to you so it is frustrating when there is an immediate issue.
I would potentially recommend RedCarpet for a larger organization that has staff that can solely focus on building out the system and trouble shooting when problems arise. As someone who was the sole recruiter in addition to handling the RedCarpet implementation it was very difficult to move at the speed suggested by the RedCarpet Project Manager. It could potentially be easier for someone with more of a technical and marketing background.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

New hire portal (14)
7.6
Manager tracking tools (14)
9.1
Compliance tracking and reporting (13)
9.2
Corporate goal setting (1)
8
Subordinate goal setting (1)
9
Individual goal setting (1)
8
Performance tracking (1)
4
Reporting (1)
8
Candidate ranking (1)
2
Candidate search (1)
6
Job Requisition Management (1)
9
Company Website Posting (1)
9
Publish to Social Media (1)
9
Job Search Site Posting (1)
7
Customized Application Form (2)
6.0
Resume Management (1)
7
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (2)
7.0
Candidate Search (2)
7.0
Applicant Tracking (2)
8.0
Collaboration (1)
8
Task Creation and Delegation (2)
9.7
Email Templates (2)
9.9
User Permissions (1)
9
Notifications and Alerts (2)
9.0
Reporting (2)
9.7

About SilkRoad Onboarding

SilkRoad Onboarding (formerly RedCarpet Onboarding) is SilkRoad's employee onboarding module and is one component of the Life Suite platform.
Categories:  Talent Management

SilkRoad Onboarding Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No