SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 16, 2020
Diego Montúfar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We build Data Warehousing solutions for our customers and provide consulting and resell license. [SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)] is a powerful technology which allows to solve most of the toughest data challenges within an organization. Its speed and flexibility makes it a key player in an organization's data innovation.
  • OLAP workloads
  • Fast query responses
  • Multiple use cases in one single database
  • Does not provide adequate support for data discovery apps, i.e. Power BI.
  • It would be great to have a native load balancing component for dealing with aggregator failure. Otherwise having a Child Aggregator becomes optional since not all the customers can afford an external balancing solution and does not feel confortable with switching between aggregators manually.
  • They used to have certifications and training in development and administration. That is very important to have, since other competitors does provide access to those sort of things and although they have free tutorials/videos, that doesn't provide an in-depth understanding.
[SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)] is not good for replacing a complete transactional legacy systems. Migration could be very painful.
It's highly recommended for BI and Analytics use cases though
Read Diego Montúfar's full review
December 15, 2020
Jacob Ortega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now we’re using [SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)] in the whole core platform, we were looking for a database that could handle a huge amount of transactions at the same time without loosing any and have the reliability of writing and storing the records fast so other services can use the data for finalizing the transactions. Also we were aiming to have a product which could be used as a storage solution for Data Scientists and our back office platform.
  • The fastest speed for querying compared with traditional relational database
  • Support JSON and full text search which can be used by API’s
  • Nearly zero admin tasks once it’s running
  • You can use it’s data streaming pipeline with Kafka
  • It doesn’t provide redistribution when you reach the maximum node capacity
  • The Graphical Interface could have a revamp, it’s a little bit laggy
  • You cannot run it local so development should be made always using cloud instances
I think SingleStore [(formerly MemSQL)] should be used in every modern system which needs an analytical tool provided with the database, where performance matters and when you need fast scaling. The database is going to use a lot of resources so if the scenario is cost sensitive then perhaps is not the best solution in terms of infrastructure.
Read Jacob Ortega's full review
December 09, 2020
Darrin Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to power a custom reporting and analytics solution as part of a larger product offering we sell. It has low enough latency to power impressive dashboards for our end users.

  • Processes large amounts of data with very low latency.
  • The support department is fantastic.
  • The developer experience is lacking. Running developer instances locally requires a lot of RAM.
Low latency analytics or dashboards based on large numbers of records.

Near immediate time from record ingest to availability in large queries.
Read Darrin Thompson's full review
December 02, 2020
Gerald Mui | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the SingleStore product in our data delivery department which serves the whole company and its client base. The problem we use this for is to address data latency issues between the transaction stores and the dashboards customers monitor for progress on their advertising campaign fulfillment.
  • It excels at providing operational store view of data which addresses latency issues
  • Its scalability is great
  • The query performance is also a notable plus for the tool
  • We are still new users of the tool and don't have strong recommendation in this matter yet.
The tool has been successful for us in addressing a technically challenging problem to provide low latency transaction views across dashboards that are driven by multi-terabyte datasets.
They have been helpful with our initial deployment and onboarding of our application for their product.
The feature set and usability of the tool is pretty sound for a relatively new tool.
Read Gerald Mui's full review
December 02, 2020
John Barry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to hold and query real estate listings in four states. This is the engine behind our website's and mobile app's main feature - property search. The queries have geospatial criteria. Because of the volume of records and complexity of queries, MemSQL was an obvious choise for it's performance. Now, as SingleStore offers collumnar storage, we can use it for other things like analytics and reporting.
  • Scaling - columnar storage makes it easy to scale without cost or signifigant performance hits
  • Speed - where performance is an issue, we can keep the data in RAM
  • Simplified management - Love MemSQL's web UI to manage clusters
  • I'm fine here - I think Single store is addressing needs (Managablility, Flexible maintenance windows, responsive tech support) nicely
  • I suppose reliability is an issue. I see the few causes behind this get fixed quickly and the platform becomes more dependable as it matures
I recommend where performance at scale is a priority
Very responsive to trouble tickets - Often, I think, the SingleStore's monitoring systems have already alerted the engineers by the time I get around to writing a ticket (about 10 - 20 mins after we see a problem). I feel like things are escalated nicely and SingleStore takes resolving trouble tickets seriously. Also SingleStore follows up after incidents to with a post mortem and actionable takaways to improve the product. Very satisfied here.
The web UI for managing and monitoring clusters is great.
Read John Barry's full review
September 11, 2020
Bernard Bardawil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) is currently being used as the MPP DB for our data lake. We use it to ingest different information from the operational platform in order to enable it for app development and analytics. Using SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) allowed us to process a high volume of data since it has scalability by design. Memory management in SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) is very efficient and even on an infra level the cluster management is straightforward.
  • High data volume processing.
  • Operational data enablement.
  • Redistribution when a node is full.
  • Split processing data usage from data volume license.
The way SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) is designed is that the different table designs (columnstore, rowstore) give SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) the ability to accommodate any scenario, but this also depends on whether someone is willing to invest in SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) in simple cases, like master data management storage. SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) is good for complex event processing, and it may be seen as an over-engineering choice for simple stuff.
The team is always available, responsive, and quite helpful. It is clear by their answers that the support reps are experts in SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL). They can deliver proper answers and understand the client's environment. I never had an issue that took them long to figure out. They are also ready to walk us through upgrades and have meetings whenever required.
I'm not a data architect so I wouldn't be able to answer this question from that side, but from my perspective, I would say that SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) never let us down. We have extremely complex use cases to join different tables with high volumes and the processing power of SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) always delivered.
Read Bernard Bardawil's full review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before having [SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)] in our organization we used to have SpiCA DB. The challenges being the performance of the DB tends to degrade with the increase in the OLTP significantly over the years. This has resulted in existing DB to perform slow and end customer experience [deteriorated]. Hence a tool was looked for that can improve the performance of the overall E2E flow of transactions and also be scalable to for high level of transactions processing. Currently in our organization [SingleStore] is used as backbone for all the batch data loads and real time messages storing in our line of business. Its success has resulted in pitching in voice to be implemented on other LOB as well.
  • First and foremost with the use of Aggregator master and leaf nodes the query processing time for DB are reduced significantly from hundred of msec to now just below 50msec.
  • Supports very high level of Real time transaction processing, for our project the OLTP via real time messages were ~500 to max of 800 TPS, the SingleStore was able to process those very efficiently with significant lower sever side utilization.
  • One of the most powerful tool for SingleSore monitoring is Planecache query, this helped in measuring performance of the stored procedures and evaluating the optimization required. The use was simple and helped analyst to provide the outcome in shortest interval of time.
  • Features related on [SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)] studio UI for monitoring needed some improvement when we used. The SingleStore studio support team helped us in resolving the issues with relation on running the different sets of indexing queries. Challenges here being the detailed logs were not available and we needed to connect with DBA for more detail drill down.
  • SingleStore can have some more improvement in setting up more examples on help documentation for the beginners and early learners.
SingleStore [formerly (MemSQL)] is very well suited for places
- where the components are processing very large amounts of data and requires very low latency.
- Columnstore compression of data reduces the time to respond. Compression resulted in quick responses which are not achieved using the other DB tools.
- The concept of Rowstore and implementation on frequently used tables results in support of high OLTP.

Not suited/less appropriate
- The In-memory(Rowstore) and col-store does not share the same language compatibility. When required the transition form other table type more efforts are required.
- SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) connection between AWS cloud failed when partitioning is higher for data processing.
- Administration is sometime bit confusing when providing layered access to different teams.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SingleStore for analytical data processing workflow with [a] huge volume of columnar data set. Recently we started utilizing rowstore for real-time data processing. One thing is evident that SingleStore is really fast for similar data processing conditions compared to competitions. During our journey of adopting SingleStore, we also faced some challenges. We hope that SingleStore [will] be supported on AWS ECS containers. Overall, nice data solution [and] really fast data processing.
  • Columnstore compression of data is awesome. Sometimes we got 85+ % compression.
  • Rowstore is ultrafast.
  • Kafka based pipeline is awesome.
  • Support for running it on AWS ECS containers.
It a nice solution if you have kafka-based data processing in your tech-stack. If you are more on ECS container, SingleStore has room for improvement in this area in terms of official support which avoid headache of managing EC2 instances yourselves. Also, SingleStore really shines for huge data storage in columnar store with very effective compression.
We have a desire to see some important features like protobuf support, AWS ECS support, etc. in the upcoming releases of SingleStore. So it's nice overall, but has room for improvement and hence this rating of 8. We are hoping that SingleStore will respond to feature requests soon by prioritizing them in their engineering backlog.
[Until it is] supported on AWS ECS containers, I will reserve a higher rating for SingleStore. Right now it works well on EC2 and serves our current purpose, [but] would look forward to seeing SingleStore respond to our urge of feature in a shorter time period with high quality and security.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [SingleStore] [(formerly MemSQL)] to address the ingestion of fast data streams and to answer analytical queries with tight timeout requirement.
  • Fast analytical queries with in-mem and on-disk columnar store.
  • Scale out capability
  • Good dashboard for managing the cluster
  • Licencing model needs to be more flexible, users need to be able to do pay-as-you-go
  • Data ingestion is still old-style. Integration with e.g., spark lagged behind.
  • In-mem and col-store does not share the same language compat. Table type transition is hard.
  • HA is no good with 6.0. Recovery time is very long. (and non-predictable)
[SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)] is a good OLAP scale-out system with mysql compat. for rich customers. Suitable for fast analytical queries.
The single-main arch. (with read-only backup) limits it's OLTP concurrency as well as the OLAP query throughput.

Good to build small to medium sized (near) real-time analytical systems with. The cost and inflexible licensing model limits large scaled use.
Technically the best in-mem distributed RDBMS in class.

Management-wise although the dashboard and studio is a good start, to make it a 24-7 reliable database system there is still room to improve.
HA cost is very high as it also eats the licensed mem-space. The costly mem-based table and free on-disk columnar tables don't automatically play will together. E.g., auto offloading old data from in-men to on-disk is not supported, making it hard for DBA to manage the cluster.
Read this authenticated review
September 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) to store a real-time feed of all kinds of open source data. The data get full-text indexed, stored in start schema, and instantly ready for analysis. Multiple departments have access to multiple dashboards backed up with SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL).
  • Ingesting high volume of data in real-time.
  • Excellent query performance (response in milliseconds).
  • Feature rich, json support, full-text search.
  • Minimum administration is needed.
  • Cross-cluster queries
  • SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) procedural SQL syntax can be simplified
  • Materialized views
  • Implementing recursion in queries
  • Tag cloud generator from a full-text index
SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) is good for a high-volume, real-time data feed, a high number of concurrent queries, and excellent for both OLAP and OLTP workloads. It's not good for unstructured data store.
The support team is very responsive and cooperative. Especially when it comes to urgent tickets or anything that might affect cluster availability. I've contacted the support many times during the past few years, and I never had a complaint about response time or an unresolved issue.
SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) covers a wide spectrum of use-cases and provides ANSI-SQL support, MySQL drop-in replacement.
It supports several deployment options--cloud, Helios, on-premise bare-metal or virtualized. Has drivers for many programming languages like Java and Python, for BI tools like Zoomdata and Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My overall experience is outstanding. It has excellent performance, and the SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) installation is effortless. My expertise in implementing the solution was excellent. Unlimited database feature interface successful Has fast processing prioritize multiple operations Very successful product. It's friendly for MySQL user but faster, more and more. SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) has hybrid RowStore and ColumnStore solution to resolve different cases. I was trying to replace MySQL with an in-memory column store SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) resolved that issue.
  • Data structuring.
  • Data retrieval.
  • GUI needs to be better.
  • To scale out on the fly needs to be a little simpler.
The database speed and performance has been more than exceptional. Integrate SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) with zero help from their team, which is a credit to the ease of use of the product and quality of the documentation. It is blazing fast, especially with aggregation workloads, which is a hand in glove fit for us. Using it as row or column-based is just as good, but for in-memory aggregation. Great for using in OLAP type environment
SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) has developed a state of the art in-memory database management system with excellent support; unlimited database feature interface successful Has fast processing prioritize multiple operations for a successful product. It has excellent performance, and the SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) installation is straightforward. My experience in Implemented the solution was perfect. The database speed and performance has been more than exceptional.
Read this authenticated review
August 02, 2016
Tianwen Chu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) is used as a persistent storage solution for Spark. We use SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) spark connector (Scala code) to bridge two techs. I am leading projects of using spark and SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) to process life science data. It solved the spark storage issue.
  • Faster query speed than traditional SQL database.
  • It con server in the pipeline to deal with streaming data with Kafka, spark streaming and SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL).
  • It is very scalable.
  • Better tuning of SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) performance on Scale-up server
  • SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL) connection between spark failed when more than around 48 partitions data processing
  • Provide faster python API for invoking SingleStore DB (formerly MemSQL)
If data has too many joins necessities, then think of using graphdatabase technology rather than relational table.
Read Tianwen Chu's full review

What is SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)?

SingleStore, formerly known as MemSQL, provides one platform for all data, built so users can engage with insight in every moment. Used by industry leaders such as Uber, Akamai, Dell EMC, Samsung, and Comcast, SingleStore enables enterprises to adapt to change as it happens, embrace diverse data with ease, and accelerate the pace of innovation. SingleStore is venture-backed and headquartered in San Francisco with offices in Portland, Seattle, Boston, London, Lisbon, and Kyiv. Defining the future starts with The Database of Now™. SingleStore DB is a scalable, distributed SQL system built for modern applications which combines support for transactions and analytics in a single cloud-native, massively scalable architecture for maximum ingest and query performance with the highest concurrency.

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Screenshots

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Videos (3)

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Downloadables

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Integrations

Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Zoomdata, a Logi Analytics company, Data Virtuality Pipes

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Competitors

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
OnDemand0.69per hour

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

SingleStore (formerly MemSQL) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English