Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1964 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 114)

Emiliano Monterubbianesi | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Simple and complete tool for business communication. Great.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The previous version of Skype (before the purchase of Microsoft) certainly had fewer features than those implemented after integration with Lync. It was fortunate that Microsoft purchased Skype to improve its Lync.
Read Emiliano Monterubbianesi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good and flexible tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Teams is available and is used in our company however some of the functions promised by teams are not exactly what they promised or is not what we thought or we expecting once they rolled it out. Lyncs has all the kinks worked out and fulfills the purpose it was meant for.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

BlueJeans is good for having smaller meetings and the ability to communicate with large groups, but I have noticed more lag time and glitches with BlueJeans which led me to look for alternative options. I think BlueJeans also has a less intuitive design and looks less sleek, so I went with Skype for Business as I had used Skype in the past for personal calls.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Skype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Teams seems to do everything that Skype does, but allows for much more collaboration with Office products, is much less clunky, and is much more easy to understand, seemingly. For videoconferencing, especially with offsite or non-organization users, Zoom is unrivaled in my opinion. It's lightweight, easy for everyone to use, and has great options for collaboration and sharing.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business is a bit overrated

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype is a solid product, but in comparison to the other tools on the market (mainly the 3 we have used being UberConference, Zoom, and Join.e), it is significantly overpriced. The power of Skype for Business is extreme, however, they are all great at this point and it has no specific qualities (other than calendar integration) that the others do not also provide.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Justin Wiebe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Skype for Business will Help you hit a home run!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's very well suited to compete against the "big players" in the video conferencing world. Even as it relates to "normal" Skype, it does a lot more, and a lot better. It might cost a bit more, but it seems to really work well when we get it going with a larger group for bigger presentations.
Read Justin Wiebe's full review
María Lucía Santagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

An alternative when communicating with clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I really prefer Google Hangouts, but some clients only use Microsoft Software. I use Skype for business to communicate with them as an alternative, but if I could, I would choose Hangouts, as I'm more used to that tool and feel it's much more intuitive and works better in cases of bad internet connection (where I live internet doesn't work perfectly all the time).
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Skype for your Business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Before Skype for Business, we were using Skype and we needed more. At that time, Skype didn't have screen sharing capabilities and had some quality issues with audio and video conferencing. When we started using Lync, the difference in the quality of audio alone was so big that we couldn't believe it.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Denis Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Excellent program for communication within the company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Skype for Business has a friendly interface, besides being much more in account than other programs, it is very easy to implement and synchronize with each login inside the active directory. Skype has been easily implemented and has been in production for more than 5 years.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
Gabriel Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Skype for Business: Ideal tool for business communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype for Business has a simpler interface and is easy to understand.

Microsoft Teams is a software that has a more polluted interface, which if the user does not have experience with, they will need training to use it.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review
Renaud Renvoye | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Good and reliable tool for instant messenger

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Skype for Business in my previous role, and I am now using Microsoft Teams. I think it was better to use Skype for instant messaging and communicating rapidly. However, I think that Microsoft Teams has a better interface and has a better way to share content with other people.
Read Renaud Renvoye's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Hidden Gem in Office 365

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype for Business is the paid version of Skype and thus provides more features and capabilities. As a business with employees worldwide, we require video conferencing software that supports more than 25 members in a call, which is why Skype for Business is preferred over Skype. Also, the fact that Skype for Business is already included with Office 365 means that there is no disadvantage to using it over Skype.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Georgette Mucci | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We're currently using Lifesize, however, I like the versatility of Skype and being able to directly set up meetings within Outlook, as well as the integration with the phone network to make outgoing calls directly within the Skype environment.
Read Georgette Mucci's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (120)
8.1
High quality video (115)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (112)
6.7
Mobile support (82)
7.2
Desktop sharing (120)
8.3
Whiteboards (73)
7.7
Calendar integration (109)
8.7
Meeting initiation (116)
8.3
Integrates with social media (52)
7.3
Record meetings / events (90)
7.8
Slideshows (65)
8.4
Live chat (112)
8.4
Audience polling (52)
7.9
Q&A (46)
7.7
User authentication (84)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (92)
7.8
Confidential attendee list (67)
8.0

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No