Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams
Formerly Lync

Overview

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Great Software!

8 out of 10
May 04, 2024
There are no problems so far. This software comes in handy when other organizations request to be used for meetings and they don't …
Continue reading

Beyond expectation

9 out of 10
January 17, 2024
Limited features for business collaboration find it lacking in terms of advanced features.Business depend heavily on communication tools …
Continue reading

Great Software!

9 out of 10
December 16, 2022
We use Skype for Business to work with employees all across the country. The instant chat feature allows our staff to ask a quick question …
Continue reading

Skype Review

6 out of 10
March 21, 2022
Skype for Business had an excellent use case. since we were using Microsoft products for Collaboration, the integration was seamless. the …
Continue reading

Skype keeps employees connected!

8 out of 10
February 16, 2022
I use Skype for Business daily. It is very easy to use and allows me to easily and effectively communicate with other employees across the …
Continue reading

Skype for Business - Review

7 out of 10
January 26, 2022
Microsoft Skype for Business has solved instant messaging and video conferencing challenges, specifically throughout the pandemic. The …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 21 features
  • Desktop sharing (191)
    8.9
    89%
  • Meeting initiation (182)
    8.9
    89%
  • High quality audio (191)
    8.7
    87%
  • High quality video (185)
    8.4
    84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Teams?

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

What is Lifesize Video Conferencing?

Lifesize is a web conferencing platform focused on making video conferencing systems and video conferencing apps work well together, while still being easy-to-use. Their platform incorporates web conferencing software with meeting room devices and wireless screen sharing.

Return to navigation

Features

Performance & Compatibility of Online Events Software

Features related to the performance, reliability & compatibility of web conferencing and webinar (online events) software.

7.9
Avg 8.1

Screen Sharing

Features related to remote screen sharing capabilities.

7.8
Avg 7.9

Online Meetings / Events

Features related to hosting and attending meetings and events online.

8.7
Avg 8.2

Online Events Collaboration

Features related to collaboration between attendees during web conferences, webinars, and other online events.

7.9
Avg 8.4

Online Events Security

Features related to the security of meetings and other events held via web conferencing/webinar software.

7.5
Avg 8.3

VoIP system collaboration

Team collaboration via cloud phone system

7.8
Avg 8.9
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams?

Skype for Business was a unified communications tool superseded by Microsoft Teams.

For personal use, Skype Desktop and Mobile apps are still available for download, but for business functionality the vendor now fully supports Microsoft Teams as the replacement for Skype for Business.

Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Skype for Business was an online messaging and conferencing tool, now superseded by Microsoft Teams.

Reviewers rate Calendar integration highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(2579)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 198)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams is a remote/virtual team collaboration tool must have...especially if you already use Microsoft tools. Of course, since it now part of an MS 365 subscription, it really doesn't make sense to use anything else. It is easy to use and just works. I'm not sure how anyone who works with digital files/documents and needs to work with other people doing similar work can be effective without such a tool. Of course, there are a number of alternatives like Zoom or Webex, but why pay or use another separate tool if you don't need to. :-)
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for Business, now part of Microsoft Teams, is generally suitable for small to medium meetings, which it does well and sharing is easy. I would say very large meetings prove to be more difficult. Aspects which I think are poor is the inability to view all attendees at once in the 'gallery' mode which can be frustrating when trying to get visual feedback. Further, the inability to 'pop out' some aspects (e.g. chat; or the gallery of participant videos when recieving shared content) can be quite frustrating.
May 04, 2024

Great Software!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business allows you to connect with co-workers or business partners in your company. As a chat client, it works sort of okay. Although there are things such as chat history, that are too simplistic or harder to get to than they should be. Would be nice if it was a little easier to work with.
January 17, 2024

Beyond expectation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It allows everyone to make calls using Internet. Screen sharing is very easy during calls without any difficulty. Setting up a meeting is done in fraction of seconds.Allows additional features for businesses and advanced technology capabilities. Compatibility feature is available to ensure communication regardless of the usage during meetings.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is absolutely useful - I wouldn't know how to work with a team without it. Simply essential for reaching out to people in your organization, having a voice and video calls, exchange files. One of the best scenarios I can pick to describe how important this tool is for the organization is the records we have of all communications - all users have a full history of their chats and interactions that have many benefits, but peace of mind is my favorite. Honestly, the only scenario I can think that Skype/Teams are not very much appropriate is when the communication is more email-like. In this case, an email will always be email - people tend to be more concise, and there's no explicit pressure on the reply.
Pavel Khan Opu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is a popular video, voice calls, IM, and file-sharing app. It's fast, easy to use, and has moderate colors for online meetings. Easy to use and the go-to app for texting and calling. Its processing logic makes it a reliable tool for negotiating tasks with teams or partners. Synchronizing a joint calendar for several accounts (personal, business, and subscription) needed a big picture of workflow for remote work.
Kanchan Chandnani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is very easy to use and can be used for day-to-day client communication in companies as it provides easy screen sharing. I don't think it is appropriate while connecting large audiences in one frame, I hope the company will work on this ASAP and improve it with no time.
Khairul Islam Tonmoy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for business is a secure, high-quality communication tool. It's easy to start a meeting with anyone quickly, or we can schedule it. We can connect with our international customers at a cost significantly lower than regular calls. Another benefit is allowing participants to share documents without ending the meeting quickly. It integrates with Outlook calendar, but meeting schedule changes won't appear until the application is restarted.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype is useful for collaborations across distances, including work from home, as well as a more convenient way to communicate with a large group of people. Skype is also useful to communicate with specific parties quickly, rather than relying on cellular service in areas where not as available. Skype is less useful if the team does not use computers , tablets, smartphones, etc in daily workflow as it would rarely be used.
March 21, 2022

Skype Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Well suited:
  • Direct integration with outlook
  • allows external communication
  • recording all video meetings is easy

Not well suited
  • Bandwidth issues when you compare it to zoom
  • people have been facing many problems as Skype is mixing the status updates
    Timestamp sync issues
  • Timestamp sync issues
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Organization of meetings were a cakewalk when I started using Skype for business back in 2014, I was able to check the calendars of colleagues when I try to schedule a meeting, this was so easy and precise, there was no need to check back with each of them for their availability and so on. Proposing a new time by tentatively accepting the meeting invite is something which I first learned on Skype for business we have always felt that the file transfer option could have been added for better track of conversations and the related documents which are shared over one platform itself.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I would highly recommend Skype for Business for other business users. It has great benefits in helping users in an organization stay connected while still providing the ability to multitask. It also is nice to have the ability to turn any conversation into a group chat if there are other people that need to be included in a discussion. It is extremely helpful that conversation history is saved for users to refer to.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is well suited in the following scenario: when in an online meeting with a fixed number of people discussing some issue and there is a need to add other people in the meeting you can just do it with a simple add button, which has made it really easy compared to in-person meetings. The integration with Microsoft services like Exchange and Active Directory is really good.
Muhammad Hossain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype is ideal for us because we rely on Microsoft products. We can make calls online with this tool as it is smooth and has one-on-one talks. Meetings of a size it is common in any enterprise. It also provides a way to communicate with the group and ask questions without interrupting the meeting’s flow.
Jian Groenewald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Its well-suited for all my needs at this point. I wish though that connecting the app (from the corporate profile) to your personal phone would be a bit easier for people who do not have mobile phones with google suites on it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I really support meeting in the office or at home - Skype for Business help me save time and improve my work. This programming is based entirely on a graph, so everyone can learn easily. Since there is no need to consider security, it has a good advantage in documents sharing.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our users say it takes too long to open and start using. The layout makes it more difficult to tell if there are multiple people on the strand. Having multiple conversations using Teams Chat is not as smooth as Skype. Skype and Lync were much easier to use than the Teams version. You could easily see favorites and groups but don't find them in Teams. We use Microsoft Teams for conferences and the chat inside the conferences are good but not if you just want to chat without using all of the Teams features, it not as user friendly as Skype.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Good for multiple site team interactions, information sharing, and joint collaborative decision making. Everyone can see/hear the same information at the same time. Comments can be made and challenged together, assuring buy-in and consensus.
Aononna Tazin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Skype for Business is perfect for companies and organizations that already use Microsoft. One-on-one conversations and online calls are possible with ease thanks to this tool. No matter how many people are involved in the meeting, it will be successful. Microsoft Teams has proven to be highly adaptable in our experience with it.
Dushyant Pathak (DKP) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Appropriate: Firms using Microsoft suite of products. Large enterprise organizations. Orgs where ease of use is more important than more features. Where sharing a screen without video calling is often required. Less appropriate: Startups and small companies that can experiment with newer age tools, and especially those working with the much more popular Google workspace had better stick to Meet/Slack.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Skype for business can be best suited for video calls. It has a very simple UI. However, it lacks many basic features such as noise cancellation, live captions, recalling a sent message. Search within the chat is very bad and not at all optimized. None the less it works smoothly on any device.
July 29, 2021

Skype 4 life

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[With Skype for Business (formerly Lync)] contacting team members is easy so you can get help at the click of a button. You can escalate that message to a voice call easily. You can then share your screen to users again at the touch of a button. You can drag and drop other users into calls and conferences when you need further input getting the tasks completed quickly and efficiently.
Return to navigation