Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1964 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 122)

Samantha McMahon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Decent Communication Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allows employees to be more efficient knowing the status of others.
  • You usually receive a faster response from an employee by instant messaging them rather than sending an email.
  • Ability to connect and group message makes it easier to communicate within your own department or with other departments.
Read Samantha McMahon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good and flexible tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Helped minimize wait time for communication.
  • Reduced the number of applications we need for different tasks.
  • Increase the awareness of each employees availability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Skype is the way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Quick conversations.
  • Great video conferencing.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have used Skype for Business frequently for large group calls, and we have the lower-tier subscription so it's worth it for all of the functionality it provides.
  • I like being able to listen back to recordings of calls and have had challenges with other alternative programs in the past.
  • I'm not positive we will renew for another year as so many new options have come to light, but I'm happy with Skype for Business as it stands now.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Skype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype has allowed us to communicate quickly and easily across departments.
  • Unfortunately, has proven to be confusing and unused by some users.
  • Users' non-use of Skype can be pretty detrimental to the performance of some lower-powered machines especially.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business is a bit overrated

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • From a negative standpoint, we have people all the time complain about having to download the software.
  • From a positive standpoint, we can see all the meetings among our team with ease in one calendar.
  • It makes booking with our internal team members much easier.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Skype for your Business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It increased the collaboration inside the teams. Even if team members are inside the same office they may use Lync to talk just to keep the environment quiet.
  • It increased the collaboration across continents -- we have offices around the world and distributed teams. Using Lync made possible the feeling of unified teams.
  • It made it possible to interact more closely with people from other companies -- customers and suppliers that use Lync as well. You can have those users in your colleagues list.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Hidden Gem in Office 365

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Included with Office 365 increases the overall value of the package, and its integration with other Office products increases the value of those products.
  • Ability to organize calls with a few clicks while also being able to quickly view another user's availability saves a lot of time and confusion.
  • Microsoft has declared end of life for this product.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (120)
8.1
High quality video (115)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (112)
6.7
Mobile support (82)
7.2
Desktop sharing (120)
8.3
Whiteboards (73)
7.7
Calendar integration (109)
8.7
Meeting initiation (116)
8.3
Integrates with social media (52)
7.3
Record meetings / events (90)
7.8
Slideshows (65)
8.4
Live chat (112)
8.4
Audience polling (52)
7.9
Q&A (46)
7.7
User authentication (84)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (92)
7.8
Confidential attendee list (67)
8.0

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No