Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1964 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 125)

Emiliano Monterubbianesi | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Simple and complete tool for business communication. Great.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using the Office Professional package in the company since 2012 when I arrived in the company and we used Office 2010 where Lync had a separate installation package compared to the various Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access. Skype for Business is used by the whole company (all branches) and many users have also been enabled to make calls on telephone numbers outside the company itself. Skype for Business solves many communication problems within the company, from knowing whether the person you want to contact is active in his place, rather than out of the office on the move. The functions of messaging, sharing and remote control of the PC, video calls, conferences both audio and audio-video also with interlocutors outside the company, are the main features.
Read Emiliano Monterubbianesi's full review
Emilee Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Skype For Business Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It helps us communicate with other employees. We use a phone line system so It makes it easy to see who is in a call and who is not. It saves us time and helps us become efficient with handling a high volume of phone calls. It also allows us to see who is here in the office and who is not since we are all located in different parts of the building. Overall a very useful office tool.
Read Emilee Baker's full review
Samantha McMahon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Decent Communication Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype for Business also known as Lync is used in all departments of my company. With this program all employees can see the current status of each employee showing them away, available, in a meeting, etc. This allows for efficiency within the company.
Read Samantha McMahon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

The best for interoffice messaging

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype for Business (formerly Lync) is our internal messaging system. We use this to message between departments as well as between locations across the country. It's easy to use and implement throughout our company. It gives us real-time communication, especially if you are on a call or in a meeting. I would highly recommend it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Good platform for internal company communication, easy to use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype for Business primarily for the chat function internally between the IT department and us regular employees. It helps us communicate easily and efficiently to get IT issues resolved. Since our company does not have a designated IT person at each manufacturing site, remote assistance is often needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good and flexible tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization and it solves many of our communication issues. Email is helpful however the timing that we receive responses is not so efficient. especially when a quick and short response is needed. Skype is there to help us first by letting us know if the individual or individuals we are trying to contact are available and we get quick responses from them. Also, the call function and screen sharing ability helps us during meetings or even with explaining issues to employees who are unfamiliar with some of our systems it allows us to help them navigate the issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Skype is the way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's being used by the whole organization to communicate with one another in a very quick and professional manner. Instead of sending an email, we can chat via Skype for Business with that individual and reach them much faster when trying to get a quick answer. This helps solve the communication issues with others.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype for Business is being used by our organization to link up Board Members and staff during off-times between meetings in order to have productive conversations and drive forward points on our Strategic Plan. We signed up for Skype for Business in order to have an effective communication tool that supported multiple users.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
yixiang Shan | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

A very good IM solution for business

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype for business was introduced in Fedex around 2 years ago, to replace the old Lync version, as the corporate standard communication and collaboration tool. We majorly use Skype for business to have live chat/IP call/Video call with different colleagues around the world. Sometimes we also use it to organize ad-hoc conferences with small scoped group of colleagues.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Gabriel Krahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Microsoft's solution to web calling

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype for Business as a way to contact our colleagues in other units of our company overseas, and also our customers outside our network. With the file/image sharing, voice and video calls and the option to share your computer's controls with your chat-partner, Skype is a very good solution to shorten the distance between two continents.
Read Gabriel Krahn's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Skype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is included with the university's Office 365 subscription, and all Active Directory users can access and be contacted via Skype. We sometimes use it for within-department and between-department communication, especially for quick instant messaging. Skype is, of course, one of the original household names in videoconferencing, etc., but we don't use it much for that on a daily basis.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business is a bit overrated

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to have meetings with people outside of our company via phone, screen-share and video. The goal is to make it feel like everyone is in the same room and be able to work remotely from one another with much more ease than if we did not have it.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Roger Black | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business keeps getting better

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype for Business as our online meeting tool quite frequently. All meetings have a Skype invite attached to them, which includes a conference bridge. This enables outside users to dial in with an 800 number, while internal users can use their Skype client for voice/video (or call in over phone if they choose). The flexibility here is key. We also use it for desktop sharing frequently (to help demonstrate an issue, or to troubleshoot an issue). Of course, we also use for IM.
Skype (now Teams) is constantly improving. It does, however, need some integration with modern software development tools (Atlassian products, for instance). But I prefer it much more than HipChat or Mattermost. Skype is more intuitive and easier to use.
Read Roger Black's full review
Justin Wiebe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Skype for Business will Help you hit a home run!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Skype for Business on our CRM team and with certain vendors. We have used it for the past year to really leverage how we work remotely and with our on-campus team. It is a great tool that allows for a lot of collaboration that we would not otherwise be able to do.
Read Justin Wiebe's full review
Greg Madden, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Wonderful product with simple integration and immediate results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype for Business is used across the entire organization to simplify communication across the board. Anyone is able to reach out directly to someone else and that decreases the time for response as emails can take hours some times. It is also useful as an auditing tool to ensure employees are using resources appropriately.
Read Greg Madden, CISSP's full review
María Lucía Santagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

An alternative when communicating with clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using it for communicating with clients both nationally and abroad. It's used by my department and also by the commercial area, as we are the ones who communicate with clients. It's an alternative for Google Hangouts (our favorite tool for calls) and it helps us to share screens and images with remote clients, especially when making trainings or when we're defining changes in our services.
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

Skype for your Business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Skype for Business at eSilicon in all departments, for 500+ users. We were using it for both instant messaging and conferencing (audio and video) but since last year, we are using it mostly for instant messaging, since we got a better tool for audio/video conferencing. For instant messaging, Skype for Business is still preferred over the new tool.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Anne Schafroth | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Using Skype

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use it in HR in order to have virtual meetings with our other HRMs in other locations. We also use it to do training on software for HR and payroll. Our whole organization uses it to better facilitate communication with our other locations in the US. It makes it much easier to identify issues and problems with our software.
Read Anne Schafroth's full review
Adriano Reis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

An effective communication software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Skype for Business is being used across the whole organization. Skype for Business helps a lot, in the part of communicating with team workers, you do not need to send emails or to look after someone around the factory, you just need to send them a skype message, that can be via voice, video, or just a normal message.
Read Adriano Reis's full review
Denis Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Excellent program for communication within the company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is very easy to use the software. It has a very friendly interface. With it, it is possible to get in touch with people from other sectors without having to go around. Besides being a very light program, it also is a program that does not require much processing power. The cost to the company is very low.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
Gabriel Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Skype for Business: Ideal tool for business communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Skype is used for communication between users and clients, that is, we use the tool to take requirements of a new demand or a project that is in development, to take questions with the client about what he wants, and the communication between our team of developers. The whole company uses Skype, much of it for the same purpose. As I mentioned before, it addresses all kinds of communication about new demands or something related to each project.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review
Renaud Renvoye | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Good and reliable tool for instant messenger

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The main use of Skype for Business across the organization is instant messaging. With employees all over the world, it was a very easy way to reach out to someone. When our conferencing tool was down, it served as a back up as well. It is used by the entire organization and sped up the process if you need to have a quick answer.
Read Renaud Renvoye's full review
Savannah Ehrlich | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Avoid Skype if you Can!!!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We no longer use Skype for Business as we have switched to Zoom. In a past job, Skype/Lync was very beneficial and we did not have as many problems. However, with my current company, and Office 365 setup, I was in a constant battle with Skype. Half of the time, audio would fail. The other half, video would fail. Sometimes the phone integration would fail. It was always a battle.
Read Savannah Ehrlich's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (120)
8.1
High quality video (115)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (112)
6.7
Mobile support (82)
7.2
Desktop sharing (120)
8.3
Whiteboards (73)
7.7
Calendar integration (109)
8.7
Meeting initiation (116)
8.3
Integrates with social media (52)
7.3
Record meetings / events (90)
7.8
Slideshows (65)
8.4
Live chat (112)
8.4
Audience polling (52)
7.9
Q&A (46)
7.7
User authentication (84)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (92)
7.8
Confidential attendee list (67)
8.0

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No