Skype for Business Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1950 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Emiliano Monterubbianesi | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Simple and complete tool for business communication. Great.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
I didn't have any particular problems with Skype for Business, but we have assistance with Microsoft tools with a partner who is not always precise and punctual. I don't know if it is possible to have direct assistance from Microsoft Italy and if this is actually more precise and punctual.
Read Emiliano Monterubbianesi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

The best for interoffice messaging

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Reliable product with minimal issues. Haven't had to contact support for questions on this product. Minor glitches can be resolved with a quick google search, and there are constant updates that Microsoft pushes out to the software to keep security updated.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Skype is the way!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The support team behind Skype for Business is there. If there is any issue or problem, I would reach out and get a response in a quick and timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is THE Business!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I have only had to reach out to the Support team at Skype for Business once with an issue, and I was pleasantly surprised and encouraged by the quickness and thoroughness of their response. The wait time was short and my question was dealt with politely and clearly, so I would say the support team has it together.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Skype for Business has grown a lot since Lync, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Skype has been around long enough that there's quite a lot of resources available online, including from Microsoft. However, this can also be problematic since it's been through so many versions, and sometimes support for one version or iteration of Skype is totally irrelevant for the most recent version. This has improved recently as Microsoft has worked to unify their apps, but there's still plenty of room for improvement.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Chris Lesner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Skype for Business is a bit overrated

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

3
Microsoft Customer support is terrible all around. We have tried to get ahold of them constantly and get in the loops of customer service where no one knows what to do and no individuals are able to help us ever. The online forums are fine, but also throw you in a custom service loop as well.
Read Chris Lesner's full review
Justin Wiebe | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Skype for Business will Help you hit a home run!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
The support we have gotten has been great. We've had a few calls for helping Apple users, as they tend not to be as tech-savvy, and the support operators have been top-notch. We have had no other issues as it relates to their support team and working with our staff and faculty.
Read Justin Wiebe's full review
María Lucía Santagata | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

An alternative when communicating with clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
I haven't had to ask for support yet, so I really can't give an honest rating. Based on former experiences with other Microsoft products, I would give it a 7 as most of the times you can find the answer to your questions just by looking it up on their website's Q&A.
Read María Lucía Santagata's full review
Renaud Renvoye | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Good and reliable tool for instant messenger

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Skype for Business is a good tool and reliable to use for instant messaging. In the company I was working with, it was an easy way to get a hold of people. I really liked that over email sometimes (easier to ignore an email than it is an instant message you receive, especially if your status is shown as available).
Read Renaud Renvoye's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Hidden Gem in Office 365

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Skype for Business is being retired by Microsoft meaning that the support for the product is lacking. It is easy to use and any support for existing features are available. There are online support articles on the Microsoft website which explain how to get started with Skype for Business. The only downside is that Microsoft is not concerned with improving the product.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Skype for Business is great for co-located workforce

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I found Skype for Business improved our work life as we can be anywhere and still be able to connect with others quickly to share information. This is an important milestone for a lot of corporate people.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (120)
8.1
High quality video (115)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (112)
6.7
Mobile support (82)
7.2
Desktop sharing (120)
8.3
Whiteboards (73)
7.7
Calendar integration (109)
8.7
Meeting initiation (116)
8.3
Integrates with social media (52)
7.3
Record meetings / events (90)
7.8
Slideshows (65)
8.4
Live chat (112)
8.4
Audience polling (52)
7.9
Q&A (46)
7.7
User authentication (84)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (92)
7.8
Confidential attendee list (67)
8.0

About Skype for Business

Skype for Business is part of Microsoft’s 365 suite offering and provides an IP PBX for online messaging and web conferencing. It includes features such as live streaming meetings, dialing into conference calls, and the ability to make, receive, and transfer calls via a computer or mobile device. It offers a free version of its service with basic features, and a licensed version that offers its full suite of tools.

Previously, Skype for Business integrated with Skype for Business Server to provide a complete, unified communications offering. However, in 2018, Microsoft announced that Microsoft Teams would eventually replace Skype for Business.

Existing users of Skype for Business can continue to utilize its software, and it is available for download, however, Microsoft itself recommends that potential users looking to work with Skype for Business, should purchase Microsoft Teams instead. Features of Skype for Business are being incorporated into Microsoft Teams, and Microsoft Teams includes many features that Skype for Business does not. However, users of Skype for Business can still use it alongside Microsoft Teams.

Skype for Business’s key features remain, such as its support for PSTN conferencing, video and audio recording of calls, and screen and computer access tool. Its support of PSTN allows for its users to connect their conference calls using their phones. These same calls can support up to 250 users.

Skype for Business Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No