Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1855 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Sanjog Ghimire | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

One of the best tools for communication and online meetings

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At first I used Viber but I found some issues with the desktop version. The desktop would become very slow while loading Viber and I did not get good experience of it while using in desktop. So, I switched from Viber to Skype and I am satisfied with its performance in both mobile as well as desktop.
Read Sanjog Ghimire's full review
justin kamau | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Skype Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype is very fast compared to the others. It has an easy user interface where no special training is required.
It has a very supportive team that helps immediately when we need help. Compared to other software, Skype is very cheap in both purchasing cost and maintenance cost because what we require is just internet bundles.
Read justin kamau's full review
Shajae Barrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Skype to connect to clients worldwide

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Even though Zoom has familiar features to Skype, it is more costly. In order to have unlimited minutes to video conference with Zoom without being disconnected, you have to pay for that service, whilst Skype is totally free and you are allowed to video conference as long as you wish out being disconnected. In addition, Zoom video and audio quality is not as good as Skype. WhatsApp Business is great as well, but when compare to Skype, not so much. WhatsApp Business video and audio call can some times delay or create an echo in the background making it difficult to focus on the matter at hand.
Read Shajae Barrett's full review
Tomer Nuni | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

The most trusted VOIP service in the world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype is much easier to use than the rest, most users are already familiar with it and have it installed, and doesn't require any special instructions to use (unlike other tools such as Join.me), and is much more stable than Zoom, for example. In addition, it allows us to use it as a normal phone number - which the others don't offer as a feature.
Read Tomer Nuni's full review
Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Skype, where will be in 3 more years? Who knows!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype has more solid features and more stability than Net2Phone, although Net2Phone is more focused on phone calls.
Skype is a bit behind Avaya Communicator, again because Avaya Communicator is more focused on phone calls, and Skype is everywhere.
Skype is not at the same level as Zoom, GoToMeeting, GoToTraining, and Cisco Webex. Zoom is surprisingly (a young product) ahead of all of them.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Skype has grown a lot, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Teams seems to do everything that Skype does, but allows for much more collaboration with Office products, is much less clunky, and is much more easy to understand, seemingly. For videoconferencing, especially with offsite or non-organization users, Zoom is unrivaled in my opinion. It's lightweight, easy for everyone to use, and has great options for collaboration and sharing.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Skype - Good for Meetings and Collaboration but Still Needs To Improve Connection Quality

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used Google Hangouts and Skype as a way to connect with customers and as a customer service tool especially for return questions and to solve problems. We haven't gone beyond the experimental stage with that. Too many issues with quality. I have used both Skype and Google Hangouts to connect with suppliers to see new products. Both services are about the same. More people seem to use Skype in our experience so we usually try that first.
Read Vivian Vassar's full review
Kinga Odziemek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

The one and only Skype

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Since it has been longer out there it does not make mistakes that “newbie” tools can make. It is stable and trusted so both my team and my clients enjoy using it. It is simple and quick to hop on a call or have a short chat with Skype, and manage contacts.
Read Kinga Odziemek's full review
Ray Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Skype is a time-saver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say that Skype and Go To Meeting are very similar. Not sure that I can say which one is better than the other but they are both time savers. Not quite sure if Go To Meeting offers a mobile login so that might be an advantage in using Skype.
Read Ray Fisher's full review
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Skype is an excellent tool for online video conferencing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype is very robust and is very comparable to Google Meets. The only problem is the integration with the Google calendar on my Mac. I do not have the integration so it makes it far more convenient to use Google Meets. Having said this, I still heavily rely on Skype for many of my clients.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Great Video Conferencing and More

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype offers more features than Google Hangouts provides. Skype is better suited to a business environment. It has more advanced chat features and integrates with more devices. Skype is also more private than Google Hangouts, which makes it more ideal. Skype also is built to handle large conference calls, which Google Hangouts is not. Skype has more customization options as well.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Useful for client communication around the world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Skype for certain things, but also use BlueJeans (good for webinars) and Google Hangouts (good for internal meetings because most of our staff already uses Google Calendar and Gmail to keep track of their schedule). Skype is generally used more on calls with people who are outside of our organization. We opt to use Skype if they are already more familiar with it, as many people are.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review
Carlo Borja | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Used to be the best, but competition is growing stronger and better.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Although you can't do a lot of users in one video chat, Skype still has the best video quality for virtual meetings.
  • Skype is the cheapest among the alternatives. It is absolutely free after all.
  • Skype has been the longest-running platform for online communication. It is still continually improving. That is a good thing.
Read Carlo Borja's full review
Gil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Skype is a solid performer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype is easier to use than most other VOIP. It has great customer support with fast responses. the help sections are good and you can find lots of user forums on the internet. Skype has been around for decades and is a proven commodity. It is very reliable and easy to use.
Read Gil Parrish's full review
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Skype Connect with those around you anywhere!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Zoom
Zoom and Skype are very similar to each other, Skype has been a service I have known about longer and trust. I have used both, and do use both equally, however my company liked using Skype more. I believe the user interface of Skype is easier to follow and more intuitive.
Read Erica Terry's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Internet based communication done right

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Zoom
Zoom costs more to use than Skype. However similar in features and has more support in the current business environment. WhatsApp is free but not at all as integrated into your system like Skype, It's not multi-platform like Skype is. It works on the PC but it has to be installed on your phone first. Great for social communication but even the business version can't compare with Skype features
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Skype is an average quality product but does its job when it comes to messaging and making audio/video calls

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The company I work at uses both Slack and Skype and I have to say that Skype doesn't stack up against the competition. The only thing that Skype offers that Slack doesn't is the ability to make calls. Calls are pretty good quality, both audio and video. However, aside from calls, Slack is better— it's more fun, it's easier to use, it has channels, it has GIFs, and skype doesn't have any of these things. If you're looking for a product that can offer you chat support and the ability to hold a meeting, record a meeting, and so on, Skype is not for you. Skype is great if you need it for communicating with other people and making an audio or video call without any extra features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

The best video calling software for business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would still prefer other apps such as WhatsApp or FaceTime for personal calls, but Skype is definitely the market leader for me when it comes to audio and video calling for business, particularly when conference calling and screen sharing are necessary or useful.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (81)
8.2
High quality video (79)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (78)
6.8
Mobile support (71)
7.7
Desktop sharing (71)
8.4
Whiteboards (34)
7.4
Calendar integration (46)
7.5
Meeting initiation (62)
7.8
Integrates with social media (40)
6.9
Record meetings / events (41)
7.9
Slideshows (41)
7.7
Live chat (68)
8.5
Audience polling (34)
7.7
Q&A (34)
8.1
User authentication (57)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (52)
7.4
Confidential attendee list (37)
7.0

About Skype

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No