Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1855 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 84)

Sanjog Ghimire | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

One of the best tools for communication and online meetings

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As a regular user of Skype I suggest that this is the best communication app that any office should use. It is very easy to use, so staff with little knowledge can easily operate it without any complexities. It can be used as a personal tool for communication with friends and family. It has made my online meetings very fruitful, saved me time, facilitated overseas business. I love the chat feature provided by Skype. Sometimes video freezes and lag occur but not very often. I am very satisfied with the app and I cannot find any scenarios that it would not be appropriate.
Read Sanjog Ghimire's full review
justin kamau | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Skype Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is well suited when a customer who is very far away wants to place an order of items. In the comfort of their homes, they can communicate with the manager through Skype and give him a list of items they need, and then the manager makes a list and gives it to a shop attendant who goes ahead to collect all the items. The customer makes online payment and then the items are sent through the delivery program.
Read justin kamau's full review
Shajae Barrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Skype to connect to clients worldwide

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is suited when there is a terrible weather condition and you have a scheduled meeting with colleagues; instead of cancelling the meeting, you could schedule the meeting on Skype. This enables you to video conference with your colleagues. In addition, if there is a presentation you wish to show you can screen share, showing the document on your device.
Additionally, if you want to pursue a career in being an online English as a Second Language teacher, this is the perfect platform to get the job done. Students are able to see you in real-time and you are able to execute learning through screen sharing pictures, colours and other learning documents.
Read Shajae Barrett's full review
Tomer Nuni | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

The most trusted VOIP service in the world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is a great tool to collaborate while working with international team members overseas. It [allows] us to create international presentations (or even local but remote ones), to share our screens to go over bugs or to share design ideas, and makes all of our communication easier. Skype is also used by us for regular phone calls using VOIP and saves us a lot of money for international phone calls.
Read Tomer Nuni's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Runaway from Skype

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I live in a country where we are not allowed to use a credit card for online transactions. PayPal is my only option and that is why I am forced to use Skype. So if you are staying in a stone-age country like mine, use Skype. Also, they are pretty affordable. If you are someone looking for quality then skip Skype. They do not have call recording options and their support is the worst of all.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Skype is great for daily team communications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The ability to download the application not only on your PC but on any mobile phone is great. In this day and age that technology is so advanced, and Skype follows within the leading edge of software as a provider.
We can manage to do our work on-demand making it easier to be on the go but still having contact with your team.
Read this authenticated review
Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Skype, where will be in 3 more years? Who knows!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is well suited for small offices, interaction with home-based employees, multi-country audio meetings (assuming there is a universal language), one-on-one coaching, or performance appraisal. Low customer assistance center using foreign numbers.
It is less appropriate for video conferences where a leader allows many participants to speak, share documents, and interact using their cameras (PC or cell phones) all at the same time. Zoom has taken the lead in this area. It is sad to see that PlaceWare, a pioneer at one time, has lagged behind after Microsoft bought it.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Skype has grown a lot, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is pretty good as an integrated tool for quick communication between departments. However, Zoom is lightyears ahead of Skype (and everything else we've tried) as a videoconferencing solution. Teams (another, newer Microsoft product) works for all the things I like about Skype namely within-organization collaboration and communication and is more streamlined and tightly connected to the Office suite in ways that Skype is not.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Skype - Good for Meetings and Collaboration but Still Needs To Improve Connection Quality

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have used Skype to conduct interviews and if the internet connection is good it makes it easier to conduct the interview because you can see the person's face, hear their voice, and judge how the interview is going. If the connection is bad it is very distracting and not worth it. It can throw the whole interview off.
Read Vivian Vassar's full review
Kinga Odziemek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

The one and only Skype

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype will work well if you are on the go and need to communicate with your clients and team. It is a stable desktop app too, will definitely play a significant role in each and every organization. It helps teams communicate better, more often and in the most efficient way, especially if they work remotely and hate e-mail communication if they prefer a quick chat or call.
Read Kinga Odziemek's full review
Ray Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Skype is a time-saver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is great for group meetings and to cover company progress, goals, etc. I personally would not use Skype for employee reviews, promotions, disciplinary actions etc. I think there are a lot of advantages to using Skype for group meetings but I also believe that some meetings need to be personal and face to face.
Read Ray Fisher's full review
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Skype is an excellent tool for online video conferencing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is definitely suitable for businesses that need to meet in a virtual environment. It is free if the other person is using Skype. I have never done the group calls but I could definitely see this as being beneficial for companies that have employees in different areas. Using Skype for that scenario would be very cost-effective.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Great Video Conferencing and More

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If everyone in the office utilizes Skype, it can be a great tool for office communication. However, when some employees only stick to email, it loses its effectiveness as the messages that you send are never received. Skype is also good if your customers or other businesses utilize it, but if not, then there is also little value there.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Lindsey Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is simply sensational!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is great if an entire organization, especially remote folks, are always logged on and ready to chat when not in a meeting. It would not work well if certain people were not logged on and easily accessible. It is very easy to see if someone is busy or available and is much easier than picking up the phone or getting out of your seat.
Read Lindsey Schultz's full review
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Useful for client communication around the world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is good for international calls because many people are familiar with it and have used it as a primary communication tool for years. However, there are some other new platforms that can be easier to integrate into calendaring systems, depending on what your office is already using. For instance, Google Hangouts is quicker and easier if your office already schedules using Gmail and Google Calendar, because a distinct link and conference line are automatically generated. Still, Skype is useful for contacting people outside your organization, especially if they are overseas.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review
Carlo Borja | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Used to be the best, but competition is growing stronger and better.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is great for video calls that involve less than 10 people. So, you would have to use other alternatives if you decide to do a company-wide chat of more than 10.

Skype's archive of messages is really great if you plan on storing conversation history for a long time.

If your computer is old, you may have trouble using it to the full. It hogs up computer memory.
Read Carlo Borja's full review
David Krat | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Skype is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is great for communicating with people within and outside my organization. Some of our backend people work remotely, we use Skype to get an answer while talking with a customer on the phone. i also use Skype to send files.
Read David Krat's full review
Gil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Skype is a solid performer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is well suited to use in an environment where cubicles and headphones provide privacy and noise control. Skype is not suited for noisy or bullpen type office arrangements.
Read Gil Parrish's full review
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Skype Connect with those around you anywhere!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype was extremely helpful when we had a team meeting and it was mandatory and I was out of the office working remotely and needed to be able to call in. It is also well suited for those international clients needing to call in, text chat, video share etc. It is less appropriate in a setting that video or sound is not approved. However, you are still able to chat with one another.
Read Erica Terry's full review
Mark Cruver, M. Ed. CSA, CEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

My Second Choice

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype serves individual, one-on-one conversations very well. I have had trouble with sound quality in the past, but it often clears up over time. Video bandwidth can be a problem for many users, so ensuring use on a wifi connection is almost imperative for any scenario. Otherwise, it is good for most any circumstance.
Read Mark Cruver, M. Ed. CSA, CEP's full review
Amanda Layman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Excellent free phone/video calling tool for global meetings

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Skype is great for global calls since it seems to be well-known and used around the world. However, I prefer to use Zoom for most regular and US-based meetings since it's a little faster to get into a meeting and you can just share a link with anyone (whereas I believe Skype requires you to have an account and sign-in, which takes a little bit more time).
Read Amanda Layman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Internet based communication done right

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I don't see Skype as a social app, It's definitely best suited for the business environment. Its screen sharing and conferencing features and par excellent. The ability to call landlines and other non-Skype numbers (at a very reasonable cost) are very appealing. Furthermore, Skype saves you money, especially for a small business. This is what I love the most Skype enables small businesses to operate at lower communication expenses.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Skype is an average quality product but does its job when it comes to messaging and making audio/video calls

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's perfect for communicating with coworkers, especially when you have a quick question. It's informal, which make things easier and fast. I wouldn't recommend Skype for communicating with customers, in my opinion, it's not cut out for that. I like Skype, it's pretty efficient, but I can't stand it's boring interface and inability to customize pretty much anything.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (81)
8.2
High quality video (79)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (78)
6.8
Mobile support (71)
7.7
Desktop sharing (71)
8.4
Whiteboards (34)
7.4
Calendar integration (46)
7.5
Meeting initiation (62)
7.8
Integrates with social media (40)
6.9
Record meetings / events (41)
7.9
Slideshows (41)
7.7
Live chat (68)
8.5
Audience polling (34)
7.7
Q&A (34)
8.1
User authentication (57)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (52)
7.4
Confidential attendee list (37)
7.0

About Skype

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No