Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1828 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Skype, where will be in 3 more years? Who knows!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive impact on all features related to Phone interaction.
  • Negative for such a complex login administration, which requires an administrator to do it when using Skype for Business. WhatsApp has a much more relaxed approach for new users and groups.
  • Positive impact on the audio quality makes it easy for non-native language speakers to interact with native speakers, as they can understand the utterance much better than in regular phone lines — a crispy tone of voice.
  • Negative for the lack of robust tools for contact import. Importing Gmail or Yahoo or Facebook or Twitter contacts should be a mandatory feature, as Skype users, especially businesses, would benefit from the instant availability of all disperse contacts.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Ray Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Skype is a time-saver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype allows us to have meetings as often as needed without having everyone meet in one place. This is a definite time-saver.
Read Ray Fisher's full review
David Krat | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Skype is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype instant messaging gets me quick answers.
  • Skype saves me time on the phone.
  • Skype allows me to say yes to my customers faster.
Read David Krat's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Runaway from Skype

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype is no doubt cheap and will save you a lot of money if you aren't making 100s of calls. If you do they will block you if you are on one of their unlimited plans. Be careful.
  • Because it accepts PayPal it has made it easier for me to purchase minutes and make calls. Most of the VOIP businesses are running away from PayPal as one of the payment options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Internet based communication done right

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype has saved me lots of money regarding international calling.
  • Through the use of features such as the sharing of my desktop, I have achieved greater efficiencies during business communication.
  • A challenge I'm having with Skype which isn't directly related to the app is that not everyone uses it, That forces me to sometimes use other apps to accomplish the same thing I could do with Skype and some of these apps don't work on multiple platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Skype is an average quality product but does its job when it comes to messaging and making audio/video calls

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It allows employees to communicate with each other fast and efficiently.
  • It allows casual tone.
  • It allows adding emotions (emojis) when messaging a person, which makes it a better experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

The best video calling software for business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It helps to make progress on objectives without having to wait for face-to-face meetings, so this is a positive ROI only.
  • Screen sharing helps this further because you can actually see exactly what the other person is talking about.
  • Can't think of any way Skype could have a negative impact on ROI.
Read this authenticated review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Skype has grown a lot, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype has allowed us to communicate quickly and easily across departments.
  • Unfortunately, has proven to be confusing and unused by some users.
  • Users' non-use of Skype can be pretty detrimental to the performance of some lower-powered machines especially.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Great Video Conferencing and More

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Skype improves interoffice communication, reducing the amount of wasted time that comes with a large number of emails.
  • Skype is intuitive and requires little overhead, making the implementation seamless.
  • Skype's high-quality video and audio make calls flow better with little dropped data.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Lindsey Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is simply sensational!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I am not sure what we pay for Skype, so it would be hard for me to put an ROI on it.
  • Some people have started using Teams as well as Skype as it has more features, so it is not convenient to have to log onto both.
  • It has been great to communicate with remote folks.
Read Lindsey Schultz's full review
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Useful for client communication around the world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reliable way to communicate with clients, coworkers, donors, board members, etc.
  • Sometimes it is confusing when a newer version comes out and we can't always intuitively figure out how to do something – scheduled calls are sometimes delayed, which can be problematic.
  • More advanced options are helpful, such as recording calls if some participants can't make it.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (78)
8.2
High quality video (76)
7.8
Low bandwidth requirements (75)
6.7
Mobile support (68)
7.6
Desktop sharing (69)
8.4
Whiteboards (32)
7.2
Calendar integration (44)
7.5
Meeting initiation (59)
7.7
Integrates with social media (37)
6.8
Record meetings / events (39)
7.9
Slideshows (39)
7.5
Live chat (65)
8.5
Audience polling (32)
7.6
Q&A (31)
8.1
User authentication (55)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (49)
7.4
Confidential attendee list (35)
6.8

About Skype

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Categories:  VoIP,  Web Conferencing

Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No