Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1855 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 84)

Sanjog Ghimire | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2020

One of the best tools for communication and online meetings

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to conduct daily official meetings.
  • The emojis used in chats make conversation lively.
  • The email notification feature when we missed a message is nice.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Sometimes the video lags despite having good connection.
  • I find difficulty to share large file which should be fixed.
  • Sometime it crashes itself.
Read Sanjog Ghimire's full review
justin kamau | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Skype Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It has promoted team work within the organization.
  • Cost-cutting due to less travel
  • Eased communication within the organization
  • Blurred images during a call.
  • Very high maintenance cost
  • Effective in internet enabled areas only
Read justin kamau's full review
Shajae Barrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Skype to connect to clients worldwide

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Skype is perfect for video call conferencing. You are able to meet with many people at once, anywhere in the world, once you have an internet connection.
  • Skype provides an instant messaging service. You are able to leave a message for others to see immediately or at a later date. In addition, you can also create group chat for collaboration where you are able to share documents.
  • The software is absolutely 100% user-friendly.
  • Skype allowing users to share their screen while on video call/conferencing.
  • I wish it had some form of language translation for when speaking with a native speaker of a different language. But apart from that, the software is EXCELLENT.
Read Shajae Barrett's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Runaway from Skype

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Video calls work great.
  • Screen share is great.
  • There are bugs with text chat history. It will not show the time correctly. The way it is supposed to show is that the latest chat is at the bottom, however, more than often the latest text chat doesn't show at the bottom but somewhere in between older chat messages.
  • It doesn't have the capability to allow call recordings if you are using Skype to call the phone number. It won't allow third parties to integrate for call recording too even if you are a business user and have Skype manager account
  • Their security is obnoxious with the Support Team not knowing what's wrong. I had one of my reps account blocked within 2 mins of renewing the account. I asked the support for help they released my account but again their system blocks it. When asked for the reason they say that the system doesn't show the reason for security purposes which is complete nonsense. Customer service is pathetic.
Read this authenticated review
Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Skype, where will be in 3 more years? Who knows!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Phone calls. This is the best feature Skype produces, and it has been good since inception. You can buy new numbers; you can reroute calls, you can mute, you can do three-party calls, and more.
  • Foreign numbers. That is important for persons who have relatives in other countries, as they make local calls only to reach you and they don't get charged for the international calls, you are.
  • Call quality. For many years, Skype has produced the best audio quality and the call stability is excellent. The VoIP competitors have a much lower stability.
  • Skype for Windows takes a lot of time to load and start. Unexpectedly, a Microsoft product is so slow to start when the Windows and Skype engineers are under the same umbrella.
  • Significant confusion for login credentials. Is the phone number the primary credential? Or is the login ID? Same phone number cannot be used for two logins! So, login ID is not irrelevant?
  • Remote access functions have been deprecated but no indication whatsoever to where they have been ported if any. It would be very polite if Skype would say: "This functionality is now under product X."
  • Product vision. On Messaging, is it a competitor of WhatsApp? On Notifications, is it a competitor of Twitter? On Phone calls, is it a future competitor of the Telephone companies? Who knows where this product will be in the next three years? I like Microsoft a lot, but here is where I suggest calling Steve Ballmer for a 30-minutes vision conversation, and you guys will be all set.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Skype has grown a lot, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Skype for Business has grown quite a lot since its days as Microsoft Lync and is now quite nicely integrated with almost facets of Windows and Office (and other Microsoft stuff).
  • It's nice for inter-office communication when everyone's using Active Directory and has Skype for Business running.
  • Skype for Business works well even on non-Windows and/or non-university machines (e.g. personal computers).
  • Skype in general, including the Business version, can be pretty clunky, and surprisingly resource-hungry, especially when it's always running, and on machines with lower specs.
  • This resource hungriness can be worth it for quick IMs to other members of the same organization, but I really have a hard time recommending Skype over something like Zoom for videoconferencing.
  • Video communication with others in the same organization just doesn't always seem to work very well, even on the same network.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Skype - Good for Meetings and Collaboration but Still Needs To Improve Connection Quality

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is easy to use Skype to leave messages and set up a time to connect especially if the other person is in a different time zone.
  • Everyone is familiar with Skype so we don't have to spend time explaining it.
  • It's easy to keep track of our contacts.
  • The visual and audio quality depends on the internet connection. Sometimes it is good, sometimes it is broken up and we have to try again later or use the phone.
  • Using Skype on a cell phone is easy to set up but the quality on cell phones is very hit or miss.
Read Vivian Vassar's full review
Ray Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Skype is a time-saver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows you to join in on meetings while out in the field by a mobile device.
  • Skype gives you the comfort of meeting from your own office/desk.
  • Skype saves you drive time and fuel costs.
  • Skype does everything that we expect it to do. No complaints that I am aware of.
Read Ray Fisher's full review
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Skype is an excellent tool for online video conferencing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Skype does video calls very well. The connection is usually good and the video quality is good.
  • The app for Skype on my iPad Pro is pretty awesome. I hardly ever use Skype on my computer because it has all the features I need.
  • I like that Skype is free for what I need. I have never needed to purchase Skype credits because I don't need to use voice mail, send SMS texts or make calls to a landline, cell or outside of Skype.
  • Honestly, I wish Skype was integrated more into the other apps I use. Although I do use Skype a lot, I prefer to use Google Meets because I automatically get a conference link when I add a meeting to my calendar. This just makes it easier for me.
  • Other than the above, I think Skype does a really good job - so good that most people mention Skype when I offer to do a video chat.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Great Video Conferencing and More

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Solid desktop application.
  • Good mobile application.
  • Array of features.
  • High-quality video and voice.
  • Configuration of Skype is particular.
  • If you have multiple input devices, it can be cumbersome to set up the correct one.
  • Sometimes it is not desired to launch Skype, but it is enabled by default. You have to change your settings to disable Skype.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Lindsey Schultz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Skype is simply sensational!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Offers immediate sending and receiving of messages between coworkers.
  • This is very easy to use for remote employees vs picking up the phone to answer a simple question.
  • It makes it easy to see if employees are busy in a meeting, free, or idle in order to see if they are ready and available to chat.
  • It is very straight forward and easy to use, I am not sure if it can get any easier!
  • It would be nice to have an easier way to set up group chats on Skype.
Read Lindsey Schultz's full review
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Useful for client communication around the world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Many people are familiar with Skype and used to how it operates as opposed to some other platforms that aren't as popular.
  • Audio and visual is usually high quality, although this does depend largely on the internet connection on both ends.
  • Easy to initiate calls with contacts once they have been added.
  • It seems like the user interface changes fairly often and that can be confusing to adjust to if you don't use it super regularly.
  • When the internet connection isn't good, audio and especially visual loses quality or becomes laggy.
  • Not super clear how to troubleshoot or contact support when you need to fix a call issue really quickly.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review
Carlo Borja | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Used to be the best, but competition is growing stronger and better.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Video chat. It's smooth and the technology has been well perfected over the years.
  • It's fast. It loads and logs in instantly.
  • Very easy to use. No steep learning curve required.
  • Too much RAM usage. It is eating up all of our computer's resources.
  • There is a considerable lag for older computers doing a screen share.
  • Cannot handle a lot of users simultaneously doing a video chat.
Read Carlo Borja's full review
Colt Bewley | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Excellent Program for businesses of any size!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Communication - face to face from different locations
  • Conduct interviews with candidates who aren't local
  • Great for video conferences as well.
  • Sometimes we have connectivity issues, but that's probably more on our end.
  • Nothing else. We love the product.
Read Colt Bewley's full review
David Krat | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Skype is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Skype is great for instant communication
  • Skype is good for getting an answer quick
  • It's great for VoIP.
  • I kinda wish I could reach my Google Hangouts contacts in Skype.
  • Sometimes it's hard to find a user without asking them for their info.
Read David Krat's full review
Gil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Skype is a solid performer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Voice quality is excellent as compared to some other VOIP services.
  • Allows for recording and tracking of calls.
  • Maintains phonebook.
  • Updates should be sent as proactive emails.
  • Messaging is a little awkward.
  • Need the ability to change Skype name on the fly.
Read Gil Parrish's full review
Erica Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Skype Connect with those around you anywhere!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Love the document sharing and the text message chatting as well
  • Makes international calls easy, for a more personal feel
  • Spontaneity with this application makes connecting with others easy, and fun!
  • Sometimes it has trouble connecting to the server, so it can be spotty
  • It can freeze and stop when connection is spotty and take some time to reload.
Read Erica Terry's full review
Amanda Layman | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Excellent free phone/video calling tool for global meetings

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User-friendliness _ It''s pretty easy to navigate.
  • Quality - Call quality is always good and I never have trouble hearing even when my calls are across the globe.
  • I don't use it often, so sometimes it's difficult to find the buttons I'm looking for when I sign-in.
Read Amanda Layman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Internet based communication done right

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Voice calls on Skype is crystal clear and don't drop like on some other apps. Skype to Skype calls are free, who doesn't like free?
  • Video calls are easy to use and set up, conferencing is a dream.
  • Quick and easy installation across multiple platforms.
  • Screen or content sharing is very easy, Much easier that some other apps.
  • It seems very stable as it doesn't crash or freeze.
  • Sometimes the system gets a little slow during video conferencing.
  • I wish there was some kind of language translation built into this app.
  • While its multi-platform it isn't as ubiquitous as I would like.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (81)
8.2
High quality video (79)
7.9
Low bandwidth requirements (78)
6.8
Mobile support (71)
7.7
Desktop sharing (71)
8.4
Whiteboards (34)
7.4
Calendar integration (46)
7.5
Meeting initiation (62)
7.8
Integrates with social media (40)
6.9
Record meetings / events (41)
7.9
Slideshows (41)
7.7
Live chat (68)
8.5
Audience polling (34)
7.7
Q&A (34)
8.1
User authentication (57)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (52)
7.4
Confidential attendee list (37)
7.0

About Skype

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No