Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2055 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 30, 2020
Yurii Aliabiev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
When I have been faced with a specific issue, in most cases, I instantly was able to find the solution in an online FAQ. Also, on Skype I always witness new updates and bug fixes on a regular basis. Still, it is always something wrong with specific details like duplicate text messages or software over installing. As for me, it could be fewer mistakes when we are talking about Microsoft.
Read Yurii Aliabiev's full review
July 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Skype is a great software to use and it is fulfilling all the requirements we can expect from a communication medium, so that is why I am giving it full marks. If I found anything cumbersome in this software I would definitely share it but there is nothing which I can complain about.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Customer support is really amazing. If you're stuck somewhere, you just need to communicate your problem and they will assist you so amazingly that you just need to sit and relax and the rest is done by the customer support team.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2020
justin kamau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
We were in need of software that would have an impact on us. We evaluated the various options we had and we arrived at Skype because their support is twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, three-hundred and sixty-five days a year.
Read justin kamau's full review
March 31, 2020
Shajae Barrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The overall support for Skype is excellent. With any issue, you can search for a solution on their website. The directions are simple to follow. Skype thought of every possible question users might ask and provide the answers online.
Read Shajae Barrett's full review
March 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

1
Their support people are polite, however, most of the ones I have spoken with are more interested in telling me what "won't happen" instead of what can happen (alternative). Skype's system is totally flawed. Their agents cannot tell you anything because the system gives them limited information.
Read this authenticated review
November 18, 2019
Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
I am not aware of the current support level for Skype for business, as I have never used even though I have the product.
However, the support for Skype's personal paid users is not where it could be. Users who pay for Skype features do not have a clear path to reach out to support. So, rating 6, can be better as soon as I need to use Skype for business support and get a good experience. I will say that I will renew Skype for Business subscription, which is a significant inconsistency on my end. The explanation is that Skype for Business comes bundled with Office for Business, with no additional cost, so why not.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
September 10, 2019
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Skype has been around long enough that there's quite a lot of resources available online, including from Microsoft. However, this can also be problematic since it's been through so many versions, and sometimes support for one version or iteration of Skype is totally irrelevant for the most recent version. This has improved recently as Microsoft has worked to unify their apps, but there's still plenty of room for improvement.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
November 19, 2019
Vivian Vassar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
I have tried researching how to get better quality and most suggestions don't help or only help a little. I have used their help section but haven't contacted support directly.
Read Vivian Vassar's full review
October 30, 2019
Kinga Odziemek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Anytime I had any problems with Skype, the Customer team was there to help me. However, their help section is so advanced that I found many answers there without being forced to ask them in any other communication channels. It works really well and it is a very reliable tool for companies.
Read Kinga Odziemek's full review
October 28, 2019
Ray Fisher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We have not had any issues in using the system and getting started was very user-friendly.
Read Ray Fisher's full review
October 17, 2019
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Skype has excellent customer support. Their documentation is very thorough so most of the time you don't even need to contact anyone. The turnaround time is very quick when you do though.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
September 22, 2019
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Skype provides a lot of good documentation on its feature set. A lot of the settings are intuitive and easy to use. It is a widely utilized program that has a ton of helpful articles online and if required, the Skype support team is more than willing to help solve issues with the application.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
September 12, 2019
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
It's not always that clear how to contact customer support, and usually, when we have an issue it needs to be resolved ASAP in order to start a meeting. Support is generally very helpful, however, the issues that arise usually need to be addressed immediately and there's not always an easy way to do this.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review
November 26, 2019
David Krat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I've never needed support for Skype, but Microsoft maintains a large and thorough knowledge base online. Also because Skype is a Microsoft product, it is very easy and intuitive for any Windows user to operate. I've never had problems with Skype and so I've never required any kind of support. I grew up with computers and I find it easy to use!
Read David Krat's full review
October 06, 2019
Gil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Skype is intuitive and is extremely easy to use. Staff like the interface. They like the voice quality and overall capabilities of Skype. Most of the staff have had prior experience with Skype on a personal basis. We can easily find help and support in user forums on the internet. Good product!
Read Gil Parrish's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (110)
8.7
High quality video (109)
8.2
Low bandwidth requirements (107)
6.9
Mobile support (97)
8.3
Desktop sharing (98)
8.7
Whiteboards (46)
7.4
Calendar integration (65)
7.9
Meeting initiation (86)
8.3
Integrates with social media (52)
6.9
Record meetings / events (58)
8.2
Slideshows (55)
8.2
Live chat (91)
8.9
Audience polling (51)
8.3
Q&A (47)
8.4
User authentication (70)
8.3
Participant roles & permissions (67)
7.7
Confidential attendee list (49)
7.8

What is Skype?

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Skype Video

What is Skype?

Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Skype?

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people.

What is Skype's best feature?

Reviewers rate Live chat highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Skype?

The most common users of Skype are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.