Skype Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1826 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Skype, where will be in 3 more years? Who knows!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
I am not aware of the current support level for Skype for business, as I have never used even though I have the product.
However, the support for Skype's personal paid users is not where it could be. Users who pay for Skype features do not have a clear path to reach out to support. So, rating 6, can be better as soon as I need to use Skype for business support and get a good experience. I will say that I will renew Skype for Business subscription, which is a significant inconsistency on my end. The explanation is that Skype for Business comes bundled with Office for Business, with no additional cost, so why not.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Kinga Odziemek | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

The one and only Skype

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Anytime I had any problems with Skype, the Customer team was there to help me. However, their help section is so advanced that I found many answers there without being forced to ask them in any other communication channels. It works really well and it is a very reliable tool for companies.
Read Kinga Odziemek's full review
David Krat | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Skype is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I've never needed support for Skype, but Microsoft maintains a large and thorough knowledge base online. Also because Skype is a Microsoft product, it is very easy and intuitive for any Windows user to operate. I've never had problems with Skype and so I've never required any kind of support. I grew up with computers and I find it easy to use!
Read David Krat's full review
Gil Parrish | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Skype is a solid performer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Skype is intuitive and is extremely easy to use. Staff like the interface. They like the voice quality and overall capabilities of Skype. Most of the staff have had prior experience with Skype on a personal basis. We can easily find help and support in user forums on the internet. Good product!
Read Gil Parrish's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Runaway from Skype

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

1
Their support people are polite, however, most of the ones I have spoken with are more interested in telling me what "won't happen" instead of what can happen (alternative). Skype's system is totally flawed. Their agents cannot tell you anything because the system gives them limited information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Skype is an average quality product but does its job when it comes to messaging and making audio/video calls

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

4
As I mentioned before, Skype is a pretty good product but it truly depends on your needs. If you need to create meetings, share your screen, record your meeting, or you need the ability to integrate your calendar, Skype can't do any of these things. If you need software that will allow you to communicate with your peers on a higher level, create channels, install add-ons, again, Skype is not for you. However, if you're looking for software to communicate with your peers (just messaging) and making audio and video calls without extra features, Skype is perfect!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Skype for the best meetings.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
The overall support with Skype is excellent. I have not had many issues so it seems the support team is fixing issues before new users encounter them. It is best when you do not need to get in touch with the support team and the product works well out of the box as expected.
Read this authenticated review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Skype has grown a lot, but is still a little outclassed by Teams and Zoom

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Skype has been around long enough that there's quite a lot of resources available online, including from Microsoft. However, this can also be problematic since it's been through so many versions, and sometimes support for one version or iteration of Skype is totally irrelevant for the most recent version. This has improved recently as Microsoft has worked to unify their apps, but there's still plenty of room for improvement.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2019

Great Video Conferencing and More

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Skype provides a lot of good documentation on its feature set. A lot of the settings are intuitive and easy to use. It is a widely utilized program that has a ton of helpful articles online and if required, the Skype support team is more than willing to help solve issues with the application.
Read Kaleb-John Loo's full review
Emmy Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Useful for client communication around the world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
It's not always that clear how to contact customer support, and usually, when we have an issue it needs to be resolved ASAP in order to start a meeting. Support is generally very helpful, however, the issues that arise usually need to be addressed immediately and there's not always an easy way to do this.
Read Emmy Hammond's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (78)
8.2
High quality video (76)
7.8
Low bandwidth requirements (75)
6.7
Mobile support (68)
7.6
Desktop sharing (69)
8.4
Whiteboards (32)
7.2
Calendar integration (44)
7.5
Meeting initiation (59)
7.7
Integrates with social media (37)
6.8
Record meetings / events (39)
7.9
Slideshows (39)
7.5
Live chat (65)
8.5
Audience polling (32)
7.6
Q&A (31)
8.1
User authentication (55)
8.1
Participant roles & permissions (49)
7.4
Confidential attendee list (35)
6.8

About Skype

Skype (the personal edition) is a free web meeting, video conferencing, and VoIP software. The free version includes instant messaging, audio and video Skype-to-Skype calls, the ability to call mobile phones and landlines, paid international calling, and conference calling capabilities for up to 25 people. During video sessions, users also have the option to share their screen with other participants. Other distinctive features include background blurring, voice and text translation, location share, conversation search, and integration with Microsoft's Digital Assistant, Cortana.

This version of Skype works on phones, desktop, tablet, browsers, Alexa, and Xbox. Users can call landlines and mobile phones from around the world by paying for Skype Credit or signing up for Skype subscriptions, a monthly contract for users who only need service to specific regions. Users can also pay to have a local phone number through Skype Numbers, so that they can answer phone calls from their desktops, tablets, or smartphones. They can also send SMS text messages and share their location using the Skype mobile app.


Categories:  VoIP,  Web Conferencing

Skype Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No