Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
3074 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 178)

Cat Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Slack Supports Thriving Culture of a Global 1300+ Employee Company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When there's a team that spans time zones and continents, Slack is the perfect tool for communication & collaboration. It houses a workplace directory, so any employee can be searched for by name. Sending a direct message to any individual in the company is as simple as finding their name, then typing a message & hitting send! Essentially, it's a hub for all communication -- individual, team, and company-wide announcements can be quickly & easily disseminated using Slack.
Read Cat Nguyen's full review
Tom Laughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

How our remote offices use Slack to remain connected

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have a remote work environment as well as several international offices. We needed a tool that allowed us to communicate among individuals, teams and different parts of the organizations (Product, Support, etc). By using Slack, we can easily share information, create unique channels to share data and then integrate many other tools that we regularly use. The in platform phone allows us to easily call one another as well.
Read Tom Laughlin's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Lightning Fast Communicating

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack has been built to work on your web browser, as an app on your computer, and an app on your smartphone. Slack has spent the money to make sure that their program rarely has downtime. I love how easy it is to communicate with my co-workers on Slack. It is easier than sending an email to a co-worker. Slacks improves efficiency in the company because employees are able to communicate with each other with ease especially if the company has multiple locations across the country or across the world. Slack will even let you know what time it is for the recipient you are sending the message to which is great if you have overseas employees.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Logan Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Positive Slack Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack is very easy to use and can be very effective. I enjoy speaking through gifs, so the Giphy option is very friendly and always adds some fun to my communication. I am able to communicate with all members of my team, regardless of where they are in the US.
Read Logan Turner's full review
Harshit Bhattaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Slack! All amazing items in a single package.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The ability to collaborate between multiple teams including customers and clients is a superb pro feature when dealing with Slack and it's a scenario where we find Slack to be useful.
However when it comes handling a video call where multiple people speak and they are sharing the video and also want to share the screen or maybe request access to control the desktop, Slack needs improvement and it's less apt.
Read Harshit Bhattaram's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A great tool for any business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Slack is a really good product for organizations of all sizes. It works for startups and big corporations alike. Since it can be expensive according to the plan you choose, it is really important to make sure you take full advantage of its functionalities and not use it only as a chat software, since there are cheaper alternatives for that.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
James Buchholz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Slack is so important to the way we communicate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for any business that needs more immediate communication than email provides. Well suited for business where workers don't work in the same room, e.g. remote workers. Slack can make it almost as good as if everyone were in the same room.

It's less well suited for serious conversations and again can hinder productivity if people start losing their focus on their project just to answer every little message.
Read James Buchholz's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

More than a mobile messaging app, it's Slack...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack is very well suited if you have employees situated at different places or offices, especially if some employees have to go out for field work. It's very easy to update the task or work done remotely using Slack's mobile app. Slack doesn't seems to be useful in cases of full professional needs, as it lags in many ways in comparison to its competitors.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Second go around with Slack not so good, why do we use this thing?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack would be well suited if you had a development team in Mongolia and another one in France and they did not have to talk to each other a whole lot. Slack would be a good record of fact on what might be going on between the groups. It can keep track of things, almost like a log of human interactions.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Slack is much more than an instant messaging application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack maintains team communication focused on a single space. Productivity is greatly improved because integrated applications are kept in one place, which avoids distractions. It is great for digital work environments.
For occasions when you have to talk to staff who do not work in the digital areas, it is equally helpful. With the integrated Dropbox functionalities, you can share files referring to the important documentation of everyone in the company. It is not appropriate to use Slack without making the purchase of the paid license. The definitive limitation is that the free version has a limit of messages that can be saved, which includes the files that are sent.
Read Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa's full review
Prad Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Slack at an IT Campus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well Suited for:
  • Creating a private Chat room, sharing confidential data, allowing modifying/ deleting or updating previous messages.
  • Securing data and important notes used in a group chat or private room
  • Managing Messaging Thread
  • Sharing important documents and images
Read Prad Das's full review
ISHAN DEEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Slack - Professional Whatsapp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

it's best suited for organizations with multiple teams and who want to cross collaborate. App notifications using Slack hooks are very easy and I personally feel that app notifications are better on Slack than on email, much less clutter!

It's not really appropriate for teams looking to work on code who are stationed across the globe. It becomes kind of hard to use Slack collaborating on multiple files in a single project.
Read ISHAN DEEP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2020

Slack, the best 4 in 1 solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is an excellent communication tool. It is especially useful for a remote office. The screen sharing is very well implemented. VOIP quality is also good. In many ways it will replace long email strings and dedicated voip systems for inter office communication. The app marketplace also allows for a variety of plugins that can connect slack to tools like the g-suite and salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Great collaboration tool and place to find experts.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a personal viewpoint, I use Slack in two ways: first I participate in channels that are very specific for a product or sometimes even a feature. There are experts on those channels that can help with many questions. Second, our team uses Slack to communicate on topics. The real benefit for me personally is the first use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Slack is a solid group-communication platform. Clean, easy, intuitive. Offers a rich feature set and integrations.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack is fantastic for real-time info sharing, wide dissemination, and soliciting fast responses. It is very easy to create channels and groups, enabling a user to route info effectively or communicate in a targeted fashion; it is also seamless to create side channels. Slack is great at integrating various media forms brilliantly in a clean UX.

It is not as great as a structure, prioritization, tasks, workflow, etc. It is also not easy to categorize various topics in a channel for easy reference and retrieval.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Slack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack is perfect for the IT industry due to the need to be able to communicate and video call with people around the world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Wonderful instant communication tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is great to chat on the spot, ask a question, and always have someone that responds. Much better than talking to one person, especially at work, when we are ten engineers working on an installation. One of us can have the answer to a problem we might have at a client site and where we need immediate assistance. I don't think the site is secure and confidential. But I am not sure. Do the conversations get stored, archived, or deleted for security purposes?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Easy-to-use and Great for Organizing Your Workplace Communications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack is great for organizations that have a need for a quick communication tool between employees. Especially if certain employees are remote or you have offices in multiple locations, having a tool like Slack can be crucial. I think really tiny organizations (<10 people) might be better off just using Google Hangouts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Terrific Software. Highly recommended!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Slack is great for quick discussion and brainstorming.
Slack is less appropriate for a situation where you're trying to delve deep into a topic or idea. The natural flow of an in-person conversation is vital to some brainstorming sessions. I wouldn't recommend Slack for an initial discussion on a big project.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

No more slacking around!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for small to medium-sized companies and businesses. I could imagine Slack could become quite hectic for larger, more established companies.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (94)
7.7
Gantt Charts (34)
7.0
Scheduling (69)
7.7
Workflow Automation (79)
7.6
Mobile Access (165)
9.0
Search (164)
8.3
Visual planning tools (46)
7.8
Chat (178)
9.6
Notifications (176)
9.0
Discussions (172)
9.1
Surveys (88)
7.9
Internal knowledgebase (91)
8.2
Integrates with GoToMeeting (46)
8.4
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (84)
8.6
Integrates with Outlook (51)
8.2
Versioning (72)
7.3
Video files (136)
8.2
Audio files (132)
8.1
Document collaboration (111)
7.8
Access control (98)
8.3
Advanced security features (81)
7.5
Integrates with Google Drive (102)
8.7
Device sync (107)
8.5

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No