Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
3085 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 178)

Cat Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Slack Supports Thriving Culture of a Global 1300+ Employee Company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is currently being used by our entire organization. There's a small number of employees at headquarters in New York City, but the rest of the company is remote, spread all over the U.S. and the globe (UK, Germany, India, Japan, Korea). My specific department consists of 1200+ employees, and Slack is THE way that we communicate. It's a seamless, vital part of our work lives. Truthfully, we wouldn't be able to function as a company without it!
Read Cat Nguyen's full review
Tom Laughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

How our remote offices use Slack to remain connected

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack as our primary inter team communication tool. We have integrated a number of the platforms that easily work within the tool as well as the in-platform call feature. We have created channels where we can communicate product or department specific information. We have a variety of social channels as well where we can share music, choices and lately, photos and ideas on how we are coping with the work from home status. My favorite feature is the ability to easily search issues or items. Other similar tools don't have such robust features like this so it helps me quickly see if my issue has come up.
Read Tom Laughlin's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Lightning Fast Communicating

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I love using Slack. It is by far the best communication system out on the market for businesses to use. I have been using Slack for over a year and I love how easy it is to create group chats and individual chats. I am able to connect with fellow employees with ease. It is super easy to share files and links with co-workers. Another cool thing is if another company has Slack, you can connect with them which is super nice because you can have a live chat with any user of Slack. Slack is my go-to for communicating with co-workers because it allows me to get almost instant answers.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Logan Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Positive Slack Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack for all communications within our company. We communicate via direct messages or via specific channels related to departments, tasks, customers, marketing, news stations or general communication. It allows us to keep track of all things related and refer to any conversations that we had in the past.
Read Logan Turner's full review
Harshit Bhattaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Slack! All amazing items in a single package.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our current workplace, we are connected to two teams via Slack. One is our own and the other is of a Fortune 50 company which also uses Slack. So Slack as a whole is used by the entire company and also customers/clients we interact with on a day-to-day basis. The primary business need being staying connected with colleagues and also collaborating on work is what makes Slack great software to use on a daily basis.
Read Harshit Bhattaram's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A great tool for any business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used across all of the organization to help us communicate, collaborate, align and focus. I think it is the killer productivity app that helps us be more efficient on our day-to-day. The multiplicity of integrations is what generates the most value. The possibility of creating channels and threads is very helpful.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good communication platform for business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used as an external communication channel with our stakeholders which are based in a different time-zone. The platform is used specifically for a project. The tool makes file sharing as well as holding impromptu meetings easily. An added advantage is that groups can be created for specific needs with desired team members. The channel saves all chat records and has an inbuilt thread feature for all chats which makes it easier to track conversations.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

More than a mobile messaging app, it's Slack...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Being honest, we are not on Slack now. We left it a few months back and now our whole organisation uses Workplace. But when we were using Slack for our organisation, we used it for internal communication and live chat in various departments and to share project updates or documents which needed to be shared quickly. It is still very easy to use but doesn't fully meet all of our requirements.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Second go around with Slack not so good, why do we use this thing?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Well we are on our second go around with Slack. We implemented it many years ago but it fizzled out. About a year ago we resurrected the product. I just don't know about how it fits in to our enterprise. There are some areas that use it a lot to keep track of say network or SaaS issues which are timely in nature. However there are others who just don't need to use it for much. I would say there is about 20% of our division that uses it actively. Unfortunately, much of the other 80% sees it as an annoyance. Furthermore, some of the 20% that uses it seems to think that they need to communicate what they say on Slack in a duplicate manner via email or vice versa.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Slack is much more than an instant messaging application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Slack in all work teams in the digital area. Each sector has its own Slack group and they are not interconnected. The marketing, web development, Windows application programming, and graphic design groups have their separate areas. Integration with external software tools is great. It has a very varied catalog and each digital production department makes use of the extra applications that are most convenient for it. There is also a space in Slack for the entire organization, which has a channel of official communications. It is very easy to send messages and receive them. This is where we resolve general issues and receive instructions regarding the company's management.
Read Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa's full review
Srinivasa Rao Boddeti | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Excellent Collaboration and Integration Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using slack in my current company and [used it at my] previous company for 3 years. It has a rich set of options, we can integrate [it with] our build tools. Some of my favorite [features] include integration with SumoLogs and alerting if there are exceptions, group chatting with the concerned department, and creating channels for groups. We can't run our regular job without Slack. I am using Slack mostly for 40% of my work. I hardly use email after using Slack.
Read Srinivasa Rao Boddeti's full review
Prad Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Slack at an IT Campus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use "Slack" for our day to day team and individual communication. This tool is being used across the university IT campus. For any project related work or a specific Jira ticket I am able to create a private Slack chat room to have a specific discussion and to share confidential data. The important difference that I find compared to HipChat and Slack is that the later tool gives me the abilities to correct or modify my typos or delete the messages in case it there was a typo.
Read Prad Das's full review
ISHAN DEEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Slack - Professional Whatsapp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Using Skype for Business, it was becoming increasingly difficult to connect all our organization's employees on a single reliable cloud solution. After careful consideration and planning by the DevOp team, we moved to Slack. It's being used for notifications, personal chats, files sharing, departmental updates, team meets, and as a personal notepad. There are still multiple plugins to support more features. After using it for 2 years myself and performing administration, I can safely say it lacks nothing. It's better than my Whatsapp!
Read ISHAN DEEP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2020

Slack, the best 4 in 1 solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is the central communication tool for our organization. When I started, we were only really using Slack for instant messaging. That has grown over the years to the point where we use Slack for internal calls, messaging, company wide and private communication channels, online meetings, and inter-office calling. I really like the evolution of the solution and it has replaced multiple tools that we'd otherwise use in our organization (like email, gotomeeting) into one single solution. I really like the mobile app and the experience between devices is seamless. My only nit-pick is that sometimes searching within the app can be a little wonky. Finally, the api for the system is nice and allows for nice integrations with our internal project management tool. Their app store is also comprehensive and the salesforce integration is useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Great collaboration tool and place to find experts.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is not used very centrally in our organization, unfortunately. Though we also have Microsoft Teams, the Slack offering is better at this time. Collaboration across teams is easier with Slack. Though I think Teams will catch up.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Slack is a solid group-communication platform. Clean, easy, intuitive. Offers a rich feature set and integrations.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used across our whole organisation, both company-wide and intra-departmentally. We not only use it for communications, but also for a variety of other use cases such as field info sharing (while mobile), polling, project collaborations, data input, news and info distribution, among others. We've found that some of the use cases we used email for has shifted to Slack as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Slack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack as a whole to communicate service issues throughout the world and to track our Jira Service Desk tickets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Wonderful instant communication tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented Slack as a chat for our company. It has been a great tool. We created many groups depending on the department of the firm, some general group or event group or groups per subsidiaries since we have one HQ and three subsidiaries in 3 parts of the world. It works great.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Easy-to-use and Great for Organizing Your Workplace Communications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for interpersonal communication throughout our organization. We have quite a few teams that make up our organization as well as offices in NYC, LA, and London. Slack makes it completely seamless for us to communicate between all of our departments as well as amongst our different offices around the world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Terrific Software. Highly recommended!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack in our entire organization as a means of internal communication. It addresses a need for real-time team collaboration in different locations and time zones, as we have multiple offices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

No more slacking around!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the entire organization and serves as our primary internal communication tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Review by common user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is being used by the whole organization. It is used to allow communication between all members of the organization and between our developers and project managers and our clients. Slack provides manageable groups to be used however it seems fit and with innumerable add-ons, we haven't found a situation where the tool performs below our expectations. We also use it as a way to integrate our monitoring platform to our client's group and our first responders (We use Centron which is based on Nagios). The Slack administrator must have a good knowledge of the platform and/or a good knowledge of its capabilities and the willingness to learn about it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (94)
7.7
Gantt Charts (34)
7.0
Scheduling (69)
7.7
Workflow Automation (79)
7.7
Mobile Access (165)
9.0
Search (164)
8.3
Visual planning tools (46)
7.8
Chat (178)
9.6
Notifications (176)
9.0
Discussions (172)
9.1
Surveys (88)
8.0
Internal knowledgebase (91)
8.2
Integrates with GoToMeeting (46)
8.4
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (84)
8.6
Integrates with Outlook (51)
8.2
Versioning (72)
7.3
Video files (136)
8.2
Audio files (132)
8.1
Document collaboration (111)
7.8
Access control (98)
8.3
Advanced security features (81)
7.5
Integrates with Google Drive (102)
8.7
Device sync (107)
8.5

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No