Slack

Slack

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
Top Rated
Slack

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great Communication Solution

9 out of 10
May 17, 2022
Slack has become a central communication tool within our organization. As we've grown in size, it makes it much easier to group teams or …
Continue reading

Team collaboration tool

7 out of 10
April 20, 2022
We used Slack groups for specific teams and projects. It provides a closed space for team members to collaberate with each other sharing …
Continue reading

Amazing and a must to have !

9 out of 10
March 28, 2022
We use it all working day long between each other to follow all our projects. Brief, back and forth, approvals, QA, changes requests and …
Continue reading

Keep a Slack in Your Bag

8 out of 10
February 25, 2022
We use Slack for daily, 'quick' communication with coworkers. For each department, localization, topic, or team we've got different …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Relationship 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Value 2022
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2022

Popular Features

View all 23 features

Chat (252)

9.7
97%

Mobile Access (234)

9.2
92%

Discussions (243)

9.2
92%

Notifications (249)

9.1
91%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Slack, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Standard

$8.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Plus

$15.00

Cloud
Per User Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Project Management

8.1
81%

Communication

8.5
85%

File Sharing & Management

8.5
85%

Product Details

What is Slack?

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. Slack was acquired by Salesforce in December 2020.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Slack Video

Work in progress | Slack

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Slack?

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. Slack was acquired by Salesforce in December 2020. The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls. The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

What is Slack's best feature?

Reviewers rate Chat highest, with a score of 9.7.

Who uses Slack?

The most common users of Slack are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (5871)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 252)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack has become a central communication tool within our organization. As we've grown in size, it makes it much easier to group teams or reach out to the whole staff. Slack is also integrated through a few other apps we use, which makes it easy to call attention to information that they need to see or even reminders about an upcoming meeting. We can touch base even while they are still in a meeting instead of interrupting them. I recommend them as a great communication solution.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love Slack! We have several different channels that allow us to keep different types of conversations related to customers, internal processes, tech support, etc separate. This is also a quick and easy communication tool that even my CEO if needed could direct message me asking for my assistance with a customer or question on a process for our team. Largely though it is also super helpful to somewhat "document" questions and answers that we can always search for in the future if needed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack as our main tool to communicate with our teams and create silo department/project groups to discuss, collaborate and even include our clients in the loop. It helps us stay on track with things and makes communication much easier and simpler. The ability for Slack to connect to Apps also helps us with file sharing and input from clients as well as managing our documents.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Slack for company-wide chat, announcements, and keeping the company connected with remote work and distributed teams in different time zones. We upgraded from a different chat app, and Slack is head and shoulders above other apps. It is so much better. It is nice how it links to your Google calendar and drive, you can pre-schedule messages to go out at a certain time, and you can sync it with your phone.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is our central means of internal communication across all verticals of our business. We use Slack for individual messaging, group messaging for internal teams, themed channels for all interested participants, and company wide announcements. It provides a quick way to ask questions, provide updates, and stay informed about business initiatives when email and calling are not quick enough or appropriate.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently as a company we use it as our primary form of communication within the company. We also create channels that are shared with customers and partners and we add them as single or multi channel guests. As a lower level admin I create channels and add and remove users from channels. It has been integrated with Okta so when new users are added to Okta they are automatically added in to Slack.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Slack groups for specific teams and projects. It provides a closed space for team members to collaberate with each other sharing files or project documents etc. I used Slack for connected with organizations people network for professional and general information checkpoint. And also the project specific Slack groups provided a safe space to connect and share thoughts and insights related to project.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack was great for chatting and sharing ideas, brainstorming, and even used as a casual channel for talking to my team while having stored records of valuable content for later reference. You might use it for "behind the scenes" discussion, but there might be something inspired, and it lets you go back and find it again. Working remote was a necessity with the company's dymanic, since our clients were literally all over the state of Florida, our team was spread all over the US, yet Slack made it feel like they were sitting next to me.
Marvin Malinao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack to communicate with each other. Jot notes about the task we must accomplish. And, receive direct and on-time messages/ delivers from Zappier, an app we use to track incoming orders for our business. It helps us to easily communicate and track incoming orders. Manage the team by creating channels and linking various apps easily like Zappier, Google Drive, and monday.com.
Jay Thakkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used to manage the data of an organization we can easily share data and information to complete the project.
In an organization, multiple projects are running so needs to manage all data of particular projects.
Also, different employees are working on some projects, so by creating a channel in Slack, we can manage our work and data to succeed in the project.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Enhanced communication is something that our team at Byjus uses Slack for. It helps us to keep tabs on micro-tasks by using bots to remind and include KIRA and Google plugins to integrate all work flows. On a whole, it makes the work very efficient. To have a feature of conducting and taking user research notes and sessions (video calls) on slack would be a big thing we are looking forward to.
February 25, 2022

Keep a Slack in Your Bag

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack for daily, 'quick' communication with coworkers. For each department, localization, topic, or team we've got different channels so you can join the ones you're interested/you're working in. Also, team announcements are published on Slack as well as information about webinars, conferences, and interesting publications. Slack provides many emoticons so it's easy to express the emotions about the message and give feedback.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Slack to communicate with my colleagues by messaging and also can share documents in Slack itself. Sometimes, I will connect with a colleague by calling in Slack, which by the way is an amazing feature and we can share the screens in Slack as we speak. We can add more than 1 colleague in a Slack call.
Christopher Fazio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great product for team communications. Very easy to use and very reliable. Very nice tool for group chat use. We use it to coordinate. It is nice that if one person doesn't answer right away, the rest of the team can answer for them. Very nice collection of settings. Our team uses Slack every day to keep everyone in the loop on major projects. We have one set up for the entire sales team, while another may include just members of our customer service team. Each department can have its own "channel" so that you can include anyone necessary and exclude he who topic may not apply to.
Anurag Bharti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack for daily chats, discussions, huddles. Basically, this is the overall solution to get connected with peers.
Every day we use Direct messages. We use it for discussing in temporary/permanent channels. So our use cases are:
-To connect with peers through direct messages.
-To discuss ib channels.
-To reply in the thread.
-To discuss in a quick huddle.
-Chat with peers through direct messages.
-To discuss in quick huddle.
Sophia Takeva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Slack mainly for communication with my team members, managers, and colleagues in the whole organization. We use Slack for easier communication, quick calls, chats. Using Slack I can see when my colleagues are online as we currently all work remotely and this is the best possible way to check when somebody is away for less or more time.
January 18, 2022

Catch up with Slack!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used for direct messaging and for team communications. It helps in communicating with large group of users while keeping the conversation focussed (when required) by tagging the relevant individuals in the slack channel. Mobile app is also very user friendly and notifications feature is pretty handy. Huddle feature allows for quick group meetings for adhoc/on-the -spur meetings.
January 18, 2022

Great communication app

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack across the entire organization. We create various channels for different topic discussions or departmental groups. Also using for direct messaging as well. Very user friendly, allows to perform search in channels, send attachments etc. Also convenient, because there is a mobile app, so you keep getting notifications on your phone when you are away from your desk. The only flaw in my opinion, if there is a message in a channel, and you are not tagged to it, the app won't notify you. It only notifies if a message is in a private chat and you are not tagged.
Paul Ladd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack helped both me and the other mentors at Lighthouse Labs collaborate with each other, ask for help from senior mentors, and follow-up with students after tricky mentoring sessions. The ability to tag specific senior mentors or call for second-level support in a specific channel was invaluable when trying to solve problems for students quickly and effectively. We could also broadcast solutions to common problems, keep track of lecture times and the progress of each student cohort, and contact specific members of Lighthouse Labs for questions about payroll or scheduling. As a one-stop all-purpose text communication platform, Slack can't be beat!
December 30, 2021

Using Slack every day

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to communicate with the team, Slack allows me to know each time a ticket has been assigned to me, this allows answering the customers in a timely manner. We are also able to be aware if any issue is affecting us by sending notifications.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is scaled around different countries of the world with different international teams working across 2 continents with over 1,500 resources. It could almost [be] difficult for us to get swift communications with people around [the] globe without slack as it facilitates efficient and fastest communications, management of cross teams, and group discussions for us with people belonging to different countries and backgrounds with in our organization.
Will Emmerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a 'general' channel for the team, individual team channels, some private channels for 'management' etc. and we use these for quick communication within the business. It doesn't replace our other forms of communication and we find it useful to also have non-synchronous communication through 'claromentis' (our own platform).
Manthan Vaghani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Slack for communication purposes in my organisation. It's easy to chat with other people, easy to send code, images, audio files, etc. The best thing is the audio and screen sharing feature. It's easy to integrate zoom, calendar, and Jira app in Slack, so we can find all things is one place. We can create private and public channel for broadcasting messages. Provide notification on new message. So I can say it provides all functionality in one pack.