Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
3261 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 182)

Divesh Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2020

Great communication tool within an organization

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack in used in our organization as a messaging platform over the web, where we connect with our colleagues and share information i.e, files, documents, pictures, etc. Slack is an alternative to most of our bcc's and cc's mail. It is used across the whole organization. Through Slack, we form a small group while working on a project, we do this for quick and easy passing of information.
Read Divesh Kumar's full review
Tom Laughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

How our remote offices use Slack to remain connected

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack as our primary inter team communication tool. We have integrated a number of the platforms that easily work within the tool as well as the in-platform call feature. We have created channels where we can communicate product or department specific information. We have a variety of social channels as well where we can share music, choices and lately, photos and ideas on how we are coping with the work from home status. My favorite feature is the ability to easily search issues or items. Other similar tools don't have such robust features like this so it helps me quickly see if my issue has come up.
Read Tom Laughlin's full review
Mary Vasquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2020

Slack is a very good tool for maintaining communication between departments and managers in any company.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack has been used in my company as a communication tool between departments and co-workers in order to maintain a tight-knit community and for everyone to be clear about their activities and roles within the organization as such. With Slack we have addressed the main problem in any IT company: effective and proactive communication. Like other tools that do the same job, Slack brings together all the chat options on demand so that both users and managers can have the ability to communicate without any major problems.
Read Mary Vasquez's full review
Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good communication platform for business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used as an external communication channel with our stakeholders which are based in a different time-zone. The platform is used specifically for a project. The tool makes file sharing as well as holding impromptu meetings easily. An added advantage is that groups can be created for specific needs with desired team members. The channel saves all chat records and has an inbuilt thread feature for all chats which makes it easier to track conversations.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Bringing a more social touch to everyday business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack across the entire organization, within all departments. We were a very distributed team where collaboration with people around the world was a regular occurrence. A tool like Slack simplified communication within individual teams, but also allowed for easy communication across teams where, for instance, a customer support representative could contact an engineering team member to get some help or explanations. Slack was also integrated with a few other systems that allowed the centralized broadcast of information, such as tweets mentioning our products or the release of new software builds, where anyone who is interested could consume it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Looking for a great option for chatting with your team?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At this time Slack is being used within our department. Since Covid-19's changes, we have been working remotely for the last 3 months and Slack has helped us stay connected throughout the day. It's easier to quickly get a question out to the team and discuss in real time, rather than awaiting emails or getting everyone on a different platform. We love it!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Slack... One-stop solution for business communication

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used by one business unit in our organisation. That business unit is responsible for providing engineering services to different clients. Slack is used for internal communication in our project. Slack provides some great features like private and public channels, where team members can communicate. We can say that Slack provides all required features to avoid communication gap between team members.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2020

Slack is a solid group-communication platform. Clean, easy, intuitive. Offers a rich feature set and integrations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used across our whole organisation, both company-wide and intra-departmentally. We not only use it for communications, but also for a variety of other use cases such as field info sharing (while mobile), polling, project collaborations, data input, news and info distribution, among others. We've found that some of the use cases we used email for has shifted to Slack as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2020

Slack, the best 4 in 1 solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is the central communication tool for our organization. When I started, we were only really using Slack for instant messaging. That has grown over the years to the point where we use Slack for internal calls, messaging, company wide and private communication channels, online meetings, and inter-office calling. I really like the evolution of the solution and it has replaced multiple tools that we'd otherwise use in our organization (like email, gotomeeting) into one single solution. I really like the mobile app and the experience between devices is seamless. My only nit-pick is that sometimes searching within the app can be a little wonky. Finally, the api for the system is nice and allows for nice integrations with our internal project management tool. Their app store is also comprehensive and the salesforce integration is useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Slack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack as a whole to communicate service issues throughout the world and to track our Jira Service Desk tickets.
Read this authenticated review
Cat Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Slack Supports Thriving Culture of a Global 1300+ Employee Company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is currently being used by our entire organization. There's a small number of employees at headquarters in New York City, but the rest of the company is remote, spread all over the U.S. and the globe (UK, Germany, India, Japan, Korea). My specific department consists of 1200+ employees, and Slack is THE way that we communicate. It's a seamless, vital part of our work lives. Truthfully, we wouldn't be able to function as a company without it!
Read Cat Nguyen's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Lightning Fast Communicating

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I love using Slack. It is by far the best communication system out on the market for businesses to use. I have been using Slack for over a year and I love how easy it is to create group chats and individual chats. I am able to connect with fellow employees with ease. It is super easy to share files and links with co-workers. Another cool thing is if another company has Slack, you can connect with them which is super nice because you can have a live chat with any user of Slack. Slack is my go-to for communicating with co-workers because it allows me to get almost instant answers.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

On the Slack Line: a Fun and Balanced Communications Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our department is among a handful that uses Slack as their primary work messaging tool (the organization default is Microsoft Teams). Slack is being used to support direct messaging and group chats between on-premises and remote employees, as well as service providers and vendors. It provides a system-agnostic communications workspace that can easily be ramified into various private and public channels as changing needs demand.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Raúl Galera Domínguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

(Probably) The best chat tool for tech companies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire company is on Slack, which is great since we have employees located in different countries. I particularly like the sense of transparency it gives to our organization: We have a lot of different channels for business areas (marketing, engineering, etc) but they're all open for other employees to join and see what's being discussed.
Read Raúl Galera Domínguez's full review
Logan Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Positive Slack Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack for all communications within our company. We communicate via direct messages or via specific channels related to departments, tasks, customers, marketing, news stations or general communication. It allows us to keep track of all things related and refer to any conversations that we had in the past.
Read Logan Turner's full review
Harshit Bhattaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Slack! All amazing items in a single package.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our current workplace, we are connected to two teams via Slack. One is our own and the other is of a Fortune 50 company which also uses Slack. So Slack as a whole is used by the entire company and also customers/clients we interact with on a day-to-day basis. The primary business need being staying connected with colleagues and also collaborating on work is what makes Slack great software to use on a daily basis.
Read Harshit Bhattaram's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A great tool for any business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Slack is used across all of the organization to help us communicate, collaborate, align and focus. I think it is the killer productivity app that helps us be more efficient on our day-to-day. The multiplicity of integrations is what generates the most value. The possibility of creating channels and threads is very helpful.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

More than a mobile messaging app, it's Slack...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Being honest, we are not on Slack now. We left it a few months back and now our whole organisation uses Workplace. But when we were using Slack for our organisation, we used it for internal communication and live chat in various departments and to share project updates or documents which needed to be shared quickly. It is still very easy to use but doesn't fully meet all of our requirements.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Second go around with Slack not so good, why do we use this thing?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Well we are on our second go around with Slack. We implemented it many years ago but it fizzled out. About a year ago we resurrected the product. I just don't know about how it fits in to our enterprise. There are some areas that use it a lot to keep track of say network or SaaS issues which are timely in nature. However there are others who just don't need to use it for much. I would say there is about 20% of our division that uses it actively. Unfortunately, much of the other 80% sees it as an annoyance. Furthermore, some of the 20% that uses it seems to think that they need to communicate what they say on Slack in a duplicate manner via email or vice versa.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Slack is much more than an instant messaging application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Slack in all work teams in the digital area. Each sector has its own Slack group and they are not interconnected. The marketing, web development, Windows application programming, and graphic design groups have their separate areas. Integration with external software tools is great. It has a very varied catalog and each digital production department makes use of the extra applications that are most convenient for it. There is also a space in Slack for the entire organization, which has a channel of official communications. It is very easy to send messages and receive them. This is where we resolve general issues and receive instructions regarding the company's management.
Read Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa's full review
Alexa Fuhrman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Slack is anything but whack

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses Slack for communication purposes on a daily basis. We can send files, Pictures, Giphys and much more! It has a way to set reminders for our group channels so certain tasks are able to be set for daily reminders. It helps us communicate and avoid any gaps in our daily tasking.
Read Alexa Fuhrman's full review
Layne Latham | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Slack, good if you need to chat

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Slack throughout our company to communicate between and within teams. It's used for both projects and regular day to day communication that would otherwise be done via email. Slack allows our employees to share documents and participate in group discussions, as well as communicate around specific events (managed through individual channels).
Read Layne Latham's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (95)
7.8
Gantt Charts (35)
7.1
Scheduling (70)
7.7
Workflow Automation (81)
7.7
Mobile Access (169)
9.0
Search (168)
8.3
Visual planning tools (48)
7.8
Chat (182)
9.7
Notifications (180)
9.0
Discussions (176)
9.1
Surveys (92)
7.9
Internal knowledgebase (94)
8.1
Integrates with GoToMeeting (48)
8.3
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (85)
8.6
Integrates with Outlook (54)
8.3
Versioning (74)
7.4
Video files (140)
8.2
Audio files (135)
8.1
Document collaboration (114)
7.8
Access control (100)
8.3
Advanced security features (85)
7.5
Integrates with Google Drive (105)
8.7
Device sync (109)
8.5

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No